DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 4 September 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12, 18-21 and 23-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15, 17, 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) in view of Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623).
Regarding claim 13, Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) disclose a dental imaging system (Paragraph [0158].) comprising:
at least one processor (Paragraph [0158].); and
data storage, on which is stored instructions (Paragraph [0158].) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform actions comprising:
receiving Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) data of the dental anatomy (Paragraph [0045].);
generating, based on the OCT data, a three-dimensional (3D) model of the dental anatomy, wherein the generating of the 3D model of the dental anatomy comprises identifying one or more estimated pathology volumes within the dental anatomy, based on the OCT data (Paragraphs [0125], [0127], [0156] and [0163].).
While Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) acknowledges the OCT has limited penetration depths (See paragraphs [0053]-[0054]) and also discloses of AI determining the presence and location of additional carious lesions, for example (Paragraph [0088]), Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) fails to explicitly teach that for each of the one or more estimated pathology volumes, predicting whether an actual pathology volume extends deeper within a corresponding tooth of the dental anatomy than the estimated pathology volume in question.
Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623) for each of one or more volumes, predicting whether an actual volume extends deeper than the estimated volume in question (Paragraph [0118]: “machine learning algorithms are utilized to extrapolate a 3D surface” where extrapolation means using existing facts or data to predict or estimate something outside that known range. Thus, the initial volume from the 2D images or the estimated volume and then the extrapolation predicts whether the volume is deeper.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the extrapolation teachings of Ciriello et al. for each of the one or more estimated pathology volumes, which thus would result in predicting whether an actual pathology volume extends deeper within a corresponding tooth of the dental anatomy than the estimated pathology volume in question. The motivation to combine would have been to image all 3D surfaces of a patent’s teeth including regions that are hidden from direct observation (See paragraph [0138] of Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623).), which would thus allow for improved accuracy that increases the reliability and efficacy of such diagnoses and treatments (See paragraph [0002] of Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623).).
Regarding claim 15, Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) and Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623) disclose the system of claim 14, wherein the indication specifies one or more teeth having one or more pathology volumes that are each predicted to extend deeper within a corresponding tooth of the dental anatomy than the corresponding estimated pathology volume (See Figure 1 and paragraphs [0018] and [0125] of Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068), in the combination.).
Regarding claim 17, Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) and Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623) disclose the system of claim 13, wherein at least some of the one or more pathology volumes each corresponds to a caries, a fracture, or a resorption (Paragraph [0125] of Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068).).
Regarding claim 22, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13.
Regarding claim 27, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13, where the data storage of claim 13 is a non-transitory computer readable storage medium.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) in view of Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623) and further in view of Kopelman (US 2019/0231478).
Regarding claim 16, Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) and Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623) disclose the system of claim 13.
Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) and Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623) fail to explicitly teach the system further comprising performing Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) imaging of the dental anatomy.
Kopelman discloses a system comprising performing Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) imaging of the dental anatomy (Paragraph [0038].).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination, the combination of Ciriello et al. (US 2024/0261068) and Ciriello et al. (US 2022/0354623) performs the same function as it does separately of using OCT data, and Kopelman performs the same function as it does separately of performing OCT and CBCT imaging.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in the system performing and utilizing OCT and CBCT imaging.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 14 is the inclusion of the limitation reciting “displaying an indication to a user that Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) imaging of the dental anatomy should be carried out” which, in combination with the other recited features, is not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
In the closest prior art (cited art), Kopelamn (US 2019/0231478) discloses of performing CBCT imaging (See paragraph [0038].), for example. However, the prior art fails to teach of doing OCT imaging as in independent claim 13, then displaying an indication that CBCT imaging should be carried out as claimed in dependent claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 2022/0343498) discloses of systems and methods for identifying an x-ray image that includes an instance of a visual characteristic, and displaying the x-ray image and an indicator that corresponds to the instance of the visual characteristic.
Earthman et al. (US 2023/0332967) disclose of determination of structural characteristics of an object (tooth, for example).
Kopp et al. (US 2024/0185518) disclose of augmented video generation with dental modifications.
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
21 September 2026