The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of September 15, 2024 are under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on September 15, 2024. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
See “chucking module gripping the transport object” in claim 13, with “module” being the generic placeholder and “gripping the transport object” being the modifying functional language. The specification discloses a gripper.
See “rotation module rotating the chucking module” in claim 13, with “module” being the generic placeholder and “rotating the chucking module” being the modifying functional language. The specification discloses a body, turntable and motor.
Claim Objections
At claim 1, line 6, please replace “upgrip” with – ungrip --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomida (USPN 9938120).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Tomida (USPN 9938120) teaches a transport apparatus comprising: a vehicle (vehicle 1); a housing (13) connected to the vehicle and forming an internal space with an open bottom; a hand unit (19) provided to be movable in an up-down direction, in the housing and to grip and ungrip a transport object (object 6); and a slide unit (22) separated from the hand unit, in the housing, and moving horizontally in a direction where the hand unit is disposed, wherein the slide unit includes: a base plate (32) provided in the internal space of the housing; a slide plate (27) sliding from the base plate in the direction where the hand unit is disposed and seating the transport object; and a drive module (motor 28) provided on the base plate, and sliding the slide plate so that the slide plate protrudes from the base plate (as seen in Figures 5, 6 and 7).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, a pair of slide units are provided, facing each other with the hand unit therebetween within the internal space of the housing. Figure 2 shows a pair of slide units (22).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, the drive module includes: a moving block (33) fixed to the slide plate; a ball screw (34) penetrated by the moving block; and a first motor (28) rotating the ball screw, and as the moving block moves due to the rotation of the ball screw driven by the first motor, the slide plate slides
Regarding Claim(s) 10, the slide unit further includes a first detachment prevention block (30a) provided on an upper surface of the slide plate and contacting one side of the transport object.
Regarding Claim(s) 12, the slide unit further includes a second detachment prevention block (30b) provided on the upper surface of the slide plate, opposite to the first detachment prevention block, and contacting the other side of the transport object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uchino (USPN 8757401).
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Tomida teaches the hand unit includes: a rotation module rotating the hand unit [Col. 9:8-16, “vertical movement support portion 13 includes a positioning mechanism for rotating the vertically moving mechanism 20 about a vertical axis (axis along the vertical direction) and for moving the vertically moving mechanism 20 in the fore and aft direction in order to adjust the attitude and position of the support mechanism 19 relative to the travel portion 12”. Tomida fails to teach a chucking module gripping the transport object or that the rotation module rotates the chucking module. Uchino (USPN 8757401) teaches transport apparatus comprising a vehicle having a hand unit including a chucking module (grip unit 9 having 22) gripping the transport object (cassette 5); and a rotation module rotating the chucking module (swing motor 20 rotating grip unit 9 about swing axle 19 via transmission 21). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a chucking module and rotation module in a transport apparatus since the elements were known in the art and one of ordinary skill, using known methods, could have combined the elements and achieved predictable results. The chucking module would secure the object and the rotation module would rotate the chucking module and object to align the object with a workstation.
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Tomida teaches the transport object is provided as a magazine housing chips [Col 7:53-57, “object 6S may be a container for storing a number of semiconductor wafers”]. The recitation of “chips” does not limit the structure as recitations directed toward the articles handled by an apparatus do not bear on the patentability of the apparatus. See MPEP 2115. Tomida fails to teach the chucking module includes a gripper sliding to fit onto or separate from the top of the magazine. Uchino teaches a gripper (grip tools 22) sliding to fit onto or separate from the top of a magazine (cassette 5) [Col. 7:1-8]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a gripper sliding to fit onto or separate from the top of the magazine as taught by Uchino to positively hold the transport object.
Regarding Claim(s) 16, Tomida teaches a lifting unit (20) including a belt (24a) with adjustable length to raise and lower the hand unit (length adjustable by motor 25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 9, 11, 15, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim(s) 18, the prior art fails to anticipate or fairly suggest wherein the slide unit includes: a base plate provided in the internal space of the housing, formed with a first cutting hole into which one side of the transport object is inserted, and provided with a first transport object detachment prevention unit forming a band shape surrounding the transport object, combined with the rest of the claim language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 9558977 discloses a transport apparatus having storage parts for storing a magazine and is related to applicant cited KR20150140208. US Pub 20040109746 A1 is related to applicant cited KR20040050704.
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653