DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Currently claims 1, 3-7 and 9-16 are pending and claims 2 and 8 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiori (JP 2019127571 which has been machine translated) in view of Hunter (WO 2010098966 which has been machine translated) and Namekata et al (US Publication 20210002475).
As to claims 1, 3 and 5, Shiori discloses a resin composition for an insulating layer comprising a polybutadiene skeleton, an epoxy resin, an active ester curing agent and an inorganic filler (abs). The polybutadiene has the same general formula as claimed which can be seen on page 6 with formulas a1-a3, a-7 and the composition comprises aromatic amine curing accelerators (part f). Shiori does disclose bisphenol A type epoxy resins as well as glycidyl ester type resins, however is silent to the specific molar ratios as claimed as well as epoxy resin and aromatic amine.
Hunter discloses an epoxy resin composition useful for circuit boards that can have an epoxidized polybutadiene, diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A and aromatic amine curing agents such as Metaphenylene Diamine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori and used the epoxy resin of diglycidyl ether of bisphenol a as well as metaphenylene diamine as it’s a known epoxy resin and amine curing agent used within circuit boards and Shiori discloses both diglycidyl and bisphenol A epoxy resins and aromatic curing agents.
Namekata discloses a resin composition including an epoxy resin, an inorganic filler (abs) for use in a printed wiring board. The composition further includes a polybutadiene resin specifically Ricon 657 (paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori and Hunter and used Ricon 657 as the polybutadiene as it would be a suitable polybutadiene used within printed wiring boards, and it is a recognized equivalent. See MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 5, Shiori discloses the use of inorganic fillers.
Claims 1, 3-6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiori (JP 2019127571 which has been machine translated) in view of Mizuno (WO 2020194920 which has been machine translated) and Namekata et al (US Publication 20210002475).
As to claims 1, 3 and 4, Shiori discloses a resin composition for an insulating layer comprising a polybutadiene skeleton, an epoxy resin, an active ester curing agent and an inorganic filler (abs). The polybutadiene has the same general formula as claimed which can be seen on page 6 with formulas a1-a3, a-7 and the composition comprises aromatic amine curing accelerators (part f). Shiori does disclose bisphenol A type epoxy resins as well as glycidyl ester type resins, however is silent to the specific epoxy resin and aromatic amine.
Mizuno discloses a circuit board comprising an epoxy resin, an aromatic amine a boron-phosphorus complex used within the composition. The boron-phosphorus complex has general formula 2 which is the same as claimed and phosphorus complex formula 3 (Paragraphs 12-16.) Further the epoxy resin can be a di glycidyl etherified products of Bisphenols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori and used the material of Mizuno as they are known material used within circuit boards and Shiori discloses the use of diglycidyl and bisphenol A epoxy resins and aromatic curing agents.
Namekata discloses a resin composition including an epoxy resin, an inorganic filler (abs) for use in a printed wiring board. The composition further includes a polybutadiene resin specifically Ricon 657 (paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori and Mizuno and used Ricon 657 as the polybutadiene as it would be a suitable polybutadiene used within printed wiring boards, and it is a recognized equivalent. See MPEP 2144.04.
As to claim 5, Shiori discloses the use of inorganic fillers.
As to claim 6, Shiori discloses the use of boron nitride filler however is silent to the volume amount of filler.
Mizuno discloses boron nitride filler in an amount of 40 to 80 volume percent and can be the only filler present.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori work and used the boron nitride filler as the only filler in an amount of 50% or more as Mizuno discloses overlapping ranges as claimed and Shiori discloses the same filler as claimed as this filler would help provide excellent electrical insulation and thermal conductivity.
Claims 7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiori (JP 2019127571 which has been machine translated), Namekata et al (US Publication 20210002475) and Mizuno (WO 2020194920 which has been machine translated) in view of Kotake (WO 2012099131 which has been machine translated).
As to claims 7, 12-14, Shiori discloses a resin composition for an insulating layer comprising a polybutadiene skeleton, an epoxy resin, an active ester curing agent and an inorganic filler (abs). The polybutadiene has the same general formula as claimed which can be seen on page 6 with formulas a1-a3, a-7 and the composition comprises aromatic amine curing accelerators (part f). Shiori does disclose bisphenol A type epoxy resins as well as glycidyl ester type resins, however is silent to the specific epoxy resin and aromatic amine as well as a phase separated structure and glass transition temperatures.
