DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 October 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 January 2026 with regards to the claim objections of claims 1-2, 5, 10 and 12-14 are persuasive. Therefore, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 12 to include the limitations that were present in claim 9 (now cancelled) and argues that the prior art fails to teach these limitations.
Upon review, the prior art discloses these limitations as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0019768 by Fletcher et al. (Fletcher hereinafter) in view of US 2023/0042887 by Cansancao et al. (Cansancao hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Fletcher discloses a system for synchronising an islanded power grid with a main power grid [see at least paragraphs 0002 and 0010], the system comprising: at least one first PMU [see at least Figure 1, (150)] that in use, collects first phasor data associated with the main power grid [see at least paragraph 0061], wherein the first phasor data comprises time-stamped voltage phasors and frequency values at an electrical node within main power grid close to a connection point [see at least paragraphs 0084-0085]; a second PMUs [see at least Figure 1, (160)] that in use, collect second phasor data associated with the islanded power grid [see at least paragraph 0061], wherein the second phasor data comprises time-stamped voltage phasors and frequency values at a plurality of electric nodes which at least include a plurality of energy sources in the islanded power grid [see at least paragraphs 0091-0092]; a main controller [see at least Figure 1, (152) and (162)] of the islanded power grid that is communicably coupled to the at least one first PMU and at least one of the second PMUs [see at least paragraph 0065], the main controller being configured to: receive the first phasor data and the second phasor data [see at least paragraph 0065]; and then execute the frequency correction process iteratively using the first phasor data and the second phasor data, to match a frequency of the islanded power grid to a frequency of the main power grid [see at least paragraph 0071]; execute a phase and voltage magnitude correction process iteratively using the first phasor data and the second phasor data, to match a phase and voltage magnitude of the islanded power grid at the connection point to a phase and voltage magnitude of the main power grid [see at least paragraph 0071]; and send an activation signal to at least an electrical element arranged at the connection point, causing the electrical element to establish an electrical connection between the islanded power grid and the main power grid upon receiving the activation signal [see at least Figure 1, (142) and (144); paragraphs 0058-0060].
Fletcher fails to disclose a given phasor measurement unit (PMU) comprising a PMU-based controller configured to: receive information indicative of a plurality of timing sources in the islanded power grid and the main power grid; determine an efficiency of each of the plurality of timing sources, based on a plurality of metrics associated with each of the plurality of timing sources; and select a timing source having a highest efficiency amongst the plurality of timing sources as a timing reference for timestamping phasor data; a plurality of second phasor measurement units and receive a command from a device associated with an operator of the system. However, Cansancao discloses a plurality of PMUs [see at least paragraph 0180] each with a digital signal processor [see at least Figure 2, (216)] that synchronizes with other timing sources [see at least paragraph 0018, “synchronize the captured inputs with an eternal time source”] including islanded power [see at least paragraph 0179, “detect islanding”; paragraph 0193] and the power grid [see at least paragraph 0179, “uses high speed phasor readings taken from multiple locations on the electrical grid…”] which selects a best master clock [see at least paragraph 0036] by way of an algorithm with priorities [see Figure 20, (2018); the terminology of “highest efficiency” is very broad and can mean several different aspects of the system] which is timestamped [see at least paragraph 0106, “This is the timestamp when the individual synchrophasor is computed”]. The system further utilizes operator input into the system [see at least paragraph 0149].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Fletcher to include a plurality of PMUs with a best master clock, as disclosed by Cansancao, to improve data collection while efficiently synchronizing phasors throughout the power grid. Thus, creating a more accurate system with stable synchronizes. Further, it would have been obvious to allow for user input to control the system in order to modify the operation of the system. Thus, allowing for customizable control.
Regarding claim 2, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 1.
