DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 May 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-28, 30-40 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0400071 by Ray et al.
As to claims 24, 38 and 39, Ray discloses a computer program product/method/system for aggregating security events, the computer program product comprising computer executable code embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium that, when executing on one or more computing devices of a threat management facility, perform the steps of:
receiving a stream of events from an operating system at a local security agent executing on an endpoint, each event in the stream of events including an event type (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; stream of changes/events including type of change);
detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events, the first event type including one or more of writing data to memory, reading data in memory, and allocating memory (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; filtering of event stream to isolate specific type of change (memory read/write));
generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type, the aggregate event including a first event of the aggregate event, a most recent event of the aggregate event, and one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type in the stream (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; events sharing a common type aggregated);
determining an end to the aggregate event at a predetermined time period from the most recent event of the aggregate event, wherein the predetermined time period is adjusted based on a processing utilization of the local security agent (Ray: Page 20, Sec 169-171 and Page 23, Sec 193; filtered event stream determines end of aggregation based on time or other factors, timing of transmission based on processing ability among other factors); and
transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource after the predetermined time period (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; aggregated events sent to threat management facility).
With respect to claim 39 only, Ray further discloses a plurality of local security agents executing on a plurality of endpoints, each of the plurality of local security agents configured by non-transitory computer executable code stored in a memory to perform the steps (Ray: Page 23, Sec 194: “while shown as a single transformer 1406, it will be understood that the platform 1400 may use any number of transformers, operating in sequence or in parallel, or some combination of these, suitable for timely processing events and maintaining the stream service 1404 in a state suitable for, e.g., real time threat detection, remediation, and/or other security-related functions”.
As to claim 25, Ray further discloses wherein the one or more summary fields includes one or more of a first target process identifier, a last target process identifier, a first address, a most recent address, a first size, a last size, a total size, a time of first occurrence, a time of most recent occurrence, an event type identifier, and a last update time (Ray: Fig 11).
As to claim 26, Ray further discloses wherein the security resource includes at least one of the local security agent on the endpoint and a threat management facility for an enterprise network associated with the endpoint (Ray: Fig 11; Pager 16, Sec 145; agents on endpoints and threat management facility)..
As to claim 27, Ray further discloses a method comprising:
receiving a stream of events at a local security agent executing on an endpoint, each event in the stream of events including an event type (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; stream of changes/events including type of change);
detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; filtering of event stream to isolate specific type of change (memory read/write));
generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; filtering of event stream to isolate specific type of change (memory read/write));
determining an end to the aggregate event at a predetermined time period from the most recent event of the aggregate event, wherein the predetermined time period is adjusted based on a processing utilization of the local security agent (Ray: Page 20, Sec 169-171 and Page 23, Sec 193; filtered event stream determines end of aggregation based on time or other factors, timing of transmission based on processing ability among other factors);
detecting malware on the endpoint based on the aggregate event (Ray: Fig 12: Page 20-21, Sec 177; malware detected based on stream data); and
remediating the malware on the endpoint (Ray: Fig 12: Page 20-21, Sec 177; remedial action taken based on detection of malware).
As to claim 28, Ray further discloses further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource when a predetermined time period has elapsed from a most recent event of the aggregate event (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; aggregated events sent to threat management facility).
As to claim 30, Ray further discloses further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; aggregated events sent to threat management facility).
As to claim 31, Ray further discloses further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource in response to detecting a second event of a second type in the stream of events (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171).
As to claim 32, Ray further discloses further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a local security agent on the endpoint for use in detecting the malware (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171).
As to claim 33, Ray further discloses wherein the aggregate event includes one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type in the stream (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171).
As to claim 34, Ray further discloses wherein the one or more summary fields includes one or more of a first target process identifier, a last target process identifier, a first address, a most recent address, a first size, a last size, a total size, a time of first occurrence, a time of most recent occurrence, an event type identifier, and a last update time (Ray: Page 2-3, Sec 19; address, identifier; Page 23, Sec 193; timestamps, file sizes).
