Final Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/18/2026 have been fully considered. In light of the amendments made, a modified grounds of rejection is presented below.
In light of compact prosecution, Examiner wishes to respond to specific arguments presented by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant posits that, in view of the amended language to incorporate the language of cancelled claim 4, that prior art references of record do not teach of “a shield plate extending between a pair of brackets, the shield plate having features indicative of a first indicator position and a second indicator position” and “a latch mechanism including an indicator, wherein the aligns with the first indicator position when in the unlocked position and aligns with the second indicator position when in the locked position”, specifically citing the rejection of record under Lanting et al as part of US 20120189374 A1, hereinafter referred to as Lanting, in view of Kollmann as part of US 11396733 B2, hereinafter referred to as Kollmann. Applicant posits that there is no teaching in Lanting or Kollmann of a first and second indicator position as part of the shield plate as defined.
Upon further consideration, Examiner cedes that Kollmann does not teach of a shield plate having features indicative of a first indicator position and second indicator position, wherein an indicator aligns with a first indicator when in the unlocked position and aligns with the second indicator position when in the locked position. As such, the rejection of claim 1 is withdrawn.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant posits that while Lanting teaches of an upper cross rod, it does not teach of a lower cross rod extending across the carrier. Examiner does not find this argument persuasive, as it can be clearly seen in Fig. 2 of Lanting, Upper cross member 46 comprises the upper cross rod, and it can be interpreted that operating rod assembly 150 spans across the carrier in a position relatively below the upper cross member 46, and thus would constitute a lower cross rod. A modified grounds of rejection is presented below.
Regarding claim 11, Applicant posits that Lanting in view of Villarreal as part of US 10273650 B1, hereinafter referred to as Villarreal, do not teach the content of the cancelled claim 13, which has been included in the amended claim 11. Applicant further states that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to completely alter the structure of Lanting with the proposed combination of elements taught by Ravindran as part of US 20150330053 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ravindran.
Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Applicant presents no evidence that substituting a linearly actuating electric motor with a linearly actuating hydraulic cylinder to operate the inward and outward movement of locking members would fundamentally or completely alter the structure of the disclosure of Lanting, as arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of factually supported, objective evidence e.g., In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). (MPEP 2145).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lanting.
Regarding Claim 18: Lanting teaches of a carrier for coupling an implement to a work vehicle (Fig. 1-2, implement carrier 42 couples a bucket 14 to front end loader 10), comprising:
a pair of vehicle brackets configured to couple to a pair of loader arms of the work vehicle (Fig. 1, left and right arms 30 fix the frame of the loader 10 to the vehicle);
a pair of implement brackets, each implement bracket defining a space to receive a mounting feature of the implement and having a latch bore (Fig. 3, mounting plates 58, 62, 64, 66 comprise two brackets);
an upper cross rod extending across the carrier;
a lower cross rod extending across the carrier, wherein the upper cross rod and the lower cross rod separate the vehicle brackets of the pair of vehicles brackets and the implement brackets of the pair of implement brackets (Fig. 1, pin 32 separates the arms 30; Fig. 2, upper cross member 46 and transverse operating rod assembly 150 separates the brackets defined by mounting plates 58, 64 and 62, 66);
a latch mechanism movable between a locked position and an unlocked position (Fig. 2 demonstrates the latch mechanism 120 in the latched position, Fig. 6 demonstrates latch mechanism 120 in the unlatched position), the latch mechanism including:
a latch plate extending transversely to the carrier (Fig. 3, rod 160 may be considered a plate that extends transversely to the carrier);
an actuator coupled to the latch patch and configured to transition the latch mechanism between the locked position and the unlocked position (Fig. 3, rod 160 is coupled to linear electric motor 140, which actuates to transition the latch mechanism 120 between the unlatched and latched positions);
a first lock pin coupled to a first end of the latch plate (Fig. 3, latch rod 172 is coupled to the latch rod 160 at a first end via lever arm 166);
and a second lock pin coupled to a second end of the latch plate (Fig. 3, latch rod 170 is coupled to latch rod 160 on a different, second end),
wherein, in the locked position, the first lock pin and the second lock pin are received within respective latch bores of respective implement brackets (Fig. 2-3, the latch mechanism 120 is engaged in holes 108, 112, 106, and 114 in the latched position),
and wherein, in the unlocked position, the first lock pin and the second lock pin are at least partially withdrawn from the respective latch bores (Fig. 6, in the unlatched configuration, the latch rods 172 and 170 are withdrawn from their respective holes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanting in view of Villarreal Ravindran.
