Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 11th, 2026, has been entered. Amended Claims 1 and 3-7 are pending in the application.
The §112(b) rejection of Claim 2 is moot as the claim is cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “battery case” is introduced with an indefinite article twice in the claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner interprets both recitations of “battery case” to refer to the same structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2022/0111924 A1 to Aunkst et al., hereinafter Aunkst, in view of U.S. Pub. 2017/0282749 A1 to Yamamoto et al., hereinafter Yamamoto.
Regarding Claim 1, Aunkst teaches a saddle-type electric vehicle comprising:
a battery case (“battery housing” 54, Fig. 4, [0014]) mounted on a vehicle body frame (“frame” 14, mounting depicted in Fig. 2, [0012]) including;
a head pipe (“steering head” 26, Figs. 1-2, [0012]),
a pair of left and right main frames (Portion of frame at end of reference arrow of 14, or A1 in Diagram 1 below. Note Diagram 1 and annotated elements differ from those in the 06/16/2026 Office Action.) which extends rearward from the head pipe (14, depicted in Figs. 1-2),
a pair of left and right seat rails (A2, Diagram 1);
a battery unit (“battery assembly” 50, Fig. 2, [0013]) which is mounted inside the vehicle body frame (14, mounting depicted in Fig. 2) and supplies electric power to a power unit (“drive assembly” 46, Fig. 1, [0013]) for a traveling of the vehicle ([0013]);
a seat (“straddle seat” 38, Figs. 1-2, [0012]) that is disposed above the pair of left and right seat rails (A2, Diagram 1) and on which an occupant is seated ([0012]); and
a stay member (A3, Diagram 1) that receives a load applied to the seat (as being hinged on the frame 14, Fig. 1 and Diagram 1),
wherein the battery unit (50) includes a battery cell (disposed in both “upper” 58 and “lower” 62 portions of housing 54, [0014]) and a battery case (54) accommodating the battery cell ([0014]),
the battery case (54) has an upper protrusion portion (“upper portion” 58, Figs. 2 and 4, [0014]) protruding upward relative to the main frame (Figs. 2 and 4),
a front portion of the seat (38) is disposed above the battery case (54, depicted in Figs. 1-2), and the stay member (A3, Diagram 1) is fixed to the upper protrusion portion (via connection to 14, Fig. 1 and Diagram 1).
Aunkst does not teach a pair of left and right pivot frames, a down frame, or a lower frame.
In the same field of endeavor as electrically powered motorcycles, Yamamoto teaches a pair of left and right pivot frames (17, Fig. 3, [0029]), a down frame (18, Fig. 3, [0029]), and a lower frame (19, Fig. 3, [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the electric motorcycle of Aunkst with the pivot, down, and lower frame components of Yamamoto, yielding predictable results. One ordinarily skilled in the art would recognize the increased frame rigidity/load absorption provided by a double cradle frame (Yamamoto – [0009-0010]) versus the frame of Aunkst, which uses the battery case as a stressed member and could cause unsafe cracking of the case and damage to the battery cells therein. The double cradle frame additionally provides beneficial grounding effects for static electricity generated within conductive members (Yamamoto – [0012]).
Regarding Claim 3, Aunkst in view of Yamamoto further teaches wherein the stay member (Aunkst – A3, Diagram 1) is fixed to a base portion of a protrusion portion (“lower portion” 62, Fig. 4, [0014]) of the battery case (54, connection depicted in Diagram 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Aunkst in view of Yamamoto further teaches a cover member (Aunkst – decorative faux fuel tank acting as a cover labeled A4, Diagram 1, additionally depicted in Fig, 2) that is disposed above the battery case (disposition depicted in Fig. 2) and in front of the stay member (A3) and abuts on the main frame (14, positioning and abutment depicted in Diagram 1, Fig. 2), wherein
the cover member (A4) is fixed to the stay member (A3, connection depicted in Diagram 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Aunkst in view of Yamamoto further teaches wherein the stay member (Aunkst – A3) includes a seat fixing portion (top side portion of A1 and upper side of 14, Diagram 1, Fig. 4) to which the seat is fixed near a portion fixed to the battery case with respect to a center of the stay member (portion where elements 38, A3, and 14/A1 are connected to each other).
Regarding Claim 6, Aunkst in view of Yamamoto further teaches wherein the stay member (Aunkst – A3) includes
a seat fixing portion (upper side of A1 and upper portion of frame 14) to which the seat (38) is fixed (connection depicted in Diagram 1), and
a wiring support portion (“onboard charger” 150, Fig. 4, which is connected to seat stay via 58) configured to support a wiring (by supporting charging hardware, [0019]), and
the wiring support portion (150) is disposed on an opposite side of the seat fixing portion (upper side of A1 and 14) with respect to a center of the stay member (150 disposed on underside of upper portion of 14, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Aunkst in view of Yamamoto further teaches wherein
the battery case (Aunkst – 54) includes a strength member (“front side” 70f, Fig. 4, [0014]) at a center in the vehicle width direction (W, disposition depicted in Figs. 2, 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the §102(a)(1) rejection of Claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mitchell James Price/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611