CTNF 18/885,817 CTNF 82015 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the portion of the sound absorbing material and a portion of a non-sound absorbing material that are connected to each other via a shape in which a cross-sectional area of the ventilation channel is gradually widened as required by claims 10 and 16 , must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 1 and 3 , the phrase “a minimum flow channel width on a cross section perpendicular to a flow direction of the gas in the ventilation channel is 100 mm or less” is indefinite, as it is confusing as to what is being claimed. This language is interpretated as meaning the that “100 mm or less” range is a minimum width of the flow channel, meaning it must be at least “100 mm or less” or greater. In this interpretation, the minimum amount can be zero, and there is no maximum limit set, which presumably is not Applicant’s intention as that would encompass any conceivable number. For the rejection, the Examiner will interpret this claim language as “a minimum flow channel width on a cross section perpendicular to a flow direction of the gas in the ventilation channel is 100 mm or less,” as this appears to be Applicant’s intention. If the Examiner’s interpretation is incorrect, further clarification is needed. Regarding claims 10 and 16 , the limitation” wherein a portion of the sound absorbing material and a portion of a non-sound absorbing material are connected to each other via a shape in which a cross-sectional area of the ventilation channel is gradually widened” is indefinite. It is unclear how the gradually widened shape of the ventilation channel connects the sound absorbing material and a non-sound absorbing material. Is Applicant intending to claim that the sound absorbing material and a non-sound absorbing material are connected to opposing surfaces of a wall of the ventilation channel at a location where the ventilation channel gradually widens? There does not appear to be disclosure for this scenario, nor does the disclosure describe this configuration, nor is it shown in the drawings (as noted in drawing abjection above). The Specification (see page 3, [0010]) repeats this language regarding the connection via a shape of the ventilation channel in a single instance without any further description. Further amendment and/or clarification is necessary. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Chaut (2021/0293449) . With respect to claim 1, Chaut teaches a ventilation type silencer (Figure 2, #1) comprising: a ventilation channel (2) in which at least a part of a side wall of a flow channel of a gas is formed of a porous sound absorbing material (5), wherein a flow resistance of the sound absorbing material is 1000 Rayls/m or more ([0054]), porosity of the sound absorbing material on at least a flow channel surface side is 0.9 or less (0055), and a minimum flow channel width on a cross section perpendicular to a flow direction of the gas in the ventilation channel (2) is inherently 100 mm or less. Regarding the minimum flow channel width, the 112b rejection notwithstanding, it is noted that the flow channel #2 of Chaut is a vehicle air duct (See Chaut, [0001]-[0007]), and official notice is taken vehicle air ducts are commonly available in cross-sectional width dimensions less than 100 mm, or about 4 inches, and that one of ordinary skill would recognize that it is well known and inherent that duct #2 would “a minimum flow channel width on a cross section perpendicular to a flow direction of the gas in the ventilation channel that is 100 mm or less,” as claimed. With respect to claim 2, Chaut teaches wherein the sound absorbing material (Figures 1-2, #5) is formed of two or more sound absorbing material layers (3.1- 3.3), porosity of the sound absorbing material layer that is an outermost layer on the flow channel surface side is 0.9 or less, and the sound absorbing material layer having porosity of 0.9 or more is included in second and subsequent layers ([0055] – note one or more layers 3.1-3.3 can have a porosity of 90% (i.e., 0.9) or less, which satisfies the claim language). With respect to claim 3, Chaut teaches a ventilation type silencer (Figure 2, #1) comprising: a ventilation channel (2) in which at least a part of a side wall of a flow channel of a gas is formed of a porous sound absorbing material (5), wherein a flow resistance of the sound absorbing material is 1000 Rayls/m or more ([0054]), permeability of the sound absorbing material on at least a surface side is inherently 3.0×10 −9 m 2 or less (note that the materials can have a high or low permeability, which inherently covers the claimed range - [0026], [0045], [0048], [0060]), and a minimum flow channel width on a cross section perpendicular to a flow direction of the gas in the ventilation channel (2) is inherently 100 mm or less. Regarding the minimum flow channel width, the 112b rejection notwithstanding, it is noted that the flow channel #2 of Chaut is a vehicle air duct (See Chaut, [0001]-[0007]), and official notice is taken vehicle air ducts are commonly available in cross-sectional width dimensions less than 100 mm, or about 4 inches, and that one of ordinary skill would recognize that it is well known and inherent that duct #2 would “a minimum flow channel width on a cross section perpendicular to a flow direction of the gas in the ventilation channel that is 100 mm or less,” as claimed. With respect to claim 4, Chaut teaches wherein porosity of the sound absorbing material (5) on at least a flow channel surface side is 0.9 or less ([0055]). With respect to claim 5, Chaut teaches wherein the sound absorbing material (5) is formed of two or more sound absorbing material layers (3.1-3.3), and permeability of the sound absorbing material layer that is an outermost layer on a flow channel surface side is 3.0×10.sup.