DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 (lines 1-2) recites “the one or more computer processing components”. Similarly Claim 14 (lines 1-2) also recites “the one or more computer processing components”. The is no antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1) in view of Fard et al. (US20190215724A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sugawara teaches a system for selecting a user plane function (UPF) based on internet protocol (IP) version capability, the system comprising: one or more computer processing components configured to execute operations comprising: (Paragraph [0305]: An electric circuit designed to perform the functions described in the present specification may include a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), or other programmable logic devices, discrete gates or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or a combination thereof. The general-purpose processor may be a microprocessor, or may be a processor of a known type, a controller, a micro-controller. Paragraph [0263]: The SMF may determine the SSC mode (15th identification information) to be applied to the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. In a case that the fourth identification information indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6, the SMF may assign the IP address or the IP prefix for the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. Paragraph [0264]: Then, the SMF selects the UPF at which the MA PDU session or the SA PDU session is to be established.)
receiving a session establishment request message from a mobility network function (NF), wherein the request message is associated with a session between a radio access network (RAN) node and a UE, the request message comprising one or more information elements that indicate the RAN node has a first internet protocol stack capability (Paragraph [0227]: First, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN and the AMF (S900), (S902), and (S904) to initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure. Paragraph [0228]: Specifically, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message to the AMF via the 5G AN through the N1 interface (S900). Paragraph [0241]: The AMF transfers the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to the selected SMF via the N11 interface (S904). The AMF may transmit, to the SMF, information indicating that the UE is registered with both accesses. Paragraph [0263]: The SMF may determine the SSC mode (15th identification information) to be applied to the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. In a case that the fourth identification information indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6, the SMF may assign the IP address or the IP prefix for the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. Paragraph [0264]: Then, the SMF selects the UPF at which the MA PDU session or the SA PDU session is to be established, and transmits an N4 session establishment request message to the selected UPF via the N4 interface (S906). In this regard, in a case that the present procedure is performed to establish a new PDU session, the N4 session establishment request message may be used. In this regard, the SMF may select one or more UPFs based on each piece of identification information acquired based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the subscriber information, and/or the capability information of the network, and/or the operator policy, and/or the state of the network, and/or the user subscription information, and/or the context held by the SMF, and/or the like.)
and selecting a first user plane function (UPF) from a plurality of available UPFs (Paragraph [0263]: The SMF may determine the SSC mode (15th identification information) to be applied to the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. In a case that the fourth identification information indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6, the SMF may assign the IP address or the IP prefix for the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. Paragraph [0264]: Then, the SMF selects the UPF at which the MA PDU session or the SA PDU session is to be established.)
Sugawara does not explicitly teach selecting a first user plane function (UPF) from a plurality of available UPFs at least partially based on the first UPF having the first internet protocol stack capability.
However, Fard teaches selecting a first user plane function (UPF) from a plurality of available UPFs at least partially based on the first UPF having the first internet protocol stack capability (Paragraph [0170]: based on the location info received from the AMF 155, the SMF 160 may check the UPF 110 Selection Criteria (e.g., slice isolation requirements, slice coexistence requirements, UPF's dynamic load, UPF's relative static capacity among UPFs supporting the same DNN, UPF 110 location available at the SMF 160, UE 100 location information, Capability of the UPF 110 and the functionality required for the particular UE 100 session. In an example, an appropriate UPF 110 may be selected by matching the functionality and features required for an UE 100, Data Network Name (DNN), PDU Session Type (i.e. IPv4, IPv6, Ethernet Type or Unstructured Type) and if applicable, the static IP address/prefix, SSC mode selected for the PDU Session, UE 100 subscription profile in UDM, DNAI as included in the PCC Rules, Local operator policies, S-NSSAI, Access technology being used by the UE 100, UPF logical topology, and/or the like). Paragraph [0201]: The UPF 110 selection functionality in the SMF 160 may optionally utilize the NRF to discover UPF instance(s). The new UPF instances may register with the NRF 130. The NRF 130 may be configured by OAM 175 with information on the available UPF(s) or the UPF may register itself onto the NRF 130. Paragraph [0208]: In an example, if the Request Type may indicate “Initial request”, the SMF 160 may select an SSC mode for the PDU Session. The SMF 160 may select one or more UPFs as needed. In case of PDU Type IPv4 or IPv6, the SMF 160 may allocate an IP address/prefix for the PDU Session. In case of PDU Type IPv6, the SMF 160 may allocate an interface identifier to the UE 100 for the UE 100 to build its link-local address.