DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
The preamble of the dependent claims does not match that of the independent claims. Claims 2-10 and 12-13 recite “The tracheal tube assembly” where claims 1 and 10 recite “A endotracheal tube assemble”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-11, 14, 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 9,833,588 B2 in view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1)
Claim 1 is rejected in view of claim 1 of the ‘588 Patent in further view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1). The claims differ in that the instant claims are drawn to an endotracheal tube whereas the ‘588 patent is drawn to a tracheal tube. Shapiro teaches it is known for endotracheal tubes with an inserting cannula (1) to also connect to ventilators via a connector (7) (Page 6, lines 4-8).
Claim 2 is rejected in view of claim 2 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 3 is rejected in view of claim 4 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 4 is rejected in view of claim 5 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 5 is rejected in view of claim 6 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 6 is rejected in view of claim 7 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 7 is rejected in view of claim 8 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 8 is rejected in view of claim 9 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 9 is rejected in view of claim 11 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 11 is rejected in view of claim 14 of the ‘588 Patent in further view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1). The claims differ in that the instant claims are drawn to an endotracheal tube whereas the ‘588 patent is drawn to a tracheal tube. Shapiro teaches it is known for endotracheal tubes with an inserting cannula (1) to also connect to ventilators via a connector (7) (Page 6, lines 4-8).
Claim 12 is rejected in view of claim 17 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 13 is rejected in view of claim 18 of the ‘588 Patent
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,833,588 B2 in view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1) in further view of Elam (US 4,091,816 A).
Regarding claim 10, the ‘588 patents claim 14 in view of Shapiro does not disclose the pair of cuffs as claimed. Elam teaches it is known for an endotracheal tube (10) to comprise a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea (as shown in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to have modified Shapiro’s one cuff to instead comprise a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea as taught by Elam for the benefit of keeping upper airway secretions from entering the laryngeal area (col. 1, lines 56-62).
Claims 1-9, 11-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,328,227 B2 in view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1)
Claim 1 and 11 are rejected in view of claim 1 of the ‘588 Patent in further view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1). The claims differ in that the instant claims are drawn to an endotracheal tube whereas the ‘588 patent is drawn to a tracheal tube. Shapiro teaches it is known for endotracheal tubes with an inserting cannula (1) to also connect to ventilators via a connector (7) (Page 6, lines 4-8).
Claim 2 is rejected in view of claim 2 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 3 is rejected in view of claim 4 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 4 is rejected in view of claim 5 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 5 is rejected in view of claim 6 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 6 is rejected in view of claim 6 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 7 is rejected in view of claim 7 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 8 is rejected in view of claim 8 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 9 is rejected in view of claim 10 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 11 is rejected in view of claim 1 of the ‘227 Patent in further view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1). The claims differ in that the instant claims are drawn to an endotracheal tube whereas the ‘227 patent is drawn to a tracheal tube. Shapiro teaches it is known for endotracheal tubes with an inserting cannula (1) to also connect to ventilators via a connector (7) (Page 6, lines 4-8).
Claim 12 is rejected in view of claim 10 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 13 is rejected in view of claim 11 of the ‘227 Patent
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,328,227 B2 in view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1) in further view of Elam (US 4,091,816 A).
Regarding claim 10, the ‘227 patents claim 1 in view of Shapiro does not disclose the pair of cuffs as claimed. Elam teaches it is known for an endotracheal tube (10) to comprise a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea (as shown in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to have modified Shapiro’s one cuff to instead comprise a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea as taught by Elam for the benefit of keeping upper airway secretions from entering the laryngeal area (col. 1, lines 56-62).
Claims 1-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,376,389 B2.
Claims 1-9, 11-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,998,699 B2 in view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1)
Claim 1 and 11 are rejected in view of claim 1 of the ‘588 Patent in further view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1). The claims differ in that the instant claims are drawn to an endotracheal tube whereas the ‘588 patent is drawn to a tracheal tube. Shapiro teaches it is known for endotracheal tubes with an inserting cannula (1) to also connect to ventilators via a connector (7) (Page 6, lines 4-8).
