Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the 09/16/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fei et al. (US 2022/0346014 A1).
Regarding claim 1, A communication method, comprising: monitoring, by a terminal device, a wake-up signal (WUS);
Fei [0082]; It should be noted that, in the following embodiments, receiving, detection, monitoring, and listening are not distinguished from each other, and may be replaced with each other. For example, receiving may be replaced with detection, monitoring, or listening. In a specific example, that the terminal device receives the WUS or the paging message may be replaced with that the terminal device detects the WUS or the paging message, or may be replaced with that the terminal device monitors the WUS or the paging message, or may be replaced with that the terminal device listens to the WUS or the paging message.
wherein the WUS is used to wake up the terminal device;
Fei [0085]; Correspondingly, the terminal device wakes up when receiving the WUS.
the WUS carries first information, and the first information is used for an operation performed by the terminal device after being woken up.
Fei, Fig. 5, Step S500 [0130]; S500: The network device sends configuration information to the terminal device, where the configuration information is used to configure a correspondence between a WUS and an RO.
Fei [0119] Optionally, in this embodiment of this application, after the terminal device receives the first WUS in S501, the method may further include the following steps.
[0086] In the other manner, different WUSs indicate whether to wake the terminal device up. For example, a first WUS may indicate to wake the terminal device up, and a second WUS may indicate not to wake the terminal device up. The network device may indicate, by sending the first WUS, to wake the terminal device up. Correspondingly, the terminal device wakes up when receiving the first WUS.
Fei, Fig. 5, Ref. S503 [0145] S503: The terminal device sends a random access preamble on the first RO. Correspondingly, the network device receives the random access preamble on the first RO.
Regarding claim 9, A terminal device, comprising: a processor (Fei, Fig. 8, Ref. 812) and a memory (Fei, Fig. 8, Memory), wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs, the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer programs stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform:
monitoring a wake-up signal (WUS);
Fei [0082]; It should be noted that, in the following embodiments, receiving, detection, monitoring, and listening are not distinguished from each other, and may be replaced with each other. For example, receiving may be replaced with detection, monitoring, or listening. In a specific example, that the terminal device receives the WUS or the paging message may be replaced with that the terminal device detects the WUS or the paging message, or may be replaced with that the terminal device monitors the WUS or the paging message, or may be replaced with that the terminal device listens to the WUS or the paging message.
wherein the WUS is used to wake up the terminal device;
Fei [0085]; Correspondingly, the terminal device wakes up when receiving the WUS.
the WUS carries first information, and the first information is used for an operation performed by the terminal device after being woken up.
Fei, Fig. 5, Step S500 [0130]; S500: The network device sends configuration information to the terminal device, where the configuration information is used to configure a correspondence between a WUS and an RO.
Fei [0119] Optionally, in this embodiment of this application, after the terminal device receives the first WUS in S501, the method may further include the following steps.
[0086] In the other manner, different WUSs indicate whether to wake the terminal device up. For example, a first WUS may indicate to wake the terminal device up, and a second WUS may indicate not to wake the terminal device up. The network device may indicate, by sending the first WUS, to wake the terminal device up. Correspondingly, the terminal device wakes up when receiving the first WUS.
Fei, Fig. 5, Ref. S503 [0145] S503: The terminal device sends a random access preamble on the first RO. Correspondingly, the network device receives the random access preamble on the first RO.
Regarding claim 16, A network device, comprising: a processor (Fei, Fig. 7, Ref. 701) and a memory (Fei, Fig. 7, Ref. 702), wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs, the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer programs stored in the memory to cause the network device to perform: transmitting a wake-up signal (WUS);
Fei, Fig. 5, Step S501 [0107]; S501: The network device sends a first WUS. Correspondingly, the terminal device receives the first WUS.
wherein the WUS is used to wake up a terminal device;
Fei [0085]; Correspondingly, the terminal device wakes up when receiving the WUS.
the WUS carries first information, and the first information is used for an operation performed by the terminal device after being woken up.