−9 m.sup.2 or less (note that the materials can have a high or low permeability, which inherently covers the claimed range - [0026], [0045], [0060]; further the top or outer layers may be impermeable, or have low permeably with a high airflow resistance, which inherently includes the claimed range). With respect to claim 6, Chaut teaches wherein porosity of the sound absorbing material in the sound absorbing material layer (5) that is the outermost layer on the flow channel surface side is 0.9 or less ([0055]). With respect to claim 7, Chaut teaches wherein the flow channel (2) is circular ([0087]). With respect to claim 8, Chaut teaches wherein the flow channel (2) is rectangular (0087). With respect to claim 9, Chaut teaches further comprising: a flow channel formation member (defined by walls forming flow channel #2); and a claw or a support ([0049] – defined by fasteners, clips, etc.) for fixing the sound absorbing material (5) to a side wall surface of the flow channel formation member. With respect to claim 11, Chaut teaches wherein the sound absorbing material (5) is formed of two or more sound absorbing material layers (3.1-3.3), and permeability of the sound absorbing material layer that is an outermost layer on a flow channel surface side is 3.0×10.sup.−9 m.sup.2 or less (note that the materials can have a high or low permeability, which inherently covers the claimed range - [0026], [0045], [0060]; further the top or outer layers may be impermeable, or have low permeably with a high airflow resistance, which inherently includes the claimed range). With respect to claim 12 , Chaut teaches wherein porosity of the sound absorbing material in the sound absorbing material layer (5) that is the outermost layer on the flow channel surface side is 0.9 or less ([0055]). With respect to claim 13 , Chaut teaches wherein the flow channel (2) is circular ([0087]). With respect to claim 14, Chaut teaches wherein the flow channel (2) is rectangular (0087). With respect to claim 15, Chaut teaches further comprising: a flow channel formation member (defined by walls forming flow channel #2); and a claw or a support ([0049] – defined by fasteners, clips, etc.) for fixing the sound absorbing material (5) to a side wall surface of the flow channel formation member . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaut (2021/0293449) . With respect to claim 10, Chaut teaches the ventilation type silencer of claim 1. Chaut further teaches wherein a portion of the sound absorbing material (5) and a portion of a non-sound absorbing material (4) are connected to each other via a shape of a cross-sectional area of the ventilation channel (2). Notwithstanding the 112b rejection above, Chaut fails to teach wherein a portion of the sound absorbing material and a portion of a non-sound absorbing material are connected to each other via a shape in which a cross-sectional area of the ventilation channel is gradually widened. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a portion of the sound absorbing material and a portion of a non-sound absorbing material are connected to each other via a shape in which a cross-sectional area of the ventilation channel is gradually widened, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey , 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Chaut. With respect to claim 16, Chaut teaches the ventilation type silencer of claim 2. Chaut further teaches wherein a portion of the sound absorbing material (5) and a portion of a non-sound absorbing material (4) are connected to each other via a shape of a cross-sectional area of the ventilation channel (2). Notwithstanding the 112b rejection above, Chaut fails to teach wherein a portion of the sound absorbing material and a portion of a non-sound absorbing material are connected to each other via a shape in which a cross-sectional area of the ventilation channel is gradually widened. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a portion of the sound absorbing material and a portion of a non-sound absorbing material are connected to each other via a shape in which a cross-sectional area of the ventilation channel is gradually widened, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See In re Dailey , 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that the disclosed device would perform equally well shaped as disclosed by Chaut . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JEREMY AUSTIN LUKS whose telephone number is (571)272-2707. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday (9:00-5:00). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dedei Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 6 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 7 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 8 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 9 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 10 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 11 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/885,817 Page 12 Art Unit: 2837