Fletcher discloses wherein when executing the frequency correction process iteratively, at each iteration, the main controller is configured to: determine a first average value of the frequency values in the first phasor data; determine a second average value of the frequency values in the second phasor data; determine whether a difference between the first average value and the second average value is greater than or equal to a first predefined threshold; when the difference between the first average value and the second average value is greater than or equal to the first predefined threshold, determine a frequency correction value based on the first average value and the second average value; determine frequency correction setpoints according to the frequency correction value taking into account stability metrics of the islanded power grid; and send the frequency correction setpoints to converters of the plurality of energy sources for realisation, wherein the iterative execution of the frequency correction process terminates upon matching of the frequency of the islanded power grid with the frequency of the main power grid [see at least paragraphs 0015 and 0025].
Cansancao discloses using average frequency values [see at least paragraph 0243].
Regarding claim 4, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 2.
Fletcher discloses wherein when determining the frequency correction setpoints according to the frequency correction value, the main controller is configured to: determine tentative frequency correction setpoints for the converters of the plurality of energy sources, according to the frequency correction value; and process the tentative frequency correction setpoints using compensation filter functions and stability metrics, to produce the frequency correction setpoints [see at least paragraphs 0104 and 0106].
Regarding claim 5, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 1.
Fletcher discloses wherein a given time-stamped voltage phasor comprises at least a phase value, and when executing the phase correction process iteratively, at each iteration, the main controller is configured to: determine a third average value of phase values in the first phasor data and a fourth average value of voltage magnitude values in the first phasor data; determine a fifth average value of phase values in the second phasor data and a sixth average value of voltage magnitude values in the second phasor data; determine a phase correction value based on the third average value and the fifth average value and a voltage magnitude correction value based on the fourth average value and the sixth average value; determine phase and voltage magnitude correction setpoints according to the phase and voltage magnitude correction value taking into account stability metrics of the islanded power grid; and send the phase and voltage magnitude correction setpoints to the converters of the plurality of energy sources for realisation, wherein the iterative execution of the phase and voltage magnitude correction process terminates upon matching of the phase and voltage magnitude of the islanded power grid at the connection point with the phase and voltage magnitude of the main power grid [see at least paragraphs 0015 and 0025; in light of the plurality of PMUs].
Cansancao discloses using average frequency values [see at least paragraph 0243].
Regarding claim 7, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 5.
Fletcher discloses wherein when determining the phase and voltage magnitude correction setpoints according to the phase correction value and the voltage magnitude correction value, the main controller is configured to: determine tentative phase and voltage magnitude correction setpoints for the converters of the plurality of energy sources, according to the phase and voltage magnitude correction value; and process the tentative phase and voltage magnitude correction setpoints using compensation filter functions and stability metrics, to produce the phase and voltage magnitude correction setpoints [see at least paragraphs 0104 and 0106].
Regarding claim 10, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 1.
Fletcher discloses further comprising a data repository communicably coupled to the main controller, wherein the main controller is configured to store, at the data repository, at least one of: network parameters of the main power grid, network parameters of the islanded power grid, network parameters of devices in the islanded power grid, synchronisation criteria of the islanded power grid and the main power grid [see at least paragraph 0091].
Regarding claim 11, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 1.
Fletcher discloses wherein the electrical element is at least one of: a circuit breaker, a relay, a switch [see at least paragraph 0058].
Regarding claim 12, Fletcher discloses a method for synchronising an islanded power grid with a main power grid [see at least paragraphs 0002 and 0010], the method comprising: receiving a first phasor data from at least one phase measurement unit (PMU) [see at least Figure 1, (150)] [see at least Figure 1, (150)] and a second phasor data from a second PMUs [see at least Figure 1, (160)], wherein the first phasor data comprises time-stamped voltage phasors and frequency values at an electrical node within main power grid close to a connection point [see at least paragraphs 0061, 0084-0085], and the second phasor data comprises time-stamped voltage phasors and frequency values at a electric nodes which at least include a plurality of energy sources in the islanded power grid [see at least paragraphs 0061, 0084-0085]; and then executing the frequency correction process iteratively using the first phasor data and the second phasor data, for matching a frequency of the islanded power grid to a frequency of the main power grid [see at least paragraph 0071]; executing a phase and voltage magnitude correction process iteratively using the first phasor data and the second phasor data, for matching a phase and voltage magnitude of the islanded power grid at the connection point to a phase and voltage magnitude of the main power grid [see at least paragraph 0071]; and sending an activation signal to at least an electrical element arranged at the connection point, causing the electrical element to establish an electrical connection between the islanded power grid and the main power grid upon receiving the activation signal [see at least Figure 1, (142) and (144); paragraphs 0058-0060].
