Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Water absorption mechanism in claims 1, 11, 17 is interpreted to include a driving device, and a lower impeller component and an upper impeller component, driving device interpreted as a motor or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turjeman (US PG Pub 2019/0264459).
With respect to claim 1, Turjeman teaches a pool filter comprising a housing 12 (a machine body, 0045-0057, Figures), conduit 24 (a flow channel, a water inlet end and a water outlet end), outlet chamber 16, 72, 82 (Fig. 1-4, the water outlet end is provided with a garbage collection device), in a example two propellers are used to provide greater suction force (0062, Fig. 2B, double-impeller, a lower impeller component and an upper impeller component arranged in the flow channel), a transmission may be configured to transmit a torque generated a motor a pump (0038, 0073-0075, water absorption mechanism comprises a driving device, and; and wherein the driving device is connected with the lower impeller component and the upper impeller component through a transmission structure).
With respect to claim 2, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 1 is taught above. Turjeman teaches pump transmission 62 including a double bevel-gear arrangement (0065-0075, Fig. 2E, the transmission structure comprises a driving bevel gear, a first driven bevel gear and a second driven bevel gear, the driving bevel gear is coaxially fixed on an output shaft of the driving device, the first driven bevel gear is coaxially fixed on the lower impeller component, and the second driven bevel gear is coaxially fixed on the upper impeller component; the two side of the driving bevel gear are respectively correspondingly meshed with the first driven bevel gear and the second driven bevel gear), the pitch of bottom-mounted propeller 29 may be opposite the pitch of top-mounted axial-flow pump propeller 28 (the blades of the lower impeller assembly and the upper impeller assembly are arranged in opposite directions).
With respect to claim 3, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 1, is taught above. Turjeman teaches the lower impeller component comprises a first blade and a first connecting rod, and the upper impeller component comprises a second blade and a second connecting rod, wherein the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod are coaxially arranged in the flow channel, and the first blade and the second blade are arranged in parallel (Fig. 2B).
With respect to claim 7, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 1, Turjeman teaches the housing as discussed above, and wheels 40 (Figs. 1-4, 0047, the machine body comprises a chassis near the water inlet end of the flow channel, and a plurality of rollers are arranged at the bottom of the chassis).
With respect to claim 11, Turjeman teaches a pool filter comprising a housing 12 (a machine body, 0045-0057, Figures), conduit 24 (a flow channel, a water inlet end and a water outlet end), in an example two propellers are used to provide greater suction force (0062, Fig. 2B, double-impeller, an impeller component installed in the flow channel; and wherein at least two groups of impeller components are arranged and close to the water inlet end and the water outlet end respectively, and the at least two groups of impeller components push water in the flow channel to form an axial flow), a transmission may be configured to transmit a torque generated a motor a pump (0038, 0073-0075, Figs., the driving device is accommodated in the machine body, and a transmission structure is arranged between the driving device and the impeller components).
With respect to claim 12, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 11, is taught above. Turjeman teaches outlet chamber 16, 72, 82 (Figs. 1-4, the impeller components comprise a lower impeller component and an upper impeller component, which are respectively installed at the water inlet end and the water outlet end of the flow channel, and the water outlet end is provided with a garbage collection device).
With respect to claim 13, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 12, is taught above. Turjeman teaches a housing with the motor and transmission (Fig. 2E, an outer wall of the machine body is provided with a shell for accommodating the driving device, and the driving device comprises a driving motor installed in the shell, and a power output end of the driving motor is provided with an output shaft).
With respect to claim 14, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 13, is taught above. Turjeman teaches a double bevel-gear arrangement (0065-0075, Fig. 2E, the transmission structure comprises a driving bevel gear, a first driven bevel gear and a second driven bevel gear located in the shell; and wherein the driving bevel gear is connected with the output shaft, and the first driven bevel gear and the second driven bevel gear are respectively meshed at two opposite ends of the driving bevel gear).
With respect to claim 15, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 14, is taught above. Turjeman teaches the lower impeller component comprises a first connecting rod and a first blade installed at one end of the first connecting rod; and the upper impeller component comprises a second connecting rod and a second blade installed at one end of the second connecting rod (Figs. 2B and 2E).
With respect to claim 16, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 15, is taught above. Turjeman teaches the first blade is arranged opposite to the second blade, and the other ends of the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod both penetrate into the shell and are rotatably connected with the shell; and wherein the first driven bevel gear and the second driven bevel gear are respectively connected with the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod (Figs. 2B and 2E).
With respect to claim 17, Turjeman teaches a pool filter comprising a housing 12 (a machine body, 0045-0057, Figures), conduit 24 (a flow channel, a water inlet end and a water outlet end), in an example two propellers are used to provide greater suction force (0062, Fig. 2B, double-impeller, a lower impeller component and an upper impeller component installed in the flow channel; and wherein the lower impeller component and the upper impeller component are respectively close to the water inlet end and the water outlet end, and the lower impeller component and the upper impeller component are used for pushing water in the flow channel to form an axial flow), a transmission may be configured to transmit a torque generated by a motor (0038, 0073-0075, water absorption mechanism comprises a driving device, the driving device is accommodated in the machine body, Figs.), pump transmission 62 including a double bevel-gear arrangement (0065-0075, Fig. 2E, a bevel gear transmission mechanism is arranged between the driving device and the lower impeller component and the upper impeller component).