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting a first user plane function (UPF) from a plurality of available UPFs at least partially based on the first UPF having the first internet protocol stack capability, as taught by Fard in the system of Sugawara, so that an appropriate UPF may be selected by matching the functionality and features required, such as the internet protocol version (Fard: Paragraphs [0170], [0201], [0208]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Sugawara further teaches wherein the mobility NF is an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Paragraph [0227]: First, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN and the AMF (S900), (S902), and (S904) to initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure. Paragraph [0228]: Specifically, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message to the AMF via the 5G AN through the N1 interface (S900). Paragraph [0241]: The AMF transfers the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to the selected SMF via the N11 interface (S904). The AMF may transmit, to the SMF, information indicating that the UE is registered with both accesses. Also see paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the one or more computer processing components comprises (see rejection for claim 2);
Sugawara further teaches a session management function (Paragraph [0227]: First, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN and the AMF (S900), (S902), and (S904) to initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure. Paragraph [0228]: Specifically, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message to the AMF via the 5G AN through the N1 interface (S900). Paragraph [0241]: The AMF transfers the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to the selected SMF via the N11 interface (S904). The AMF may transmit, to the SMF, information indicating that the UE is registered with both accesses. Paragraph [0263]: The SMF may determine the SSC mode (15th identification information) to be applied to the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. In a case that the fourth identification information indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6, the SMF may assign the IP address or the IP prefix for the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. Paragraph [0264]: Then, the SMF selects the UPF at which the MA PDU session or the SA PDU session is to be established, and transmits an N4 session establishment request message to the selected UPF via the N4 interface (S906). In this regard, in a case that the present procedure is performed to establish a new PDU session, the N4 session establishment request message may be used. In this regard, the SMF may select one or more UPFs based on each piece of identification information acquired based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the subscriber information, and/or the capability information of the network, and/or the operator policy, and/or the state of the network, and/or the user subscription information, and/or the context held by the SMF, and/or the like.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Sugawara further teaches wherein the mobility NF is a mobility management entity (MME) (Paragraph [0100]: The AMF include a function to exchange control messages with the RAN by using the N2 interface, a function to exchange NAS messages with the UE by using the N1 interface, a function to cipher the NAS message and to protect the integrity of the NAS message, a Registration management (RM) function, a Connection management (CM) function, a Reachability management function, a Mobility management function for the UE or the like, a function to transfer Session Management (SM) messages between the UE and the SMF, an Access Authentication (Access Authorization) function, Security Anchor Functionality (SEA), a Security Context Management (SCM) function, a function to support the N2 interface for the Non-3GPP Interworking Function (N3IWF), a function to support transmission and/or reception of NAS signals to and/or from the UE via the N3IWF, a function to authenticate the UE connected via the N3IWF, and the like. These functions are all controlled by the controller 500.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the system of claim 4 (see rejection for claim 4);
Sugawara further teaches wherein the one or more computer processing components is a serving gateway (SGW) (Paragraph [0119]: Note that the UPF includes a function to serve as an anchor point for intra-RAT mobility or inter-RAT mobility, a function as an external PDU session point for interconnection with the DN (in other words, a function to serve as a gateway between the DN and the core network to transfer user data). Paragraph [0120]: The UPF may be a gateway for IP communication and/or non-IP communication. The UPF may include a function to transfer IP communication or a function to perform conversion between non-IP communication and IP communication. Furthermore, the multiple gateways allocated may be gateways connecting the core network with a single DN. Note that the UPF may have connectivity with another NF or may be connected to each apparatus via another NF. Also see paragraph [0137].)
Regarding claim 8, Sugawara teaches a method for selecting a user plane function (UPF) based on internet protocol (IP) version capabilities, the method comprising: receiving a session establishment request message from a mobility network function (NF), wherein the request message is associated with a session between a radio access network (RAN) node and a user equipment (UE), the request message comprising one or more information elements that indicate the RAN node has a first internet protocol version; and selecting a first user plane function (UPF) from a plurality of available UPFs (see rejection for claim 1);
Sugawara does not explicitly teach selecting a first user plane function (UPF) from a plurality of available UPFs at least partially based on the first UPF having the first IP version capability.
