DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 16 September 2024 and the preliminary amendment filed 27 November 2024.
Claims 1–20 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
Claims 1–20 are rejected.
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claim 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “further comprising a memory is configured to store…” which is ungrammatical. This objection could be overcome by amending the claim to read, e.g., “further comprising a memory configured to store…” or “further comprising a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections—35 U.S.C. § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1–9 and 14–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding independent claim 1, this claim recites [a] system, comprising: data ingestion and cleaning logic […] knowledge graph generation logic […] sentiment analysis logic […] baselining logic […] expert knowledge basing logic […] and explanation logic. The term “logic”, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, encompasses, e.g., software logic or code (see specification, e.g., para. 232). The claims do not recite, e.g., a medium for storing the code, or a processor and memory. Therefore, the claimed system does not comprise any elements that are necessarily physical or tangible, i.e., the claim encompasses embodiments of software per se, and the claim does not recite a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See MPEP § 2106.03.
Regarding dependent claims 2–9 and 14–20, these claims depend from claim 1, but do not recite any further elements that are necessarily physical or tangible. Therefore, these claims also fail to recite statutory subject matter.
[Note that dependent claim 10 recites a memory which is interpreted as computer hardware in light of the specification, e.g., paras. 116, 118, 124, 131, 139, and 230. Claims 11–13 depend from claim 10 and therefore also implicitly recite a memory. Therefore, claims 10–13 recite a machine or manufacture and are excluded from this rejection.]
Claim Rejections—35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1–7 and 17–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Tokar (US 2022/0351257 A1) in view of Castellano et al. (“Leveraging Knowledge Graphs and Deep Learning for automatic art analysis”) [hereinafter Castellano] in view of Powell et al. (“Art Innovative Systems for Value Tagging”) [hereinafter Powell], Tokar (US 2022/0351257 A1), and Guillo et al. (US 2024/0005348 A1) [hereinafter Guillo].
Regarding independent claim 1, Castellano teaches [a] system, comprising: data ingestion and cleaning logic configured to: ingest structured data and unstructured data identifying one or more constructors, one or more constructs, and one or more categories of constructs, wherein individual constructs of the one or more constructs are: A system for generating knowledge graphs of artworks [constructs] including data on authors/artists [constructors] and styles/movements/genres [categories] (Castellano, pp. 2–3, § 3, fig. 1). associated with at least one particular constructor of the one or more constructors; and The artworks are represented as nodes connected to nodes representing artists, with an edge indicating that the artwork was created by the artist (Castellano, p. 3, fig. 1). associated with at least one particular category of the one or more categories of constructs; and The artwork node is connected to a node representing the genre, style, media, period, series, etc. (Castellano, p. 3, fig. 1). clean the ingested structured and unstructured data to generate cleansed structured data and cleansed unstructured data; The structured and unstructured data is processed for data cleaning and preparation (Castellano, p. 2, § 3, second para.) knowledge graph generation logic configured to: represent in a constructor graph the one or more constructors, the one or more constructs, and the one or more categories as nodes of the constructor graph; The artists [constructors] and artworks [constructs] are represented in a knowledge graph [constructor graph] (Castellano, p. 3, § 3, first para., fig. 1). represent, using edges between the nodes of the constructor graph: similarity between constructors of the one or more constructors; The artists may be identified as being a pupil of another artist, or adhered to the same artistic current, using the graph (Castellano, p. 2, § 3, first para.). similarity between constructs of the one or more constructs; and The graph edges represent the genre, style, series, media, period, etc. of the artworks (Castellano, p. 3, fig. 1). influences between the categories of the one or more categories of constructs; and The graph can be queried to identify, e.g., influencing connections between artists (Castellano, p. 3, § 3, second para. , p. 4, fig. 2). identify clusters of nodes in the constructor graph and central nodes of the clusters of nodes; The knowledge graph can be queried to generate, e.g., clusters of art stored in particular countries, or works kept in particular galleries and other places (Castellano, p. 4, fig. 2). […]
Castellano teaches processing data to build a knowledge graph of artworks, but does not expressly teach using NLP and sentiment analysis. However, Powell teaches: sentiment analysis logic configured to use natural language processing to detect entries in the cleansed structured data and cleansed unstructured data that identify the one or more constructors, the one or more constructs, and the one or more categories and associated sentiments; A dataset of artworks and artists is generated by performing web scraping [natural language processing on unstructured data] (Powell, p. 1166, third para.). Sentiment analysis and other text processing tools are used to extract features from the data (Powell, p. 1167, first para., p. 1168, fourth para.). The extracted features are used to predict prices for works of art [constructs] (Powell, p. 1168, sixth para.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Castellano with those of Powell. One would have been motivated to do so in order to, e.g., reduce subjectivity in pricing (Powell, p. 1163).