Fei, Fig. 5, Step S500 [0130]; S500: The network device sends configuration information to the terminal device, where the configuration information is used to configure a correspondence between a WUS and an RO.
Fei [0119] Optionally, in this embodiment of this application, after the terminal device receives the first WUS in S501, the method may further include the following steps.
[0086] In the other manner, different WUSs indicate whether to wake the terminal device up. For example, a first WUS may indicate to wake the terminal device up, and a second WUS may indicate not to wake the terminal device up. The network device may indicate, by sending the first WUS, to wake the terminal device up. Correspondingly, the terminal device wakes up when receiving the first WUS.
Fei, Fig. 5, Ref. S503 [0145] S503: The terminal device sends a random access preamble on the first RO. Correspondingly, the network device receives the random access preamble on the first RO.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fei in view of Shrestha et al. (US 2020/0229095 A1)(“Shrestha”).
Regarding claim 2, The method according to claim 1, wherein the WUS is used to wake up the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier;
Fei [0122]; Alternatively, the network device may use different WUSs to indicate whether the terminal device is to monitor the paging DCI on the PO. For example, the network device may use a WUS 1 to indicate the terminal device to monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and use a WUS 2 to indicate the terminal device not to monitor the paging DCI on the PO. After the terminal device receives the first WUS, if the first WUS is the WUS 1, the terminal device may monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and receive the paging message based on scheduling of the paging DCI. If the terminal device finds that a paging list included in the paging message includes an identifier of the terminal device, the terminal device determines that the terminal device is paged, and initiates the random access procedure, that is, performs processes in the following S502 and S503.
wherein the first information comprises one or more information of:
information for performing random access, wherein the information for performing the random access is configuration information of a first physical random access channel (PRACH) resource;
Fei [0141] Optionally, the configuration information in S500 is used to configure the correspondence between a WUS and an RO (Random Access Channel Occasion). In addition, the configuration information in S500 may further be used to configure the WUS and/or the RO. Alternatively, the network device may additionally send configuration information of the WUS to configure the WUS, and/or additionally send configuration information of the RO to configure the RO. This is not limited. Alternatively, the WUS and/or the RO are/is predefined.
Fei [0143] The configuration information of the RO may be used to configure at least one of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a random access preamble set corresponding to the RO. For example, in a specific implementation, the network device may configure a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration index.
Fei [0144] Optionally, the network device may additionally indicate one or more of a quantity of ROs that are frequency division multiplexed in frequency domain, a frequency domain position of the 1.sup.st RO in frequency domain, an available random access preamble set, or the like.
Fei [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH).
information for performing initial access, wherein the information for performing the initial access is configuration information of a target initial bandwidth part (BWP);
and information for performing time-frequency synchronization, wherein the information for performing the time-frequency synchronization is configuration information of a synchronization signal.
Fei does not teach wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Fei does not teach wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Shrestha teaches wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Shrestha [0111] For example, a WUS may be configured to indicate a UE-specific ID (e.g., IMSI or S-TMSI of UE 101). As such, RAN node 111 may determine a number of UEs 101 (e.g., a group of UEs 101) for monitoring one or more POs and transmit one or more WUSs that includes a UE-specific ID for each UE 101.
In view of Shrestha, Fei is modified such that the WUS further comprises a user equipment (UE)
identifier.
Fei and Shrestha are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, the configuration of WUS sent to the terminal.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fei in a manner described above to send the WUS to UE based on
the number of UEs listening to the WUS of the cell for the RAN to keep track of the mobile subscriber
identities (Shrestha [0022]).
Regarding claim 3, The method according to claim 2, wherein the configuration information of the first PRACH resource is used to configure the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier;
Fei [0141] Optionally, the configuration information in S500 is used to configure the correspondence between a WUS and an RO (Random Access Channel Occasion).