However, Fard teaches selecting a first user plane function (UPF) from a plurality of available UPFs at least partially based on the first UPF having the first IP version capability (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide selecting a first user plane function (UPF) from a plurality of available UPFs at least partially based on the first UPF having the first IP version capability, as taught by Fard in the system of Sugawara, so that an appropriate UPF may be selected by matching the functionality and features required, such as the internet protocol version (Fard: Paragraphs [0170], [0201], [0208]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising (see rejection for claim 8);
Sugawara further teaches receiving a session management response message from the first UPF comprising an IP address assignment for the UE (Paragraph [0267]: In response to receiving the N4 session establishment response message from the UPF via the N4 interface as a response message to the N4 session establishment request message (S908), the SMF can recognize the contents of the information received from the UPF. The SMF may perform address assignment of an address to be assigned to the UE based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the selection of the UPF, and/or the reception of the N4 session establishment response message, and/or the like. Paragraph [0268]: Then, the SMF transmits the PDU session establishment accept message including the ATSSS container IE, to the UE via the AMF, based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the selection of the UPF, and/or the reception of the N4 session establishment response message, and/or the completion of address assignment of the address to be assigned to the UE (S910) (S912).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising (see rejection for claim 9);
Sugawara further teaches communicating the IP address assignment to the mobility NF (Paragraph [0267]: In response to receiving the N4 session establishment response message from the UPF via the N4 interface as a response message to the N4 session establishment request message (S908), the SMF can recognize the contents of the information received from the UPF. The SMF may perform address assignment of an address to be assigned to the UE based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the selection of the UPF, and/or the reception of the N4 session establishment response message, and/or the like. Paragraph [0268]: Then, the SMF transmits the PDU session establishment accept message including the ATSSS container IE, to the UE via the AMF, based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the selection of the UPF, and/or the reception of the N4 session establishment response message, and/or the completion of address assignment of the address to be assigned to the UE (S910) (S912). Paragraph [0269]: Specifically, the SMF transmits the PDU session establishment accept message to the AMF via the N11 interface (S910), and in response to receiving the PDU session establishment accept message, the AMF transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment accept message including the ATSSS container IE, to the UE via the 5G AN through the N1 interface (S912).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
Sugawara further teaches wherein the mobility NF is an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see rejection for claim 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Sugawara further teaches wherein the one or more computer processing components comprises a session management function (Paragraph [0305]: An electric circuit designed to perform the functions described in the present specification may include a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), or other programmable logic devices, discrete gates or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or a combination thereof. The general-purpose processor may be a microprocessor, or may be a processor of a known type, a controller, a micro-controller. Paragraph [0227]: First, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN and the AMF (S900), (S902), and (S904) to initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure. Paragraph [0228]: Specifically, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message to the AMF via the 5G AN through the N1 interface (S900). Paragraph [0241]: The AMF transfers the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to the selected SMF via the N11 interface (S904). The AMF may transmit, to the SMF, information indicating that the UE is registered with both accesses. Paragraph [0263]: The SMF may determine the SSC mode (15th identification information) to be applied to the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. In a case that the fourth identification information indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6, the SMF may assign the IP address or the IP prefix for the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. Paragraph [0264]: Then, the SMF selects the UPF at which the MA PDU session or the SA PDU session is to be established, and transmits an N4 session establishment request message to the selected UPF via the N4 interface (S906). In this regard, in a case that the present procedure is performed to establish a new PDU session, the N4 session establishment request message may be used. In this regard, the SMF may select one or more UPFs based on each piece of identification information acquired based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the subscriber information, and/or the capability information of the network, and/or the operator policy, and/or the state of the network, and/or the user subscription information, and/or the context held by the SMF, and/or the like.)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
Sugawara further teaches wherein the mobility NF is a mobility management entity (MME) (see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 13 (see rejection for claim 13);
Sugawara further teaches wherein the one or more computer processing components is a serving gateway (SGW) (function (Paragraph [0305]: An electric circuit designed to perform the functions described in the present specification may include a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA), or other programmable logic devices, discrete gates or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or a combination thereof. The general-purpose processor may be a microprocessor, or may be a processor of a known type, a controller, a micro-controller. Paragraph [0119]: Note that the UPF includes a function to serve as an anchor point for intra-RAT mobility or inter-RAT mobility, a function as an external PDU session point for interconnection with the DN (in other words, a function to serve as a gateway between the DN and the core network to transfer user data). Paragraph [0120]: The UPF may be a gateway for IP communication and/or non-IP communication. The UPF may include a function to transfer IP communication or a function to perform conversion between non-IP communication and IP communication. Furthermore, the multiple gateways allocated may be gateways connecting the core network with a single DN. Note that the UPF may have connectivity with another NF or may be connected to each apparatus via another NF. Also see paragraph [0137].)