Castellano/Powell teaches generating a knowledge graph of artwork and artists, but does not expressly teach generating a score. However, Tokar teaches: baselining logic configured to: determine from past score records of constructs of a target constructor and of constructors similar to the target constructor, a baseline score indicator for a target construct by the target constructor, A collection of records on physical characteristics of products [constructs] along with associated prices and market characteristics [scores] is prepared (Tokar, ¶ 24). A price estimator is used to generate a price estimate based on the records (Tokar, ¶¶ 25–27). wherein constructor similarity is determined by querying the target construct and the target constructor against the clusters in the constructor graph, and A graph is generated that represents artists, art institutions, art movements, etc. (Tokar, ¶ 31). The graph is used to generate a vector representing the artist, e.g., including artists having artwork in the same galleries or belonging to the same movement (Tokar, ¶ 32). wherein the determination of the baseline score indicator takes into account a weighted combination of (i) the past score records of the constructs of the target constructor, (ii) the past score records of the constructs of the constructors similar to the target constructor, and (iii) the associated sentiments as detected for the target construct, the target constructor, and a category of the target construct and the target constructor; The price estimator can generate price estimates for artworks having incomplete or no prior price records [(i)], based on the price records of similar artworks [(ii)] and the graph representing relationships between producers [(iii)] (Tokar, ¶ 36). expert knowledge basing logic configured to use expert rule sets to generate a final score indicator based on applying the expert rule sets to the baseline score indicator; and The price estimate may be further post-processed, e.g., to perform currency conversion or inflation adjustment (Tokar, ¶ 29). […]
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Castellano/Powell with those of Tokar. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the bias, ambiguity, and/or cost of price evaluation by replacing human appraisal with automated appraisal (Tokar, ¶¶ 2–3).
Castellano/Powell/Tokar teaches determining a price for a product, but does not expressly teach outputting an explanation. However, Guillo teaches: explanation logic configured to display the final score indicator in conjunction with a breakdown of application of the weighted combination and the expert rule sets. A price [score] for a property, e.g., a house [construct] is determined using a machine learning model based on features of the property (Guillo, ¶ 32). The price is output together with an explanation of the features that contributed positively or negatively to the price, determined using SHAP, on a graphical user interface (Guillo, ¶ 42).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Castellano/Powell/Tokar with those of Guillo. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an explanation for how the price was determined [i.e., to increase the user’s trust in the model] (Guillo, ¶ 3).
Regarding dependent claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the structured data includes past score records and crowd sourced score data. The price estimate is based on available price records (Tokar, ¶ 22). The dataset includes price [score] data from public websites [crowdsourced] (Powell, p. 1166, third para.).
Regarding dependent claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the unstructured data includes data from one or more of one or more information networks. The unstructured data may be from an internet web site, e.g., Wikipedia (Castellano, p. 2, § 3, first para.). The data may be obtained by performing web scraping on a web site, e.g., Artfinder.com (Powell, p. 1166, third para.).
Regarding dependent claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the data ingestion and cleaning logic is configured to clean the ingested structured and unstructured data to cleanse missing values and outliers. The system includes using deep learning to, e.g., predict artwork attributes or caption artworks, including predicting the style and genre of the artwork [replacing or “cleansing” the missing values] (Castellano, p. 3, § 4).
Regarding dependent claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the clusters of nodes and the central nodes of the clusters in the constructor graph are identified using graph analytics. The influence, place, etc. clusters are identified by querying the graph (Castellano, p. 4, fig. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the structured data and unstructured data identifying the one or more constructors, the one or more constructs, and the one or more categories include text features. The unstructured data may include [textual] descriptions of the art, and the structured data may include [text] metadata such as the author, gallery, style, etc. (Castellano, p. 2, § 3, first and second paras.).
Regarding dependent claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the structured data and unstructured data identifying the one or more constructors, the one or more constructs, and the one or more categories include image features. The knowledge graph includes nodes generated by performing image analysis on digitized artworks, e.g., to determine the style of the artwork (Castellano, pp. 3–4, § 4, p. 4, fig. 3).
Regarding dependent claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein one or more of the clusters of nodes are constructor clusters that group similar constructors. The graph may be queried to determine, e.g., artists having similar influences (Castellano, p. 4, fig. 2).
Regarding dependent claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the constructor clusters are based on shared forms. The knowledge graph includes nodes representing the genre, style, media, field, etc. [forms] of the artworks, and analyses can be performed based thereon (Castellano, p. 3, § 3, first and second para.).
Regarding dependent claim 19, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the constructor clusters are based on shared categories. The knowledge graph includes nodes representing the tags, style, period, series, etc. [categories] of the artworks, and analyses can be performed based thereon (Castellano, p. 3, § 3, first and second para.).
Regarding dependent claim 20, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein constructors in a particular constructor cluster are ranked as emerging, developed, and established. The artists may be classified based on their career stage, e.g., beginning or emerging and late or established (Powell, p. 1169, “Proposed Design of ArtIST”, p. 1173, “key terms and definitions”).