Fletcher fails to disclose a given phasor measurement unit (PMU) comprising a PMU-based controller configured to: receive information indicative of a plurality of timing sources in the islanded power grid and the main power grid; determine an efficiency of each of the plurality of timing sources, based on a plurality of metrics associated with each of the plurality of timing sources; and select a timing source having a highest efficiency amongst the plurality of timing sources as a timing reference for timestamping phasor data; a plurality of second phasor measurement units and receive a command from a device associated with an operator of the system. However, Cansancao discloses a plurality of PMUs [see at least paragraph 0180] each with a digital signal processor [see at least Figure 2, (216)] that synchronizes with other timing sources [see at least paragraph 0018, “synchronize the captured inputs with an eternal time source”] including islanded power [see at least paragraph 0179, “detect islanding”; paragraph 0193] and the power grid [see at least paragraph 0179, “uses high speed phasor readings taken from multiple locations on the electrical grid…”] which selects a best master clock [see at least paragraph 0036] by way of an algorithm with priorities [see Figure 20, (2018); the terminology of “highest efficiency” is very broad and can mean several different aspects of the system] which is timestamped [see at least paragraph 0106, “This is the timestamp when the individual synchrophasor is computed”]. The system further utilizes operator input into the system [see at least paragraph 0149].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Fletcher to include a plurality of PMUs with a best master clock, as disclosed by Cansancao, to improve data collection while efficiently synchronizing phasors throughout the power grid. Thus, creating a more accurate system with stable synchronizes. Further, it would have been obvious to allow for user input to control the system in order to modify the operation of the system. Thus, allowing for customizable control.
Regarding claim 13, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the method of claim 12.
Fletcher discloses wherein the step of executing the frequency correction process iteratively, at each iteration, comprises: determining a first average value of the frequency values in the first phasor data; determining a second average value of the frequency values in the second phasor data; determining whether a difference between the first average value and the second average value is greater than or equal to a first predefined threshold; when the difference between the first average value and the second average value is greater than or equal to the first predefined threshold, determining a frequency correction value based on the first average value and the second average value; determining frequency correction setpoints according to the frequency correction value taking into account stability metrics of the islanded power grid; and sending the frequency correction setpoints to converters of the plurality of energy sources for realisation, wherein the iterative execution of the frequency correction process terminates upon matching of the frequency of the islanded power grid with the frequency of the main power grid [see at least paragraphs 0015 and 0025].
Cansancao discloses using average frequency values [see at least paragraph 0243].
Regarding claim 14, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the method of claim 12.
Fletcher discloses wherein a given time-stamped voltage phasor comprises at least a phase and voltage magnitude value, and the step of executing the phase and voltage magnitude correction process iteratively, at each iteration, comprises: determining a third average value of phase values in the first phasor data and a fourth average value of voltage magnitude values in the first phasor data; determining a fifth average value of phase values in the second phasor data and a sixth average value of voltage magnitude values, in the second phasor data; determining a phase correction value based on the third average value and the fifth average value and a voltage magnitude correction value based on the fourth average value and the sixth average value; determining phase and voltage magnitude correction setpoints according to the phase and voltage magnitude correction value taking into account stability metrics of the islanded power grid; and sending the phase and voltage magnitude correction setpoints to the converters of the plurality of energy sources for realisation, wherein the iterative execution of the phase and voltage magnitude correction process terminates upon matching of the phase and voltage magnitude of the islanded power grid close to the connection point with the phase and voltage magnitude of the main power grid [see at least paragraphs 0015 and 0025; in light of the plurality of PMUs].
