DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 9/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are rejected.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT/CN2023/081919, and claims foreign priority to CN202210273378.3 filed 3/18/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/9/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng et al. (US 2023/0180223 A1) in view of Tsai et al. (US 2023/0122493 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Tseng teaches:
A first node for wireless communications, comprising:
a first receiver, receiving a first message, the first message indicating a target radio bearer set, the first message being used to determine to enter or to maintain RRC inactive state; (UE receives an RRC Release message with suspend configuration while the UE is in an RRC_CONNECTED state [Tseng: 0113; 0137; 0165], wherein a set of radio bearer configurations used for the RRC_INACTIVE state may be configured via an RRC release (e.g., with the information element ‘suspendconfig’) message [Tseng: 0149]);
and as a response to the first message being received, determining whether to perform a first action set at least according to whether a first condition set is satisfied, the first action set including suspending a first radio bearer; (at the UE side, the radio bearer configuration associated with the RRC_INACTIVE state may be stored by the UE in the UE Inactive AS context, and the UE may re-configure the radio bearers (or RLC bearers/logical channels) by applying the radio bearer configurations stored in the UE inactive AS context [Tseng: 0149-50], wherein for the active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure, the UE may suspend these radio bearers/logical channels as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Examiner notes that the first condition is satisfied if a bearer is not configured for SDT);
wherein the target radio bearer set includes at least one radio bearer, and the first radio bearer is one radio bearer in the target radio bearer set; (the suspended radio bearers are associated with the UE inactive AS context configured via the RRC release (e.g., with the information element ‘suspendconfig’) message [Tseng: 0076-77; 0149]);
a condition in the first condition set being used to determine whether to maintain a state of the first radio bearer; (performing a UE context update in a second message which may include the configuration of radio bearers to initiate a small data transmission procedure, wherein one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state, and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s) [Tseng: 0076-77]);
the action of determining whether to perform a first action set at least according to whether a first condition set is satisfied includes: performing the first action set if the first condition set is satisfied; and the first action set being not performed if at least one condition in the first condition set is not satisfied; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Examiner notes that the condition set of Tseng is therefore satisfied when a bearer is not configured as an SDT bearer).
However, Tseng does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
a condition in the first condition set is related to a second message, the second message being used to determine whether to maintain a state of the first radio bearer.
In a similar field of endeavor involving maintaining radio bearers for small data transmission, Tsai discloses:
a condition in the first condition set is related to a second message, the second message being used to determine whether to maintain a state of the first radio bearer; (the UE receives a RRC release message (and/or a suspend configuration message) comprising an sdt-Config information element, wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]. Examiner notes the condition is satisfied when RRC release does not include sdt-Config and the bearers are subsequently suspended, and the condition is not satisfied when RRC release does include sdt-Config and the specified bearers are maintained for SDT transfer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tseng in view of Tsai in order to relate the condition in the first condition set to a second message which is used to determine whether to maintain a state of the first radio bearer in the system of Tseng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Tseng with Tsai as doing so would provide an information element (sdt-DRBList) dedicated for identifying the data radio bearers that are configured by the network for small data transmission.
With regard to Claim 2, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first message is a suspendConfig field in an RRCRelease message; the first message comprises suspendConfig being used to determine to enter or to maintain RRC inactive state; the RRC inactive state is RRC_INACTIVE state; (a set of radio bearer configurations used for the RRC_INACTIVE state may be configured via an RRC release (e.g., with the information element ‘suspendconfig’) message [Tseng: 0149-50]. Tsai teaches if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0161]).
With regard to Claim 3, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first message includes an index of each radio bearer in the target radio bearer set; (the suspended and maintained radio bearers are associated with the UE inactive AS context configured via the RRC release (e.g., with the information element ‘suspendconfig’) message [Tseng: 0076-77; 0149]. Tsai teaches if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0161]. Examiner notes that the bearers must necessarily be identified/indexed in the sdt-DRBList).
With regard to Claim 4, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the target radio bearer set includes at least one of Q1 DRBs, or Q2 multicast MRBs, or an SRB2; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state, and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s) [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches DRBs, SRB1, and SRB2 may be configured for SDT [Tsai: 0161]).
With regard to Claim 5, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the target radio bearer set includes multiple radio bearers; the first radio bearer is any radio bearer in the target radio bearer set; (the suspended radio bearers are associated with the UE inactive AS context configured via the RRC release (e.g., with the information element ‘suspendconfig’) message [Tseng: 0076-77; 0149]).
With regard to Claim 6, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in that each radio bearer in the target radio bearer set is one of a DRB, an MRB or an SRB2; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state, and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s) [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches DRBs, SRB1, and SRB2 may be configured for SDT [Tsai: 0161]).
With regard to Claim 7, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the second message is a field in the first message; a condition in the first condition set is related to a format of the second message, and/or, a condition in the first condition set is related to content of the second message; (a set of radio bearer configurations used for the RRC_INACTIVE state may be configured via an RRC release (e.g., with the information element ‘suspendconfig’) message [Tseng: 0149]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config (i.e. a field in the first message), the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]).
With regard to Claim 8, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in that a condition in the first condition set is related to whether the first message includes the second message; as a response to the first message being received, the first condition set is satisfied if the first message does not include the second message; as a response to the first message being received, the first condition is not satisfied if the first message includes the second message; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]. Examiner notes that the condition set of Tseng is therefore satisfied when a bearer is not configured as an SDT bearer, wherein Tsai teaches a data radio bearer (DRB) is not configured as an SDT bearer when suspendConfig does not include sdt-Config).
With regard to Claim 9, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the second message indicates whether to maintain a state of each radio bearer in the target radio bearer set; the second message is a part of the first message; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]).