Claims 2-9, 11-13 are rejected in view of claims 2-12, 14-19 of ‘699 Patent.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,998,699 B2 in view of Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1) in further view of Elam (US 4,091,816 A).
Regarding claim 10, the ‘227 patents claim 1 in view of Shapiro does not disclose the pair of cuffs as claimed. Elam teaches it is known for an endotracheal tube (10) to comprise a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea (as shown in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to have modified Shapiro’s one cuff to instead comprise a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea as taught by Elam for the benefit of keeping upper airway secretions from entering the laryngeal area (col. 1, lines 56-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1) in view of Fuller et al. (US 2016/0325066 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shapiro discloses: An endotracheal tube assembly (figure 1; page 6, lines 8-13) comprising:
an inserting cannula (1) adapted to be inserted into a subject’s mouth (abstract), the inserting cannula having a proximal end (5) and a distal end (at 7), the distal end having a connector (7) which connects to a ventilation device (Page 6, lines 4-8).
Shapiro is not explicit in that the connector (7) on the distal end having two or more pins extending laterally from a sidewall of the distal end; and
an elbow adapter configured to couple the inserting cannula with a mechanical ventilator for providing air to a patient;
a pressure release valve on the elbow adapter configured to mitigate high airway pressures that may cause disconnections or lung damage; and
a Bayonet Neill-Concelman (BNC) connector configured to secure the elbow adapter to the inserting cannula, wherein a locking region of the BNC is transparent or translucent and is configured to change color when the BNC is engaged with the inserting cannula.
In summary, Shapiro does disclose the tube can be a tracheal tube or an endotracheal tube (page 6, lines 8-13), but is not explicit in how it is connected to a ventilator.
Fuller teaches a tracheal tube and thus is analogous art (abstract). Fuller teaches how to connect the tube to a ventilator [0051]. This is accomplished by providing two or more pins (114) extending laterally from a sidewall of the distal end of the tracheal tube (see figure 11; [0091]); and
an elbow adapter (120) configured to couple the inserting cannula with a mechanical ventilator for providing air to a patient [0051] [0091];
a pressure release valve (130) on the elbow adapter configured to mitigate high airway pressures that may cause disconnections or lung damage [0092]; and
a Bayonet Neill-Concelman (BNC) connector (122) configured to secure the elbow adapter to the inserting cannula [0091].
It would have been obvious to have modified Shapiro to connect to the ventilator with the distal end having two or more pins extending laterally from a sidewall of the distal end; and
an elbow adapter configured to couple the inserting cannula with a mechanical ventilator for providing air to a patient;
a pressure release valve on the elbow adapter configured to mitigate high airway pressures that may cause disconnections or lung damage; and
a Bayonet Neill-Concelman (BNC) connector configured to secure the elbow adapter to the inserting cannula as taught by Fuller to prevent unintended disconnections [0054].
In a further embodiment, Fuller teaches wherein a locking region of the BNC is transparent or translucent and is configured to change color when the BNC is engaged with the inserting cannula [0153].
It would have further been obvious to have modified Shapiro such that a locking region of the BNC is transparent or translucent and is configured to change color when the BNC is engaged with the inserting cannula as taught by Fuller for the benefit of allowing the user to visually see the pin is fully engaged with the BNC connector [0153].
Regarding claim 2, Fuller further discloses: wherein the BNC connection comprises two or more channels (122) on the elbow adapter configured to mate with the two or more pins (114) on the inserting cannula [0091].
Regarding claim 3, Fuller further discloses: wherein the two or more channels are each arcs that are curved 90 degrees or more (claim 4).
Regarding claim 4, Fuller further discloses: wherein the pressure release valve (130) comprising a casing (131) with an aperture (134), a spring (132), and a pressure release valve spring disc (ridge as per [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Fuller further discloses: further comprising a seal (133) mated with the pressure release valve spring disc [0094], wherein the seal is configured to push back at high air pressures, compress the spring, and allow air to escape through the aperture [0094].
Regarding claim 6, Fuller further discloses: wherein the pressure release valve comprises a variety of selectable pressure release settings [0093].