As to claim 35, Ray further discloses wherein the first event type includes one or more of writing data to memory, reading data in memory, and allocating memory (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; filtering of event stream to isolate specific type of change (memory read/write)).
As to claim 36, Ray further discloses wherein the stream of events includes one or more security events received from one or more of an operating system, a security service native to an operating system, and a third-party security service (Ray: Page 6, Sec 64 and Page 9, Sec 81; monitoring OS calls for events).
As to claim 37, Ray further discloses further comprising performing an initial malware detection on the endpoint based on detecting the event of the first type in the stream of events (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171).
As to claim 40, Ray further discloses wherein each of the plurality of local security agents are further configured by computer executable code to perform the step of delivering the one of the aggregate events to the threat management facility when a predetermined time period has elapsed from a most recent event of the one of the aggregate events (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171; aggregated events sent to threat management facility).
As to claim 42, Ray further discloses further comprising code that performs the step of delivering the one of the aggregate events to the threat management facility in response to detecting a second event of a second type in the stream of events from one of the plurality of endpoints (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171).
As to claim 43, Ray further discloses wherein the one of the aggregate events includes one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type (Ray: Fig 12: Page 19, Sec 162 – Page 20, Sec 171).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0400071 by Ray et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0197879 by Jha et al.
As to claims 29 and 41, Ray discloses all recited elements of claims 27 and 39 from which claims 29 and 41 respectively depend.
Ray does not expressly disclose wherein the predetermined time period is one second or less.
Jha discloses wherein the predetermined time period is one second or less (Jha: Page 5, Sec 56; events collected in one second intervals).
Ray and Jha are analogous art because they are from the common area of event logging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to use the one second period of Jha in the system of Ray. The rationale would have been to group aggregated records (Jha: Page 5, Sec 56).
Double Patenting
Claims 24-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,731. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because thew claims of the instant application represent a slight broadening and rearrangement of the claims of the ‘731 Patent and on that basis, the claims of the ‘731 Patent anticipate the claims of the instant application.
As to claim 24, the ‘731 Patent discloses a computer program product for aggregating security events, the computer program product comprising computer executable code embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium that, when executing on one or more computing devices, performs the steps of (Claim 1: A computer program product for aggregating security events, the computer program product comprising computer executable code embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium that, when executing on one or more computing devices of a threat management facility, perform the steps of):
receiving a stream of events from an operating system at a local security agent executing on an endpoint, each event in the stream of events including an event type (Claim 1: receiving a stream of events from an operating system at a local security agent executing on an endpoint, each event in the stream of events including an event type);
detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events, the first event type including one or more of writing data to memory, reading data in memory, and allocating memory (Claim 1: detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events, the first event type including one or more of writing data to memory, reading data in memory, and allocating memory);
generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type, the aggregate event including a first event of the aggregate event, a most recent event of the aggregate event, and one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type in the stream (Claim 1: generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type, the aggregate event including a first event of the aggregate event, a most recent event of the aggregate event, and one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type in the stream);
determining an end to the aggregate event at a predetermined time period from the most recent event of the aggregate event (Claim 1: determining an end to the aggregate event by detecting an earlier of a predetermined time period from the most recent event and an occurrence of a second event of a second event type in the stream of events), wherein the predetermined time period is adjusted based on a processing utilization of the local security agent (Claim 3: The computer program product of claim 1, further comprising code that performs the step of adjusting the predetermined time period based on a processing utilization of the local security agent); and
transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource after the predetermined time period (Claim 1: and transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource.).
As to claim 25, the ‘731 Patent discloses the computer program product of claim 24, wherein the one or more summary fields includes one or more of a first target process identifier, a last target process identifier, a first address, a most recent address, a first size, a last size, a total size, a time of first occurrence, a time of most recent occurrence, an event type identifier, and a last update time (Claim 2: The computer program product of claim 1, wherein the one or more summary fields includes one or more of a first target process identifier, a last target process identifier, a first address, a most recent address, a first size, a last size, a total size, a time of first occurrence, a time of most recent occurrence, an event type identifier, and a last update time).
