CTNF 18/886,127 CTNF 88779 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Action is responsive to the Application filed on 9/16/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 9-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemay et al. (US 20240094866 A1, hereinafter Lemay – IDS 3/18/26 page 1 Cite No. 2) in view of Wan et al. (US 20230114043 A1, hereinafter Wan) . As to independent claim 1 , Lemay teaches a machine-implemented method, comprising: capturing, using one or more sensors of an eXtended Reality (XR) system, tracking data of a first hand and a second hand of a user (As shown in Fig. 1A(A), The user 7002 has a first hand (e.g., left hand 7020) and a second hand (e.g., right hand 7022). “The computer system detects (8002) a wrist (e.g., a user's wrist 7028 in FIG. 7A) at a location (e.g., a physical location in the real world) that corresponds to a respective position within a view of a three-dimensional environment (e.g., a virtual environment, a simulated reality environment, an augmented reality environment, a mixed reality environment,” paragraph 0212); while continuing to capture the tracking data, performing first operations comprising: generating, using the tracking data, an interactive XR user interface including an interactive virtual object associated with a location on the first hand (“a plurality of representations corresponding to different applications (e.g., application icons 7030 corresponding to different applications in menu 7026 in FIG. 7A) in a first region within the view of the three-dimensional environment provided via the display generation component.” Paragraph 0212); rendering the interactive virtual object using a first set of attributes (icons 7030 rendered on left hand 7020); displaying the interactive virtual object as a component of the interactive XR user interface (“icons 7030 corresponding to different applications in menu 7026” paragraph 0212). Lemay does not appear to expressly teach rendering the interactive virtual object using a first set of attributes; detecting, using the tracking data, a hover event of the user holding a digit of the second hand in proximity to the location on the first hand without touching the location; and in response to detecting the hover event, performing second operations comprising: rendering of the interactive virtual object using a second set of attributes; and re-displaying the interactive virtual object as a component of the interactive XR user interface. Wan teaches rendering the interactive virtual object using a first set of attributes (“FIG. 7Q also illustrates user interface element 7080 displayed over the view of environment 7104. User interface element 7080 is displayed as a three-dimensional object with the appearance of being made of a simulated material (e.g., a pane or platter of the simulated material, such as a transparent or semi-transparent material), with a thickness that is visible along the top and left edges of user interface element 7080 from the viewpoint of the user in FIG. 7Q.” paragraph 0232); detecting, using the tracking data, a hover event of the user holding a digit of the second hand in proximity to the location on the user interface element without touching the location (“In FIG. 7U, in response to user 7002 directing attention to region 7080- b and performing an input gesture, thus interacting with region 7080- b ,” paragraph 0245, “In some embodiments in which the input gesture is an air gesture (e.g., in the absence of physical contact with an input device that provides the computer system with information about which user interface element is the target of the user input, such as contact with a user interface element displayed on a touchscreen, or contact with a mouse or trackpad to move a cursor to the user interface element), the gesture takes into account the user’s attention (e.g., gaze) to determine the target of the user input (e.g., for direct inputs, as described below). Thus, in implementations involving air gestures, the input gesture is, for example, detected attention (e.g., gaze) toward the user interface element in combination (e.g., concurrent) with movement of a user’s finger(s)” paragraph 0096,” a tap input (e.g., directed to a user interface element) performed as an air gesture includes movement of a user’s finger(s) toward the user interface element, movement of the user’s hand toward the user interface element optionally with the user’s finger(s) extended toward the user interface element,” paragraph 0101. Examiner notes that using other predefined gesture, i.e. hovering user’s fingers is a design choice); and in response to detecting the hover event, performing second operations comprising: rendering of the interactive virtual object using a second set of attributes (“the visual appearance of region 7080- b is changed from its appearance in FIG. 7T (e.g., is further changed from its appearance in FIG. 7Q), as shown in environment 7104 and indicated in top view 7082. For example, a size of the lifted region 7080- b is decreased, the opacity of the lifted region 7080- b is (e.g., further) decreased, and lifted region 7080- b is darkened (e.g., decreased in brightness, optionally to a brightness that is less than the default brightness as shown in FIG. 7Q).” paragraph 0245); and re-displaying the interactive virtual object as a component of the interactive XR user interface (Fig. 7U-7V display user interface including icons 7080). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise rendering the interactive virtual object using a first set of attributes; detecting, using the tracking data, a hover event of the user holding a digit of the second hand in proximity to the location on the first hand without touching the location; and in response to detecting the hover event, performing second operations comprising: rendering of the interactive virtual object using a second set of attributes; and re-displaying the interactive virtual object as a component of the interactive XR user interface. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow a user manipulate virtual objects sufficiently, save time and energy of battery-operated devices (Wan [0004]). As to dependent claim 9 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 1, Lemay further teaches wherein the interactive virtual object comprises one or more icons (icons 7030), and wherein the method further comprises: rendering and displaying the one or more icons oriented to be visible to the user independently of a position of the first hand (As shown in Fig. 7A, the icons 7030 are oriented to be visible to the user independently of a position of the hand 7020). As to dependent claim 10 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 1, Lemay further teaches wherein the XR system is a head-wearable apparatus (“display generation component 7100 of computer system 101 corresponds to user 7002’s field of view when wearing a head-mounted display” paragraph 0132). Claims 11 and 19-20 are substantially the same as claims 1 and 9-10 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-5 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemay et al. in view of Wan et al., Li et al. (US 20250390206 A1, hereinafter Li) and NPL by Brown, Megan, Glassmorphism – IDS 3/18/2026 page 2 Cite No. 4) . As to dependent claim 2 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 1, Lemay does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent spheroid. Li teaches wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent spheroid (“the control interface is displayed in a form of a sphere or a spheroid, and the plurality of objects are displayed on a surface of the sphere or the spheroid.” Paragraph 0014, 0139-0140). