DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 38, the limitation “wherein the antimicrobial agent is applied to the wound contact layer step a)” is unclear. It is unclear if the antimicrobial agent is intended to be applied to the wound contact layer before, during, or after step a). For the purpose of compact prosecution, this limitation is interpreted as the antimicrobial agent is applied to the wound contact layer after step a, based on ¶ [0131] of the published application. Claims 39-43 are also rejected based on their dependency on Claim 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 38 and 40-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Collyer et al (GB 2290031).
Regarding Claim 38, Collyer discloses a method of manufacturing a wound dressing (pg. 6 lines 3-19, pg. 11 lines 8-10, pg. 14 line 16 – pg. 15 line 8), the method comprising the steps of:
compressing a wound contact layer (3, Fig. 1; pg. 6 lines 3-6);
attaching the wound contact layer (3, Fig. 1) to an absorption layer (1, Fig. 1) using an adhesive (pg. 6 lines 7-10);
applying at least one antimicrobial agent to the wound contact layer (3, Fig. 1), wherein the antimicrobial agent is applied to the wound contact layer (3, Fig. 1) after step a) (pg. 6 lines 14-19, pg. 11 lines 8-10 “the resulting laminate is cut to give individual dressings which may be impregnated with medicaments”, pg. 14 line 16 – pg. 15 line 8).
Regarding Claim 40, Collyer discloses the antimicrobial agent is applied to the wound contact layer (3, Fig. 1) as a solution (pg. 14 line 16 – pg. 15 line 8).
Regarding Claim 41, Collyer discloses the step of drying the wound dressing (pg. 15 lines 4-8).
Regarding Claim 42, Collyer discloses the step of attaching a backing layer (2, Fig. 1) to the absorption layer (1, Fig. 1) using an adhesive (pg. 4 lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 43, Collyer discloses attaching an adhesion means (combination of backing layer 2 and associated adhesive, pg. 4 lines 13-21) to the wound contact layer (3, Fig. 1; the backing layer/associated adhesive are attached to the wound contact layer via the absorption layer), the adhesion means (backing layer 2 and associated adhesive, Fig. 1) comprising an adhesive (pg. 4 lines 13-21) bonded to a carrier layer (backing layer 2, Fig. 1; pg. 4 lines 13-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collyer et al (GB 2290031) in view of Collinson et al (US 2016/0144084) further in view of Carty (US 2016/0038629).
Regarding Claim 39, Collyer is silent whether the adhesive comprises an acrylic powder, wherein the powder is scattered onto a surface of the wound contact layer and/or the absorption layer and the wound contact layer and the absorption layer are then laminated.
Collinson teaches a wound dressing, thus being in the same field of endeavor, which uses a hot melt adhesive powder sprinkled over an ADL prior to heat lamination to bond the ADL to the absorption layer (¶ [0145]). This ensures the ADL and the absorption layer are securely bonded to one another.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Collyer to include scattering an adhesive powder onto a surface of the wound contact layer prior to heat laminating the would contact layer and absorption layer, as taught by Collinson, to ensure the layers are securely bonded to one another (as motivated by Collinson ¶ [0145]). This is further motivated by Collyer, who indicates the wound-contacting layer can be attached to the absorption layer with heat bonding as well as with adhesives (pg. 7-10).
Collyer/Collinson is silent whether the adhesive powder comprises an acrylic powder.
Carty teaches an adhesive composition usable for adhering medical articles such as wound dressings to a patient’s skin (¶ [0074]), where the adhesive composition is an acrylic hot melt adhesive (¶ [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to substitute the hot melt adhesive of Collyer/Collinson for the acrylic hot melt adhesive of Carty, as Carty indicates that acrylic hot melt adhesives can be utilized in medical devices such as wound dressings (as motivated by Carty ¶ [0074]), and as it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (See MPEP § 2144.07).
Double Patenting
Claims 38-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,090,028. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims include all the limitations of the pending claims as well as additional limitations. As such, the patented claims are narrower in scope than the pending claims, and can be considered the species to the pending claim’s genus. Since it has been held that the species anticipates the genus, the patented claims anticipate the pending claims.
Conclusion
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781