DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1-8 do not use “means for “(or “step for”) language, or generic placeholders for “means” coupled with functional language without recitation of sufficient structure for carrying out the claimed functions and therefore do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 2009/0009617 A1).
[Claim 1]
Regarding claim 1, Ito teaches an imaging apparatus (Ito, Figure 1, single lens reflecting camera 1) that performs image capturing operation in a plurality of operation modes (Ito, Figure 22, first clock drive frequency mode between P1 and P2 where the temperature T <Tth1 and a second drive clock frequency mode between P2 and P3 where the temperature is Tth1<T<Tth2, paragraph 0258), the imaging apparatus comprising:
an image sensor (Ito, image pickup device 130, Figure 1) that captures a subject image via an optical system to generate an image data. Ito, the image pickup device 130 arranged in coincidence with the focal plane of the focus lens 200 to photoelectrically convert the formed subject image and output it as an electrical image signal, paragraph 0045, the image pickup device 130 can be, for example, a CCD or a CMOS or any other image pickup device, paragraph 0045).
a temperature acquisition (Ito, Figure 1, temperature sensor 140 and a thermometric circuit 141 are provided to detect the temperature of the image pickup device 130, paragraph 0072); and
a controller (Ito, a system controller 100, Figure 1) that switches the plurality of operation modes based on the temperature of the image sensor, (Ito, if the increased temperature of the image pickup device 130 becomes greater than Tth1, the controller 100 reduces the drive clock frequency for the image pickup device 130, paragraph 0258)
the plurality of operation modes includes a first operation mode (Ito, Figure 22, the first drive clock frequency mode defined between P1 and P2, temperature of the image sensor T<Tth1) and a second operation mode (Ito, Figure 22, second drive clock frequency mode defined between time period P2 and P3 and temperature Tth1<T<Tth2) in which the image sensor consumes less power than in the first operation mode, (Ito teaches the control unit reduces the clock frequency by half when the temperature of the image sensor crosses the first threshold of Tth1. The power is reduced when the clock frequency is reduced as described by the equation power, P is proportional to fV2 , so when frequency goes down the power consumption reduces),
the controller changes an operation mode of the imaging apparatus from the first operation mode to the second operation mode when the temperature of the image sensor increases to first temperature (ito, Figure 22, temperature T<Tth1, in image capturing operation in the first operation mode. Ito teaches the controller for causing the controller changing the drive clock frequency to change from a higher to a lower value when the temperature of the image pickup device 130 crosses a threshold of Tth1 as shown in Figure 22.
the first temperature (Ito, Figure 22, temperature below the threshold Tth1) is lower than temperature (Ito, Figure 22, temperature threshold Tth2) at which execution of a predetermined function is restricted in the imaging apparatus. Ito teaches that the temperature Tth1 is lower than Tth2, where operations are restricted when the temperature rises above Tth2, e.g. the system shutdown in Figure 22 and the “the system is stopped” in paragraph 0256.
[Claim 3]
In regards to claim 3, Ito teaches all the limitations of claim 1, wherein the first operation mode (Ito, Figure 22, the first operation mode between time period P1 and P2 with a specific drive clock f and power consumption P is proportional to fV2 ) has different power consumption in the second operation mode (Ito, Figure 22, the drive clock rate is divided by half in the second operation mode, the power will be proportional to (½)*fV2 and thus will be different). Furthermore, Ito teaches that if the image capturing apparatus is in OPT mode performs phase difference AF operation mode, paragraph 0147). Ito in Figure 22, and in paragraph 0259, teaches that if the image pickup device 130 can continue to have OPT mode during region r1. The driver clock frequency is reduced by half when the temperature Tth1 is crossed and as such the power consumption are different.
[Claim 4]
In regards to claim 4, Ito teaches all the limitations of claim 3, wherein in the first operation mode (Ito, Figure 22, operation mode described between time period P1 and P2, or below the temperature threshold Tth1) the imaging apparatus (Ito, image pickup device 130) performs the autofocus operation by a phase detection method (Ito, Figure 22, in a range (r1) of temperatures between TL to Tth2, both EVF and OPT modes are available and in OPT mode, paragraph 0259, the image pickup device performs phase detection autofocus operation, paragraph 0147), the imaging apparatus performs the autofocus by at least one of a contrast detection method (Ito, the single-lens reflex camera 1 of the embodiment includes a finder mode switching instruction part switchable between the OPT mode and the EVF mode, a focusing part switchable between the phase-difference AF and the contrast detection AF, paragraph 0095) or a depth measurement method by active sensing. Ito teaches that EVF mode and OPT modes are available in the range (r1) as shown in Figure 22. Ito further teaches that focusing can be selected between phase detection AF and contrast detection AF in paragraph 0095. As such, between the first operation mode (Ito, Figure 22, operation mode between time period P1 and P2) and second operation node (Ito, Figure 22, operation mode between P2 and P3) both OPT and EVF modes are available and thus the selection option between phase detection AF and contrast detection AF mode can be selected between the first and second operation mode.
[Claim 5]
In regards to claim 5, Ito teaches all the limitations of claim 3, wherein the imaging apparatus performs image capturing operation of a still image in the first and second operation modes. Ito teaches in paragraph 0092, in the EVF mode, the CPU 101 calculates the subject brightness from the output of the image pickup device 130 to decide shooting conditions upon capturing image data of a still image. Ito teaches in Figure 22, and in paragraph 00259, in a range (r1) of temperatures between TL to Tth2, both EVF and OPT modes are available. Since the EVF and OPT modes are available in both first and second operation, the capturing of still image is available for the first and second operation mode when EVF mode is chosen.
