DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 2-4, 12-15, and 17-19 are withdrawn, and Claims 1, 5-11, 16, and 20 have been examined on the merits.
Interview Summary
A called was made to Nathan Smith on 04/01/2026 to discuss the Restriction requirements. Attorney agreed to the withdrawal of claims 2-4, 12, and 17-19, which reflect the nonelected claims in the Species restriction.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 and 16-20 drawn to Invention I and species G from Group I in the reply filed on 02/05/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being
drawn to a nonelected Invention II drawn to an adapter for use with an instrument there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 2-4, 12, and 17-19 are withdrawn as being drawn to the nonelected Species A-F and H as detailed in the Office Action dated 12/04/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “resilient member” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 5 “the navigation sensor configured generate” should be “the navigation sensor configured to generate”.
In claim 16, line 6-7 “the navigation sensor configured generate” should be “the navigation sensor configured to generate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (and similarly claim 10) recites the limitation “instrument coupling arm configured to non-removably engage a portion of the instrument”. It is unclear what is meant by the coupling arm being non-removably engaged to a portion of the instrument, and whether this means that the coupling arm is a portion that cannot be removed, or if once attached, the instrument cannot be removed. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be construed as a coupling arm which is just a part of the device that cannot be removed. However, further clarification is required.
All remaining claims are rejected due to their dependency to the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5,8-11, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tarke (US20220257093A1, disclosed in Applicant IDS).
Regarding Claim 1,
Tarke teaches an adapter for use with an instrument (corresponding disclosure in at least [0168], where there is an adapter used with an instrument “such an adapter may be readily coupled with an instrument”), the adapter comprising:
an adapter body extending between a proximal end and a distal end (Corresponding disclosure in at least [0170] and Figure 40, where there is a proximal and distal end “End effector (1022) is at the distal end of shaft assembly (1020)”);
Figure 40 of Tarke
an instrument coupling arm attached to the adapter body, the instrument coupling arm configured to non-removably engage a portion of the instrument (corresponding disclosure in at least [0174], where there is a coupling arm (the hub) which is attached to the adapter, which engages a portion of the instrument (tissue shaving instrument) “Hub (1110) of adapter sheath (1100) is configured to engage with hub (1010) of tissue shaving instrument (1000) to thereby removably secure adapter sheath (1100) relative to tissue shaving instrument (1000)”);
and a navigation sensor fixed to the adapter body, the navigation sensor configured generate signals indicating a position of at least a portion of the instrument in three-dimensional space (corresponding disclosure in at least [0174], where there is a navigation sensor “Proximal navigation sensor (1146) of adapter sheath (1100) is positioned further proximal from end effector (1022), such that proximal navigation sensor (1146) may readily indicate the real-time position of a corresponding proximal portion of shaft assembly” and further in [0159], where it is specified the instrument in 3D space is shown “defines a respective navigation sensor (650, 652, 653, 654, 656, 657) that is operable to generate signals indicative of the position of the respective navigation sensor (650, 652, 653, 654, 656, 657) and thereby indicative of the position of at least a portion (e.g., outer shaft (616)) of instrument (500) in three-dimensional space”).
Regarding Claim 5,
Tarke further teaches wherein the instrument coupling arm comprises a resilient member (corresponding disclosure in at least [0174], where there is a resilient member (there is a snap fit for the hub to fix the instrument in place) “Hub (1110) of adapter sheath (1100) is configured to engage with hub (1010) of tissue shaving instrument (1000) to thereby removably secure adapter sheath (1100) relative to tissue shaving instrument (1000). By way of example only, hub (1110) may provide a snap fit, and interference fit, or any other suitable kind of relationship with hub (1010). As shown in FIGS. 39 and 43, the length of shaft assembly (1120) is such that distal ends (1132, 1152) are just proximal to end effector (1022) when adapter sheath (1100) is fully seated on tissue shaving instrument”).
Regarding Claim 8,
Tarke further teaches wherein the resilient member defines an elongate slot (corresponding disclosure in at least disclosure in at least [0174] and Figure 39, where there is an elongate slot (the hub, which is the resilient member “hub (1110) may provide a snap fit, and interference fit, or any other suitable kind of relationship with hub (1010). As shown in FIGS. 39 and 43, the length of shaft assembly (1120) is such that distal ends (1132, 1152) are just proximal to end effector (1022) when adapter sheath (1100) is fully seated on tissue shaving instrument (1000)”).
Figure 39 of Tarke
Regarding Claim 9,
Tarke further teaches wherein the resilient member extends proximally from the distal end of the adapter body (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 39, where the member extends proximally from the distal end (as the arrow shows, the member extends from a distal point to the proximal).
