Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 25, 2026 has been entered. The Applicant amended claim 7. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification and Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 26, 2026. The examiner withdraws the Drawings and Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Specification and Claims.
Applicant's arguments filed May 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues “The Examiner alleges that Dalmia discloses all the features of Claim 1. Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection because Dalmia fails to teach or suggest the specific spatial arrangement and structural relationship required by Claim 1. 1. Structural Distinction: ‘Opposite Sides’ vs. ‘Same Side’ Claim 1 explicitly requires an architecture where the electronic component and the antenna package are disposed on opposite sides of the substrate (i.e., a first side and a second side, respectively). This creates a vertical stack where the substrate serves as a functional intermediary. In contrast, as shown in the annotated figures provided below, Dalmia teaches a substantially different arrangement. In Dalmia's FIG. 2, both the antenna structure 202 and the electronic component 206 are situated on the same side of the chip package 205 (or carrier). Dalmia's components are arranged in a lateral or coplanar fashion, whereas the present invention utilizes a vertical integration approach.” This argument is unpersuasive. Claim 1 does not include the limitation “where the electronic component and the antenna package are disposed on opposite sides of the substrate” but states “a first side and a second side opposing the first side” which can be interpreted, with a broad and reasonable interpretation, as opposing left and right sides as disclosed by Dalmia. Claim 1 as written does not exclude a lateral arrangement as disclosed by Dalmia. The applicant further argues “Applicant respectfully submits that the ‘opposite side’ arrangement is not a ‘mere design choice’ or a simple rearrangement of parts. This structural configuration yields significant and unpredictable technical advantages: Electromagnetic Isolation: By placing the components on opposite sides, the core layers of the substrate act as a natural electromagnetic shield, protecting the sensitive circuitry of the electronic component from the high-frequency radiation of the antenna, thereby improving the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR). Footprint Optimization: The vertical stacking significantly reduces the lateral area (footprint) required on the system's main board compared to Dalmia's side-by-side configuration.” As stated above, claim 1 as written do not limit interpretation to a vertical stack structural configuration as argued by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dalmia (US PGPUB 2018/0034134 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dalmia discloses (Fig. 2A-2B) An electronic device (200), comprising: a chip package (205) having a first side (top side of 205) and a second side (bottom side of 205) opposing the first side, the chip package (205) comprising an electronic component (206) on the second side; an antenna package (202) mounted on the first side of the chip package (205), wherein the antenna package (202) comprises a radiative antenna element (214); and a flex cable connector (224) disposed on a bottom surface of a peripheral portion of the antenna package (202) that protrudes beyond a side edge of the chip package (205).
Regarding claim 2, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the flex cable connector (224) is electrically coupled to the chip package (205) through a trace in the antenna package ([0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) a molding compound (212) encapsulating the electronic component (206); and a metal coating layer (219) on the molding compound (212).
Regarding claim 4, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the electronic component (206) comprises a RFIC chip ([0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the antenna package (202) comprises a substrate (202).
Regarding claim 6, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the substrate (202) comprises a ceramic substrate ([0018], [0055]), a semiconductor substrate, a dielectric substrate (202), or a glass substrate.
Regarding claim 7, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) further comprising: a passive component (210), wherein the passive component (210) is disposed on the second side and is proximate to the electronic component (206).
Regarding claim 8, Dalmia further discloses (Fig. 2B) wherein the passive component (210) comprises a discrete capacitor, a discrete inductor or a discrete resistor ([0038]).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845