DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mannl et al. (5,252,115). Mannl discloses a forming tool for glass forming comprising an axial central mounting section 37 having a flange 35, with forming surfaces (40) on the flange, the forming surfaces being at an angle with a surface perpendicular to an axial axis of the mounting section (col. 8 lines 46-68, col. 9 lines 15-17, 24), the angle being 5° or 7°, which is between 5 and 15 degrees (col. 4 lines 36-40, figures 3-4).
Regarding claims 3-4, Mannl teaches in figures 2-3, the tool further comprises a second forming surface, i.e. circular segment 33, and a third forming surface, i.e. flat side areas 32.
Regarding claim 5, Mannl discloses in figure 4, the forming tool, comprising mounting section 37 and flange 35, is formed of a single work piece (note same hatching marks for the tool).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mannl et al. (5,252,115). Mannl discloses a forming tool for forming an inner geometry of a glass container (col 3 lines 41-42), the forming tool comprising a mounting section 10 provided with a forming section 33/35 where an outer surface is adapted to provide an inner geometry for the glass container when rotated along a vertical axis, wherein the forming section has ramping section (col. 8 lines 46-68, col. 9 lines 1-3, 15-17, 24, “sloping surface” col. 4 lines 36-40, figures 3-4). Mannl teaches the ramping sections are sloped at an angle of 5° or 7° relative to a horizontal plane (col. 8 lines 67-68, col. 9 lines 1-3, figure 4), which provides for an angle of between 85 and 75 degrees with a vertical axis ( 90° - 5°= 85° or 90°-7°=83°).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droessler (US 2021/0363048) in view of Acke et al. (CN 113754258 machine translation provided). Droessler discloses a forming tool for glass forming comprising an axial central mounting section 41/71 having a flange 42/72 ([0070]), with forming surfaces 43/73 on the flange ([0072], [0077]), the forming surfaces being at an angle with a surface perpendicular to an axial axis of the mounting section (figures 4-5 and 8A, [0074], [0077]). Droessler teaches too much contact between a forming tool and a glass article can result in a roughened surface or adherence of glass particles to the glass article ([0003]). Droessler provides for a forming tool made of glass carbon ([0068]), as well as provide for forming surfaces that are sloped so that only a part of the forming tool is in contact with the glass article ([0077]), so as to prevent the adherence of glass particles. However, Droessler does not specify the angle of the sloped forming surface. Acke also teaches a forming tool for glass forming (top two passages on page 2), such as a shaping roller, comprising an axial central mounting section 63 having a flange 25, with a forming surfaces on the flange (top passage on page 16). As can be seen in figure 7, the forming surface is the contact surfaces of the roller with the glass article 9. Acke further teaches the forming surfaces can be substantially cylindrical or angled, wherein the angled forming surfaces have a slight taper with angles of 5° and 10° (2nd passage on page 3). Naturally, a sloped forming surface would reduce the contact surface with the glass article. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have tried employing a forming tool having forming surfaces being at an angle of 5° or 10° with a surface perpendicular to an axial axis to reduce the contact surface, while still providing shaping, and thereby eliminate adherence of glass particles and roughening of the glass article.
Regarding claim 2, Acke teaches angles including 10°, as discussed above.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Droessler teaches the tool further comprises a second forming surface and a third forming surface, i.e. pin 74 and flat side surface on 74 in figure 8A ([0077]) or pin 44 and flat side surfaces on 44 in figure 4 ([0070]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Droessler (US 2021/0363048) in view of Acke et al. (CN 113754258 machine translation provided). Droessler teaches a forming tool for forming an inner geometry of a glass container ([0012]), the forming tool comprising a mounting section 41/71 provided with a forming section 42/72 where an outer surface is adapted to provide an inner geometry for the glass container when rotated along a vertical axis (figures 4-6 and 8A, [0070], [0072], [0077], wherein the forming section has ramping section (sloped surfaces in figures 4-5 and 8A, [0074], [0077]). Droessler teaches too much contact between a forming tool and a glass article can result in a roughened surface or adherence of glass particles to the glass article ([0003]). Droessler provides for a forming tool made of glass carbon ([0068]), as well as provide for forming surfaces that are sloped so that only a part of the forming tool is in contact with the glass article ([0077]), so as to prevent the adherence of glass particles. However, Droessler does not specify the angle of the sloped forming surface. Acke also teaches a forming tool for glass forming (top two passages on page 2), such as a shaping roller, comprising an axial central mounting section 63 having a flange 25, with a forming surfaces on the flange (top passage on page 16). As can be seen in figure 7, the forming surface is the contact surfaces of the roller with the glass article 9. Acke further teaches the forming surfaces can be substantially cylindrical or angled, wherein the angled forming surfaces have a slight taper with angles of 5° and 10° (2nd passage on page 3) relative to a horizontal plane (plane extending in the radial direction). Naturally, a sloped forming surface would reduce the contact surface with the glass article. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have tried employing a forming tool having forming surfaces being at an angle of 5° or 10° with a surface perpendicular to an axial axis to reduce the contact surface, while still providing shaping, and thereby eliminate adherence of glass particles and roughening of the glass article. In applying an angled surface of 10° with respect to a surface perpendicular to an axial axis, the ramping sections would have an angle of 80° (90°-10°) with a vertical axis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5-6 of copending Application No. 19/324,526 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a forming tool comprising a mounting section with a flange, the flange with forming surfaces having an angle with a surface perpendicular to an axial axis of the mounting section, the angle being between 5°-15°, or 10°, second and third forming surfaces, and formed of a single work piece.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741