[0143] The configuration information of the RO may be used to configure at least one of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a random access preamble set corresponding to the RO.
Fei [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH).
Fei [0122]; After the terminal device receives the first WUS, if the first WUS is the WUS 1, the terminal device may monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and receive the paging message based on scheduling of the paging DCI. If the terminal device finds that a paging list included in the paging message includes an identifier of the terminal device, the terminal device determines that the terminal device is paged, and initiates the random access procedure, that is, performs processes in the following S502 and S503.
wherein the configuration information of the first PRACH resource comprises one or more of: time domain resource location information of a first PRACH;
frequency domain resource location information of the first PRACH; a period of the first PRACH; a slot of the first PRACH; a subcarrier spacing of the first PRACH;
a number of first PRACH occasions;
Fei [0134] Solution 1.2: The network device sends the configuration information to the terminal device, where the configuration information may be used to configure a WUS corresponding to each RO. The terminal device determines the correspondence between an RO and a WUS based on the configuration information.
Fei [0147]; Specifically, frequency division multiplexing is used between the RO 0 to the RO 3, frequency division multiplexing is used between the RO 4 to the RO 7, frequency division multiplexing is used between the RO 8 to the RO 11, and frequency division multiplexing is used between the RO 12 to the RO 15. In addition, time division multiplexing is used between “the RO 0 to the RO 3”, “the RO 4 to the RO 7”, “the RO 8 to the RO 11”, and “the RO 12 to the RO 15”. There may further be a correspondence between a WUS and an RO. Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First Prach), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7, the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9, the WUS 5 corresponds to the RO 10 and the RO 11, the WUS 6 corresponds to the RO 12 and the RO 13, and the WUS 7 corresponds to the RO 14 and the RO 15.
a mapping relationship between the first PRACH and a synchronization signal block (SSB); time domain resource location information of a first PRACH occasion; and frequency domain resource location information of the first PRACH occasion; a preamble index number.
Regarding claim 4, The method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the first PRACH resource based on the configuration information of the first PRACH resource;
Fei [0147]; There may further be a correspondence between a WUS and an RO. Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (first PRACH occasions), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7, the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9, the WUS 5 corresponds to the RO 10 and the RO 11, the WUS 6 corresponds to the RO 12 and the RO 13, and the WUS 7 corresponds to the RO 14 and the RO 15.
and performing, by the terminal device, the random access on the first PRACH resource.
Fei [0066] In a possible implementation, the network device may send the four SSBs, and the four SSBs have different beam directions. Because the terminal device is located in a beam direction corresponding to the SSB 1, energy for receiving the SSB 1 by the terminal device is probably higher than that of the other three SSBs. Therefore, the terminal device may select an RO corresponding to the SSB 1 to perform random access, that is, select the RO corresponding to the SSB 1 to send the random access preamble. It can be learned from the foregoing descriptions that ROs corresponding to the SSB 1 are the RO 2 and the RO 3, and the terminal device may randomly select an RO from the RO 2 and the RO 3, to send the random access preamble.
Regarding claim 5, The method according to claim 4, wherein the monitoring, by the terminal device, the WUS further comprises: monitoring, by the terminal device, the WUS in a case where the terminal device is in an idle state;
Fei [0082]; It should be noted that, in the following embodiments, receiving, detection, monitoring, and listening are not distinguished from each other, and may be replaced with each other. For example, receiving may be replaced with detection, monitoring, or listening. In a specific example, that the terminal device receives the WUS or the paging message may be replaced with that the terminal device detects the WUS or the paging message, or may be replaced with that the terminal device monitors the WUS or the paging message, or may be replaced with that the terminal device listens to the WUS or the paging message.