As to claim 26, the ‘731 Patent discloses the computer program product of claim 24, wherein the security resource includes at least one of the local security agent on the endpoint (Claim 16: a plurality of local security agents executing on a plurality of endpoints) and a threat management facility for an enterprise network associated with the endpoint (Claim 16: and a threat management facility configured to receive one of the aggregate events from one of the plurality of local security agents).
As to claim 27, the ‘731 Patent discloses a method comprising (Clam 4: A method comprising):
receiving a stream of events at a local security agent executing on an endpoint, each event in the stream of events including an event type (Claim 4: receiving a stream of events at a local security agent executing on an endpoint, each event in the stream of events including an event type);
detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events (Claim 4: detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events);
generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type (Claim 4: generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type);
determining an end to the aggregate event after a predetermined time period from a most recent event of the aggregate event (Claim 4: determining an end to the aggregate event by detecting an earlier of a predetermined time period from a most recent event of the aggregate event and an occurrence of a second event of a second event type in the stream of events), wherein the predetermined time period is adjusted based on a processing utilization of the local security agent (Claim 3: The computer program product of claim 1, further comprising code that performs the step of adjusting the predetermined time period based on a processing utilization of the local security agent);
detecting malware on the endpoint based on the aggregate event (Claim 4: detecting malware on the endpoint based on the aggregate event); and
remediating the malware on the endpoint (Claim 4: and remediating the malware on the endpoint).
As to claim 28, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource when the predetermined time period has elapsed from the most recent event of the aggregate event (Claim 5: The method of claim 4, further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource when the predetermined time period has elapsed from the most recent event of the aggregate event.).
As to claim 29, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 28, wherein the predetermined time period is one second or less (Claim 6: The method of claim 5, wherein the predetermined time period is one second or less.).
As to claim 30, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource (Claim 8: The method of claim 4, further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource in response to detecting the second event of the second type in the stream of events).
As to claim 31, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource in response to detecting a second event of a second type in the stream of events (Claim 8: The method of claim 4, further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource in response to detecting the second event of the second type in the stream of events).
As to claim 32, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a local security agent on the endpoint for use in detecting the malware (Claim 9: The method of claim 4 further comprising transmitting the aggregate event to a local security agent on the endpoint for use in detecting the malware).
As to claim 33, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the aggregate event includes one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type in the stream (Claim 10: The method of claim 4, wherein the aggregate event includes one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type in the stream”).
As to claim 34, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the one or more summary fields includes one or more of a first target process identifier, a last target process identifier, a first address, a most recent address, a first size, a last size, a total size, a time of first occurrence, a time of most recent occurrence, an event type identifier, and a last update time (Claim 11: The method of claim 10, wherein the one or more summary fields includes one or more of a first target process identifier, a last target process identifier, a first address, a most recent address, a first size, a last size, a total size, a time of first occurrence, a time of most recent occurrence, an event type identifier, and a last update time.).
As to claim 35, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the first event type includes one or more of writing data to memory, reading data in memory, and allocating memory (Clam 12: The method of claim 4, wherein the first event type includes one or more of writing data to memory, reading data in memory, and allocating memory).
As to claim 36, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the stream of events includes one or more security events received from one or more of an operating system, a security service native to an operating system, and a third-party security service (Claim 13: The method of claim 4, wherein the stream of events includes one or more security events received from one or more of an operating system, a security service native to an operating system, and a third-party security service).
As to claim 37, the ‘731 Patent discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising performing an initial malware detection on the endpoint based on detecting the event of the first event type in the stream of events (Claim 14: The method of claim 4, further comprising performing an initial malware detection on the endpoint based on detecting the event of the first type in the stream of events).