Regarding claim 17, Sugawara teaches a method for selecting a core network function based on internet protocol (IP) version capabilities of a base station, the method comprising: communicating a message from the base station to a mobility network function of a telecommunication network, the message comprising an IP version capability of the base station (Paragraph [0227]: First, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN and the AMF (S900), (S902), and (S904) to initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure. Paragraph [0228]: Specifically, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message to the AMF via the 5G AN through the N1 interface (S900). Paragraph [0241]: The AMF transfers the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to the selected SMF via the N11 interface (S904). The AMF may transmit, to the SMF, information indicating that the UE is registered with both accesses. Paragraph [0263]: The SMF may determine the SSC mode (15th identification information) to be applied to the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. In a case that the fourth identification information indicates any of IPv4, IPv6, or IPv4v6, the SMF may assign the IP address or the IP prefix for the MA PDU session and/or the SA PDU session. Paragraph [0264]: Then, the SMF selects the UPF at which the MA PDU session or the SA PDU session is to be established, and transmits an N4 session establishment request message to the selected UPF via the N4 interface (S906). In this regard, in a case that the present procedure is performed to establish a new PDU session, the N4 session establishment request message may be used. In this regard, the SMF may select one or more UPFs based on each piece of identification information acquired based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the subscriber information, and/or the capability information of the network, and/or the operator policy, and/or the state of the network, and/or the user subscription information, and/or the context held by the SMF, and/or the like.)
receiving a session establishment request from a user equipment (UE); communicating the session establishment request to the mobility network function (Paragraph [0227]: First, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message, to the SMF via the 5G AN and the AMF (S900), (S902), and (S904) to initiate the MA PDU session establishment procedure. Paragraph [0228]: Specifically, the UE transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment request message to the AMF via the 5G AN through the N1 interface (S900). Paragraph [0241]: The AMF transfers the PDU session establishment request message and/or the NAS message to the selected SMF via the N11 interface (S904). The AMF may transmit, to the SMF, information indicating that the UE is registered with both accesses.)
and receiving an IP address assignment for the UE from the mobility network function, the IP address assignment having an IP version being the same as the IP version capability of the base station (Paragraph [0264]: Then, the SMF selects the UPF at which the MA PDU session or the SA PDU session is to be established, and transmits an N4 session establishment request message to the selected UPF via the N4 interface (S906). In this regard, in a case that the present procedure is performed to establish a new PDU session, the N4 session establishment request message may be used. In this regard, the SMF may select one or more UPFs based on each piece of identification information acquired based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the subscriber information, and/or the capability information of the network, and/or the operator policy, and/or the state of the network, and/or the user subscription information, and/or the context held by the SMF, and/or the like. Paragraph [0267]: In response to receiving the N4 session establishment response message from the UPF via the N4 interface as a response message to the N4 session establishment request message (S908), the SMF can recognize the contents of the information received from the UPF. The SMF may perform address assignment of an address to be assigned to the UE based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the selection of the UPF, and/or the reception of the N4 session establishment response message, and/or the like. Paragraph [0268]: Then, the SMF transmits the PDU session establishment accept message including the ATSSS container IE, to the UE via the AMF, based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the selection of the UPF, and/or the reception of the N4 session establishment response message, and/or the completion of address assignment of the address to be assigned to the UE (S910) (S912). Paragraph [0269]: Specifically, the SMF transmits the PDU session establishment accept message to the AMF via the N11 interface (S910), and in response to receiving the PDU session establishment accept message, the AMF transmits the NAS message including the PDU session establishment accept message including the ATSSS container IE, to the UE via the 5G AN through the N1 interface (S912).)
