Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 16, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 11, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “20b” has been used to designate both “a bottom surface of the substrate 210” in paragraph [0072] and “top antenna package” in paragraph [0046]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, “the first passive component” lacks proper antecedent basis and should read “the passive component”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dalmia (US PGPUB 2018/0034134 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dalmia discloses (Fig. 2A-2B) An electronic device (200), comprising: a chip package (205) having a first side (top side of 205) and a second side (bottom side of 205) opposing the first side, the chip package (205) comprising an electronic component (206) on the second side; an antenna package (202) mounted on the first side of the chip package (205), wherein the antenna package (202) comprises a radiative antenna element (214); and a flex cable connector (224) disposed on a bottom surface of a peripheral portion of the antenna package (202) that protrudes beyond a side edge of the chip package (205).
Regarding claim 2, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the flex cable connector (224) is electrically coupled to the chip package (205) through a trace in the antenna package ([0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) a molding compound (212) encapsulating the electronic component (206); and a metal coating layer (219) on the molding compound (212).
Regarding claim 4, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the electronic component (206) comprises a RFIC chip ([0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the antenna package (202) comprises a substrate (202).
Regarding claim 6, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the substrate (202) comprises a ceramic substrate ([0018], [0055]), a semiconductor substrate, a dielectric substrate (202), or a glass substrate.
Regarding claim 7, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) further comprising: a passive component (210), wherein the first passive component (210) is disposed on the second side and is proximate to the electronic component (206).
Regarding claim 8, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the passive component (210) comprises a discrete capacitor, a discrete inductor or a discrete resistor ([0038]).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2845