Figure 39 of Tarke
Regarding Claim 10,
Tarke further teaches wherein the instrument coupling arm is configured to non-removably engage a portion of the instrument, in a predetermined angular orientation with respect to an axis of the instrument (corresponding disclosure in at least [0169], where there is a knob which will rotate to the instrument to a specific orientation “Rotation control knob (1006) is rotatable relative to body (1002) to reorient shaft assembly (1020) about the longitudinal axis of shaft assembly (1020). Power connector (1008) is configured to couple with a power source to provide power to a motor (not shown) in body (1002). The motor is operable to drive a cutting shaft (not shown) of shaft assembly (1020) in a manner as is known in the art”).
Regarding Claim 11,
Tarke further teaches wherein the adapter body defines a through hole extending between the proximal end and the distal end (corresponding disclosure in at least [0103], where there is a hole between the proximal and distal end (the gap) “Tab (167) may be further positioned to leave a gap (not shown) between the proximal face of tab (167) and the distal end of conduit (164), and a similar gap may be left between the proximal face of tab (168) and the distal end of conduit (165). These gaps may be sized to allow liquid to escape from the distal ends of conduits (164, 165)”.
Regarding Claim 16,
Tarke teaches an adapter cuff for use with an instrument (corresponding disclosure in at least [0168], where there is an adapter used with an instrument “such an adapter may be readily coupled with an instrument”), the adapter cuff comprising:
an adapter body extending between a proximal end and a distal end, the adapter body defining an irrigation lumen extending from the distal end toward the proximal end (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 2 and [0079], where the adapter body extends between a proximal and distal end, and there is an irrigation lumen at the distal end (the irrigation assembly “As best shown in FIG. 3, navigation, visualization, and irrigation assembly (106) is disposed within shaft assembly (104) and is operable to provide navigation capabilities to shaft assembly (104), and to provide visualization and irrigation at a target tissue site distal to distal end (120) of shaft assembly (104)”);
an irrigation nozzle located at the distal end of the adapter body and in fluid communication with the irrigation lumen (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 2 and [0079], where there is an irrigation nozzle towards the end of the distal end “As best shown in FIG. 3, navigation, visualization, and irrigation assembly (106) is disposed within shaft assembly (104) and is operable to provide navigation capabilities to shaft assembly (104), and to provide visualization and irrigation at a target tissue site distal to distal end (120) of shaft assembly (104)” and further in [0100], where there is an irrigation nozzle and the irrigation lumen (the fluid conduits, which are connected to the body of the device, which is defined as the irrigation lumen according to [0092] of the present application to pick up fluids that pass through) “As best shown in FIG. 3, navigation, visualization, and irrigation assembly (106) is disposed within shaft assembly (104) and is operable to provide navigation capabilities to shaft assembly (104), and to provide visualization and irrigation at a target tissue site distal to distal end (120) of shaft assembly (104)”); and
a navigation sensor fixed to the adapter body, the navigation sensor being configured generate signals indicating a position of at least a portion of the instrument (corresponding disclosure in at least [0115], where there is a navigation sensor on the body which indicates the position of a portion of the instrument “defines a respective navigation sensor (250, 252, 254, 256) that is operable to generate signals indicative of the position of the respective navigation sensor (250, 252, 254, 256) and thereby indicative of the position of at least a portion (e.g., flexible portion (118) of shaft assembly (104)) of instrument (100) in three-dimensional space”).
Regarding Claim 20,
Tarke further teaches wherein the one or more navigation sensor comprises a non-concentric tri-axis sensor (Corresponding disclosure in at least [0115], where there is a tri-axis sensor “defines a respective navigation sensor (250, 252, 254, 256) that is operable to generate signals indicative of the position of the respective navigation sensor (250, 252, 254, 256) and thereby indicative of the position of at least a portion (e.g., flexible portion (118) of shaft assembly (104)) of instrument (100) in three-dimensional space” and further in Figure 15, where the sensor is non-concentric).
Figure 15 of Tarke
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tarke (US20220257093A1, disclosed in Applicant IDS) in view of Amin (US20200188035A1)
Regarding Claim 6, Tarke teaches the limitations of Claim 5, and further teaches the instrument coupling arm comprising a complementary surface (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 38, where there is a surface on the coupling arm)), but does not teach the recess defined by the portion of the instrument.
Figure 38 of Tarke
Amin, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a similar concept (connectors to surgical instruments) of the recess defined by the portion of the instrument (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 9, where there is a recess in the portion of the instrument).
Figure 9 of Amin
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated a recess defined by the portion of the instrument as taught by Amin. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate this because the recess provides a pocket or area to connect another instrument or tool to the instrument.
Regarding Claim 7, Tarke and Amin teaches the limitations of Claim 6, and Tarke further teaches wherein the complementary surface comprises an arched profile (corresponding disclosure in at least Figure 38 of Tarke, where the surface is an arched profile, as depicted in the Figure).
Figure 38 of Tarke
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Such prior arts include US20230380662A1 (surgical system with navigation sensors), US 20210236212 A1 (tracker in use with a surgical instrument, irrigation system, and adapter to engage with surgical instrument), and US 20190125375 A1 (IGS navigation system with instrument adapter).
/K.E.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797