As to claim 38, the ‘731 Patent discloses a method comprising (Claim 15: A method comprising):
receiving a stream of events at a local security agent executing on an endpoint, each event in the stream of events including an event type (Claim 15: receiving a stream of events at a local security agent executing on an endpoint, each event in the stream of events including an event type);
detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events (Claim 15: detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events);
generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type (Claim 15: generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type);
determining an end to the aggregate event after a predetermined time period from a most recent event of the aggregate event (Claim 15: determining an end to the aggregate event by detecting an earlier of a predetermined time period from a most recent event of the aggregate event and an occurrence of a second event of a second event type in the stream of events), wherein the predetermined time period is adjusted based on a processing utilization of the local security agent (Claim 3: The computer program product of claim 1, further comprising code that performs the step of adjusting the predetermined time period based on a processing utilization of the local security agent); and
transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource (Claim 1: and transmitting the aggregate event to a security resource.).
As to claim 39, the ‘731 Patent discloses A system comprising (Claim 16: A system comprising):
a plurality of local security agents executing on a plurality of endpoints, each of the plurality of local security agents configured by non-transitory computer executable code stored in a memory to perform the steps of (Claim 16: a plurality of local security agents executing on a plurality of endpoints, each of the plurality of local security agents configured by non-transitory computer executable code stored in a memory to perform the steps of):
receiving a stream of events, each event in the stream of events including an event type (Claim 16: receiving a stream of events, each event in the stream of events including an event type),
detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events (Claim 16: detecting an event of a first event type in the stream of events),
generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type (Claim 16: generating an aggregate event for the first event type by continuously aggregating subsequent events of the first event type in the stream of events to the event of the first event type), and
determining an end to the aggregate event after a predetermined time period from a most recent event of the aggregate event (Claim 16: and determining an end to the aggregate event by detecting an earlier of a predetermined time period from a most recent event of the aggregate event and an occurrence of a second event of a second event type in the stream of events), wherein the predetermined time period is adjusted based on a processing utilization of a local security agent (Claim 3: The computer program product of claim 1, further comprising code that performs the step of adjusting the predetermined time period based on a processing utilization of the local security agent); and
a threat management facility configured to receive one of the aggregate events from one of the plurality of local security agents (Claim 16: and a threat management facility configured to receive one of the aggregate events from one of the plurality of local security agents).
As to claim 40, the ‘731 Patent discloses the system of claim 39, wherein each of the plurality of local security agents are further configured by computer executable code to perform the step of delivering the one of the aggregate events to the threat management facility when the predetermined time period has elapsed from the most recent event of the one of the aggregate events (Claim 17: The system of claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of local security agents are further configured by computer executable code to perform the step of delivering the one of the aggregate events to the threat management facility when the predetermined time period has elapsed from the most recent event of the one of the aggregate events).
As to claim 41, the ‘731 Patent discloses the system of claim 40, wherein the predetermined time period is one second or less (Claim 18: The system of claim 17, wherein the predetermined time period is one second or less).
As to claim 42, the ‘731 Patent discloses the system of claim 39, further comprising code that performs the step of delivering the one of the aggregate events to the threat management facility in response to detecting a second event of a second type in the stream of events from one of the plurality of endpoints (Claim 19: The system of claim 16, further comprising code that performs the step of delivering the one of the aggregate events to the threat management facility in response to detecting the second event of the second type in the stream of events from one of the plurality of endpoints).
As to claim 43, the ‘731 Patent discloses the system of claim 39, wherein the one of the aggregate events includes one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type (Claim 20: The system of claim 16, wherein the one of the aggregate events includes one or more summary fields characterizing occurrences of the first event type)
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0050222 by Iyer et al. discloses aggregation of events in a data stream
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0177446 by MacLean et al. discloses event aggregation
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0244733 by Wu et al. discloses intrusion detection using aggregated event data
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0013773 by Valgenti et al. discloses aggregated event streams
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0123864 by Tucker et al. discloses grouping event types
Conclusion
MICHAEL S. MCNALLY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2432
/Michael S McNally/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432