DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as being anticipated by Sakai et al., US 5518530 (Sakai, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Sakai discloses a separation membrane module (abstract, figs. 1-3) comprising:
A tubular housing (REF 40);
A columnar membrane (REF 41, see “separators” and “gas separation membrane”, C6/L13-25);
An annular first flange (REF 21, 42, figs. 1, 3) surrounding a first end portion of the membrane structure; and
A first bonding material (REF 15, fig. 1) interposed between the first flange (REF 21) and the membrane structure (REF 11/12);
The housing having a first facing surface (top of REF 40) and an inner circumferential surface (sidewall of REF 40), the first facing surface facing an end surface of the first flange, the inner circumferential surface facing an outer circumferential surface of the first flange (fig. 3);
Wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion of the first bonding material (see “glass”, abstract, Tables 1-2) is smaller than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the first flange (see “supporters”, 7.3 x 10-6, C7/L1-8) ; and
The coefficient of thermal expansion of the membrane structure (see “substrate” and “β-alumina”, “silica”, “mullite”, “cordierite”, C5/L15-26) is smaller than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the first flange (see “supporters”, 7.3 x 10-6, C7/L1-8).
Regarding claim 2, Sakai discloses a membrane module further comprising:
An annular second flange (REF 22, 43, figs. 1, 3) surrounding a second end portion of the membrane structure; and
A second bonding material (REF 15, fig. 1) interposed between the second flange (REF 22) and the membrane structure (REF 11/12);
The housing has a second facing surface (bottom of REF 40) facing an end surface of the second flange;
The inner circumferential surface of the housing (sidewall of REF 40) faces an outer circumferential surface of the second flange;
A coefficient of thermal expansion of the second bonding material (see “glass”, 5.0-8.0 x 10-6, abstract, Tables 1-2) is smaller than a coefficient of thermal expansion of the second flange (see “supporters”, 7.3 x 10-6, C7/L1-8) ; and
The coefficient of thermal expansion of the membrane structure (see “substrate” and “β-alumina”, “silica”, “mullite”, “cordierite”, C5/L15-26) is smaller than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the second flange (see “supporters”, 7.3 x 10-6, C7/L1-8).
Regarding claim 3, Sakai discloses the housing including a tube main body (REF 40) having the inner circumferential surface (i.e. sidewall), a first end plate (top of REF 40) having the first facing surface and a second end plate (bottom of REF 40) having the second facing surface.
Regarding claims 4-5, Sakai discloses the membrane module first and second flanges comprising a ceramic material (see “supporter” and “α-alumina”, C7/L1-8).
Regarding claim 6, Sakai discloses a membrane module wherein the membrane structure is a reactor (figs. 1-3, C1/L8-12).
Regarding claim 7, Sakai discloses a membrane module wherein the membrane structure is a separation filter (abstract, figs. 1-3, C1/L8-12).
Conclusion
DIRK R. BASS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/DIRK R BASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779