Sugawara does not explicitly teach having an IP version being the same as the IP version capability of the base station.
However, Fard teaches having an IP version being the same as the IP version capability of the base station (Paragraph [0170]: based on the location info received from the AMF 155, the SMF 160 may check the UPF 110 Selection Criteria (e.g., slice isolation requirements, slice coexistence requirements, UPF's dynamic load, UPF's relative static capacity among UPFs supporting the same DNN, UPF 110 location available at the SMF 160, UE 100 location information, Capability of the UPF 110 and the functionality required for the particular UE 100 session. In an example, an appropriate UPF 110 may be selected by matching the functionality and features required for an UE 100, Data Network Name (DNN), PDU Session Type (i.e. IPv4, IPv6, Ethernet Type or Unstructured Type) and if applicable, the static IP address/prefix, SSC mode selected for the PDU Session, UE 100 subscription profile in UDM, DNAI as included in the PCC Rules, Local operator policies, S-NSSAI, Access technology being used by the UE 100, UPF logical topology, and/or the like). Paragraph [0201]: The UPF 110 selection functionality in the SMF 160 may optionally utilize the NRF to discover UPF instance(s). The new UPF instances may register with the NRF 130. The NRF 130 may be configured by OAM 175 with information on the available UPF(s) or the UPF may register itself onto the NRF 130. Paragraph [0208]: In an example, if the Request Type may indicate “Initial request”, the SMF 160 may select an SSC mode for the PDU Session. The SMF 160 may select one or more UPFs as needed. In case of PDU Type IPv4 or IPv6, the SMF 160 may allocate an IP address/prefix for the PDU Session. In case of PDU Type IPv6, the SMF 160 may allocate an interface identifier to the UE 100 for the UE 100 to build its link-local address.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide having an IP version being the same as the IP version capability of the base station, as taught by Fard in the system of Sugawara, for an appropriate matching of the functionality and features such as the internet protocol version (Fard: Paragraphs [0170], [0201], [0208]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 17 wherein the message is communicated from the base station to the mobility network function (see rejection for claim 17);
Sugawara does not explicitly teach wherein the message is periodically communicated.
However, Fard teaches wherein the message is periodically communicated (Paragraph [0108]: A UE 100 may need to register with the network to receive services that require registration. Once registered and if applicable the UE 100 may update its registration with the network periodically in order to remain reachable (periodic registration update); or upon mobility (mobility registration update); or to update its capabilities or re-negotiate protocol parameters. Paragraph [0158]: In an example, the UE 100 may send to a (R)AN 105 an AN message comprising AN parameters, Mobility Management, MM NAS Service Request (e.g., list of PDU Sessions to be activated, list of allowed PDU sessions, security parameters, PDU session status)). The list of PDU sessions to be activated may be provided by the UE 100 when the UE 100 may re-activate the PDU session(s). The list of allowed PDU sessions may be provided by the UE 100 when the service request may be a response of a paging or a NAS notification, and may identify the PDU sessions that may be transferred or associated to the access on which the Service Request may be sent. Paragraph [0161]: In an example, the (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message comprising N2 parameters, MM NAS Service Request, and/or the like.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the message is periodically communicated, as taught by Fard in the system of Sugawara, in order to inform the capability information of the RAN node (Fard: Paragraphs [0108], [0158], [0161]).
Claims 6, 7, 15, 16, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US20220361272A1) in view of Fard et al. (US20190215724A1), and further in view of Backman et al. (US20220418038A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Sugawara and Fard does not explicitly teach wherein the first internet
protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 (IPv4) only and wherein at least one of
the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use both IPv4 and internet protocol version 6 (IPv6).
