DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HIROKI et al. JP 2021017995A (hereinafter “HIROKI”).
As to claim 1, HIROKI teaches a heat source system (paragraph 0001 “heat source systems”) comprising : a plurality of heat source units provided in parallel with each other (paragraph 0014 and FIG. 1 “heat source machine unit 1 includes a plurality of heat source machines 11, 12 and 13. The plurality of heat source machines 11, 12 and 13 are provided in parallel with the pipes”); a plurality of pumps provided in parallel with each other (paragraph 0014-0016 and FIG. 1); a collective pipe arranged to collect flow paths between the plurality of heat source units and the plurality of pumps into one (paragraph 0016-0017 and FIG. 1); and controller processing hardware that is configured by execution of computer readable instruction to control operation of the plurality of heat source units and the plurality of pumps, wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to (paragraph 0013-0016 and Fig. 1) : determine a requested flow rate, based on at least minimum required flow rates set for the plurality of heat source units and operation states of the plurality of heat source units (paragraph 0021-0024, 0026-0028 and 0032-0031); determine a current water supply amount or a maximum water supply amount, based on flow rates set for the plurality of pumps and operation states of the plurality of pumps (paragraph 0021-0036); and make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the current water supply amount or the maximum water supply amount, and control the operation of the plurality of heat source units or the plurality of pumps according to a result of the comparison (paragraph 0030-0036).
As to claim 2, HIROKI teaches wherein at least either the plurality of heat source units or the plurality of pumps are configured to have a plurality of different capacities (paragraph 0023-0025).
As to claim 3, HIROKI teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is further configured to increase or decrease the number of operating heat source units among the plurality of heat source units or the number of operating pumps among the plurality of pumps (paragraph 0013-0018 and FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIROKI et al. JP 2021017995A (hereinafter “HIROKI”) in view of YASUNARI et al. JP2014035090 (hereinafter “YASUNARI”).
As to claim 4, HIROKI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROKI does not explicitly teach wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to determine the requested flow rate, based on the operation states of the plurality of heat source units and flow rates obtained by multiplying the minimum required flow rates by a coefficient considering a flow rate variation in respective pipes connected to the plurality of heat source units.
However, YASUNARI teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to determine the requested flow rate, based on the operation states of the plurality of heat source units and flow rates obtained by multiplying the minimum required flow rates by a coefficient considering a flow rate variation in respective pipes connected to the plurality of heat source units (paragraph 0088-0099).
HIROKI and YASUNARI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to heat source system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above heat source system, as taught by HIROKI, and incorporating flow rates obtained by multiplying the minimum required flow rates by a coefficient considering a flow rate variation in respective pipes connected to the plurality of heat source units, as taught by YASUNARI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve monitoring, controlling to keep the power consumed by the secondary pump as small as possible while controlling the opening degree of each flow control valve so that the capacity of each heat exchanger on the use side can be processed, as suggested by YASUNARI (paragraph 0005).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIROKI et al. JP 2021017995A (hereinafter “HIROKI”) in view of HIROFUMI et al. JP 2018036028 (hereinafter “HIROFUMI”).
As to claim 5, HIROKI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROKI does not explicitly teach wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the current water supply amount, and, when the requested flow rate is larger, select a pump whose operation is to be started from among the plurality of pumps so that the current water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate and a change in the current water supply amount is minimum.
However, HIROFUMI teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the current water supply amount, and, when the requested flow rate is larger, select a pump whose operation is to be started from among the plurality of pumps so that the current water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate and a change in the current water supply amount is minimum (paragraph 0106-0116).
HIROKI and HIROFUMI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to heat source system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above heat source system, as taught by HIROKI, and incorporating flow rate and the current water supply amount, and, when the requested flow rate, as taught by HIROFUMI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a heat source system, a control method, and a program capable of ensuring the required minimum flow rate determined by each heat source machine, as suggested by HIROKI (paragraph 0006).
As to claim 6, HIROKI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROKI does not explicitly teach wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to calculate a post- decrease water supply amount from the current water supply amount, based on information on a pump scheduled to stop operation among the plurality of pumps, make a comparison between the post-decrease water supply amount and the requested flow rate, and permit or prohibit stopping of operation of the pump according to a result of the comparison.
However, HIROFUMI teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to calculate a post- decrease water supply amount from the current water supply amount, based on information on a pump scheduled to stop operation among the plurality of pumps, make a comparison between the post-decrease water supply amount and the requested flow rate, and permit or prohibit stopping of operation of the pump according to a result of the comparison (paragraph 0106-0123).
As to claim 9, HIROKI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROKI does not explicitly teach wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the maximum water supply amount, and, when the requested flow rate is larger, select a heat source unit whose operation is to be stopped from among the plurality of heat source units so that the maximum water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate.
However, HIROFUMI teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the maximum water supply amount, and, when the requested flow rate is larger, select a heat source unit whose operation is to be stopped from among the plurality of heat source units so that the maximum water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate (paragraph 0106-0125).
As to claim 10, HIROKI and HIROFUMI teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROFUMI further teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to: make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the maximum water supply amount, and selectively perform first control and second control when the requested flow rate is larger; in the first control, select a heat source unit whose operation is to be stopped from among the plurality of heat source units so that the maximum water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate; and in the second control, select a heat source unit whose operation is to be stopped from among the plurality of heat source units so that the maximum water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate and a change in the requested flow rate is minimum (paragraph 0106-0133 and FIG. 1-3B).