Regarding Claim 11: Lanting teaches of a latch mechanism for a carrier (Lanting: Fig. 1-2, implement carrier 42 couples a bucket 14 to front end loader 10), comprising:
a first latch plate having a first end and a second end separated by a center point (Lanting: Fig. 3, rod 160 may be considered a plate, comprising a first and second end with a center point therebetween);
a second latch plate coupled to the first latch plate at the first end (Lanting: Fig. 3, latch rod 170 is coupled to rod 160 at a second end);
a locking state indicator coupled to the first latch plate at the second end (Lanting: Paragraph 42, LED indicator 240 is coupled to motor 140, and therefore rod 160 at the first end);
a first lock pin coupled to the first latch plate at the second end (Lanting: Fig. 3, latch rod 172 is coupled to the latch rod 160 at a first end via lever arm 166);
a second lock pin coupled to the second latch plate (Lanting: Fig. 3, latch rod 170 is coupled to latch rod 160 on an opposite side to latch rod 172);
and an actuator configured to transition the latch mechanism between a locked position and an unlocked position (Lanting: Fig. 3, rod 160 may be considered a plate and is coupled to linear electric motor 140, which moves latch rods 172 and 170 between the latched and unlatched positions).
Lanting does not teach of the actuator being coupled to a central portion of the first latch plate.
Villarreal teaches of a latch mechanism for a carrier (Villarreal: Fig. 2, latching carrier 8 couples loader 10 to bucket 52), comprising:
a first latch plate having a first end and a second end separated by a center point (Villarreal: Fig. 6, latch system 112 has a first end and second end separated by a center section);
a second latch plate coupled to the first latch plate at the first end (Villarreal: Fig. 6-7, flange 222 is coupled to the latch system 112 at a first end);
a first lock pin coupled to the first latch plate at the second end;
a second lock pin coupled to the second latch plate (Villarreal: Fig. 6-7 , pins 186 are coupled to the latch system 112 at the first end and to the flange 222);
and an actuator coupled to the first latch plate at the center point, the actuator configured to transition the latch mechanism between a locked position and an unlocked position (Villarreal: Fig. 6-7, handle 188 is positioned at a central point of latch system 112 and moves pins 186 between a latched and unlatched position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to relocate the position of the actuator from the end of the first latch plate as taught by Lanting to a centralized location on the first latch plate as taught by Villarreal, as mere rearrangement of parts between known configurations without modifying the operation of the individual elements of the apparatus is not patentably distinct. Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of operating a latching mechanism between a latched and unlatched position via movement of an actuator coupled to a central portion of the first latch plate (MPEP 2144.04, Subsection VI, C).
While Lanting in view of Villarreal do suggest that an actuator is utilized to hold the mechanism in the locked position, there is no explicit recitation of the actuator providing a locking force when the latch mechanism is in the locked position.
Ravindran teaches of a carrier for coupling an implement to a work vehicle (Ravindran: Paragraph 77: the coupler assembly couples a vehicle to an implement) comprising an actuator to transition a latch mechanism between a locked and unlocked position (Ravindran: Fig. 12-15, rear locking member 51 moves between a locked and unlocked position), wherein the actuator provides a locking force for the latch mechanism, when in the locked position (Ravindran: Paragraph 117, the check valves 137 and 139 maintain pressure to lock the coupler assembly 31 to hold an implement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Lanting in view of Villarreal, which make no explicit mention of a locking force being provided, with the disclosure of Ravindran to provide an explicit locking force to ensure that the latch mechanism remains locked in the event of a failure of the actuator (Ravindran: Paragraph 117: Valves 137 and 139 ensure that the slide assembly actuator 43 is locked in case of a failure). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of maintaining a locking force when the assembly is in a locked position.
Regarding Claim 12: Lanting in view of Villarreal, further in view Ravindran teaches of the apparatus taught in claim 11.
