DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities.
In each of Figures 14A, 14B and 17-19, every line, number and letter is not durable, clean, and sufficiently dark to permit reproduction. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(l).
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126, which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered CLAIMS 6-20 have been renumbered as CLAIMS 5-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
CLAIM 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The originally filed specification fails to provide support for the limitation “machine learning vision” in CLAIM 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
CLAIMS 1-8, 11-13, 15, 16 AND 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morgan et al. (WO 2016/205422 A1).
Morgan et al. ‘422 (“Morgan”) discloses a system (700, Figs. 7 and 8) for monitoring a seed trench comprising:
CLAIM 1 a vision sensor (750) disposed at a distal end of a seed tube (232);
CLAIM 2 (a) a video processor ([0018], CPU of 50) in communication with the vision sensor 750); and
(b) a display (screen of element 50, such as element 800) in communication with the video processor (“CPU” of 50), wherein the display is configured to display images from the vision sensor (750) to an operator;
CLAIM 3 wherein the vision sensor (750) faces a closing disk (236), and wherein the vision sensor is disposed at or below ground level during planting operations ([0040]);
CLAIM 4 wherein the system (700) is configured to detect one or more of collapsed trench sidewalls, seed placement, crop residue within the trench, clods within the trench, a collapsed trench, trench size, seed depth, and soil moisture ([0050], [0052]);
CLAIM 5 wherein the display (screen of 50) is configured display notifications to an operator of detected conditions ([0046]-[0048]);
CLAIM 6 further comprising at least one control module (300) in communication with the display (screen of 50, Fig. 3), and wherein the system is configured to send commands to the at least one control module ([0020]) to adjust one or more of seed meter ejection, in-furrow liquid treatment, supplemental row unit down force, supplemental closing wheel down force, seed firmer deployment and down force, row cleaners, and gauge wheel load;
CLAIM 7 further comprising a supplemental lighting source (740) disposed near the vision sensor (750); and
CLAIM 8 further comprising a storage medium in communication with the video processor (“CPU” of 50) and configured to store images from the vision sensor (“memory” or “remote server,” [0038], [0040]).
CLAIMS 11-13, 15, 16, 19 All of the limitations recited in the claims are taught by Morgan, as applied above to CLAIMS 1-8.
CLAIM 13 Morgan teaches expressly the display (screen of 50) having the functionality to display alerts of detected planting conditions (“alarm condition,” [0052]).
CLAIM 15 Morgan teaches expressly a GNSS unit in communication with the video processor, and wherein the system is configured to record geolocations for the images from the vision sensor (“geo-referenced location,” [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
CLAIMS 9, 10, 17 AND 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan et al. (WO 2016/205422 A1) in view of Humpal et al. (US 2022/0192175 A1).
CLAIMS 9, 17 Morgan further teaches an additional optical sensor (305) disposed on the seed tube (232)([0020]) but fails to teach specifically either a stereo camera or a time-of-flight sensor. Humpal et al. ‘175 (“Humpal”) discloses an agricultural machine (100) comprising a plurality of image sensors (122) for capturing images of the soil, wherein the image sensors may be embodied as stereo cameras [0167]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the additional optical sensor (Morgan, 305) of the prior art system (Morgan, 700) a stereo camera, as suggested by Humpal ([0167]). The motivation for making the modification would have been to improve the accuracy of data collected and communicated to an operator, relative to that collected by a single lens camera, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
CLAIMS 10, 18 Morgan fails to teach specifically an RGB camera. Humpal et al. ‘175 (“Humpal”) discloses an agricultural machine (100) comprising a plurality of image sensors (122) for capturing images of the soil and teaches RGB cameras as suitable for this purpose [0167]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the vision sensor (Morgan, 750) of the prior art system (Morgan, 700) an RGB camera, as suggested by Humpal. The motivation for making the modification would have been to incorporate a low cost vision sensor capable of high-resolution imaging, and to have done so with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/TARA MAYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
29 September 2026