Mizuno discloses a circuit board comprising an epoxy resin, an aromatic amine a boron-phosphorus complex used within the composition. The boron-phosphorus complex has general formula 2 which is the same as claimed and phosphorus complex formula 3 (Paragraphs 12-16.) Further the epoxy resin can be a di glycidyl etherified products of Bisphenols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori and used the material of Mizuno as they are known material used within circuit boards and Shiori discloses the use of diglycidyl and bisphenol A epoxy resins and aromatic curing agents.
Namekata discloses a resin composition including an epoxy resin, an inorganic filler (abs) for use in a printed wiring board. The composition further includes a polybutadiene resin specifically Ricon 657 (paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori and Mizuno and used Ricon 657 as suggested by Namekata as the polybutadiene as it would be a suitable polybutadiene used within printed wiring boards, and it is a recognized equivalent. See MPEP 2144.04.
Kotake discloses an epoxy resin composition for use in a circuit board comprising a phase separated structure for the epoxy resin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori, Namekata and Mizuno formed the structure of Kotake because it would provide the composition to have low heat expansion and excellent warping characteristics.
As to the glass transition temperature the combination of Shiori, Namekata, Mizuno and Kotake disclose the same materials for the same use as claimed and therefore would inherently have the claimed glass transition temperature.
As to claim 9-11, Shiori discloses the substrate can be a metal foil layer and a metal foil layer over the insulating layer used for a circuit pattern for a circuit board.
As to claim 15, Shiori discloses the use of inorganic fillers.
As to claim 16, Shiori discloses the use of boron nitride filler however is silent to the volume amount of filler.
Mizuno discloses boron nitride filler in an amount of 40 to 80 volume percent and can be the only filler present.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori work and used the boron nitride filler as the only filler in an amount of 50% or more as Mizuno discloses overlapping ranges as claimed and Shiori discloses the same filler as claimed as this filler would help provide excellent electrical insulation and thermal conductivity.
Claims 7, 9-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiori (JP 2019127571 which has been machine translated), Namekata et al (US Publication 20210002475) and Hunter (WO 2010098966 which has been machine translated) in view of Kotake (WO 2012099131 which has been machine translated).
As to claims 7, 12 and 13, Shiori discloses a resin composition for an insulating layer comprising a polybutadiene skeleton, an epoxy resin, an active ester curing agent and an inorganic filler (abs). The polybutadiene has the same general formula as claimed which can be seen on page 6 with formulas a1-a3, a-7 and the composition comprises aromatic amine curing accelerators (part f). Shiori does disclose bisphenol A type epoxy resins as well as glycidyl ester type resins, however is silent to the specific epoxy resin and aromatic amine as well as a phase separated structure and glass transition temperatures.
Hunter discloses an epoxy resin composition useful for circuit boards that can have an epoxidized polybutadiene, diglycidyl ether of bisphenol a and aromatic amine curing agents such as Metaphenylene Diamine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori and used the epoxy resin of diglycidyl ether of bisphenol a as well as metaphenylene diamine as it’s a known epoxy resin and amine curing agent used within circuit boards and Shiori discloses both diglycidyl and bisphenol A epoxy resins and aromatic curing agents.
Namekata discloses a resin composition including an epoxy resin, an inorganic filler (abs) for use in a printed wiring board. The composition further includes a polybutadiene resin specifically Ricon 657 (paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori and Mizuno and used Ricon 657 as suggested by Namekata as the polybutadiene as it would be a suitable polybutadiene used within printed wiring boards, and it is a recognized equivalent. See MPEP 2144.04.
Kotake discloses an epoxy resin composition for use in a circuit board comprising a phase separated structure for the epoxy resin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Shiori, Namekata and Hunter and formed the structure of Kotake because it would provide the composition to have low heat expansion and excellent warping characteristics.
As to the glass transition temperature the combination of Shiori, Namekata, Hunter and Kotake disclose the same materials for the same use as claimed and therefore would inherently have the claimed glass transition temperature.
As to claim 9-11, Shiori discloses the substrate can be a metal foil layer and a metal foil layer over the insulating layer used for a circuit pattern for a circuit board.
As to claim 15, Shiori discloses the use of inorganic fillers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argue that the combination of Shiori and either Hunter or Mizuno fail to teach the amended versions of claims 1 and 7 as it would not have been obvious. The examiner respectfully disagrees and argues that Shiori teaches the board formula of the polybutadiene however is silent to the molar ratio. The newly cited reference of Namekata discloses a polybutadiene resin specifically Ricon 657 which would read on the claimed ratio. This is a known material used within printed wiring boards and would be a suitable polybutadiene for Shiori. Applicants are trying to show unexpectedly better results however the claims do not seem to be commensurate in scope with the examples as they only show one compound and not the range being claimed.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785