Lanting further teaches wherein the actuator is a hydraulic cylinder (Lanting: Paragraph 3, it is known to utilize a retractable hydraulic cylinder to operate the latch rod arrangement between a latched and unlocked position).
Ravindran also teaches wherein the actuator is a hydraulic cylinder (Ravindran: Paragraph 117, hydraulic assembly actuator 43)
Regarding Claim 14: Lanting in view of Villarreal, further in view Ravindran teaches of the apparatus taught in claim 11.
In light of the modifications described above in claim 11, Ravindran further teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises a check valve to prevent unlocking due to leaking (Ravindran: Paragraph 117, the hydraulic assembly actuator 43 of the coupler assembly 31 comprises check valves 137 and 139).
Regarding Claim 17: Lanting in view of Villarreal, further in view of Ravindran teaches of the apparatus of claim 11.
Lanting further teaches wherein the first lock pin and the second lock pin extend along respective axes offset from a longitudinal axis of the first latch plate or second latch plate (Lanting: Fig. 3, the central axis of the latch rod 172 is offset from the longitudinal axis of rod 160 and the central axis of the latch rod 170 is offset from the longitudinal axis of rod 160).
Villarreal also teaches wherein the first lock pin and the second lock pin extend along respective axes offset from a longitudinal axis of the first latch plate or second latch plate (Fig, 6-7, the central axis of pins 186 are offset from latch system 122 and flange 222).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lanting in view of Ravindran.
Regarding Claim 20: Lanting taches of the apparatus described in claim 18.
While Lanting does teach of the actuator being a hydraulic cylinder (Lanting: Paragraph 3, it is known to utilize a retractable hydraulic cylinder to operate the latch rod arrangement between a latched and unlocked position), Lanting does not explicitly teach of the actuator providing a locking force when the latch mechanism is in the locked position.
Ravindran teaches of a carrier for coupling an implement to a work vehicle (Ravindran: Paragraph 77: the coupler assembly couples a vehicle to an implement) comprising an actuator to transition a latch mechanism between a locked and unlocked position (Ravindran: Fig. 12-15, rear locking member 51 moves between a locked and unlocked position), wherein the actuator provides a locking force for the latch mechanism, when in the locked position (Ravindran: Paragraph 117, the check valves 137 and 139 maintain pressure to lock the coupler assembly 31 to hold an implement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to modify the disclosure of Lanting, which makes no explicit mention of a locking force being provided, with the disclosure of Ravindran to provide an explicit locking force to ensure that the latch mechanism remains locked in the event of a failure of the actuator (Ravindran: Paragraph 117: Valves 137 and 139 ensure that the slide assembly actuator 43 is locked in case of a failure). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of maintaining a locking force when the assembly is in a locked position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are allowable over prior art references or record.
Regarding claim 1, after further search and consideration of prior art, while examples of carrier devices for coupling an implement to a work vehicle are known to provide elements that could be referred to as shield plates, such as Lanting and Kollmann, no such examples were found wherein the shield plate comprised features indicative of a first indicator position and a second indicator position, and wherein the indicator aligns with the first indicator position when in the unlocked position and aligns with the second indicator position when in the locked position. Examples were found wherein a shield plate exemplified a single indicator position to notify an operator of a single locking condition, such as a window in a plate that a flag aligns with in the case of Seljestad as part of US 20160040387 A1, no examples were found where both a first and a second indicator position existed on a single plate to indicate two different conditions of the apparatus.
Claims 2-3 and 5-10 are allowable by their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 15-16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, as stated in prior correspondence, while the actuator is positioned between a first and second end of the latch plate as taught by Villarreal, and the actuator has a mounting means therein to couple the actuator to the latch pate, it is explicitly described to be bores in the latch plate, not arms or extended members. To read the detail of “a first and second arm” extending from the center point, wherein the actuator is positioned between said arms, into the teaching of Villarreal or any other referenced prior art, would rely on an improper degree of hindsight reasoning.
Claim 16 is similarly objected to as being dependent on claim 15.
Claim 19 is objected to for the same reasons as described above in relation to claim 1, as no examples were found in prior art where both a first and a second indicator position existed on a shield plate to indicate two different conditions of the apparatus..
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN A BREGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671