With respect to claim 18, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 17, is taught above. Turjeman teaches an outer wall of the machine body is provided with a shell for accommodating a driving device, and the driving device comprises a driving motor installed in the shell (Figs).
With respect to claim 19, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 18, is taught above. Turjeman teaches transmission 62 including a double bevel-gear arrangement (0065-0075, Fig. 2E, wherein the bevel gear transmission mechanism comprises a driving bevel gear, a first driven bevel gear and a second driven bevel gear located in the shell; and wherein the driving bevel gear is connected with a power output end of the driving motor, and the first driven bevel gear and the second driven bevel gear are respectively meshed at two opposite ends of the driving bevel gear).
With respect to claim 20, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 19, is taught above. Turjeman teaches the first driven bevel gear and the second driven bevel gear are respectively installed on the lower impeller component and the upper impeller component (Fig. 2B and 2E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Turjeman (US PG Pub 2019/0264459), alternatively in view of Hui (US 9,091,092) and Chen (US PG Pub 2016/0032604).
With respect to claim 4, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 1, is taught above. Turjeman teaches the housing may enclose one or more components of the pool cleaner, including motors, controllers or control circuitry, and pumps, and may be constructed of material impermeable to water (0039, 0046, a shell and the driving motor sealed in the shell), a motor pump and transmission fixedly connected to a side wall of the machine body, the shell is fixedly connected with a protective casing, and the transmission structure is hermetically arranged in the protective casing, Fig. 2E, 0072-0075). If Turjeman’s liquid impermeable housing which may be completely or partially submerged, is not found to address the limitations of hermetically sealed, sealing of electrical and transmission components from the water and debris in a submersible pool cleaner would be an obvious choice to protect the motor and gears, as evidenced by Chen and Hui, Chen teaches a pool cleaner where a motor and gears drive an impeller (0012), preferably, the motor is sealed from the impeller so as to prevent water from corroding or damaging the motor; Hui teaches hermetically sealed connections for a pump in a pool cleaner (abstract, Figures, C11/L30-42, C18/L50-C19/L7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to protect each of the components or hermetically arrange in protective casing, to prevent water from corroding to damaging components in the motor or transmission.
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Turjeman (US PG Pub 2019/0264459), in view of Jaakola (US 7,178,188).
With respect to claim 5, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 4, is taught above. Turjeman teaches the lower impeller component comprises a first connecting rod, and the upper impeller component comprises a second connecting rod (Fig. 2B and 2E); while Turjeman does not explicitly teach bearings correspondingly arranged between the first connecting rod and the protective casing, between the second connecting rod and the protective casing, and between the output shaft of the driving motor and the shell, Jaakola teaches a spa vacuum where a propeller shaft 20 is connected to the motor and connects to a protective casing unit , and support bearings are installed to prevent the shaft from wobbling (C2/L16-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Turjeman’s taught pool cleaner and impellers to include bearings as shown by Jaakola, to prevent the propeller shaft from wobbling.
With respect to claim 6, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 4, is taught above. Turjeman teaches power supply 47 and controller 46 (0058-0059, Figs. 1-4, wherein a power supply module and a drive control board are arranged in the shell, and the power supply module is electrically connected with the driving motor through the drive control board).
Claims 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Turjeman (US PG Pub 2019/0264459), in view Schuman (US 4,962,559).
With respect to claim 8, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 7, is taught above. Turjeman teaches a housing with wheels, as discussed above but does not teach symmetrically provided with cleaning brushes on both sides of the water inlet end of the flow channel, however, the use of brushes for pool vacuums is known in the art as shown by Schuman teaches a submersible vacuum with a pump impeller (abstract), the most basic type of pool cleaning device consists of a brush mounted to a pole to loosen dirt from the pool surfaces, and powered vacuums may be equipped with brush bristles to dislodge dirt (C1-C2), liquid flow duct 15 which depends into a cavity 12 on the underside of the brush head bounded by brush bristles, with brush bristle assemblies are mounted about the periphery of the head (C3/L20-C4/L66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taught combination to include cleaning brushes around the periphery or symmetrically provided with cleaning brushes on both sides of the water inlet end of the flow channel as shown by Shuman to loosed dirt from pool surfaces.
With respect to claim 9, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 8 is taught above. Shuman teaches a plurality of bristles, absent evidence of criticality the number and placement of the brushes/bristles would be obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there are two cleaning brushes, and the two cleaning brushes are distributed on both sides of the water inlet end of the flow channel in a V shape.
With respect to claim 10, the double-impeller leaf collector according to claim 1, is taught above. Turjeman teaches the cleaner may be operated with a controller or manually (0058) but does not teach the side wall of the machine body is provided with a hinge part, and the hinge part is hinged with a connecting handle. Shuman teaches the most basic type of pool cleaning device consists of a brush mounted to a pole (C1), powered vacuums can be equipped with wheel to roll along pool surfaces, and a common way to implement rolling devices is to hinge mount the vacuum head to the end of a pole so that the user can operate and maneuver the device without getting wet (C1/L31-56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Turjeman’s taught pool cleaner to include a hinge part to connect to a handle or pole as described by Shuman to allow manual operation where the user can maneuver the device without getting wet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bruneel US 2021/0164252
Erlich US 2019/0032355
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776