However, Backman teaches wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet
protocol version 4 (IPv4) only and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use both IPv4 and internet protocol version 6 (IPv6) (Paragraph [0109], Paragraph [0110]: In view of the seven (7) allowed combinations identified in the table above the following observations can be made: (1)The terminals shall announce the supported PDU types to the network, e.g. PDU sessions of type IPv4, of type IPv6 or both PDU types; (2) Terminals supporting both IPv4 and IPv6 shall be capable to set up dual PDU sessions, one of type IPv4 as well as one of type IPv6; (3) Terminals supporting both IPv4 and IPv6 shall be capable to set up a single PDU session, it may be of type IPv4 or IPv6. Paragraph [0112]: In alternative A above, the UE will request to set up an IPv4 PDU session as well as an IPv6 PDU session. As no correlation between IPv4 and IPv6 sessions are required, selecting of SMF and UPF can be done independently. Paragraph [0114]: For example, for an IPv4 only configuration in the 5GC there is no need to first send an IPv6 request that will be denied by the IPv4 network and then send an IPv4 request, since the network will accept the IPv4 request in the first combined IPv4/IPv6 request. Thus, in alternative C it is assumed that one PDU session of type IPv4 or IPv6 is always set up. If another IP version is to be supported (it is preferred that PDU session type IPv6 shall be used first) this will be informed as in alternative B by sending a cause code that tells the UE that it can set up a PDU session of the other IP version (IPv4) as well if it so decides.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 (IPv4) only and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use both IPv4 and internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), as taught by Backman in the combined system of Sugawara and Fard, so that UE that it can set up a PDU session of the other IP version (IPv4) as well (Backman: Paragraphs [0110] – [0114]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Sugawara and Fard does not explicitly teach wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 and internet protocol version 6 and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use internet protocol version 4 only.
However, Backman teaches wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 and internet protocol version 6 and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use internet protocol version 4 only (Paragraph [0109], Paragraph [0110]: In view of the seven (7) allowed combinations identified in the table above the following observations can be made: (1)The terminals shall announce the supported PDU types to the network, e.g. PDU sessions of type IPv4, of type IPv6 or both PDU types; (2) Terminals supporting both IPv4 and IPv6 shall be capable to set up dual PDU sessions, one of type IPv4 as well as one of type IPv6; (3) Terminals supporting both IPv4 and IPv6 shall be capable to set up a single PDU session, it may be of type IPv4 or IPv6. Paragraph [0112]: As no correlation between IPv4 and IPv6 sessions are required, selecting of SMF and UPF can be done independently. Paragraph [0113]: If both IPv6 and IPv4 is supported by the network, then another cause code is needed to tell the device that it may also set up a PDU session of IPv4-type. Currently UEs are relying on getting immediate information (during the first PDU session setup) whether dual stack is supported or not. This solution preserves that property with less signalling than the first solution A, but it will still result in unnecessary signalling in case the first IP version requested by the UE is not available.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 and internet protocol version 6 and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use internet protocol version 4 only, as taught by Backman in the combined system of Sugawara and Fard, so that UE that it can set up a PDU session of the internet protocol version 4 (Backman: Paragraphs [0110] – [0115]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
The combination of Sugawara and Fard does not explicitly teach wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 (IPv4) only and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use both IPv4 and internet protocol version 6 (IPv6).
However, Backman teaches wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 (IPv4) only and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use both IPv4 and internet protocol version 6 (IPv6) (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 (IPv4) only and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use both IPv4 and internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), as taught by Backman in the combined system of Sugawara and Fard, so that UE that it can set up a PDU session of the other IP version (IPv4) as well (Backman: Paragraphs [0110] – [0114]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
The combination of Sugawara and Fard does not explicitly teach wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 and internet protocol version 6 and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use internet protocol version 4 only.
However, Backman teaches wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 and internet protocol version 6 and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use internet protocol version 4 only (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first internet protocol stack capability is internet protocol version 4 and internet protocol version 6 and wherein at least one of the plurality of available user plane functions is configured to use internet protocol version 4 only, as taught by Backman in the combined system of Sugawara and Fard, so that UE that it can set up a PDU session of the internet protocol version 4 (Backman: Paragraphs [0110] – [0115]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
The combination of Sugawara and Fard does not explicitly teach wherein the IP version capability indicates the base station does not support dual stack IP assignments.
