DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Preliminary Amendment to claims filed 9/27/2024 is entered. Claim 1 is cancelled and claims 2-32 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “extended deliver solution” should likely be “extended delivery solution.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the plurality of liquid pathways" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 21-32 are rejected by virtue of dependency to claim 20.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12/115,348 B2.
Regarding claim 2, 12/115,348 B2 discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of conduits configured to receive an extended deliver solution comprising a treatment substance from at least one reservoir configured to be implanted on or within a recipient, the plurality of conduits comprising a first conduit; and a plurality of valves in fluidic communication with the plurality of conduits, the plurality of valves configured to facilitate delivery of the treatment substance to the recipient through a selected set of the conduits (claim 1). 12/115,348 B2 is silent regarding the first conduit having a first cross-sectional width and a second conduit having a second cross-sectional width, the second cross-sectional width greater than the first cross-sectional width, each of the first cross-sectional width and the second cross-sectional width in a range of 5 microns to 50 microns. ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to design a conduit with the dimensions above, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 3-4, refer to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, refer to claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, refer to claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, refer to claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, refer to claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, refer to claim 13.
Regarding claim 10, refer to claim 17.
Regarding claim 11, refer to claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, refer to claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, refer to claim 12.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12/115,348 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it is clear the elements of claim 20 are disclosed in claims 6/1 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Melsky (US 4978338).
As to claim 14, Melsky discloses a method comprising: selectively placing one or more fluid conduits of a plurality of fluid conduits in fluidic communication with at least one reservoir of a treatment liquid, the at least one reservoir configured to be implanted on or within a recipient (col. 4, ll. 54-57; col. 11, ll. 34-38; col. 12, ll. 65-66); selectively irreversibly fluidically isolating a first set of fluid conduits of the plurality of fluid conduits from the at least one reservoir (col. 8, ll. 15-17; col. 13, ll. 27-30); and implanting the at least one reservoir and the plurality of fluid conduits on or within the recipient (col. 1, ll. 24-27; col. 11, ll. 34-38).
As to claim 15, Melsky discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the first set is selected prior to or during said implanting. (col. 8, ll. 15-17; col. 13, ll. 27-30)
As to claim 16, Melsky discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the first set is selected subsequently to said implanting. (col. 8, ll. 15-17; col. 13, ll. 27-30)
As to claim 17, Melsky discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising changing the transport rate of the treatment liquid to the recipient subsequently to said implanting (col 11, ll.49-63).
As to claim 18, Melsky discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising allowing the treatment liquid to move from the at least one reservoir through one or more fluid conduits of the plurality of fluid conduits that are not among the selected first set of fluid conduits to administer the treatment liquid to the recipient (col 12, ll. 15-22).
As to claim 19, Melsky discloses the method of claim 18, wherein said allowing the treatment liquid to move is performed passively (col 11, ll. 49-63).
Claim(s) 20-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lopez (US 2014/0296784 A1).
As to claim 20, Lopez discloses an apparatus comprising: a housing (12) configured to be implanted on or within a recipient; and at least one reservoir (fig 2) within the housing, the at least one reservoir configured to receive an extended delivery solution comprising a treatment substance; and a control system (fig 2) within the housing, the control system comprising:
at least one input port (entrance to 42); at least one output port (50); a plurality of pathways each having a corresponding cross-sectional width (fig 2); and a plurality of valves (32, 34) in fluidic communication with the plurality of liquid pathways, the plurality of valves configured to controllably facilitate movement of the treatment substance from the at least one input port, through a selected set of the pathways, to the at least one output port with a selected delivery rate (via 30).
As to claim 21, Lopez discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the plurality of valves comprises at least one two-state valve (32, 34) configured to be switched between an open state and a closed state [0051].
As to claim 24, Lopez discloses the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the plurality of valves comprises at least one two-state valve (32, 34) configured to be switched between an open state and a closed state [0051] and a single linearly movable actuator (16) configured to switch a valve state of each two-state valve of the plurality of valves.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 23, and 25-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841