DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the communication filed on 09/16/2024. Claims 1-21 are pending in the application. Claims 1-21 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2024, 12/21/2024, 02/17/2025, 03/22/2025, 04/09/2025, 04/18/2025, 05/16/2025, 06/06/2025, 06/26/2025, 09/02/2025, 09/10/2025, 09/27/2025, 11/12/2025, 12/08/2025, 12/24/2025, 02/04/2026, 05/25/2026 and 08/11/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2020/0196122 A1 (hereinafter Junk et al.)
Regarding claim 1, Junk et al. teaches a method comprising:
performing, with a first device, a pre-registration between the first device and a second device comprising a key exchange (note para. [0027], [0037], [0050], [0081]: key exchange between two Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) devices such as between a remote device and a BLE communication apparatus), wherein the key exchange occurs fewer than every packet (note para. [0024], [0054], [0081]: Pre-shared key (PSK) or a session key is pre-generated; and periodically updated / generated after certain number of communication sessions); and
sending, with the first device, an encrypted (note para. [0024], [0039], [0076] [0077]: sending encrypted data to second device)
Junk et al. fails to teach expressly sending, with the first device, an encrypted one-way data stream from the first device to the second device.
However, Junk et al. further teaches use of a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) network for establishing and sending encrypted communication between two devices (note Para. [0024], [0039], [0076]: encrypted communication between remote/ client device and field/ server device) Furthermore, examiner would like to note that sending one-way/ unidirectional messages such as broadcasting or advertising data to another device using a BLE communication network is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the method disclosed in Junk et al. for also encrypting one-way data stream or advertising data sent from one BLE device to another one. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, would have been motivated to do so since Junk et al. suggests use of encryption and authentication during the pairing process of the BLE devices to reduce various types of network security attacks as stated in para. [0024].
Regarding claim 2, Junk et al. teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the pre-registration between the first device and the second device comprises transmitting authentication credentials and encryption information (note para. [0024], [0028]: pairing and pre-shared key generation involves transmitting authentication information and encryption)
Regarding claim 3, Junk et al teaches the method of claim 2 wherein the second device decrypts the encrypted one-way data stream using the encryption information from the pre-registration (note para. [0076])
Regarding claim 4, Junk et al teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the pre-registration between the first device and the second device comprises a key exchange (note para. [0024])
Regarding claim 5, Junk et al teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the pre-registration comprises:
sending an encrypted message (note para. [0024], [0028]); and
decrypting the encrypted message (note para. [0076])
Regarding claim 6, Junk et al teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the first device comprises a communication device (note figure 4.104: BLE communication apparatus 104; para. [0024], [0076]) and the second device
Junk et al fails to teach expressly the second device comprises an Internet of Things device.
However, examiner takes an official notice on that before the effective filing of the application features of Bluetooth Network devices (BLE) network to include Internet of Things device (IoT) devices was well-known in the art. Therefore, before the effective filing of the application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art to implement a method wherein a first device comprises a communication device and the second device comprises an Internet of Things device since this arrangement would allow users to include various other types of Bluetooth user/ remote devices (e.g. an Internet of Things device) to be part of the existing BLE communication network.
Regarding claim 7, Junk et al teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the one-way data stream comprises a broadcast, a cyphereye data, a short distance wireless communication, a stream, and/or coordinate information (note para. [0021], [0024], [0056], [0057]: communication data including short range, broadcast/ advertising data etc.)
Regarding claim 8, Junk et al teaches an apparatus (note figure 3.106: remote device; para. [0047]) comprising:
a memory for storing an application (note figure 3.310: database; para. [0046], [0047]), the application configured for:
performing a pre-registration with a second device comprising a key exchange (note para. [0027], [0037], [0050], [0081]: key exchange between two Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) devices such as between a remote device and a BLE communication apparatus), wherein the key exchange occurs fewer than every packet (note para. [0024], [0054], [0081]: Pre-shared key (PSK) or a session key is pre-generated; and periodically updated / generated after certain number of communication sessions); and
sending an encrypted (note para. [0024], [0039], [0076] [0077]: sending encrypted data to second device); and
a processor configured for processing the application (note figure 3.308: BLE communication controller 308 for processing /analyzing BLE message; para. [0046])
Junk et al. fails to teach expressly sending an encrypted one-way data stream to the second device.
However, Junk et al. further teaches use of a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) network for establishing and sending encrypted communication between two devices (note Para. [0024], [0039], [0076]: encrypted communication between remote/ client device and field/ server device) Furthermore, examiner would like to note that sending one-way/ unidirectional messages such as broadcasting or advertising data to another device using a BLE communication network is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the method disclosed in Junk et al. for also encrypting one-way data stream or advertising data sent from one BLE device to another one. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so since Junk et al. suggests use of encryption and authentication during the pairing process of the BLE devices to reduce various types of network security attacks as stated in para. [0024].
Regarding claim 9, Junk et al teaches the apparatus of claim 8 wherein performing the pre-registration with the second device comprises transmitting authentication credentials and encryption information (note para. [0024], [0028]: pairing and pre-shared key generation involves transmitting authentication information and encryption)
Regarding claim 10, Junk et al teaches the apparatus of claim 9 wherein the second device decrypts the encrypted one-way data stream using the encryption information from the pre- registration (note para. [0076])
Regarding claim 11, Junk et al teaches the apparatus of claim 8 wherein the pre-registration with the second device comprises a key exchange (note para. [0024])
Regarding claim 12, Junk et al teaches the apparatus of claim 8 wherein the pre-registration comprises:
sending an encrypted message and a plurality of equations (note para. [0024]);
decrypting the encrypted message (note para. [0076])
Regarding claim 13, Junk et al teaches the apparatus of claim 8 wherein the apparatus comprises a communication device (note figure 4.104: BLE communication apparatus 104; para. [0024], [0076]) and the second device (note figure 4.106: remote device 106; para. [0024], [0076])
Junk et al fails to teach expressly the second device comprises an Internet of Things device.