Claims 8–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Tokar (US 2022/0351257 A1) in view of Castellano et al. (“Leveraging Knowledge Graphs and Deep Learning for automatic art analysis”) [hereinafter Castellano] in view of Powell et al. (“Art Innovative Systems for Value Tagging”) [hereinafter Powell], Tokar (US 2022/0351257 A1), and Guillo et al. (US 2024/0005348 A1) [hereinafter Guillo], further in view of Lutnick et al. (US 2020/0302492 A1) [hereinafter Lutnick].
Regarding dependent claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo further teaches: wherein the past score records include […] crowd sourced scores of intra-constructor constructs and the data ingestion and cleaning logic is further configured to use natural language processing or image processing engines that are configured to process the structured data and unstructured data and detect the recent crowd sourced scores of the intra-constructor constructs, and the intra-constructor constructs are similar to the target construct. The dataset includes prices [scores] of artworks [constructs] that have been scraped [natural language processing] from a public web site [crowdsourced] (Powell, p. 1166, third para.). The price for a particular work is generated using a machine learning model including features such as the artist, medium, subject, style, size, etc. of the works [i.e., the ML model performs a comparison of the work to other works and outputs a price based on their similarities] (Powell, p. 1167).
Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo teaches determining a price based on past prices, but does not expressly teach distinguishing “recent” scores/prices versus “historical” scores/prices. However, Lutnick teaches: recent [crowd sourced scores of intra-constructor constructs] A price module for determining prices of works of art; the prices may include historical prices, including e.g., a price at the time the work was created [historical score] and a price of a week earlier [recent score] (Lutnick, ¶ 194). Future prices may be estimated based on increases or decreases in the value of artworks by a specific artist (Lutnick, ¶ 194). The price may be determined based on a record of prices tracked over time, e.g., determined from sales on the open market [crowdsourced] (Lutnick, ¶¶ 162–165).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo with those of Lutnick. One would have been motivated to do so in order to account for trends in prices over time [thereby increasing the accuracy of the price estimates] (Lutnick, ¶¶ 165, 194, 209).
Regarding dependent claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo/Lutnick further teaches: wherein the baselining logic is further configured to determine the baseline score indicator of the target construct based on the detected recent crowd sourced scores of intra-constructor constructs. A price is generated for a work based on data about the artist and other similar artists, and their works, by clustering the artists together (Powell, p. 1169, “Proposed Design of ArtIST”).
Regarding dependent claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo/Lutnick further teaches: further comprising a memory is configured to store a historical score of the intra-constructor constructs. The prices may include historical prices, including e.g., a price at the time the work was created [historical score] and a price of a week earlier [recent score] (Lutnick, ¶ 194). Future prices may be estimated based on increases or decreases in the value of artworks by a specific artist (Lutnick, ¶ 194).
Regarding dependent claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo/Lutnick further teaches: wherein the historical score of the intra-constructor constructs is based on historical crowd sourced scores of the intra-constructor constructs. The price may be determined based on a record of prices tracked over time, e.g., determined from sales on the open market [crowdsourced] (Lutnick, ¶¶ 162–165).
Regarding dependent claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo/Lutnick further teaches: wherein the historical crowd sourced scores of the intra-constructor constructs are restricted to a time window. The estimated price may be based on changes in price, based on a recent period [window] of time (Lutnick, ¶ 194).
Regarding dependent claim 13, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo/Lutnick further teaches: wherein the historical crowd sourced scores of the intra-constructor constructs are adjusted for score scale drift. The price estimates [which are based on previous prices] may be post-processed to adjust for inflation or to perform currency conversion (Tokar, ¶ 29). [See Applicant’s specification, ¶ 259, wherein “score scale drift” includes drift caused by inflation or currency exchange rates.]
Regarding dependent claim 14, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo/Lutnick further teaches: wherein the baselining logic is further configured to determine the baseline score indicator of the particular construct based on a percentage change between the detected recent crowd sourced scores of the intra-constructor constructs and historical crowd sourced scores of the intra-constructor constructs. The increase or decrease in prices may be determined based on a percentage, e.g., one artist’s works rising in value by 10% per year; an estimated current or future price may be based on the trend of the artist’s works increasing or decreasing (Lutnick, ¶ 165).
Regarding dependent claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo/Lutnick further teaches: wherein the baselining logic is further configured to determine the baseline score indicator of the particular construct based on an upward score pressure when the percentage change is positive. The value may be determined based on the value of works increasing over time (Lutnick, ¶ 165, 194, 209).
Regarding dependent claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated and Castellano/Powell/Tokar/Guillo/Lutnick further teaches: wherein the baselining logic is further configured to determine the baseline score indicator of the particular construct based on a downward score pressure when the percentage change is negative. The value may be determined based on the value of works decreasing over time (Lutnick, ¶¶ 165, 194).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Tyler Schallhorn/Examiner, Art Unit 2144
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144