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent spheroid. One would have been motivated to help reduce difficulty in a process of selecting an object by the user (Li [0015]). Brown teaches rendering object as a translucent (“Characteristics of Glassmorphism: Two main characteristics create glassmorphism's translucency: opacity and background blur. To achieve a glassmorphic effect, designers can vary the opacity and background blur of components to affect how much background information is visible and distinguishable. Designers can also opt to use strokes and gradients for more depth and contrast if the glassmorphic elements will be placed on both complex and simple backgrounds.” Page 4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise rendering object as a translucent. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help maintain a 3D experience by providing texture to objects that might otherwise seem two-dimensional on a standard surface (Brown page 3). As to dependent claim 3 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 1, Lemay does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent spheroid. Li teaches wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent a spheroid (“the control interface is displayed in a form of a sphere or a spheroid, and the plurality of objects are displayed on a surface of the sphere or the spheroid.” Paragraph 0014, 0139-0140). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent spheroid. One would have been motivated to help reduce difficulty in a process of selecting an object by the user (Li [0015]). Brown teaches wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent (“Characteristics of Glassmorphism: Two main characteristics create glassmorphism's translucency: opacity and background blur. To achieve a glassmorphic effect, designers can vary the opacity and background blur of components to affect how much background information is visible and distinguishable. Designers can also opt to use strokes and gradients for more depth and contrast if the glassmorphic elements will be placed on both complex and simple backgrounds.” Page 4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help maintain a 3D experience by providing texture to objects that might otherwise seem two-dimensional on a standard surface (Brown page 3). As to dependent claim 4 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 1, Lemay does not appear to expressly teach wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent spheroid encircled by a ring. Li teaches wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent spheroid encircled by a ring (“Optionally, icons of different objects in the control interface in the form of a sphere or spheroid may be different, that is, an icon corresponding to the selected object may be highlighted. For example, the icon corresponding to the selected object may be highlighted in a color, a size, a shape, a contrast, or another angle. It should be noted that the foregoing steps may be performed in the glasses 10, or may be performed in the target electronic device in a communication connection with the glasses 10.” Paragraph 0139-0140). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object in second set of attribtes. One would have been motivated to help reduce difficulty in a process of selecting an object by the user (Li [0015]). Brown teaches wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent encircled by a ring (“Characteristics of Glassmorphism: Two main characteristics create glassmorphism's translucency: opacity and background blur. To achieve a glassmorphic effect, designers can vary the opacity and background blur of components to affect how much background information is visible and distinguishable. Designers can also opt to use strokes and gradients for more depth and contrast if the glassmorphic elements will be placed on both complex and simple backgrounds.” Page 4, “Strokes and Gradients: In addition to opacity and background blur strokes (borders) and gradients can emphasize depth of glassmorphic elements” page 6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent encircled by a ring. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help maintain a 3D experience by providing texture to objects that might otherwise seem two-dimensional on a standard surface (Brown page 3). As to dependent claim 5 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 1, Lemay does not appear to expressly teach wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent spheroid encircled by a light emitting ring. Li teaches wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object in second set of attributes as an internally lighted translucent spheroid encircled by a light emitting ring ( “Optionally, icons of different objects in the control interface in the form of a sphere or spheroid may be different, that is, an icon corresponding to the selected object may be highlighted. For example, the icon corresponding to the selected object may be highlighted in a color, a size, a shape, a contrast, or another angle. It should be noted that the foregoing steps may be performed in the glasses 10, or may be performed in the target electronic device in a communication connection with the glasses 10.” Paragraph 0139-0140). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the first set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object. One would have been motivated to help reduce difficulty in a process of selecting an object by the user (Li [0015]). Brown teaches wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent spheroid encircled by a light emitting ring (“Characteristics of Glassmorphism: Two main characteristics create glassmorphism's translucency: opacity and background blur. To achieve a glassmorphic effect, designers can vary the opacity and background blur of components to affect how much background information is visible and distinguishable. Designers can also opt to use strokes and gradients for more depth and contrast if the glassmorphic elements will be placed on both complex and simple backgrounds.” Page 4-5, “Strokes and Gradients: In addition to opacity and background blur strokes (borders) and gradients can emphasize depth of glassmorphic elements” page 6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the second set of attributes comprise rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent spheroid encircled by a light emitting ring. