DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 - 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “an output for a user
associated with indicating a probability of restenosis occurring after the stent placement procedure is complete and controlling an expansion of the stent during the stent placement procedure”. It is unclear whether (1) the output, or (2) the user, must be “associated with indicating a probability of restenosis occurring after the stent placement procedure is complete and controlling an expansion of the stent during the stent placement procedure”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as intending that the output is ‘associated with indicating a probability of restenosis’, and the user controls the expansion.
Claims 3 - 18 and 20 are indefinite by virtue of dependency.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,772,599 (reference claims). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed towards a system for determining a probability of restenosis based on imaging data obtained from intravascular imaging catheter regarding a stent deployed at a site of a lesion.
Instant claim 1 is suggested by reference claims 1, 5 and/or 11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims to include identifying a gap and providing output as recited, in order to help the clinician visualize the patient’s anatomy and understand the quality of the stent positioning within the vessel. It also would have been obvious to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the ‘comparison’ comprise a percentage, in order to use a well-known mathematical comparison technique to evaluate the relative sizes of the vessel and stent. Further, it would have been obvious to have modified the invention of the reference claims to combine the features of reference claim 5 and 11, in order to facilitate evaluating the stent expansion.
Instant claims 3 and 20 are suggested by reference claims 7 - 9 and/or 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims have the output comprise a visualization of the gap, in order to further help the clinician visualize and understand the quality of the stent positioning within the vessel.
Instant claim 4 is suggested by reference claim 4.
Instant claims 5 - 6 are suggested by reference claims 7 - 9 and/or 13.
Instant claims 7 and 12 - 18 are suggested by reference claim 15. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the qualitative value comprise a color, in order to further help the clinician visualize and understand the quality of the stent positioning within the vessel.
Instant claim 8 - 9 are suggested by reference claim 5. Any displayed data indicating the probability of restenosis is interpreted as an “alert”.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims to cause a speaker to provide an audio notification to the user based on the probability of restenosis, in order to communicate results in an auditory fashion, as is well-understood and conventional in the art.
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the vessel diameter comprise an average diameter, in order to select an appropriate numeric value for the stent diameter for mathematical calculations.
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,089,990 (reference claims). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed towards a system for determining a probability of restenosis based on imaging data obtained from intravascular imaging catheter regarding a stent deployed at a site of a lesion.
Instant claims 1 - 3 and 19 - 20 are suggested by reference claims 2 - 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims to include identifying a gap and providing output as recited, in order to help the clinician visualize the patient’s anatomy and understand the quality of the stent positioning within the vessel.
Instant claim 4 is suggested by reference claim 4.
Instant claims 5 - 6 are suggested by reference claims 5 - 6.
Regarding claims 7 - 9 and 12 - 18 are suggested by reference claim 8 and/or 9. Any displayed data indicating the probability of restenosis is interpreted as an “alert”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the graphical representation comprise a numeric value, a qualitative value, and/or a color, in order to help the clinician visualize and understand the quality of the stent positioning within the vessel using known visualization techniques.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims to cause a speaker to provide an audio notification to the user based on the probability of restenosis, in order to communicate results in an auditory fashion, as is well-understood and conventional in the art.
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the invention of the reference claims to have the vessel diameter comprise an average diameter, in order to select an appropriate numeric value for the stent diameter for mathematical calculations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 - 4, 7, 11 - 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elbasiony (US 2014/0257087, of record) in view of Schmitt et al. (US 2015/0297373, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Elbasiony shows a system, comprising:
an intravascular imaging catheter (catheter 20, [0046] and figs. 1A - 1B) configured to obtain intravascular imaging data after a stent has been deployed within a vessel to provide treatment to a lesion during a stent placement procedure (“… views of a blood vessel … stent deployment …”, [0054]), wherein the intravascular imaging catheter comprises an optical fiber for optical coherence tomography (OCT) (“optical fiber … OCT data sets”, [0042]) or an ultrasound transducer for intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) (ultrasound, [0047]), wherein the stent comprises a proximal end and a distal end (implicit); and
a processor (computing device 40, [0050] - [0051] and fig. 1B) configured for communication with the intravascular imaging catheter, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine, using the intravascular imaging data, a stent measurement (detected stent strut position, [0052]) for a proximal or distal portion of the lesion;
determine, using the intravascular imaging data, a vessel measurement (“lumen border … detected points …”, [0108]) for the proximal or distal portion of the lesion;
calculate, during the stent placement, using the stent measurement and the vessel measurement, a stent expansion amount for at least one of the proximal portion of the lesion or the distal portion of the lesion (“distance measurement … used to represent … under inflation …”, [0086]), wherein the stent expansion amount is distinct from stent apposition (implicit by definition, as the distance measurement is a numerical value, whereas stent apposition is a state of stent contact with a vessel. Also refer to discussion of “… another stent state such as under inflation …”, [0086]);
