DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Rejection for Application 18/885,970 filed September 16, 2024. The present application claims priority to, and the benefit of, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/595,474, which was filed on November 2, 2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 16, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the foot of the user" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A foot and a user are not previously recited. This rejection may be overcome with language such as “a foot of a user”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,606,886 (Bittner) in view of US 2010/0174250 (Hu et al) and US 2013/0317405 (Ha et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Bittner discloses a foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer ([Col. 1, Lns. 54-57] ----– “The pressure relief cushion of the present invention includes a body of flexible foam which is either oval or ring shaped and which is provided with the usual centrally disposed aperture to fit over the affected area of the toe.” The pressure relief cushion is capable of being placed around an ulcer.) comprising:
a circular body circumscribing a circular aperture (Figs. 1 and 2 show a circular body circumscribing a circular aperture; body 11; central aperture 12.);
a first horseshoe shaped portion (Since the body 11 is either oval shaped or ring shaped, then a portion of the body is horseshoe shaped since a horseshoe shape is half of an oval or ring. Therefore, a first half of the body 11 is interpreted as a first horseshoe shaped portion.); and
a second horseshoe shaped portion (A second half of the body 11 is interpreted as a second horseshoe shaped portion.);
wherein said first horseshoe shaped portion extending from a first end to an opposing second end (The first half extends for a first end to an opposing second end.);
wherein said second horseshoe shaped portion extending from a first end to an opposing second end (The second end extends from a first end to an opposing second end); and further
wherein said first bottom surface and said second bottom surface are planar ([Claim 1] – “A pressure relief cushion comprising a body of flexible foam having a substantially flat undersurface”. The bottom surfaces of the first and second halves are flat, which means they are planar.).
Bittner does not disclose wherein the circular body is gel-filled; wherein said first end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said first end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous first depression connection extending across a first top surface and a first bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body; wherein said second end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said second end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous second depression connection across a second top surface and a second bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body; wherein said first horseshoe shaped portion is a first sealed gel-filled body; and wherein said second horseshoe shaped portion is a second sealed gel-filled body.
However, Hu discloses a reduced pressure wound therapy device. The examples shown in Figs. 15A-15C, 16A and 16B, and 17A-17D include a raised structure whose border sits outside the wound area and may be inflatable, foam-filled, and/or gel-filled. The raised structures act to shield the wound bed from additional pressure and may have any suitable geometry. See [0076]. The gel-filled structures are sealed by a valve in Figs.16A and 16B, and 17A-17D.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date for the foam material of the body 11 of Bittner to instead be gel-filled as taught by Hu. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Hu teaches that the raised structures of a wound dressing may be foam-filled and/or gel-filled to shield the wound bed from additional pressure ([0076]). A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn dressings for preventing pressure on an encircled area of a user.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu teaches wherein the circular body is gel-filled (In view of Hu, it is obvious for the body 11 of Bittner to be gel-filled.);
wherein said first horseshoe shaped portion is a first sealed gel-filled body (The first half of the body 11 is horseshoe shaped and, in views of Hu, is a sealed gel-filled body.); and
wherein said second horseshoe shaped portion is a second sealed gel-filled body (The second half of the body 11 is horseshoe shaped and, in view of Hu, is a sealed gel-filled body.).
Bittner in view of Hu does not disclose wherein said first end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said first end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous first depression connection extending across a first top surface and a first bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body; and wherein said second end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said second end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous second depression connection across a second top surface and a second bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body.
However, Ha discloses a modular wound dressing that has two film backings that have an overlapping relationship to one another. The first and second backings are C-shaped and their opening align with one another to form an opening to align with a wound. See the abstract. The amount of overlap may be adjusted to arrive at an opening of various sizes to accommodate wounds of various sizes. See [0051]. [0052] – “The third backing layer 40 shown is in generally linear extending legs 46, 47 such that the third backing layer 30 provides an ability to extend the separation of the first backing layer 20 from the second backing layer 30 while providing a complete perimeter around the opening 50.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to make the body 11 of Bittner comprise two separate components attachable through a backing layer as taught by Ha. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Ha teaches that by having two parts the amount of overlap may be adjusted to arrive at an opening of various sizes to accommodate wounds of various sizes ([0051]). A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn wound dressings encircling wounds.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches wherein said first end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said first end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous first depression connection extending across a first top surface and a first bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body (In view of Ha, the first half and second half of the body 11 are separate and selectively attached at respective ends by a backing layer. The connecting backing layer is interpreted as forming a continuous depression connection as the first half and second half of the body 11 have a cavity between them that extends across the top and bottom surfaces.);
wherein said second end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said second end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous second depression connection across a second top surface and a second bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body (In view of Ha, the first half and second half of the body 11 are separate and selectively attached at respective ends by a backing layer. The connecting backing layer is interpreted as forming a continuous depression connection as the first half and second half of the body 11 have a cavity between them that extends across the top and bottom surfaces.).