Fei [0062]; A network device sends a paging message to page a terminal device. The paged terminal device may be in idle mode, sleeping mode, inactive mode, or the like.
wherein before the monitoring, by the terminal device, the WUS, the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information of a second PRACH resource configured by a network device;
Fei [0134] Solution 1.2: The network device sends the configuration information to the terminal device, where the configuration information may be used to configure a WUS corresponding to each RO. The terminal device determines the correspondence between an RO and a WUS based on the configuration information.
Fei [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7 (Second PRACH), the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9.
wherein the configuration information of the second PRACH resource is different from the configuration information of the first PRACH resource;
Fei [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (first PRACH), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7, the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9.
wherein the configuration information of the second PRACH resource is used to determine the second PRACH resource for performing the random access;
Fei [0148] In a possible implementation, the network device may send the eight WUSs whose indexes are sequentially the WUS 0 to the WUS 7, and the eight WUSs have different beam directions. It can be learned from FIG. 6 that, because the terminal device is located in a beam direction of the WUS 3, received signal strength of the received WUS 3 is probably the highest. The terminal device may randomly select an RO from the RO 6 and the RO 7 that correspond to the WUS 3, to send the random access preamble.
and a time domain resource location of the second PRACH resource is different from a time domain resource location of the first PRACH resource.
Fei Fig. 6 [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7 (Second PRACH), the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9.
[0105]; Different RO groups may be time division multiplexed, that is, occupy a same frequency domain resource but different time domain resources.
Regarding claim 7, The method according to claim 2, wherein the configuration information of the synchronization signal comprises one or more of:
a transmitting period of the synchronization signal; time domain resource location information of the synchronization signal;
frequency domain resource location information of the synchronization signal;
Fei, Fig. 3 [0065]; For example, FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of sending a random access preamble. In the schematic diagram, a horizontal axis represents time, and a vertical axis represents frequency. In the schematic diagram, four SSBs which are respectively an SSB 0, an SSB 1, an SSB 2, and an SSB 3 are included. The four SSBs are time division multiplexed, that is, occupy a same frequency domain resource but different time-frequency resources.
an antenna port of the synchronization signal; and a transmitting beam of the synchronization signal; wherein the configuration information of the synchronization signal is used to configure the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier.
Regarding claim 8, The method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the synchronization signal based on the configuration information of the synchronization signal, so as to perform the time-frequency synchronization based on the synchronization signal.
Fei [0064] In a possible implementation, the network device may send one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to the terminal device, where there is a correspondence between an SSB and an RO.
Fei [0066] In a possible implementation, the network device may send the four SSBs, and the four SSBs have different beam directions. Because the terminal device is located in a beam direction corresponding to the SSB 1, energy for receiving the SSB 1 by the terminal device is probably higher than that of the other three SSBs. Therefore, the terminal device may select an RO corresponding to the SSB 1 to perform random access, that is, select the RO corresponding to the SSB 1 to send the random access preamble. It can be learned from the foregoing descriptions that ROs corresponding to the SSB 1 are the RO 2 and the RO 3, and the terminal device may randomly select an RO from the RO 2 and the RO 3, to send the random access preamble.
Fei [0067] It is assumed that the network device respectively sends the SSB 0 to the SSB 3 by sequentially using a downlink beam 0 to a downlink beam 3. Specifically, the terminal device is located in a direction of the downlink beam 1 corresponding to the SSB 1. In a possible manner, the terminal device may adjust and/or optimize a reception beam, so that quality of receiving the SSB 1 by the terminal device is optimal. Then, the terminal device may use the adjusted and/or optimized reception beam as a transmission beam (to perform the time-frequency synchronization based on the synchronization signal) , and send the random access preamble by using the transmission beam. The network device may use, as a reception beam, the downlink beam 1 corresponding to the SSB 1, to receive the random access preamble. This improves quality of receiving the random access preamble.
