DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tran (US 20210290053) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method of implementing a virtual reality (VR) system, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); for identifying potential eye strain ([0071]) issues through prolonged engagement ([0202]), comprising: at an electronic device (Fig. 1A) including a high-resolution ([0097]) VR headset (208) with eye-tracking sensors ([0008]): generating a VR user interface ([0032] and [0113]) corresponding to a three-dimensional ([0139]) virtual environment ([0107]); rendering the VR user interface ([0032] and [0113]) on the VR headset (208); presenting a series of progressively challenging visual tasks ([0106]) in the VR environment ([0107]); continuously monitoring eye movements ([0003] and [0008]) and behavior during the visual tasks ([0106]); and evaluating the monitored data ([0017] and [0214]) for indicators of eye strain ([0071]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the high-resolution ([0097]) VR headset (208) has a resolution ([0097]) of at least 60 pixels per degree (PPD), a refresh rate of 120 Hz, and a field of view of 110 degrees or more ([0115]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the series of visual tasks ([0106]) includes reading fine print ([0181]) for periods exceeding 20 minutes, tracking fast-moving objects for 15-30 minutes ([0145]), and focus switching tasks for periods over 30 minutes ([0066]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the progressively challenging visual tasks ([0106]) comprise reading documents of varying font sizes, tracking fast-moving objects ([0145]), and switching focus between near and far objects ([0066]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 4, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the tasks start with low complexity and gradually introduce more elements or faster movement to challenge the user ([0187]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein evaluating the monitored data ([0017] and [0214]) comprises: assessing blink rate ([0105]), with rates below 10 blinks per minute indicating potential fatigue ([0014]); measuring fixation stability ([0014]), with variations ([0202]) greater than 0.5 degrees suggesting strain ([0071]); and analyzing ([0115]) saccade duration ([0181]), with prolonged saccades indicating increased cognitive load ([0071]).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising: performing an initial calibration ([0103]) to establish baseline ([0173]) visual performance for the user; and dynamically adapting the difficulty of visual tasks ([0106]) in real-time ([0103]) based on user performance and strain ([0071]) indicators.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising using one or more algorithms ([0192])s ([0192]) to assess visual acuity ([0097]), reaction time ([0151]), and fatigue ([0014]) symptoms.
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein assessing visual acuity ([0097]) comprises conducting sharpness ([0085]) and clarity tests in the VR environment ([0107]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein measuring reaction time ([0151]) comprises analyzing ([0115]) how quickly users ([0006]) respond to visual stimuli ([0151]) presented in the VR environment ([0107]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein detecting fatigue ([0014]) symptoms comprises analyzing ([0115]) changes in blink rate and saccadic patterns over time ([0181]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising generating a comprehensive report ([0081]; results) including blink rate trends, fixation stability ([0014]) data ([0017] and [0214]), saccadic behavior analysis ([0181]), and visual acuity ([0097]) metrics.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); wherein the comprehensive report ([0081]; results) includes graphs ([0193]) and actionable insights for both users ([0006]) and clinicians ([0010]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising providing personalized strategies ([0185]) for mitigating eye strain ([0071]), including recommended break intervals ([0060]), adjustments in visual task difficulty ([0106]), and ergonomic improvements ([0060]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising implementing safety measures ([0092]) including generating alerts ([0092]) for VR discomfort ([0123]), providing adjustable field of view settings ([0115]), and controlling exposure to high-stress visual tasks ([0094]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising implementing stress management ([0060]) techniques including micro-breaks ([0060]) and relaxation cues ([0060]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising: conducting periodic re-evaluations of users ([0006]) to validate the effectiveness of recommended eye strain ([0071]) mitigation strategies ([0185]); and adjusting the strategies ([0185]) based on the re-evaluation results ([0115]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); further comprising, in professional settings, providing customization ([0120]) for screen-based professionals, engineers, and designers who work with complex visuals ([0085]), and generating one or more reports ([0063]) for occupational health purposes.
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches a system for identifying potential eye strain ([0071]) issues through prolonged engagement ([0202]), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); comprising: a high-resolution ([0097]) VR headset (208) with eye-tracking sensors ([0008]); one or more processors ([0214]); and memory ([0214]) storing one or more programs ([0214]) configured to be executed by the one or more processors ([0214]), the one or more programs ([0214]) including instructions for: generating a VR user interface ([0032] and [0113]) corresponding to a three-dimensional ([0139]) virtual environment ([0107]); rendering the VR user interface ([0032] and [0113]) on the VR headset (208); presenting a series of progressively challenging visual tasks ([0106])in the VR environment ([0107]); continuously monitoring eye movements ([0003] and [0008]) and behavior during the visual tasks; and evaluating the monitored data ([0017] and [0214]) for indicators of eye strain ([0071]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches an non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A and 5J; and [0113]); storing one or more programs ([0214]) configured to be executed by one or more processors ([0214]) of an electronic device (Fig. 1A) including a high-resolution ([0097]) VR headset (208) with eye-tracking sensors ([0008]), the one or more programs ([0214]) including instructions for: generating a VR user interface ([0032] and [0113]) corresponding to a three-dimensional ([0139]) virtual environment ([0107]); rendering the VR user interface ([0032] and [0113]) on the VR headset (208); presenting a series of progressively challenging visual tasks ([0106])in the VR environment ([0107]); continuously monitoring eye movements ([0003] and [0008]) and behavior during the visual tasks ([0097]); and evaluating the monitored data ([0017] and [0214]) for indicators of eye strain ([0071]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872