However, Backman teaches wherein the IP version capability indicates the base station does not support dual stack IP assignments (Paragraph [0109], Paragraph [0110]: In view of the seven (7) allowed combinations identified in the table above the following observations can be made: (1)The terminals shall announce the supported PDU types to the network, e.g. PDU sessions of type IPv4, of type IPv6 or both PDU types; (2) Terminals supporting both IPv4 and IPv6 shall be capable to set up dual PDU sessions, one of type IPv4 as well as one of type IPv6; (3) Terminals supporting both IPv4 and IPv6 shall be capable to set up a single PDU session, it may be of type IPv4 or IPv6. Paragraph [0112]: In alternative A above, the UE will request to set up an IPv4 PDU session as well as an IPv6 PDU session. As no correlation between IPv4 and IPv6 sessions are required, selecting of SMF and UPF can be done independently. Paragraph [0113]: If IPv6 is supported in the network this session will be set up, otherwise the PDU session is rejected with a cause code indicating that IPv4 is supported. If both IPv6 and IPv4 is supported by the network, then another cause code is needed to tell the device that it may also set up a PDU session of IPv4-type. Currently UEs are relying on getting immediate information (during the first PDU session setup) whether dual stack is supported or not. This solution preserves that property with less signalling than the first solution A, but it will still result in unnecessary signalling in case the first IP version requested by the UE is not available. Paragraph [0114]: For example, for an IPv4 only configuration in the 5GC there is no need to first send an IPv6 request that will be denied by the IPv4 network and then send an IPv4 request, since the network will accept the IPv4 request in the first combined IPv4/IPv6 request. Thus, in alternative C it is assumed that one PDU session of type IPv4 or IPv6 is always set up. If another IP version is to be supported (it is preferred that PDU session type IPv6 shall be used first) this will be informed as in alternative B by sending a cause code that tells the UE that it can set up a PDU session of the other IP version (IPv4) as well if it so decides.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the IP version capability indicates the base station does not support dual stack IP assignments, as taught by Backman in the combined system of Sugawara and Fard, so that the base station can provide information about is IP version capability (Backman: Paragraphs [0110] – [0114]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sugawara and Fard teaches the method of claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
The combination of Sugawara and Fard does not explicitly teach wherein the IP version capability is selected from a group consisting of IP version 4 (IPv4) only, IP version 6 (IPv6) only, and dual stack IP versions.
However, Backman teaches wherein the IP version capability is selected from a group consisting of IP version 4 (IPv4) only, IP version 6 (IPv6) only, and dual stack IP versions (Paragraph [0109], Paragraph [0110]: In view of the seven (7) allowed combinations identified in the table above the following observations can be made: (1)The terminals shall announce the supported PDU types to the network, e.g. PDU sessions of type IPv4, of type IPv6 or both PDU types; (2) Terminals supporting both IPv4 and IPv6 shall be capable to set up dual PDU sessions, one of type IPv4 as well as one of type IPv6; (3) Terminals supporting both IPv4 and IPv6 shall be capable to set up a single PDU session, it may be of type IPv4 or IPv6. Paragraph [0112]: In alternative A above, the UE will request to set up an IPv4 PDU session as well as an IPv6 PDU session. As no correlation between IPv4 and IPv6 sessions are required, selecting of SMF and UPF can be done independently. Paragraph [0113]: If IPv6 is supported in the network this session will be set up, otherwise the PDU session is rejected with a cause code indicating that IPv4 is supported. If both IPv6 and IPv4 is supported by the network, then another cause code is needed to tell the device that it may also set up a PDU session of IPv4-type. Currently UEs are relying on getting immediate information (during the first PDU session setup) whether dual stack is supported or not. This solution preserves that property with less signalling than the first solution A, but it will still result in unnecessary signalling in case the first IP version requested by the UE is not available. Paragraph [0114]: For example, for an IPv4 only configuration in the 5GC there is no need to first send an IPv6 request that will be denied by the IPv4 network and then send an IPv4 request, since the network will accept the IPv4 request in the first combined IPv4/IPv6 request. Thus, in alternative C it is assumed that one PDU session of type IPv4 or IPv6 is always set up. If another IP version is to be supported (it is preferred that PDU session type IPv6 shall be used first) this will be informed as in alternative B by sending a cause code that tells the UE that it can set up a PDU session of the other IP version (IPv4) as well if it so decides.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the IP version capability is selected from a group consisting of IP version 4 (IPv4) only, IP version 6 (IPv6) only, and dual stack IP versions, as taught by Backman in the combined system of Sugawara and Fard, so that the PDU session type is based on the selected IP version capability of the base station which can be one of IP4, IP6 or dual stack (Backman: Paragraphs [0110] – [0114]).
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461