DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-7 were filed with the amendment dated 02/09/2026. Claim 1 was canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant cancelled rejected claim 1. New claims 2-7 were added. The claims are rejected as set forth below.
The rejection is made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase: “wherein the flow channel that interrupts the sealing surface at at least one circumferential position and extends in a radial direction” should be changed to: “wherein the flow channel that interrupts the sealing surface is at at least one circumferential position and extends in a radial direction.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 5,271,601 (“Bonzer”).
With regard to claim 2, Bonzer discloses a pressure reducer (“regulator valve” abstract; Figs 1-4) comprising: a housing (10) defining an upstream pressure chamber (11) and a downstream pressure chamber (12) (see Fig 1); and a valve (32/23) positioned in the housing (10, see Fig 1), wherein: in a closed state (state shown in Fig 1, see col. 5, lines 46-48) the valve separates the upstream pressure chamber (11) of the housing (10) from the downstream pressure chamber (12) of the housing; and in an open state, the valve connects the upstream pressure chamber (11) and the downstream pressure chamber (12) (see figs 3 and 4); wherein the valve includes: a valve body (23/54) including a sealing surface (top surface of 23/54; best shown in Fig 3); and a valve tappet (34) which cooperates with (“cooperates with” is met by contacting against in certain positions, see Figs 3 and 4) a sealing element (diaphragm 32); wherein in response to a first pressure drop (col. 5, lines 64-65), the sealing element (32) lies against the sealing surface (touches portion of 54) and partly opens a flow region via a flow channel (channels through apertures 52) (see col. 4, lines 25-32; and col. 5, lines 61-65: “FIG. 3 illustrates the valve in a partially open position with a portion of diaphragm 32 being rolled back against nose cone 34 and exposing portions of slots 25”).
With regard to claim 3, Bonzer discloses that in response to a second pressure drop (further pilot pressure decrease/drop) that is greater than the first pressure drop, the sealing element (32) is removed from the sealing surface (top surface of 54/23) and completely opens the flow region, including the flow channel (see fig 4; col. 6, lines 7-12: “In FIG. 4, the fully open position of the valve is illustrated with diaphragm 32 being draped over substantially the full frontal surface of movable nose cone 34. In this position the full areas of the slots 25 are exposed to enable full flow from the upstream inlet to the downstream outlet through the baffle 23”).
With regard to claim 4, Bonzer discloses that the sealing element (32) lies against the sealing surface (top surface of 54/23) and completely closes the flow region, including the flow channel (52) (position of Fig 1).
With regard to claim 5, Bonzer discloses a sensor (travel indicator 48) associated with the valve tappet (34) (48 connected to 34 via 44+36, see Fig 1) (col. 4, lines 8-13: “A travel indicator 48 is affixed to the top of indicator shaft 44 and provides a convenient mechanism for visually indicating the amount that the regulator valve is open to flow. The travel indicator may be a stem, as shown, or may include a backup indicator plate, if desired.”).
With regard to claim 6, Bonzer discloses that the first pressure drop (Fig 3; reduced pilot pressure) is associated with a leakage event (as so broadly recited, “associated with a leakage event” is met because pilot pressure is leaked through bleed line 92, thus an event removing fluid from the system, see Fig 1; see also col. 5, lines 61-65).
Claims 2, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. U.S. Pat. No. 2019/0101941 (“Hart”).
With regard to claim 2, Hart discloses a pressure reducer (regulator 10) comprising: a housing (15, para [0034]) defining an upstream pressure chamber (20) and a downstream pressure chamber (25; para [0034]); and a valve (45+200+100) positioned in the housing (15), wherein: in a closed state (Fig 1 state), the valve separates the upstream pressure chamber (20) of the housing (15) from the downstream pressure chamber (25) of the housing (15) (para [0035]: “Diaphragm 45 is positioned within body 15 and is movable between a closed position (FIGS. 1 and 3), in which diaphragm 45 engages first cage 100 to prevent the flow of fluid through first cage 100”); and in an open state (Fig 2 state; para [0035]), the valve connects the upstream pressure chamber (20) and the downstream pressure chamber (25, via flow through 210 and 220); wherein the valve includes: a valve body (100) including a sealing surface (interior surface of 100 at which exterior surface of 200 sits); and a valve tappet (55, para [0035]) which cooperates with a sealing element (45+200); wherein in response to a first pressure drop (when pressure drops in downstream chamber 25 relative to upstream chamber), the sealing element (45+200) lies against the sealing surface (interior surface of 100) and partly opens a flow region via a flow channel (220, see Fig 2 showing partly open; some 220 are blocked).
With regard to claim 5, Hart discloses a sensor (travel indicator 60) associated with the valve tappet (55; para [0035]: “Diaphragm 45 can also be operatively coupled to a stem 55, which is connected to a travel indicator 60 to provide a visual indication of the position of diaphragm 45”).
With regard to claim 7, Hart discloses that the flow channel (220) that interrupts the sealing surface is at least one circumferential position and extends in a radial direction (see Fig 1 and para [0037]: “cylindrical side wall 205 forming a hollow central bore 210 and a generally planar end wall 215 at one end of side wall 205. Openings 220 are formed generally radially through side wall 205 of second cage 200 to allow the flow of fluid through second cage 200”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. U.S. Pat. No. 2019/0101941 (“Hart”).
With regard to claim 6, Hart discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing explicitly that the first pressure drop is associated with a leakage event. Hart does disclose that the valve is a regulator, so would begin to open upon a reduced downstream pressure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the valve begin to open for any reason that the downstream pressure drops, including a leakage event, because the reasoning behind the downstream pressure drop does not appear to provide an unexpected results.
Alternatively, claim 6 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 5,271,601 (“Bonzer”).
With regard to claim 6, Bonzer discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing explicitly that the first pressure drop is associated with a leakage event. Bonzer does disclose that the valve begins to open upon a reduced pilot pressure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the valve of Bonzer begin to open for any reason that the pilot pressure drops, including a leakage event, because the reasoning behind the pressure drop does not appear to provide an unexpected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. No. 5,964,446 (“Walton”) discloses a valve element opening on a pressure drop.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753