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help maintain a 3D experience by providing texture to objects that might otherwise seem two-dimensional on a standard surface (Brown page 3). Claims 12-15 are substantially the same as claims 2-5 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemay et al. in view of Wan et al., and Ultraleap Team: UI components Ultraleap (NPL) – IDS 3/18/2026 cite No 2 on page 2 . As to dependent claim 6 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 1, Lemay further teaches the method further comprising: detecting, using the tracking data, a hand touch event of the user touching the first hand at the location on the first hand with the digit of the second hand (Fig. 7A user right hand 7022 touching left hand 7020). Lemay does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising: in response to detecting the hand touch event, performing third operations comprising: rendering of the interactive virtual object using a third set of attributes; re-displaying the interactive virtual object to the user; and determining a user interface interaction based on the hand touch event at the location. Ultraleap teaches detecting, using the tracking data, a hand touch event of the user touching the first hand at the location on the first hand with the digit of the second hand; and in response to detecting the hand touch event, performing third operations (“As the finger or hand makes contact, buttons should depress in response to the forward motion of the hand, much like a mechanical button would in the real world.” Page 1) comprising: rendering of the interactive virtual object using a third set of attributes; re-displaying the interactive virtual object to the user; and determining a user interface interaction based on the hand touch event at the location (“When fully depressed, buttons should clearly indicate an action has been triggered with another colour change and audio. A “click noise or similar works well” Page 2 line 1-2). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise in response to detecting the hand touch event, performing third operations comprising: rendering of the interactive virtual object using a third set of attributes; re-displaying the interactive virtual object to the user; and determining a user interface interaction based on the hand touch event at the location. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance experience. Claim 16 is substantially the same as claim 6 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale as above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lemay et al. in view of Wan et al., and Ultraleap Team, and Brown . As to dependent claim 7 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 6, Lemay does not appear to expressly teach wherein the third set of attributes include rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent spheroid having a dimpled upper surface and encircled by a ring. Brown teaches “Characteristics of Glassmorphism: Two main characteristics create glassmorphism's translucency: opacity and background blur. To achieve a glassmorphic effect, designers can vary the opacity and background blur of components to affect how much background information is visible and distinguishable. Designers can also opt to use strokes and gradients for more depth and contrast if the glassmorphic elements will be placed on both complex and simple backgrounds.” Page 4, “Strokes and Gradients: In addition to opacity and background blur strokes (borders) and gradients can emphasize depth of glassmorphic elements” page 6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the third set of attributes include rendering the interactive virtual object as a translucent spheroid having a dimpled upper surface and encircled by a ring. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help maintain a 3D experience by providing texture to objects that might otherwise seem two-dimensional on a standard surface (Brown page 3). As to dependent claim 8 , Lemay teaches the machine-implemented method of claim 6, Lemay does not appear to expressly teach wherein the third set of attributes include rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent spheroid having a dimpled upper surface and encircled by a light emitting ring. Brown teaches “Characteristics of Glassmorphism: Two main characteristics create glassmorphism's translucency: opacity and background blur. To achieve a glassmorphic effect, designers can vary the opacity and background blur of components to affect how much background information is visible and distinguishable. Designers can also opt to use strokes and gradients for more depth and contrast if the glassmorphic elements will be placed on both complex and simple backgrounds.” Page 4, “Strokes and Gradients: In addition to opacity and background blur strokes (borders) and gradients can emphasize depth of glassmorphic elements” page 6). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lemay to comprise wherein the third set of attributes include rendering the interactive virtual object as an internally lighted translucent spheroid having a dimpled upper surface and encircled by a light emitting ring. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help maintain a 3D experience by providing texture to objects that might otherwise seem two-dimensional on a standard surface (Brown page 3). Claims 17-18 are substantially the same as claims 7-8 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as above . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pastrana Vicente et al. US 20220121344 A1 teaches methods for interacting with virtual controls and/or an affordance for moving virtual objects in virtual environments . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAHELET SHIBEROU whose telephone number is (571)270-7493. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00 AM-5:00 PM Eastern Time. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kieu Vu can be reached at 571-272-4057. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 2 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 3 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 4 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 5 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 6 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 7 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 8 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 9 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 10 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 11 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 12 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 14 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 15 Art Unit: 2171 Application/Control Number: 18/886,127 Page 16 Art Unit: 2171