DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 16, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takechi et al. (US 5,237,275 A).
Takechi et al. teaches a magnetic field correction device comprising:
With regard to claim 1, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device (FIG. 7) comprising: a frame assembly (FIG. 7, magnet housing 1); a magnet assembly (FIG. 7, magnet housing 1 including solenoid coil (not shown)) supported by the frame assembly (FIG. 7, magnet housing 1) and configured to generate a primary magnetic field; and shim magnets (FIG. 7, magnetic shim elements 5) configured to generate an ancillary magnetic field supplementing the primary magnetic field, wherein the shim magnets (FIG. 7, magnetic shim elements 5) are adjustably supported by the frame assembly (FIG. 7, magnet housing 1) such that the shim magnets (FIG. 7, magnetic shim elements 5) are repositionable in relation (relative axial positions of the two bars) thereto in order to increase uniformity of the primary magnetic field (For more details, please read: Abstract; column 1, lines 5-55; column 3, lines 39-59; column 4, lines 24-31; column 4, lines 37-40; column 6, lines 53-64; and claims 1-5).
With regard to claim 2, the magnet assembly (FIG. 7, magnet housing 1 including solenoid coil (not shown)) includes a plurality of magnetic blocks (FIG. 7, facets of magnet housing 1), and the shim magnets (FIG. 7, magnetic shim elements 5) are positioned between the plurality of magnetic blocks (FIG. 7, facets of magnet housing 1) (For more details, please read: Abstract; column 1, lines 5-55; column 3, lines 39-59; column 4, lines 24-31; column 4, lines 37-40; column 6, lines 53-64; and claims 1-5).
With regard to claim 3, the shim magnets (FIG. 7, magnetic shim elements 5) are rotatably adjustable (axial positioning means) (Column 4, lines 24-31) (For more details, please read: Abstract; column 1, lines 5-55; column 3, lines 39-59; column 4, lines 37-40; column 6, lines 53-64; and claims 1-5).
With regard to claim 5, actuators (axial positioning means) (Column 4, lines 24-31) connected to the shim magnets (FIG. 7, magnetic shim elements 5) to facilitate repositioning thereof (For more details, please read: Abstract; column 1, lines 5-55; column 3, lines 39-59; column 4, lines 37-40; column 6, lines 53-64; and claims 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takechi et al.
Takechi et al. teaches all that is claimed as discussed in the rejections of claims 1-3 and 5 above including the shim magnets (FIG. 7, magnetic shim elements 5) attached to the frame assembly (FIG. 7, magnet housing 1) such that rotation of the shim magnets (FIG. 7, magnetic shim elements 5) causes axial displacement thereof, but it does not specifically teach the following feature:
The shim magnets threadably engage the frame assembly.
With regard to claim 4, it is well-known to one having ordinary skill in the art that using thread as an attachment type (such as a threaded insert or fastener) provides superior holding power, infinite reusability without material damage, and excellent load distribution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic field correction device of Takechi et al. to threadably engage the shim magnets to the frame assembly since such an arrangement is beneficial to assemble and disassemble parts repeatedly without weakening the connection, and to spread the clamping force of a bolt over a much larger surface area, preventing material cracking, thread stripping, or pull-out.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regard to claim 6, the prior art does not teach, suggest or render obvious the claimed magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device in combination as claimed including:
An inner shield supported by the outer frame and the inner frame, wherein the inner shield collects and distributes magnetic flux from the magnet assembly about the scanning area to thereby reduce magnetic flux leakage; and
An outer shield extending about the outer frame, wherein the outer shield further reduces magnetic flux leakage and inhibits external electromagnetic interference with the MRI device.
With regard to claim 11, the prior art does not teach, suggest or render obvious the claimed magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) device in combination as claimed including:
The inner frame includes: an upper tray; and a lower tray spaced from the upper tray along a longitudinal axis of the MRI device; an upper magnet assembly positioned within the upper tray; a lower magnet assembly positioned within the lower tray, wherein the upper magnet assembly and the lower magnet assembly collectively generate a primary magnetic field;
An inner shield supported by the outer frame and the inner frame, wherein the inner shield collects and distributes magnetic flux from the upper magnet assembly and the lower magnet assembly about the scanning area to thereby reduce magnetic flux leakage and contain the primary magnetic field withing a generally closed magnetic circuit in order to reduce a 5 Gauss line of the MRI device;
An outer shield extending about the outer frame, wherein the outer shield further reduces magnetic flux leakage and inhibits external electromagnetic interference with the MRI device; and
The shim magnets include: upper shim magnets positioned between magnetic blocks of the upper magnet assembly; and lower shim magnets positioned between magnetic blocks of the lower magnet assembly.
With regard to claims 7-10 and 12-20, these claims are allowed at least by virtue of their dependencies directly or indirectly from the base claims, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants’ attention is invited to the followings whose inventions disclose similar devices.
Tsuda et al. (US 7,034,537 B2) teaches a MRI apparatus correcting vibratory static magnetic field fluctuations, by utilizing the static magnetic fluctuation itself.
Morich et al. (WO 2006/097864 A1) teaches a minimum energy shim coils for magnetic resonance.
CONTACT INFORMATION
HOAI-AN D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/HOAI-AN D. NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858