perform, during the stent placement procedure, a comparison between the stent
expansion amount and a threshold (“compare a distance threshold… with a distance measured from the vessel wall to a stent strut”, [0090]);
perform, based on the intravascular imaging data, identification of a gap between
the stent and the vessel (“… areas of malapposition…”, [0052] and fig. 1B; degree of stent malapposition, [0056]; calculate regions of significant malapposition, [0090]), wherein the gap is indicative of the stent apposition (implicit. Also refer to [0052]; [0056]; [0090]); and
provide, to a display (display 46, [0052] and fig. 1B) in communication with the processor, an output for a user associated with indicating a probability of restenosis occurring after the stent placement procedure is complete and controlling an expansion of the stent during the stent placement procedure, wherein the output comprises:
an intravascular image based on the intravascular imaging data (“… cross-sectional and longitudinal views of a blood vessel generated using collected OCT data… displayed …”, [0052] and fig. 1B);
a first graphical representation (“… information 47 can include… areas of malapposition …”, [0052] and fig. 1B; “regions of significant malapposition”, [0090]); associated with the stent expansion amount and based, at least in part, on the comparison ([0090]); and
a second graphical representation associated with the stent apposition and based at least in part on the identification of the gap (“… perpendicular distances measured relative to a automatically detected lumen border and a perpendicular distance extending from the lumen border to a detected stent strut position …identify stent struts and malapposition levels (such as based on a threshold and measured distance comparison) …. with text, arrows, color coding, highlighting, contour lines, [0052] and fig. 1B),
wherein the first graphical representation and the second graphical representation are distinct from one another ([0052]: the displayed “ areas of malapposition” are distinct from displayed “perpendicular distances … stent struts and malapposition levels …. with text, arrows, color coding, highlighting, contour lines).
Elbasiony fails to show calculating the stent expansion amount as a percentage.
Schmitt discloses stent placement procedures. Schmitt teaches calculating a stent expansion amount as a percentage (“quality of stent expansion after implantation… judge whether the stent has been expanded properly”, [0040]; “… percentage difference between the computed stent profile area and the current lumen area is calculated,” [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified Elbasiony’s invention to include calculating the stent expansion amount as a percentage, as taught by Schmitt, in order to facilitate judging whether the stent has been expanded properly, as suggested by Schmitt ([0040]).
Regarding claim 3, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows
The second representation comprises a visualization of the gap (“… areas of malapposition, …”, [0052] and fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 4, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows determining, based on the intravascular imaging data, a location of the stent within the vessel ([0052]).
Regarding claim 7, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows the first graphical representation comprises a color (“malapposition scores … color scale”, [0025]; color coding, [0052]; [0055]; [0059]; [0080] - [0081]; [0087] - [0088], inter alia) when the stent expansion amount is below the threshold (“malapposition distance threshold”, [0021] - [0023]; [0052]; [0057], inter alia).
Examiner note: in the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt, the “stent expansion amount” is the “stent expansion percentage”, as explained in the art rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows the vessel diameter comprises an average diameter (mean diameter, [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows the first graphical representation comprises a numerical value (distance measurements, [0052]).
Regarding claims 13 - 14, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows the first graphical representation comprises a qualitative description comprising color (color, [0025]; [0052]; [0055]; [0059]; [0080] - [0081]; [0087] - [0088], inter alia).
Regarding claim 15, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows the first graphical representation comprises an indication to the user of a stent expansion (“…diameter graphs, image masks, shadow regions, stents, areas of malapposition, lumen border, perpendicular distances … images or representations of a blood vessel … text, arrows, color coding, highlighting, contour lines, … indicia…”, [0052] and fig. 1B. Note that the displayed data are necessarily in some way ‘indicative’ of the expansion of the stent).
Regarding claims 16 - 18, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows the first graphical representation comprises a numerical value (distance measurements, [0052]) and a color (color, [0025]; [0052]; [0055]; [0059]; [0080] - [0081]; [0087] - [0088], inter alia), wherein the color is based at least in part, on the comparison (“malapposition distance threshold”, [0021] - [0023]; [0052]; [0057], inter alia).
Regarding claim 20, the combined invention of Elbasiony and Schmitt discloses the claimed invention substantially as noted above. Elbasiony further shows the output comprises an indication to the user of a stent positioning (“… views of a blood vessel generated using collected OCT data …GUI … diameter graphs, image masks, shadow regions, stents, areas of malapposition, lumen border, perpendicular distances … images or representations of a blood vessel … text, arrows, color coding, highlighting, contour lines, … indicia…”, [0052] and fig. 1B. Note that the displayed data are necessarily in some way ‘indicative’ of the positioning and expansion of the stent).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s comments on page 6 regarding the double patenting rejections are acknowledged. The rejections are deemed proper and are maintained.
Applicant argues on pages 7 - 8 that the prior art does not teach the amended features of the claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for reasons explained in the art rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMELIE R DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798