DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2, “at least of the two male couplers” should read --at least two of the male couplers--
Claim 5, line 2, “at least of the three male couplers” should read --at least three of the male couplers--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anscher (US Pat. No. 5,604,958).
In regards to claim 1, Anscher teaches a support mechanism comprising: a base (28, Fig. 10) defining a back surface and an opposing front surface; a support structure (25) extending forward from the front surface, the support structure including a curved support element (e.g.; the curved bottom of pouch 25; see above), the support element defining an internal receiving area capable of receiving a cylindrical container (i.e.; within the pouch 25); and a plurality of male couplers (7/30) extending from the back surface, the plurality of male couplers each comprising a body (7) extending from the back surface, a first tongue (15, Fig. 17), and a second tongue (15), the first tongue and the second tongue both extending from the body and both offset from and above the back surface, the first tongue defining a first channel (1C; see annotation below) between the back surface and the first tongue, the second tongue defining a second channel (2C) between the back surface and the second tongue, the first channel and second channel each extending on opposing sides of the body, each channel comprising a front open end (i.e.; the opening to the channel) and a back closed end (see U-shaped channels 1C and 2C below), wherein each of the first channel and the second channel extend along the body (i.e.; each extends between a wing 15 and a front surface of tab member 7).
In regards to claim 3, Anscher teaches the plurality of male couplers (7/30) are arranged in a grid (i.e.; 1 x 2 grid in Fig. 10).
In regards to claim 10, Anscher teaches the first channel (1C) and the second channel (2C) extend parallel to each other (e.g.; in a horizontal direction behind wings 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anscher (US Pat. No. 5,604,958).
In regards to claim 2 and 9, in the embodiment of Fig. 10, Anscher does not teach the support element (25) defining a circular shape (claim 2); and the cylindrical container extends through the entirety of the support element when the support element receives the cylindrical container (claim 9).
However, Anscher teaches additional embodiments of support elements, to include a pouch (3, Fig. 1) defining a circular shape, and a ring (17) capable of having a cylindrical container extending entirely through the support element.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Anscher’s support element to define a circular shape (claim 2); and to have a support element configured to have the cylindrical container extend through the entirety of the support element when the support element receives the cylindrical container (claim 9). The motivation would be for the purpose of holding various items based on user requirements as taught by Anscher (Col 3, Lines 65-67; Col 4, Lines 1-17, 66-67; Col 5, Lines 1-15).
In regards to claims 4 and 5, Anscher does not particularly teach the grid comprises at least two columns of at least two male couplers (claim 4); and the grid comprises at least two columns of at least three male couplers (claim 5). However, Anscher teaches fewer or more tabs (7) to which the male couplers are attached to may be used (Col 7, Lines 40-47).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and with reasonable expectation of success to modify Anscher’s device such that teach the grid comprises at least two columns of at least two male couplers (claim 4); and the grid comprises at least two columns of at least three male couplers (claim 5). The motivation would be for the purpose of using more couplers depending on how large of an object is to be attached to the backpack, and for providing greater stability as taught by Anscher (Col 7, Lines 29-33, 40-47).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the proposed channels 1C and 2C extend into the body from which the tongue extends. Please note Figure 2 is directed to a separate embodiment not relied upon in the rejection of claim 1. Figure 10 below is annotated to illustrate how the channels defined behind the wings 15 extend across the front surface of the body 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stanton L Krycinski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631