Regarding claim 2, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 1, wherein said first top surface and said second top surface are convex (Fig. 2 of Bittner shows that the body 11 has a top surface that is convex.).
Regarding claim 4, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 2, wherein said gel-filled circular body is frozen before application to the ulcer of a foot of a user (A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114(II). Since the device of Bittner in view of Hu and Ha is capable of being frozen before application to the ulcer of a foot of a user, it meets the claim limitation.).
Regarding claim 5, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 4.
Bittner in view of Hu and Ha, as applied above, does not teach wherein said gel-filled circular body having a material selected from the group consisting of a transparent material and a translucent material.
However, Ha further discloses that the preferred backing materials are translucent or transparent polymer films. See [0069].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date for the body 11 of Bittner to be transparent as taught by Ha. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Ha teaches that the backing layers are preferably transparent. A transparent film allows for a user to observe the underlying wound without removing the device. A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn wound dressings encircling a wound.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches wherein said gel-filled circular body having a material selected from the group consisting of a transparent material and a translucent material (In view of Ha, at least a part of the body 11 includes a transparent material.).
Regarding claim 6, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 5, wherein said first bottom surface and said second bottom surface having a pressure adhesive layer disposed thereon for adhering said gel-filled circular body to skin of the foot of the user, and further wherein said gel-filled circular body circumscribes the ulcer when adhered to the foot of the user (Bittner discloses having its bottom surface covered with a pressure sensitive adhesive layer 13 which is capable of being applied to the skin of the foot of the user and causes the body 11 to circumscribe the ulcer. [Col. 2, Lns. 17-21]).
Regarding claim 7, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 6, wherein said first horseshoe shaped portion and said second horseshoe shaped portion detachable along said continuous first depression connection and said continuous second depression connection (In view of Ha, the connecting backing layer allows for the first and second halves to be detached along the depression.).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,606,886 (Bittner) in view of US 2010/0174250 (Hu et al) and US 2013/0317405 (Ha et al.), and further in view of US 3,499,813 (Schickedanz).
Regarding claim 3, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 1.
Bittner in view of Hu and Ha does not teach wherein said first top surface and said second top surface are flat.
However, Schickedanz discloses a surgical pad of the type that is adhesively attached to the body of a user for the relief of corns, calluses, bunions, and other injuries and afflictions. See Col. 1, Lns. 27-34. As shown in Fig. 3, the pad has a flat top surface.
Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for the top surface to be flat instead of convex, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape that is absent of persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed component is significant is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date make the top surface of the body 11 of Bittner flat as taught by Schickedanz. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Schickedanz teaches an analogous pad with a flat top surface and one of ordinary skill in the art would find the change in shape of a component obvious. Changing the shape of the top surface to be flat may also provide the benefit of reducing the overall height of the pad to better fit under a sock or shoe. A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn cushions for the feet.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Schickedanz teaches wherein said first top surface and said second top surface are flat (In view of Schickedanz, the top surface of the body 11 is flat.).
Claim(s) 8, 10-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,606,886 (Bittner) in view of US 2010/0174250 (Hu et al) and US 2013/0317405 (Ha et al.), and further in view of US 4,688,562 (Buchan et al.).
Regarding claim 8, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 7.
Bittner in view of Hu and Ha does not teach wherein said gel-filled circular body having a thickness up to 0.5 inches.
However, Buchan discloses an analogous device for the prophylaxis of pressure sores with a thickness between 0.5 cm and 3 cm. See the Abstract and Col. 2, Lns. 16-18. 0.5 cm to 3 cm is 0.2 in to 1.2 in.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to make the body 11 of Bittner 0.5 inches thick as taught by Buchan. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Buchan teaches that this is an appropriate thickness for a device for the prophylaxis of pressure sores. A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn to devices for encircling and protecting wounds.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches wherein said gel-filled circular body having a thickness up to 0.5 inches (In view of Buchan, the thickness of the body 11 is 0.5 inches.).