Regarding claim 10, The terminal device according to claim 9, wherein the WUS is used to wake up the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier;
Fei [0122]; Alternatively, the network device may use different WUSs to indicate whether the terminal device is to monitor the paging DCI on the PO. For example, the network device may use a WUS 1 to indicate the terminal device to monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and use a WUS 2 to indicate the terminal device not to monitor the paging DCI on the PO. After the terminal device receives the first WUS, if the first WUS is the WUS 1, the terminal device may monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and receive the paging message based on scheduling of the paging DCI. If the terminal device finds that a paging list included in the paging message includes an identifier of the terminal device, the terminal device determines that the terminal device is paged, and initiates the random access procedure, that is, performs processes in the following S502 and S503.
wherein the first information comprises one or more information of:
information for performing random access, wherein the information for performing the random access is configuration information of a first physical random access channel (PRACH) resource;
Fei [0141] Optionally, the configuration information in S500 is used to configure the correspondence between a WUS and an RO (Random Access Channel Occasion). In addition, the configuration information in S500 may further be used to configure the WUS and/or the RO. Alternatively, the network device may additionally send configuration information of the WUS to configure the WUS, and/or additionally send configuration information of the RO to configure the RO. This is not limited. Alternatively, the WUS and/or the RO are/is predefined.
Fei [0143] The configuration information of the RO may be used to configure at least one of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a random access preamble set corresponding to the RO. For example, in a specific implementation, the network device may configure a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration index.
Fei [0144] Optionally, the network device may additionally indicate one or more of a quantity of ROs that are frequency division multiplexed in frequency domain, a frequency domain position of the 1.sup.st RO in frequency domain, an available random access preamble set, or the like.
Fei [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH).
information for performing initial access, wherein the information for performing the initial access is configuration information of a target initial bandwidth part (BWP);
and information for performing time-frequency synchronization, wherein the information for performing the time-frequency synchronization is configuration information of a synchronization signal.
Fei does not teach wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Fei does not teach wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Shrestha teaches wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Shrestha [0111] For example, a WUS may be configured to indicate a UE-specific ID (e.g., IMSI or S-TMSI of UE 101). As such, RAN node 111 may determine a number of UEs 101 (e.g., a group of UEs 101) for monitoring one or more POs and transmit one or more WUSs that includes a UE-specific ID for each UE 101.
In view of Shrestha, Fei is modified such that the WUS further comprises a user equipment (UE)
identifier.
Fei and Shrestha are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, the configuration of WUS sent to the terminal.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fei in a manner described above to send the WUS to UE based on
the number of UEs listening to the WUS of the cell for the RAN to keep track of the mobile subscriber
identities (Shrestha [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, The terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the first PRACH resource based on the configuration information of the first PRACH resource;
Fei [0147]; There may further be a correspondence between a WUS and an RO. Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (first PRACH occasions), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7, the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9, the WUS 5 corresponds to the RO 10 and the RO 11, the WUS 6 corresponds to the RO 12 and the RO 13, and the WUS 7 corresponds to the RO 14 and the RO 15.
and performing, by the terminal device, the random access on the first PRACH resource.
Fei [0066] In a possible implementation, the network device may send the four SSBs, and the four SSBs have different beam directions. Because the terminal device is located in a beam direction corresponding to the SSB 1, energy for receiving the SSB 1 by the terminal device is probably higher than that of the other three SSBs. Therefore, the terminal device may select an RO corresponding to the SSB 1 to perform random access, that is, select the RO corresponding to the SSB 1 to send the random access preamble. It can be learned from the foregoing descriptions that ROs corresponding to the SSB 1 are the RO 2 and the RO 3, and the terminal device may randomly select an RO from the RO 2 and the RO 3, to send the random access preamble.
Regarding claim 12, The terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the monitoring, by the terminal device, the WUS further comprises: monitoring, by the terminal device, the WUS in a case where the terminal device is in an idle state;
Fei [0082]; It should be noted that, in the following embodiments, receiving, detection, monitoring, and listening are not distinguished from each other, and may be replaced with each other. For example, receiving may be replaced with detection, monitoring, or listening. In a specific example, that the terminal device receives the WUS or the paging message may be replaced with that the terminal device detects the WUS or the paging message, or may be replaced with that the terminal device monitors the WUS or the paging message, or may be replaced with that the terminal device listens to the WUS or the paging message.
