DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office Action is in response to the claims filed on 9/16/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 11/21/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0162480 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewandowski et al. (US 2022/0396271).
As to claim 1 Lewandowski discloses an apparatus for controlling regenerative braking (figure 2), which is mounted in a towing vehicle (figure 2 # 100), the apparatus comprising:
a receiving unit (figure 1 #110) configured to receive at least one of detection information related to a surrounding of a host vehicle and vehicle state information of the host vehicle (paragraph 0033); and
a control unit (110) configured to determine a required braking amount based on the vehicle state (the temperature of the vehicle, paragraph 0061 and 0062) information and output a request for the braking for the towed vehicle to the towed vehicle (paragraph 0062) and,
wherein the controller is configured to output a regenerative braking entry request or an emergency regenerative braking request according to the possibility of the required braking amount (paragraph 0040).
As to claim 4 Lewandowski discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to determine the required braking amount by integrating a brake pedal (paragraph 0031) displacement amount among the vehicle state information, output the regenerative braking entry request in response that the required braking amount is greater than or equal to a third threshold and smaller than a fourth threshold, (the request coming from the pedal is greater than a zero request threshold and less than a maximum available amount threshold.
As to claim 11 Lewandowski discloses an apparatus for controlling regenerative braking (paragraph 0040), which is mounted in a towed vehicle and configured to control the regenerative braking of a host vehicle according to a request from a towing (figure 1 #104) vehicle, the apparatus comprising:
a first control (100) unit configured to receive a regenerative braking request from the towing vehicle and output a request corresponding to the regenerative braking request (paragraph 0031); and
a second control unit (102) operatively connected (142) to the first control unit (100) and configured to perform regenerative braking (paragraph 0040) according to the request output from the first control unit,
wherein the regenerative braking request includes a regenerative braking entry request or an emergency regenerative braking request (using the brake pedal the operator can provide both braking requests both using the regenerative braking).
As to claim 20 Lewandowski in further view of Wu discloses a method of controlling regenerative braking of a towed vehicle by a towing vehicle,
Lewandowski discloses the method comprising:
outputting, by a first regenerative braking control apparatus of a towing vehicle (figure 2 #100), a regenerative braking request (paragraph 0040) to the towed vehicle based on a result of determining a required braking amount based on vehicle state information of the host vehicle (figure 8 steps 805 and 810); and
performing, by a second regenerative braking control apparatus (figure 2 #102) of the towed vehicle which is operatively connected (figure 2 #142) to the first regenerative braking control apparatus, regenerative braking of the host vehicle according to the regenerative braking request (paragraph 0040).
Claim(s) 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salter et al. (US 2022/0388484).
As to claim 15 Salter discloses a method for controlling regenerative braking (figure 5 # 98), which is configured to control regenerative braking of a host vehicle (figure 5B #98) according to a request from a towing vehicle (figure 5A) by a control device mounted in a towed vehicle (70), the method comprising:
receiving a regenerative braking request from the towing vehicle (figure 5B #82); and
performing the regenerative braking (figure 5B #98) according to the regenerative braking request,
wherein the regenerative braking request includes a regenerative braking entry request or an emergency regenerative braking request (both requests are made as disclosed in paragraph 0076, Hard stopping is interpreted as emergency braking. During the hard stopping the system also regeneratively brakes).
As to claim 16 Salter discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the performing includes performing the regenerative braking (paragraph 0076) according to information related to a regenerative braking level provided at a time of the regenerative braking entry request in response that the regenerative braking entry request is received (paragraph 0076).
As to claim 17 Salter discloses the method of claim 15, further including receiving a towing mode (figure 6 #104) from the towing vehicle and entering an enable state before the receiving (figure 6 #106).
As to claim 18 Salter discloses the method of claim 15, further including determining whether the regenerative braking release request (brake pedal not pressed figure 6 #110) is received in response that the regenerative braking request is not received for a preset time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5-7, 12-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewandowski et al. (US 2022/0396271) in further view of Wu et al (US 2019/0322273) and Salter et al. (US 2022/0388484).
