DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 5, 10 – 15 and 17 – 18 in the reply filed on August 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 18 are pending; claims 6 – 9 and 16 are withdrawn as being drawn to non elected subject matter.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 27, 2025 and July 10, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is drawn to a method of making a powder, however, is generally confusing because the language is grammatically unclear. In addition, it is unclear if the method requires steps of dissolving in water or if these steps are optional since the claim recites “in a case where” prior to the step. Further, “the tyrosine” lacks proper antecedent basis. Since the claim does not appear to further limit the method of making a powder but is drawn to a method of using a powder, the claim is interpreted as an intended use of the powder made and to not further define the method of making the powder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3 and 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Von Hagen et al. (WO 2017/020986, cited by US 12,359,164).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Von Hagen teaches a method for making a mixed powder, the method comprising dissolving components in water (solvent) to obtain a solution then freeze drying (powdering step of drying) the solution to obtain a mixed powder of components (col.15); wherein the components are a poorly soluble compound such as cystine and carrier compound such as serine, threonine or tryptophan (col.2 line 35 - col.3 line 25 and line 45 – 55).
Regarding claims 2 – 3 and 13, the dissolving step includes heating until dissolution (col.15 line 30 – 45).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, while Von Hagen does not teach the claimed functional outcomes of the mixed powder when used, these claims are interpreted as intended uses of the mixed powder obtained by the method of making. In this regard, these limitations do not further limit the manufacturing method of a mixed powder.
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 10 – 13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Hagen et al. (WO 2017/020986, cited by US 12,359,164).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Von Hagen teaches a method for making a mixed powder, the method comprising dissolving components in water (solvent) to obtain a solution then freeze drying (powdering step of drying) the solution to obtain a mixed powder of components (col.15); wherein the components are a poorly soluble compound such as cystine and carrier compound such as serine, threonine or tryptophan (col.2 line 35 - col.3 line 25 and line 45 – 55).
Regarding claims 2 – 3 and 13, the dissolving step includes heating until dissolution (col.15 line 30 – 45).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, while Von Hagen does not teach the claimed functional outcomes of the mixed powder when used, these claims are interpreted as intended uses of the mixed powder obtained by the method of making. In this regard, these limitations do not further limit the manufacturing method of a mixed powder.
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 18, Von Hagen does not teach the method wherein the ratio of components is as claimed. However, Von Hagen teaches the poorly soluble, or cystine, may be 1 – 50% with the carrier (serine, threonine and/or tryptophan) is 50 – 99%. Thus, Von Hagen teaches the amounts of each component is variable and may be optimized when practicing the methods therein. As such, at the time the claims were filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the ratio of components as a matter of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation for successfully making a mixed powder.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1 – 5, 10 – 15 and 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Hagen et al. (WO 2017/020986, cited by US 12,359,164) in view of Von Hagen (US 2019/0256819, cited below as Von Hagen 2019).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Von Hagen teaches a method for making a mixed powder, the method comprising dissolving components in water (solvent) to obtain a solution then freeze drying the solution (powdering step of drying) to obtain a mixed powder of components (col.15); wherein the components are a poorly soluble compound such as cystine and carrier compound such as serine, threonine or tryptophan (col.2 line 35 - col.3 line 25 and line 45 – 55).
Regarding claims 2 – 3 and 13, the dissolving step includes heating until dissolution (col.15 line 30 – 45).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, while Von Hagen does not teach the claimed functional outcomes of the mixed powder when used, these claims are interpreted as intended uses of the mixed powder obtained by the method of making. In this regard, these limitations do not further limit the manufacturing method of a mixed powder.
Regarding claims 4, 14 and 17, Von Hagen does not teach the method wherein the powdering step is carried out by spray drying or heating and decompressing. However, Von Hagen does teach the method wherein the components are lyophilized (powdering step of drying) together to obtain the mixed powder. At the time the claims were filed, spray drying was a well known functional alternative to lyophilization when making mixed powders. In support, Von Hagen 2019 teaches making mixed powder compositions wherein the mixed components are dissolved in solution then powdered by lyophilization or spray drying (0016, 0033, 0054). Therefore, at the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use spray drying as a functional alternative to freeze drying as a matter of routine practice and with a reasonable expectation for successfully making a mixed powder.
Regarding claims 5, 15 and 18, Von Hagen does not teach the method wherein the ratio of components is as claimed. However, Von Hagen teaches the poorly soluble, or cystine, may be 1 – 50% with the carrier (serine, threonine and/or tryptophan) is 50 – 99%. Thus, Von Hagen teaches the amounts of each component is variable and may be optimized when practicing the methods therein. As such, at the time the claims were filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the ratio of components as a matter of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation for successfully making a mixed powder.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699