Fei [0062]; A network device sends a paging message to page a terminal device. The paged terminal device may be in idle mode, sleeping mode, inactive mode, or the like.
wherein before the monitoring, by the terminal device, the WUS, the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information of a second PRACH resource configured by a network device;
Fei [0134] Solution 1.2: The network device sends the configuration information to the terminal device, where the configuration information may be used to configure a WUS corresponding to each RO. The terminal device determines the correspondence between an RO and a WUS based on the configuration information.
Fei [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7 (Second PRACH), the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9.
wherein the configuration information of the second PRACH resource is different from the configuration information of the first PRACH resource;
Fei [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (first PRACH), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7, the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9.
wherein the configuration information of the second PRACH resource is used to determine the second PRACH resource for performing the random access;
Fei [0148] In a possible implementation, the network device may send the eight WUSs whose indexes are sequentially the WUS 0 to the WUS 7, and the eight WUSs have different beam directions. It can be learned from FIG. 6 that, because the terminal device is located in a beam direction of the WUS 3, received signal strength of the received WUS 3 is probably the highest. The terminal device may randomly select an RO from the RO 6 and the RO 7 that correspond to the WUS 3, to send the random access preamble.
and a time domain resource location of the second PRACH resource is different from a time domain resource location of the first PRACH resource.
Fei Fig. 6 [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7 (Second PRACH), the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9.
[0105]; Different RO groups may be time division multiplexed, that is, occupy a same frequency domain resource but different time domain resources.
Regarding claim 14, The terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the configuration information of the synchronization signal comprises one or more of:
a transmitting period of the synchronization signal; time domain resource location information of the synchronization signal;
frequency domain resource location information of the synchronization signal;
Fei, Fig. 3 [0065]; For example, FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of sending a random access preamble. In the schematic diagram, a horizontal axis represents time, and a vertical axis represents frequency. In the schematic diagram, four SSBs which are respectively an SSB 0, an SSB 1, an SSB 2, and an SSB 3 are included. The four SSBs are time division multiplexed, that is, occupy a same frequency domain resource but different time-frequency resources.
an antenna port of the synchronization signal; and a transmitting beam of the synchronization signal; wherein the configuration information of the synchronization signal is used to configure the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier.
Regarding claim 15, The terminal device according to claim 14, wherein the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the synchronization signal based on the configuration information of the synchronization signal, so as to perform the time-frequency synchronization based on the synchronization signal.
Fei [0064] In a possible implementation, the network device may send one or more synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to the terminal device, where there is a correspondence between an SSB and an RO.
Fei [0066] In a possible implementation, the network device may send the four SSBs, and the four SSBs have different beam directions. Because the terminal device is located in a beam direction corresponding to the SSB 1, energy for receiving the SSB 1 by the terminal device is probably higher than that of the other three SSBs. Therefore, the terminal device may select an RO corresponding to the SSB 1 to perform random access, that is, select the RO corresponding to the SSB 1 to send the random access preamble. It can be learned from the foregoing descriptions that ROs corresponding to the SSB 1 are the RO 2 and the RO 3, and the terminal device may randomly select an RO from the RO 2 and the RO 3, to send the random access preamble.
Fei [0067] It is assumed that the network device respectively sends the SSB 0 to the SSB 3 by sequentially using a downlink beam 0 to a downlink beam 3. Specifically, the terminal device is located in a direction of the downlink beam 1 corresponding to the SSB 1. In a possible manner, the terminal device may adjust and/or optimize a reception beam, so that quality of receiving the SSB 1 by the terminal device is optimal. Then, the terminal device may use the adjusted and/or optimized reception beam as a transmission beam (to perform the time-frequency synchronization based on the synchronization signal) , and send the random access preamble by using the transmission beam. The network device may use, as a reception beam, the downlink beam 1 corresponding to the SSB 1, to receive the random access preamble. This improves quality of receiving the random access preamble.