As to claim 2 Lewandowski discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above but is silent to the control unit is further configured to determine a time to collision (TTC) between the host vehicle and the object, compare the TTC with preset first and second thresholds, and output the regenerative braking entry request or the emergency regenerative braking request according to a result of the comparison, and
wherein the second threshold is smaller than the first threshold.
Wu discloses to the control unit (figure 1) is further configured to determine a time to collision (TTC) between the host vehicle and the object (paragraph 0054), compare the TTC with preset first (paragraph 0068) and second thresholds (paragraph 0068), and output the regenerative braking entry request (paragraph 0068) or the emergency regenerative braking request according to a result of the comparison, and
wherein the second threshold is smaller than the first threshold.
Paragraph 0068 discloses the changing of the threshold according to the adhesive coefficient so there is the is an infinite amount and adjustment to the collision time threshold according to the adhesive coefficient. As the coefficient decreases the time threshold gets smaller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the emergency brake system for a tow vehicle and its trailer on the vehicle and towing system of Lewandowski for collision prevention. (paragraph 0039)
As to claim 3 Lewandowski in further view of Wu discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein Lewandowski discloses the control unit is further configured to output the regenerative braking entry request.
Wu discloses the request for braking in response that the TTC is smaller than or equal to the first threshold and greater than the second threshold and output the emergency regenerative braking request in response that the TTC is smaller than or equal to the second threshold.
All of the brake requests will be for the regenerative braking on all the thresholds. There is no distinction other than title for the emergency request of the regular request so other than the title they can perform the same braking. Therefore Wu would call for braking in all these situations and Lewandowski would interpret and brake using the regenerative brakes.
As to claim 5 The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the control unit is further configured to determine a regenerative braking level corresponding to the TTC in response that the TTC is smaller than or equal to the first threshold and greater than the second threshold and provide information related to the regenerative braking level to the towed vehicle. (paragraph 0045).
As to claim 6 Lewandowski discloses a method for controlling regenerative braking of a towed vehicle (figure 2) by a control device mounted in a towing vehicle (figure 2 #100), the method comprising:
determining a required braking amount based on vehicle state information of the host vehicle (paragraph 0061); and
outputting, by the control device, a request for the regenerative braking for the towed vehicle based on the possibility of collision or the required braking amount (paragraph 0061 and paragraph 0040),
wherein the outputting includes outputting a regenerative braking entry request or an emergency regenerative braking request according to the possibility of collision or the required braking amount (paragraph 0061 and paragraph 0040).
Lewandowski discloses the system to detect a collision in paragraph 0033.
However does not disclose determining, by the control device, a possibility of collision with an object based on detection information related to a surrounding of a host vehicle.
Wu disclose determining, by the control device (figure 1), a possibility of collision with an object based on detection information related to a surrounding of a host vehicle (paragraph 0045). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the collision control program with the trailer braking program of Lewandowski as it would improve automotive safety (Wu Paragraph 0002)
As to claim 7 Lewandowski in further view of Wu discloses the method of claim 6, wherein Wu discloses the determining of the possibility of collision includes:
determining a time to collision (TTC) between the host vehicle and the object; and
comparing the TTC to preset first and second thresholds, and wherein the second threshold is smaller than the first threshold.
Paragraph 0068 discloses the changing of the threshold according to the adhesive coefficient so there is the is an infinite amount and adjustment to the collision time threshold according to the adhesive coefficient. As the coefficient decreases the time threshold gets smaller.
As to claim 12 Lewandowski discloses the apparatus of claim 11 above.
However does not disclose the first control unit is further configured to provide information related to a regenerative braking level provided at a time of the regenerative braking entry request to the second control unit SO that the second control unit performs the regenerative braking according to the information related to the regenerative braking level.
Salter discloses methods for proving towing braking assistance during in flight charging of electric vehicles (abstract). Including the first control unit (78) is further configured to provide information related to a regenerative braking level (paragraph 0038) provided at a time of the regenerative braking entry request to the second control unit (figure 1 #34) that the second control unit performs the regenerative braking according to the information related to the regenerative braking level (paragraph 0038). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the programing of Salter with the towing control system of Lewandowski as it would provide bi directional charging assistant and braking assistance during towing (salter, paragraph 0031)
As to claim 13 Lewandowski in further view of Salter discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first control unit (figure 1 #34 in the car) is further configured to receive the regenerative braking request (figure 6 #112) after receiving a towing mode (figure 6 #104) from the towing vehicle to enter an enable state (paragraph 0040).