[Claim 6]
Regarding claim 6, Ito teaches all the limitations of claim 1, wherein the first operation mode has different power consumption of the image sensor than the second operation mode in reading a signal output from a plurality of pixels included in the image sensor, in the first operation mode, the image sensor reads a signal from all pixels in the plurality of pixels, and in the second operation mode, the image sensor reads a signal by binning two or more pixels or thinning out a subset of pixels in the plurality of pixels.
Ito teaches the first operation mode having different power consumption based on the drive clock frequency as described in claim 3. Furthermore, Ito teaches of having OPT and EVF mode available during the range (r1) in paragraph 0259 and Figure 22. Ito further teaches of having the function of reducing the rate of thinning out performed by the pixel selection circuit by using image pickup device IF circuit. This operation increases the resolution of an image to be displayed on the LCD device 10 when the EVF mode is selected. Thus, during the second mode the use of EVF mode reduces the number of pixels read out and is reduced than the first period where the image is read from all pixels.
[Claim 7]
Regarding claim 7, Ito teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor (Ito, Figure 1, temperature sensor 140 and thermometric circuit 141) capable of measuring the temperature of the image sensor (Ito, Figure 1, image pickup device 130), wherein the temperature acquisition circuit acquires the temperature of the image sensor from the temperature sensor. Ito teaches that the temperature sensor 140 and a thermometric circuit 141 are provided to detect the temperature T of the image pickup device 130, paragraph 0072.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2009/0009617 A1) in view of Mori et al. (US 2012/0026379 A1).
[Claim 2]
In regards to claim 2, Ito teaches all the limitations of claim 1, the controller (Ito, controller 100), after changing the operation mode of the imaging apparatus from the first operation mode to the second operation mode, changes the operation mode of the imaging apparatus from the second operation mode to the first operation mode when the temperature of the image sensor decreases to second temperature lower than the first temperature in image capturing operation in the second mode.
Ito does not teach changing of the operation mode from the second operation mode to first operation mode when the temperature of the image sensor decreases to a second temperature (Ito, temperature threshold below Tth2) as the image capturing apparatus goes into a shutdown mode when the temperature of the image sensor crosses Tth2 in the second operation mode.
However, Mori teaches a similar system comprising of a digital camera and an image capturing unit (Mori, Figure 1, digital camera 100, an image capturing unit 105, for example an image sensor such as CCD or CMOS sensor, paragraph 0021), a temperature acquisition circuit (Mori, Figure 1, a temperature detecting unit 130 which detects the temperature of an image sensor, paragraph 0024). Mori teaches performing different operations or “modes” based on temperature (as shown in Figure 6) and further teaches the use of a loop to repeatedly check the temperature and select an appropriate operation or “mode” to perform each time (Mori, Figure 6, temperature determination at step S502, temperature checks at steps S503-S507 selecting appropriate operations or “modes” at steps S601-S608 and repeating as a loop at step S507).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ito with the teaching of Mori to include a loop which repeatedly checks the temperature and selects an appropriate operation/mode (i.e. the first operation mode or the second operation mode) based on a current temperature. By doing so, when the temperature decreases below threshold Tth1 while in the second mode, the next loop would cause a switch to the first mode due to the decreased temperature being below Tth1, so that the devices are in appropriate mode for the current temperature.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 2009/0009617 A1) in view of Takayama (US 2009/0140125 A1).
[Claim 8]
Regarding claim 8, Ito teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor capable of measuring temperature of a part different from the image sensor in the imaging apparatus, wherein the temperature acquisition circuit calculates the temperature of the image sensor based on a measurement result obtained by the temperature sensor.
Ito teaches the measurement of temperature is based on the temperature of the image sensor and not from a part different from the image sensor in the imaging apparatus, wherein the temperature acquisition circuit calculates the temperature of the image sensor based on a measurement result obtained by the temperature sensor.
However, Takayama teaches an imaging apparatus (Takayama, Figure 1, imaging device 1) and an image sensor (Takayama, imaging element 5) and temperature sensor (Takayama, Figure 3, temperature sensor 8) where a plurality of temperature sensors 8 may be incorporated in the corresponding area or region of the imaging device, (Takayama, paragraph 0045). Takayama further teaches in Figure 3, a plurality of temperature sensors 8 can be integrated in an area corresponding to the imaging area of the imaging element 5 in the signal processing chip 6, paragraph 0153. These plurality of temperature sensors 8 are located in the area different from the imaging element 5 and capable of measuring temperature of a part different from the image sensor since they are placed on the signal processing chip 6 and not the imaging element 5 and thus would be capable of measuring temperature of the signal processing chip 6.
Furthermore, Takayama teaches of a plurality of temperature sensors 8 are used, detection is performed by each temperature sensor 8. It is also possible to control the LogLin converter 25 using the average temperature value, paragraph 0119. Using the average is a mathematical calculation performed on temperature data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ito with the teaching of Takayama to build a configuration, even in case the imaging area of the imaging element 5 is large, an accuracy of temperature detection in the imaging area can be improved by detecting the temperature of each area through a plurality of temperature sensors 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The following show additional prior art systems/methods for imaging apparatus:
Itoi et al. US 2024/0048865 A1
Namekawa et al. US 2011/0205071 A1
Naita US 2022/0279112 A1
Sugiyama US 2020/0288047 A1
Kitagawa et al. US 2021/0120180 A1
Kitai et al. US 2024/0323515 A1
Kamba et al. US 2018/0217352 A1
/MEHEDI HASSAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2637
/SINH TRAN/
Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637