With regard to Claim 10, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 9, characterized in that the phrase that the second message indicates whether to maintain a state of each radio bearer in the target radio bearer set includes: the second message being used to determine a target radio bearer subset in the target radio bearer set, each radio bearer in the target radio bearer subset being maintained, and any radio bearer in the target radio bearer set other than the target radio bearer subset being not maintained; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]).
With regard to Claim 11, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 9, characterized in that as a response to the first message being received, if the first condition set is satisfied, suspending all radio bearers in the target radio bearer set; if at least one condition in the first condition set is not satisfied, maintaining all radio bearers in a target radio bearer subset, and suspending all radio bearers in the target radio bearer set other than the radio bearers in the target radio bearer subset; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]).
With regard to Claim 12, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 9, characterized in that if the target radio bearer subset does not include any radio bearer, the first condition set is satisfied; if the target radio bearer subset includes at least one radio bearer, the first condition set is not satisfied; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]. Examiner notes that any bearers included in the sdt-DRBList will be maintained, and if no bearers are included in the sdt-DRBList then all bearers will be suspended).
With regard to Claim 13, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 9, characterized in that the second message can indicate maintaining of state(s) of at least one radio bearer in the target radio bearer set; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]. Examiner notes that any bearers included in the sdt-DRBList will be maintained).
With regard to Claim 14, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in comprising: the first receiver, maintaining the state of the first radio bearer as a response to receiving the first message if at least one condition in the first condition set is not satisfied; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]. Examiner notes that any bearers included in the sdt-DRBList will be maintained).
With regard to Claim 15, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 14, characterized in that the action of maintaining the state of the first radio bearer includes: not suspending the first radio bearer if the first radio bearer is not suspended upon reception of the first message; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tsai teaches The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (and/or via a suspend configuration message), wherein if the suspendConfig includes sdt-Config, the UE may consider the DRB to be configured for SDT for each of the DRBs included in the sdt-DRBList [Tsai: 0051; 0161]. Examiner notes that any bearers included in the sdt-DRBList will be maintained).
With regard to Claim 16, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 1, characterized in comprising: the first receiver, performing a second action set as a response to the first message being received; wherein the action of performing the second action set is independent of whether the first condition set is satisfied; the second action set includes suspending at least a second radio bearer, the second radio bearer being not indicated by the first message; (the UE may store the UE Inactive AS context and transition from RRC_CONNECTED state to RRC_INACTIVE state when receiving an RRC Suspend (or RRC Release with Suspend) message [Tseng: 0046; 0050]. Tsai teaches when the UE receives an RRC release message (e.g., with suspend configuration), the UE may: reset a MAC entity, suspend SRBs and DRBs except SRB0 [Tsai: 0219-22], and stop a timer [Tsai: 0064]).
With regard to Claim 17, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 16, characterized in that an action in the second action set includes: if a T320 is running, stopping the T320; and/or, an action in the second action set includes: if a T316 is running, stopping the T316; and/or, an action in the second action set includes: entering RRC inactive state; and/or, the second action set includes resetting MAC; (the UE may store the UE Inactive AS context and transition from RRC_CONNECTED state to RRC_INACTIVE state when receiving an RRC Suspend (or RRC Release with Suspend) message [Tseng: 0046; 0050]. Tsai teaches when the UE receives an RRC release message (e.g., with suspend configuration), the UE may: reset a MAC entity, suspend SRBs and DRBs except SRB0 [Tsai: 0219-22], and stop a timer [Tsai: 0064]).
With regard to Claim 18, Tseng-Tsai teaches:
The first node according to claim 16, characterized in that if at least one condition in the first condition set is not satisfied, the second action set is performed as a response to receiving the first message; if the first condition set is satisfied, as a response to receiving the first message, the first action set is performed and the second action set is performed; (one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained/activated in the RRC_INACTIVE state and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or an SRB(s) associated with the concerned service(s), while active radio bearers/logical channels which are not enabled/configured to initiate small data transmission procedure may be suspended by the UE as part of the UE Inactive AS context after the UE moves to RRC_INACTIVE state [Tseng: 0076-77]. Tseng further teaches the UE may store the UE Inactive AS context and transition from RRC_CONNECTED state to RRC_INACTIVE state when receiving an RRC Suspend (or RRC Release with Suspend) message [Tseng: 0046; 0050]. Tsai teaches when the UE receives an RRC release message (e.g., with suspend configuration), the UE may: reset a MAC entity, suspend SRBs and DRBs except SRB0 [Tsai: 0219-22], and stop a timer [Tsai: 0064]).
With regard to Claims 19-20, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 1 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claims 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 2024/0407049 A1) which teaches a wireless device receives, from a base station, an RRC release message comprising a suspend configuration comprising a configuration for an SDT procedure indicating one or more radio bearers configured for the SDT procedure. The wireless device transitions to an RRC inactive state, receives, from the base station, a SIB comprising a timer value of a SDT timer for transitioning the wireless device to an RRC idle state, determines one or more conditions, for initiating the SDT procedure, being fulfilled, and transmits an RRC resume request message and starts the SDT timer [abstract].
Gupta et al. (US 2023/0040675 A1) which teaches receiving configuration information that can indicate the number of SRBs and DRBs to be suspended (and/or to be terminated), causing the UE to transition to the RRC_INACTIVE state, suspends the indicated number of SRBs and DRBs, terminates the remaining ones (except for SRB0 that is kept in an active state), and stores a definition for qualifying information for SDT and for the priority of SDT [0055].
Tsai et al. (US 2021/0337625 A1) which teaches one or more specific RBs (e.g., DRBs and/or SRBs) may be maintained in the RRC_INACTIVE state, and small data transmission may take place on a DRB(s) and/or a SRB(s) associated with the concerned service [0076].
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446