DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, hence claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. In claim 1, the omitted element is: a tubular/elongate plunger. Claim 1 is directed to a prop and as described in the specification and figure 1, the prop 10 comprises the cylindrical body 12 and the elongate plunger to provide a complete and functionally working prop.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Insofar as understood, claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGrath et al (US 6,395,359).
As to claim 1, McGrath et al discloses a support prop, comprising: an elongate cylindrical body 10 with a first end which is sealed; an opposing second end which is open; a bore and a wall which bounds the bore; and wherein the wall includes an inner metallic liner 14 which faces the bore and an outer shell 12 which is made from a composite material and which surrounds and reinforces the liner.
As to claim 2, McGrath et al discloses wherein the liner 14 is made from aluminium (see col. 2, lines 50-52) or an aluminium alloy, and the composite material comprises a reinforced plastics material (see col.2 lines 37-38, i.e. polymer coating).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Insofar as understood, claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGrath et al (US 6,395,359) in view of Roach et al (US 2014/0072374).
As to claim 3, McGrath et al discloses all that is claimed except for wherein the first end is sealed by a force transferring component and wherein the prop includes a one-way filler valve which is fixed to the body close to the first end and which is operable to allow a fluid under pressure to be introduced into the bore. Roach discloses a first end sealed by a force transmitting component 22 and a one-way filler valve 60. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a force transferring component and a one-way filler valve as disclosed by Roach et al, since doing so provides the expected benefit of supporting and actuating a prop.
As to claim 4, McGrath discloses all that is claimed except the tubular plunger which extends through the open second end into the bore, the plunger including a leading end with a piston and a seal, on the piston which is configured to engage in a sealing and sliding manner with an inner surface of the liner, the prop including a pressure relief valve which is configured to allow fluid under pressure in excess of a predetermined threshold pressure value to flow from an interior of the bore between the leading end of the plunger and the first end of the cylindrical body. Roach discloses the tubular plunger 38 which extends through the open second end into the bore, the plunger including a leading end with a piston 42 and a seal 40, on the piston which is configured to engage in a sealing and sliding manner with an inner surface of the liner, the prop including a pressure relief valve 50 which is configured to allow fluid under pressure in excess of a predetermined threshold pressure value to flow from an interior of the bore between the leading end of the plunger and the first end of the cylindrical body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tubular plunger which extends through the open second end into the bore, the plunger including a leading end with a piston and a seal, on the piston which is configured to engage in a sealing and sliding manner with an inner surface of the liner, the prop including a pressure relief valve which is configured to allow fluid under pressure in excess of a predetermined threshold pressure value to flow from an interior of the bore between the leading end of the plunger and the first end of the cylindrical body as disclosed by Roach et al, since doing so provides the expected benefit of actuating a prop.
As to claim 5, Roach et al further discloses wherein the pressure relief valve 50 is mounted to the piston so that said fluid under pressure flows into an interior of the plunger (see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide pressure relief valve as disclosed by Roach et al, since doing so provides the expected benefit of allowing fluid at a pressure in excess of a predetermined level to flow into an interior of the plunger.
As to claim 6, McGrath et al discloses a support prop, comprising: a cylindrical aluminium liner 14 which is externally reinforced with a shell made from a composite material 12. McGrath et al does not discloses the plunger with a seal which engages with an inner surface of the liner; a filler valve through which a volume inside the liner, adjacent the seal, in use, is pressurized with a fluid; and a pressure relief valve which in use allows fluid under pressure to escape from the volume as the plunger is forced into the liner. Roach et al discloses the plunger 38 with a seal 40 which engages with an inner surface of the liner; a filler valve 60 through which a volume inside the liner, adjacent the seal, in use, is pressurized with a fluid; and a pressure relief valve 50 which in use allows fluid under pressure to escape from the volume as the plunger is forced into the liner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tubular plunger which extends through the open second end into the bore, the plunger including a leading end with a piston and a seal, on the piston which is configured to engage in a sealing and sliding manner with an inner surface of the liner, the prop including a pressure relief valve which is configured to allow fluid under pressure in excess of a predetermined threshold pressure value to flow from an interior of the bore between the leading end of the plunger and the first end of the cylindrical body as disclosed by Roach et al, since doing so provides the expected benefit of actuating a prop.
Conclusion
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678