Regarding claim 7, Fuller further discloses: wherein the pressure release valve (130) is coupled to the elbow adapter through a pressure release valve-elbow adapter threaded connection [0095].
Regarding claim 8, Fuller further discloses: further comprising a ventilator-elbow adaptor connection that is adapted to swivel [0010].
Regarding claim 9, Fuller further discloses: wherein the BNC connector of the elbow adapter is configured to connect to the inserting cannula with a connection strength of greater or equal to 45 N [0011].
Regarding claim 11, Shapiro discloses: An endotracheal tube assembly (figure 1; page 6, lines 8-13) comprising:
an inserting cannula (1) adapted to be inserted into a subject’s mouth or nose (abstract), the inserting cannula having a proximal end (5) and a distal end (at 7), the distal end having a connector (7) which connects to a ventilation device (Page 6, lines 4-8).
Shapiro is not explicit in that the connector (7) on the distal end having two or more pins extending laterally from a sidewall of the distal end;
an elbow adapter configured to couple the inserting cannula with a mechanical ventilator for providing air to a patient; a
Bayonet Neill-Concelman (BNC) connector on the elbow adapter configured to secure the elbow adapter to the inserting cannula wherein a locking region of the BNC is transparent or translucent and is configured to change color when the BNC is engaged with the inserting cannula; and
a pressure release valve on the elbow adapter configured to release excess pressure to mitigate high airway pressures that may cause disconnections or lung damage.
In summary, Shapiro does disclose the tube can be a tracheal tube or an endotracheal tube (page 6, lines 8-13), but is not explicit in how it is connected to a ventilator.
Fuller teaches a tracheal tube and thus is analogous art (abstract). Fuller teaches how to connect the tube to a ventilator [0051]. This is accomplished by providing two or more pins (114) extending laterally from a sidewall of the distal end of the tracheal tube (see figure 11; [0091]); and
an elbow adapter (120) configured to couple the inserting cannula with a mechanical ventilator for providing air to a patient [0051] [0091];
a Bayonet Neill-Concelman (BNC) connector (122) on the elbow adapter (120) configured to secure the elbow adapter to the inserting cannula [0091]; and
a pressure release valve (130) on the elbow adapter configured to mitigate high airway pressures that may cause disconnections or lung damage [0092].
It would have been obvious to have modified Shapiro to connect to the ventilator with the distal end having two or more pins extending laterally from a sidewall of the distal end; and
an elbow adapter configured to couple the inserting cannula with a mechanical ventilator for providing air to a patient;
a Bayonet Neill-Concelman (BNC) connector configured to secure the elbow adapter to the inserting cannula; and
a pressure release valve on the elbow adapter configured to mitigate high airway pressures that may cause disconnections or lung damage as taught by Fuller to prevent unintended disconnections [0054].
In a further embodiment, Fuller teaches wherein a locking region of the BNC is transparent or translucent and is configured to change color when the BNC is engaged with the inserting cannula [0153].
It would have further been obvious to have modified Shapiro such that a locking region of the BNC is transparent or translucent and is configured to change color when the BNC is engaged with the inserting cannula as taught by Fuller for the benefit of allowing the user to visually see the pin is fully engaged with the BNC connector [0153].
Regarding claim 12, Fuller further discloses: wherein connection between inserting cannula and the elbow adapter has a connection strength of greater or equal to 45 N [0011].
Regarding claim 13, Fuller further discloses: wherein the pressure release valve is configured to release pressure above 65 cm H20 [0014].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro (EP 0072230 A1) in view of Fuller et al. (US 2016/0325066 A1) in further view of Elam (US 4,091,816 A).
Regarding claim 10, Shapiro as modified does not explicitly disclose the endotracheal tube further comprising a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea.
However, Elam teaches it is known for an endotracheal tube (10) to comprise a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea (as shown in figure 2).
It would have been obvious to have modified Shapiro’s one cuff to instead comprise a pair of laterally offset cuffs on the inserting cannula configured to seal and secure the inserting cannula within the patient's trachea as taught by Elam for the benefit of keeping upper airway secretions from entering the laryngeal area (col. 1, lines 56-62).
Conclusion
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785