As to claim 14 Lewandowski in further view of Salter discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first control unit is further configured to determine whether the regenerative braking release request is received (figure 6 #110) when not receiving the regenerative braking request for a preset time.
As to claim 19 Lewandowski in further view of Wu discloses a system for controlling regenerative braking between vehicles,
Lewandowski discloses the system comprising:
a first regenerative braking control apparatus mounted in a towing vehicle (paragraph 0031); and
a second regenerative braking control apparatus mounted in a towed vehicle (paragraph 0040) and operatively connected to the first regenerative braking control apparatus (shown in figure 2),
wherein the second regenerative braking control apparatus is configured to perform regenerative braking of the host vehicle according to the regenerative braking request output from the first regenerative braking control apparatus (paragraph 0040).
Lewandowski also discloses determine a required braking amount based on vehicle state information of the host vehicle (figure 8 steps 805 and 810) and output a regenerative braking request to the towed vehicle based on the required braking amount (figure 8 step 830)
Lewandowski is silent to the first regenerative braking control apparatus is configured to determine a possibility of collision with an object based on detection information related to a surrounding of a host vehicle and output a regenerative braking request to the towed vehicle based on the possibility of collision.
Wu discloses to the control unit (figure 1) is further configured to determine a time to collision (TTC) between the host vehicle and the object (paragraph 0054), compare the TTC with preset first (paragraph 0068) and second thresholds (paragraph 0068), and output the regenerative braking entry request (paragraph 0068) or the emergency regenerative braking request according to a result of the comparison, and
wherein the second threshold is smaller than the first threshold.
Paragraph 0068 discloses the changing of the threshold according to the adhesive coefficient so there is the is an infinite amount and adjustment to the collision time threshold according to the adhesive coefficient. As the coefficient decreases the time threshold gets smaller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the emergency brake system for a tow vehicle and its trailer on the vehicle and towing system of Lewandowski for collision prevention. (paragraph 0039)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to show or adequately teach.
A method for controlling regenerative braking of a towed vehicle by a control device mounted in a towing vehicle, the method comprising:
determining, by the control device, a possibility of collision with an object based
on detection information related to a surrounding of a host vehicle or determining a
required braking amount based on vehicle state information of the host vehicle; and
outputting, by the control device, a request for the regenerative braking for the
towed vehicle based on the possibility of collision or the required braking amount,
wherein the outputting includes outputting a regenerative braking entry request or an emergency regenerative braking request according to the possibility of collision or the required braking amount.
wherein the determining of the possibility of collision includes:
determining a time to collision (TTC) between the host vehicle and the
object; and comparing the TTC to preset first and second thresholds, and
wherein the second threshold is smaller than the first threshold.
wherein the regenerative braking entry request is output in response that the TTC is smaller than or equal to the first threshold and greater than the second threshold, and the emergency regenerative braking request is output in
response that the TTC is smaller than or equal to the second threshold.
Nor
A method for controlling regenerative braking of a towed vehicle by a control device mounted in a towing vehicle, the method comprising:
determining, by the control device, a possibility of collision with an object based
on detection information related to a surrounding of a host vehicle or determining a
required braking amount based on vehicle state information of the host vehicle; and
outputting, by the control device, a request for the regenerative braking for the
towed vehicle based on the possibility of collision or the required braking amount,
wherein the outputting includes outputting a regenerative braking entry request or an emergency regenerative braking request according to the possibility of collision or the required braking amount
wherein the determining of the required braking amount includes determining the required braking amount by integrating a brake pedal displacement amount among the vehicle state information, and
wherein the regenerative braking entry request is output in response that the required braking amount is greater than or equal to a preset third threshold and smaller than a preset fourth threshold, and the emergency regenerative braking request is output in response that the required braking amount is greater than or equal to the fourth threshold, and the third threshold is smaller than the fourth threshold.
Conclusion
SHERMAN D. MANLEY
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/SHERMAN D MANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747