DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 05/28/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nissen (2014/0050538) in view of Li et al. (CN 215369894 U).
With regard to claim 1, Nissen discloses a support prop (abstract), comprising: an elongate cylindrical body (20) with a first end which is sealed (para 0011); an opposing second end which is open (para 0011); a bore (56) and a wall (42) which bounds the bore; and wherein; a tubular plunger (34) which extends through the open second end into the bore (fig. 1), the plunger including a leading end with a piston (fig. 1) and a seal on the piston (40), the seal being configured to engage in a sealing and sliding manner with an inner surface of the wall (fig. 1).
Nissen discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding the wall includes an inner metallic liner which faces the bore and an outer shell which is made from a composite material and which surrounds and reinforces the liner.
Li discloses a support prop comprising an elongate cylindrical body comprising a wall (fig. 1) to be used with a plunger wherein the wall includes an inner metallic liner which faces the bore and an outer shell which is made from a composite material and which surrounds and reinforces the liner (para n0007).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nissen and utilize a composite shell with a metallic liner as taught in Li, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a lightweight prop with increased radial strength as taught by Li (para n0014-n0015).
With regard to claim 2, Nissen, as modified, further discloses the composite material comprises a reinforced plastics material (Li, para n0026, “carbon fiber”), however fails to explicitly state the liner is made from aluminum or an aluminum alloy. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the metal be any desired material, to include aluminum and aluminum alloys, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
With regard to claim 3, Nissen further discloses the first end is sealed by a force transferring component (24; fig. 1) and wherein the prop includes a one-way filler valve (54) which is fixed to the body close to the first end and which is operable to allow a fluid under pressure to be introduced into the bore (fig. 1; para 0014).
With regard to claim 4, Nissen further discloses a pressure relief valve (62) which is configured to allow fluid under pressure in excess of a predetermined threshold pressure value to flow from an interior of the bore between the leading end of the plunger and the first end of the cylindrical body (fig. 1; para 0005).
With regard to claim 5, Nissen further discloses the pressure relief valve is mounted to the piston so that said fluid under pressure flows into an interior of the plunger (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 6, Nissen, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above, however fails to explicitly state the plunger is made from aluminum. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plunger be any desired material, to include aluminum, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
10/14/2026