Regarding claim 10, Bittner discloses a foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer ([Col. 1, Lns. 54-57] ----– “The pressure relief cushion of the present invention includes a body of flexible foam which is either oval or ring shaped and which is provided with the usual centrally disposed aperture to fit over the affected area of the toe.” The pressure relief cushion is capable of being placed around an ulcer.) comprising:
a circular body circumscribing a circular aperture (Figs. 1 and 2 show a circular body circumscribing a circular aperture; body 11; central aperture 12.);
a first horseshoe shaped portion of a first size (Since the body 11 is either oval shaped or ring shaped, then a portion of the body is horseshoe shaped since a horseshoe shape is half of an oval or ring. Therefore, a first half of the body 11 is interpreted as a first horseshoe shaped portion having a first size.); and
a second horseshoe shaped portion of a second size (A second half of the body 11 is interpreted as a second horseshoe shaped portion with a second size.);
wherein said first horseshoe shaped portion extending from a first end to an opposing second end (The first half extends for a first end to an opposing second end.);
wherein said second horseshoe shaped portion extending from a first end to an opposing second end (The second end extends from a first end to an opposing second end).
Bittner does not disclose wherein the circular body is gel-filled; wherein said first end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said first end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous first depression connection extending across a first top surface and a first bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body; wherein said second end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said second end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous second depression connection across a second top surface and a second bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body; wherein said first horseshoe shaped portion is a first sealed gel-filled body; wherein said second horseshoe shaped portion is a second sealed gel-filled body; and further wherein said first size is different from said second size.
However, Hu discloses a reduced pressure wound therapy device. The examples shown in Figs. 15A-15C, 16A and 16B, and 17A-17D include a raised structure whose border sits outside the wound area and may be inflatable, foam-filled, and/or gel-filled. The raised structures act to shield the wound bed from additional pressure and may have any suitable geometry. See [0076]. The gel-filled structures are sealed by a valve in Figs.16A and 16B, and 17A-17D.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date for the foam material of the body 11 of Bittner to instead be gel-filled as taught by Hu. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Hu teaches that the raised structures of a wound dressing may be foam-filled and/or gel-filled to shield the wound bed from additional pressure ([0076]). A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn dressings for preventing pressure on an encircled area of a user.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu teaches wherein the circular body is gel-filled (In view of Hu, it is obvious for the body 11 of Bittner to be gel-filled.);
wherein said first horseshoe shaped portion is a first sealed gel-filled body (The first half of the body 11 is horseshoe shaped and, in views of Hu, is a sealed gel-filled body.); and
wherein said second horseshoe shaped portion is a second sealed gel-filled body (The second half of the body 11 is horseshoe shaped and, in view of Hu, is a sealed gel-filled body.).
Bittner in view of Hu does not disclose wherein said first end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said first end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous first depression connection extending across a first top surface and a first bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body; and wherein said second end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said second end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous second depression connection across a second top surface and a second bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body; and further wherein said first size is different from said second size.
However, Ha discloses a modular wound dressing that has two film backings that have an overlapping relationship to one another. The first and second backings are C-shaped and their opening align with one another to form an opening to align with a wound. See the abstract. The amount of overlap may be adjusted to arrive at an opening of various sizes to accommodate wounds of various sizes. See [0051]. [0052] – “The third backing layer 40 shown is in generally linear extending legs 46, 47 such that the third backing layer 30 provides an ability to extend the separation of the first backing layer 20 from the second backing layer 30 while providing a complete perimeter around the opening 50.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to make the body 11 of Bittner comprise two separate components attachable through a backing layer as taught by Ha. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Ha teaches that by having two parts the amount of overlap may be adjusted to arrive at an opening of various sizes to accommodate wounds of various sizes ([0051]). A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn wound dressings encircling wounds.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu and Ha teaches wherein said first end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said first end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous first depression connection extending across a first top surface and a first bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body (In view of Ha, the first half and second half of the body 11 are separate and selectively attached at respective ends by a backing layer. The connecting backing layer is interpreted as forming a continuous depression connection as the first half and second half of the body 11 have a cavity between them that extends across the top and bottom surfaces.);
wherein said second end of said first horseshoe shaped portion selectively attached to said second end of said second horseshoe shaped portion to form a continuous second depression connection across a second top surface and a second bottom surface of said gel-filled circular body (In view of Ha, the first half and second half of the body 11 are separate and selectively attached at respective ends by a backing layer. The connecting backing layer is interpreted as forming a continuous depression connection as the first half and second half of the body 11 have a cavity between them that extends across the top and bottom surfaces.).