Regarding claim 17, The network device according to claim 16, wherein the WUS is used to wake up the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier;
Fei [0122]; Alternatively, the network device may use different WUSs to indicate whether the terminal device is to monitor the paging DCI on the PO. For example, the network device may use a WUS 1 to indicate the terminal device to monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and use a WUS 2 to indicate the terminal device not to monitor the paging DCI on the PO. After the terminal device receives the first WUS, if the first WUS is the WUS 1, the terminal device may monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and receive the paging message based on scheduling of the paging DCI. If the terminal device finds that a paging list included in the paging message includes an identifier of the terminal device, the terminal device determines that the terminal device is paged, and initiates the random access procedure, that is, performs processes in the following S502 and S503.
wherein the first information comprises one or more information of:
information for performing random access, wherein the information for performing the random access is configuration information of a first physical random access channel (PRACH) resource;
Fei [0141] Optionally, the configuration information in S500 is used to configure the correspondence between a WUS and an RO (Random Access Channel Occasion). In addition, the configuration information in S500 may further be used to configure the WUS and/or the RO. Alternatively, the network device may additionally send configuration information of the WUS to configure the WUS, and/or additionally send configuration information of the RO to configure the RO. This is not limited. Alternatively, the WUS and/or the RO are/is predefined.
Fei [0143] The configuration information of the RO may be used to configure at least one of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a random access preamble set corresponding to the RO. For example, in a specific implementation, the network device may configure a physical random access channel (PRACH) configuration index.
Fei [0144] Optionally, the network device may additionally indicate one or more of a quantity of ROs that are frequency division multiplexed in frequency domain, a frequency domain position of the 1.sup.st RO in frequency domain, an available random access preamble set, or the like.
Fei [0147]; Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH).
information for performing initial access, wherein the information for performing the initial access is configuration information of a target initial bandwidth part (BWP);
and information for performing time-frequency synchronization, wherein the information for performing the time-frequency synchronization is configuration information of a synchronization signal.
Fei does not teach wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Fei does not teach wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Shrestha teaches wherein the WUS further comprises: a user equipment (UE) identifier, wherein the UE identifier is a UE ID, a UE group ID, or a cell ID;
Shrestha [0111] For example, a WUS may be configured to indicate a UE-specific ID (e.g., IMSI or S-TMSI of UE 101). As such, RAN node 111 may determine a number of UEs 101 (e.g., a group of UEs 101) for monitoring one or more POs and transmit one or more WUSs that includes a UE-specific ID for each UE 101.
In view of Shrestha, Fei is modified such that the WUS further comprises a user equipment (UE)
identifier.
Fei and Shrestha are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, the configuration of WUS sent to the terminal.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fei in a manner described above to send the WUS to UE based on
the number of UEs listening to the WUS of the cell for the RAN to keep track of the mobile subscriber
identities (Shrestha [0022]).
Regarding claim 18, The network device according to claim 17, wherein the configuration information of the first PRACH resource is used to configure the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier;
Fei [0141] Optionally, the configuration information in S500 is used to configure the correspondence between a WUS and an RO (Random Access Channel Occasion). I
[0143] The configuration information of the RO may be used to configure at least one of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, or a random access preamble set corresponding to the RO.