Cansancao discloses using average frequency values [see at least paragraph 0243].
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0019768 by Fletcher et al. (Fletcher hereinafter) in view of US 2023/0042887 by Cansancao et al. (Cansancao hereinafter) in further view of US 2019/0006847 by Venkatasubramanian et al. (Venkatasubramanian hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 2.
Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches calculations, but without a confidence value and therefore fail to teach wherein at each iteration, the main controller is further configured to: determine a first confidence value indicative of a reliability of the frequency values in the first phasor data; determine a second confidence value indicative of a reliability of the frequency values in the second phasor data; determine an overall frequency confidence value as a product of the first confidence value and the second confidence value; and determine whether the overall frequency confidence value is greater than or equal to a second predefined threshold, wherein when the overall frequency confidence value is greater than or equal to the second predefined threshold, the frequency correction value is determined. However, Venkatasubramanian discloses the use of a confidence value [see at least paragraphs 0040 and 0048].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a confidence value in the calculations to better determine the system synchronization. Thus, preventing mismatched connection between the islanded power grid and the main power grid and preventing component damage.
Regarding claim 6, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 5.
Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches calculations, but without a confidence value and therefore fail to teach wherein at each iteration, the main controller is further configured to: determine a third confidence value indicative of a reliability of the phase values in the first phasor data and a fourth confidence value indicative of a reliability of the voltage magnitude values in the first phasor data; determine a fifth confidence value indicative of a reliability of the phase values in the second phasor data and a sixth confidence value indicative of a reliability of the voltage magnitude values in the second phasor data; determine an overall phase confidence value at the connection point as a product of the third confidence value and the fifth confidence value, and determine an overall voltage magnitude confidence value at the connection point as a product of the fourth confidence value and the sixth confidence value; and determine whether the overall phase confidence value and the overall voltage magnitude confidence value is greater than or equal to a third predefined threshold, wherein when the overall phase confidence value and the overall voltage magnitude confidence value is greater than or equal to the third predefined threshold, the phase and voltage magnitude correction values are determined. However, Venkatasubramanian discloses the use of a confidence value [see at least paragraphs 0040 and 0048].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize a confidence value in the calculations to better determine the system synchronization. Thus, preventing mismatched connection between the islanded power grid and the main power grid and preventing component damage.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0019768 by Fletcher et al. (Fletcher hereinafter) in view of US 2023/0042887 by Cansancao et al. (Cansancao hereinafter) in further view of US 2020/0293032 by Wang et al. (Wang hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches the system of claim 5.
Fletcher in view of Cansancao teaches calculations, but without artificial intelligence based software application and therefore fail to teach wherein when determining the phase and voltage magnitude correction value, the main controller is further configured to: employ an artificial intelligence (AI)-based software application for identifying whether there exists any electrical device or operating condition that introduces a phase and voltage magnitude deviation, in any of the plurality of electric nodes including the plurality of energy sources in the islanded power grid; when it is determined that there exists an electrical device or operating condition that introduces the phase and voltage magnitude deviation in any of the plurality of electric nodes, determine a value of the phase and voltage magnitude deviation; and update the phase and voltage magnitude correction value that is determined using the third average value, the fourth average value, the fifth average value, and the sixth average value, by using information from phase and voltage magnitude deviation value. However, Wang discloses use of artificial intelligence [see at least paragraph 0032].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to utilize artificial intelligence in the calculations to better determine the system factors to help with synchronization. Thus, preventing mismatched connection between the islanded power grid and the main power grid and preventing component damage.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REGIS J BETSCH/SPE, Art Unit 2836