However, examiner takes an official notice on that before the effective filing of the application features of Bluetooth Network devices (BLE) network to include Internet of Things device (IoT) devices was well-known in the art. Therefore, before the effective filing of the application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art to implement a method wherein a first device comprises a communication device and the second device comprises an Internet of Things device since this arrangement would allow users to include various other types of Bluetooth user/ remote devices (e.g. an Internet of Things device) to be part of the existing BLE communication network.
Regarding claim 14, Junk et al teaches the apparatus of claim 8 wherein the one-way data stream comprises a broadcast, a cyphereye data, a short distance wircless communication, a stream, and/or coordinate information (note para. [0021], [0024], [0056], [0057]: communication data including short range, broadcast/ advertising data etc.)
Regarding claim 15, Junk et al teaches an apparatus (note figure 2.104; figure 4.104: BLE communication apparatus; para. [0047]) comprising:
a memory for storing an application (note figure 2.214: database; 2.206: communication interface; para. [0046], [0047]), the application configured for:
performing a pre-registration with a second device comprising a key exchange (note para. [0027], [0037], [0050], [0081]: key exchange between two Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) devices such as between a remote device and a BLE communication apparatus), wherein the key exchange occurs fewer than every packet (note para. [0024], [0054], [0081]: Pre-shared key (PSK) or a session key is pre-generated; and periodically updated / generated after certain number of communication sessions); and
receiving an encrypted (note para. [0024], [0039], [0076] [0077]: sending encrypted data to second device); and
a processor configured for processing the application (note figure 2.212: BLE communication controller 212 for processing /analyzing BLE message; para. [0046])
Junk et al. fails to teach expressly receiving an encrypted one-way data stream from the second device.
However, Junk et al. further teaches use of a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) network for establishing and sending encrypted communication between two devices (note Para. [0024], [0039], [0076]: encrypted communication between remote/ client device and field/ server device) Furthermore, examiner would like to note that sending one-way/ unidirectional messages such as broadcasting or advertising data to another device using a BLE communication network is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the method disclosed in Junk et al. for also receiving encrypted one-way data stream or advertising data sent from another BLE device. This modification would have been obvious because a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, would have been motivated to do so since Junk et al. suggests use of encryption and authentication during the pairing process of the BLE devices to reduce various types of network security attacks as stated in para. [0024].
Regarding claim 16, Junk et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15 wherein performing the pre-registration with the second device comprises transmitting authentication credentials and encryption information (note para. [0024], [0028]: pairing and pre-shared key generation involves transmitting authentication information and encryption)
Regarding claim 17, Junk et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 16 wherein the application is further configured for decrypting the encrypted one-way data stream using the encryption information from the pre-registration (note para. [0076])
Regarding claim 18, Junk et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15 wherein the pre-registration with the second device comprises a key exchange (note para. [0024])
Regarding claim 19, Junk et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15 wherein the pre-registration comprises:
receiving an encrypted message and a plurality of equations (note para. [0024], [0028]);
decrypting the encrypted message (note para. [0076])
Regarding claim 20, Junk et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15 wherein the apparatus comprises a(note figure 4.106: remote device 106; para. [0024], [0076]) and the second device comprises a communication device (note figure 4.104: BLE communication apparatus 104; para. [0024], [0076])
Junk et al fails to teach expressly the apparatus comprises an Internet of Things device.
However, examiner takes an official notice on that before the effective filing of the application features of Bluetooth Network devices (BLE) network to include Internet of Things device (IoT) devices was well-known in the art. Therefore, before the effective filing of the application, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art to implement a method wherein a first device comprises a communication device and the second device comprises an Internet of Things device since this arrangement would allow users to include various other types of Bluetooth devices (e.g. an Internet of Things device) other than the remote devices to be part of the existing BLE communication network.
Regarding claim 21, Junk et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15 wherein the one-way data stream comprises a broadcast, a cyphereye data, a short distance wireless communication, a stream, and/or coordinate information (note para. [0021], [0024], [0056], [0057]: communication data including short range, broadcast/ advertising data etc.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gobriel et al., US 2012/0117401 A1 teaches a method/ system for conserving energy in a client platform by maintaining connectivity between the client platform and a remote resource when the client is in a low-power state. An example method may include receiving notification that the client platform is transitioning to the low-power state, receiving at least one payload from the client platform, the at least one payload being configured to maintain connectivity with a remote resource while the client platform is in the low-power state, transmitting a packet including the at least one payload and receiving a packet including an acknowledgement. (See Gobriel et al., Abstract)
Sayers et al., US 2019/0199521 A1 teaches an apparatus for secure identification and validation of devices on a network using a low complexity method. In addition, any data transmitted between the devices to/from the network is secured by means of encryption techniques. The method as described herein is intended to protect and secure devices that might need to access a secured sensor or device type of network, for example an Internet of Things (IOT) network. However it could easily be adapted to other types of networks to provide comparable levels of security and protection. (See Sayers et al., Abstract)
A shortened statutory period for response to this action is set to expire in 3 (Three) months and 0 (Zero) days from the mailing date of this letter. Failure to respond within the period for response will result in ABANDOMENT of the application (see 35 U.S.C 133, M.P.E.P 710.02(b)). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTO ABEDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494