Bittner in view of Hu and Ha does not teach wherein said first size is different from said second size.
However, Buchan discloses an analogous device for the prophylaxis of pressure sores where the size of the device will vary depending upon the area of the body to which the device is to be applied. See Col. 5, Lns. 17-18.
Additionally, It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the size of one half of the body 11, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to change the size of the first half of the body 11 to be different than the second half as taught by Buchan. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Buchan teaches that the size is dependent on the area of the body to which the device is to be applied. This allows for the cushion to be used in more locations. A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn devices for encircling and protecting wounds.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches wherein said first size is different from said second size (In view of Buchan, the first size is different from the second size.).
Regarding claim 11, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 10, wherein said first bottom surface and said second bottom surface are planar ([Claim 1] – “A pressure relief cushion comprising a body of flexible foam having a substantially flat undersurface”. The bottom surfaces of the first and second halves are flat, which means they are planar.).
Regarding claim 12, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 10, wherein said first top surface and said second top surface are convex (Fig. 2 of Bittner shows that the body 11 has a top surface that is convex.).
Regarding claim 13, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 10, wherein said first bottom surface and said second bottom surface having a pressure adhesive layer disposed thereon for adhering said gel-filled circular body to skin of the foot of the user, and further wherein said gel-filled circular body circumscribes the ulcer when adhered to the foot of the user (Bittner discloses having its bottom surface covered with a pressure sensitive adhesive layer 13 which is capable of being applied to the skin of the foot of the user and causes the body 11 to circumscribe the ulcer. [Col. 2, Lns. 17-21]).
Regarding claim 14, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 10, wherein said gel-filled circular body is frozen before application to the ulcer of a foot of a user (A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114(II). Since the device of Bittner in view of Hu and Ha is capable of being frozen before application to the ulcer of a foot of a user, it meets the claim limitation.).
Regarding claim 16, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 10, wherein said first horseshoe shaped portion and said second horseshoe shaped portion detachable along said continuous first depression connection and said continuous second depression connection (In view of Ha, the connecting backing layer allows for the first and second halves to be detached along the depression.).
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,606,886 (Bittner) in view of US 2010/0174250 (Hu et al), US 2013/0317405 (Ha et al.) and US 4,688,562 (Buchan et al.), and further in view of US 2009/0205222 (McLinden).
Regarding claim 9, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 8.
Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan does not teach wherein said gel-filled circular body having silver nanoparticles for improving antimicrobial resistance of said gel-filled circular body to heal ulcers.
However, McLinden discloses a shoe liner with an upper later 12 that includes an antimicrobial such as silver nanoparticles. See [0028] and [0030]. The silver nanoparticle additives combine silver's natural antimicrobial properties with nanotechnology to provide permanent, safe protection against germs and odors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to add silver nanoparticles to the device of Bittner as taught by McLinden. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because McLinden teaches that the nanoparticles are naturally antimicrobial ([0030]). A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn protective devices worn on the feet.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha, Buchan and McLinden teaches wherein said gel-filled circular body having silver nanoparticles for improving antimicrobial resistance of said gel-filled circular body to heal ulcers (In view of McLinden, the body 11 comprises silver nanoparticles.).
Regarding claim 15, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan teaches the foot ulcer cushion device for placing around an ulcer of claim 10.
Bittner in view of Hu, Ha and Buchan does not teach wherein said gel-filled circular body having silver nanoparticles for improving antimicrobial resistance of said gel-filled circular body to heal ulcers.
However, McLinden discloses a shoe liner with an upper later 12 that includes an antimicrobial such as silver nanoparticles. See [0028] and [0030]. The silver nanoparticle additives combine silver's natural antimicrobial properties with nanotechnology to provide permanent, safe protection against germs and odors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to add silver nanoparticles to the device of Bittner as taught by McLinden. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because McLinden teaches that the nanoparticles are naturally antimicrobial ([0030]). A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success given that all references are analogous and drawn protective devices worn on the feet.
As a result, Bittner in view of Hu, Ha, Buchan and McLinden teaches wherein said gel-filled circular body having silver nanoparticles for improving antimicrobial resistance of said gel-filled circular body to heal ulcers (In view of McLinden, the body 11 comprises silver nanoparticles.).
Conclusion
/SETH R. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/RACHAEL E BREDEFELD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786