DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 of US Application No. 18/886,057, filed on 16 September 2024, are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jain et al. (US 2022/0066459 A1, “Jain”).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Jain discloses using machine learning models for generating human-like trajectories and teaches:
obtaining training data comprising information about a first drivable area (sensors, e.g., camera, to capture perception data, e.g., road lines – see at least ¶ [0025]; human-driven trajectories – see at least ¶ [0024]);
outputting, based on the information about the first drivable area, a first driving path in the first drivable area (computer algorithm may generate a human-like trajectory based on the perception data, e.g., road boundaries – see at least Fig. 2A and ¶ [0054]);
determining, based on the first driving path and the training data, a driving path loss (loss function 224 may determine a loss value based on comparison of human-like trajectory 203 and human-driven trajectory – see at least Fig. 2B and ¶ [0054]);
updating, based on the driving path loss, at least one of parameters associated with the outputting the first driving path (the loss valued determined by loss function 224 may be fed to generator 202 to cause the generator to be updated and optimized – see at least ¶ [0054]; adjusting one or more trajectory parameters or parameter distributions to generate the human-like trajectory 203 – see at least ¶ [0054]);
obtaining, based on the updating the at least one of parameters, test data comprising information about a second drivable area for testing (the training process is repeated until generator 202 generates human-like trajectories that meet pre-determined criteria – see at least ¶ [0054]; another trajectory pair T-H – see at least ¶ [0054]; perception data of the surrounding environment associated with trajectory 201 – see at least ¶ [0054]);
outputting, based on the information about the second drivable area for testing, a second driving path for testing in the second drivable area for testing (updated human-like trajectory 203 based on updated model 202 – see at least Fig. 2B and ¶ [0054]); and
controlling, based on the second driving path for testing, autonomous driving of the vehicle (AV may determine one or more vehicle operations to navigate based on the human-like trajectory 406 – see at least Fig. 4B and ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Jain further teaches:
wherein the information about the first drivable area comprises information about a boundary line of the first drivable area (sensors, e.g., camera, to capture perception data, e.g., road lines – see at least ¶ [0025]; human-driven trajectories may generate a human-like trajectory based on the perception data, e.g., road boundaries – see at least Fig. 2A and ¶ [0054]).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Jain further teaches:
wherein the information about the boundary line of the first drivable area comprises information about: a plurality of first boundary points on a first boundary line of the first drivable area; and a plurality of second boundary points on a second boundary line of the first drivable area (perception data may include camera-based localization data including relative position to road lines – see at least ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Jain further teaches:
generating, based on a training data generation model and the information about the first drivable area, the training data, wherein the training data comprises an improved driving path corresponding to the first drivable area (the training process is repeated until generator 202 generates human-like trajectories that meet pre-determined criteria – see at least ¶ [0054]; another trajectory pair T-H – see at least ¶ [0054]; perception data of the surrounding environment associated with trajectory 201 – see at least ¶ [0054]; updated human-like trajectory 203 based on updated model 202 – see at least Fig. 2B and ¶ [0054), and wherein the information about the first drivable area is input before obtaining the training data (initial heuristic-based trajectory 201 based on perception data – see at least Fig. 2A and ¶ [0041]).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Jain further teaches:
wherein the obtaining the test data comprises generating, based on at least a portion of a driving image obtained from an image sensor and high definition map information, the test data, wherein the at least the portion of the driving image is obtained before obtaining the test data (human-like trajectory is determined based on the heuristic-based trajectory 201, which is generated by the motion planning algorithm 212 based on the perception data 211 – see at least ¶ [0041]; perception data may include camera data – see at least ¶ [0025]-[0026]; perception data may include map data generated based on previously collected perception data – see at least ¶ [0026]).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Jain further teaches:
wherein the generating the test data comprises generating, based on driving scenario information, the test data (trajectories associated with different scenarios encountered by vehicles in the surrounding environment may be used as training samples 205 – see at least ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, Jain further teaches:
wherein instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to obtain the test data by obtaining, based on the at least one of parameters associated with outputting the first driving path, the test data (trajectories associated with different scenarios encountered by vehicles in the surrounding environment may be used as training samples 205 – see at least ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 19, Jain further teaches:
wherein the information about the boundary line of the first drivable area comprises information about coordinates of boundary points in the boundary line (perception data may include camera-based localization data including relative position to road lines – see at least ¶ [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Nilsson et al. (US 2015/0073663 A1, “Nilsson”).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Jain fails to teach but Nilsson discloses maneuver generation for automated driving and teaches:
wherein the generating the training data comprises generating, based on a quadratic programming scheme, the improved driving path (model predictive control problem formulated as a quadratic program – see at least ¶ [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the machine learning models for generating human-like trajectories of Jain to provide for generating paths based on a quadratic programming scheme, as taught by Nilsson, with a reasonable expectation of success, because model predictive control formulated as a quadratic equation allows for trajectories to be determined while accounting for system constraints (Nilsson at ¶ [0049]).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Yaghoubi et al. (US 2024/0059302 A1, “Yaghoubi”).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Jain further teaches:
wherein the information about the first drivable area is obtained based on at least a portion of: first driving data generated as a moving object travels on a road (Avs use sensors, e.g., camera, to capture perception data, e.g., road lines – see at least ¶ [0025]).
Jain fails to teach wherein the information about the first drivable area is obtained based on at least a portion of second driving data generated based on a driving simulation process.
However, Yaghoubi discloses a control system utilizing rulebook scenario generation and teaches:
wherein the information about the first drivable area is obtained based on at least a portion of second driving data generated based on a driving simulation process (simulated scenario may be used to generated a simulated trajectory to test the control system – see at least ¶ [0106]-[0108]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the machine learning models for generating human-like trajectories of Jain to provide for generating data based on a driving simulation process, as taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success, because the simulation may be used to test the control system (Yaghoubi at ¶ [0109]).
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0400095 A1, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 9, Jain fails to teach but Lee discloses learning vehicle trajectories and teaches:
outputting coordinates of prediction points on the first driving path, wherein the driving path loss is associated with a value representing how far the prediction points are from target values (ground truth data may be compared to predicted trajectories of the model to calculate a loss value, such as, for example, via least absolute deviations, least square errors – see at least ¶ [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the machine learning models for generating human-like trajectories of Jain to provide for determining the path loss, as taught by Jain, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would reduce the number of heuristic-based trajectories necessary to determine a control trajectory for the vehicle to follow (Lee at ¶ [0012]).
Regarding claim 20, Jain fails to teach but Lee discloses learning vehicle trajectories and teaches:
outputting coordinates of prediction points on the first driving path (ground truth data may be compared to predicted trajectories of the model to calculate a loss value, such as, for example, via least absolute deviations, least square errors – see at least ¶ [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the machine learning models for generating human-like trajectories of Jain to provide for determining the path loss, as taught by Jain, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would reduce the number of heuristic-based trajectories necessary to determine a control trajectory for the vehicle to follow (Lee at ¶ [0012]).
Conclusion
/AARON L TROOST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666