As to claim 11, HIROKI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROKI does not explicitly teach wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to calculate a post- increase requested flow rate from the requested flow rate, based on information on a heat source unit scheduled to start operation among the plurality of heat source units, make a comparison between the post-increase requested flow rate and the maximum water supply amount, and permit or prohibit a start of operation of the heat source unit according to a result of the comparison.
However, HIROFUMI teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to calculate a post- increase requested flow rate from the requested flow rate, based on information on a heat source unit scheduled to start operation among the plurality of heat source units, make a comparison between the post-increase requested flow rate and the maximum water supply amount, and permit or prohibit a start of operation of the heat source unit according to a result of the comparison (paragraph 0114-0130).
As to claim 12, HIROKI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROKI does not explicitly teach wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the maximum water supply amount, and, when the requested flow rate is larger, limit a capacity of an operating heat source unit among the plurality of heat source units.
However, HIROFUMI teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the maximum water supply amount, and, when the requested flow rate is larger, limit a capacity of an operating heat source unit among the plurality of heat source units (paragraph 0115-0134).
As to claim 13, HIROKI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROKI does not explicitly teach wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to: make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the maximum water supply amount, and selectively perform third control and fourth control when the requested flow rate is larger; in the third control, select a heat source unit whose operation is to be stopped from among the plurality of heat source units so that the maximum water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate; and in the fourth control, limit a capacity of an operating heat source unit among the plurality of heat source units (paragraph 0106-0130).
As to claim 14, HIROKI and HIROFUMI teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROFUMI further teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to perform the fourth control when the requested flow rate is larger than the maximum water supply amount (paragraph 0106-0125).
As to claim 15, HIROKI and HIROFUMI teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROFUMI further teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to perform the third control when the requested flow rate is larger than the maximum water supply amount and the capacity of the operating heat source unit among the plurality of heat source units is lower than a predetermined lower limit value (paragraph 0114-0130).
As to claim 16, HIROKI and HIROFUMI teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROFUMI further teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to : selectively perform fifth control and sixth control as the third control when the requested flow rate is larger than the maximum water supply amount and the capacity of the operating heat source unit among the plurality of heat source units is lower than a predetermined lower limit value; in the fifth control, select a heat source unit whose operation is to be stopped from among the plurality of heat source units so that the maximum water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate; and in the sixth control, select a heat source unit whose operation is to be stopped from among the plurality of heat source units so that the maximum water supply amount satisfies the requested flow rate and a change in the requested flow rate is minimum (paragraph 0106-0130 and FIG. 1-3B).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HIROKI et al. JP 2021017995A (hereinafter “HIROKI”) in view of TAKAYUKI JP2020197345 (hereinafter “TAKAYUKI”).
As to claim 7, HIROKI teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
HIROKI does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the plurality of pumps is a VFD pump, and the controller processing hardware is configured to update a VFD command value for the VFD pump that is operating, based on a difference between the requested flow rate and the current water supply amount.
However, TAKAYUKI teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of pumps is a VFD pump, and the controller processing hardware is configured to update a VFD command value for the VFD pump that is operating, based on a difference between the requested flow rate and the current water supply amount (paragraph 0047-0070).
HIROKI and TAKAYUKI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to heat source system.
Therefore at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above heat source system, as taught by HIROKI, and incorporating plurality of pumps is a VFD pump, and the control unit is configured to update a VFD command value for the VFD pump that is operating, as taught by TAKAYUKI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a heat source system, a control method, and a program capable of ensuring the required minimum flow rate determined by each heat source machine, as suggested by HIROKI (paragraph 0006).
As to claim 8, HIROKI and TAKAYUKI teach all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
TAKAYUKI further teaches wherein the controller processing hardware is configured to: determine a VFD command value of the VFD pump, based on a difference between a pressure of a pipe connected to the VFD pump and a set value of the pressure; determine the current water supply amount by multiplying a flow rate set for the VFD pump that is operating by a rotation rate; make a comparison between the requested flow rate and the current water supply amount, and calculate a lower limit value of the VFD command value so as to compensate for the difference between the requested flow rate and the current water supply amount when the requested flow rate is larger; and update the VFD command value with the lower limit value when the lower limit value is larger than the VFD command value (paragraph 0047-0060).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and listed on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu USPGPUB 20070023534 A1 teaches a method and system of controlling a water heat pump system. The water heat pump system includes a fan, a water pump, and a boiler. The method includes determining a system time characteristic, determining a heat rejection rate based on the system time characteristic, and determining a loop flow rate based on the heat rejection rate. The method also includes sensing a loop flow rate of the water heat pump system, comparing the sensed loop flow rate with the determined loop flow rate, and modulating a speed of the water pump based on the comparing.
Kondo et al. USPGPUB 20150211762 A1 teaches a heat source system control device controls a heat source system and has a plurality of heat source units with capacities and/or the load characteristics that are different, a first header which aggregates hot/cold water supplied from the plurality of heat source units, and a header temperature sensor which measures the temperature of the hot/cold water aggregated by the first header. The heat source system control device includes a set temperature memory section storing a set temperature of the hot/cold water in the header, a header temperature detecting section detecting output values from the header temperature sensor, a coefficient of performance memory section storing coefficient of performance information, and a control section performing a control for improving efficiency on the plurality of heat source units based on the respective capacities and/or load characteristics and bringing the temperature of the hot/cold water close to the set temperature.
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119