Fei [0133]; The RO 0 corresponds to {WUS 0, WUS 1} (= configuration information of the first PRACH resource);
Fei [0122]; After the terminal device receives the first WUS, if the first WUS is the WUS 1, the terminal device may monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and receive the paging message based on scheduling of the paging DCI. If the terminal device finds that a paging list included in the paging message includes an identifier of the terminal device, the terminal device determines that the terminal device is paged, and initiates the random access procedure, that is, performs processes in the following S502 and S503.
wherein the configuration information of the first PRACH resource comprises one or more of: time domain resource location information of a first PRACH;
frequency domain resource location information of the first PRACH; a period of the first PRACH; a slot of the first PRACH; a subcarrier spacing of the first PRACH;
a number of first PRACH occasions;
Fei [0134] Solution 1.2: The network device sends the configuration information to the terminal device, where the configuration information may be used to configure a WUS corresponding to each RO. The terminal device determines the correspondence between an RO and a WUS based on the configuration information.
Fei [0147]; Specifically, frequency division multiplexing is used between the RO 0 to the RO 3, frequency division multiplexing is used between the RO 4 to the RO 7, frequency division multiplexing is used between the RO 8 to the RO 11, and frequency division multiplexing is used between the RO 12 to the RO 15. In addition, time division multiplexing is used between “the RO 0 to the RO 3”, “the RO 4 to the RO 7”, “the RO 8 to the RO 11”, and “the RO 12 to the RO 15”. There may further be a correspondence between a WUS and an RO. Specifically, the WUS 0 corresponds to the RO 0 and the RO 1, the WUS 1 corresponds to the RO 2 and the RO 3 (First PRACH), the WUS 2 corresponds to the RO 4 and the RO 5, the WUS 3 corresponds to the RO 6 and the RO 7, the WUS 4 corresponds to the RO 8 and the RO 9, the WUS 5 corresponds to the RO 10 and the RO 11, the WUS 6 corresponds to the RO 12 and the RO 13, and the WUS 7 corresponds to the RO 14 and the RO 15.
a mapping relationship between the first PRACH and a synchronization signal block (SSB); time domain resource location information of a first PRACH occasion; and frequency domain resource location information of the first PRACH occasion; a preamble index number.
Regarding claim 19, The network device according to claim 18, wherein the time domain resource location information of the first PRACH comprises one or more of:
a time domain location of a time domain resource of the first PRACH;
Fei, Fig. 6, [0105]; the RO 2 and the RO 3 belong to the second group; the RO 4 and the RO 5 belong to the third group; and the RO 6 and the RO 7 belong to the fourth group. Different RO groups may be time division multiplexed, that is, occupy a same frequency domain resource but different time domain resources.
Note: the time domain location of first PRACH (RO2 and RO3) is shown in Fig. 6.
and a duration of the time domain resource of the first PRACH; or the time domain resource location information of the first PRACH comprises one or more of: a first time domain offset, wherein the first time domain offset is used to represent an offset between a reception time of the WUS and a time domain location of a time domain resource of the first PRACH; and a duration of the time domain resource of the first PRACH;
wherein the time domain location of the time domain resource of the first PRACH comprises: a time domain starting location of the time domain resource of the first PRACH, and/or a time domain ending location of the time domain resource of the first PRACH.
Fei, Fig. 6, [0105]; the RO 2 and the RO 3 belong to the second group; the RO 4 and the RO 5 belong to the third group; and the RO 6 and the RO 7 belong to the fourth group. Different RO groups may be time division multiplexed, that is, occupy a same frequency domain resource but different time domain resources.
Note: the time domain location of first PRACH (RO2 and RO3) is shown in Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 20, The network device according to claim 18, wherein the frequency domain resource location information of the first PRACH comprises one or more of: a location of a first-type frequency point of a frequency domain resource of the first PRACH; and a size of the frequency domain resource of the first PRACH;
or the frequency domain resource location information of the first PRACH comprises one or more of: a first frequency domain offset, wherein the first frequency domain offset is used to represent an offset between a frequency domain location of the WUS and a first-type frequency point of a frequency domain resource of the first PRACH;
and a size of the frequency domain resource of the first PRACH;
Fei, Fig. 6; Fig.6 shows the size of frequency domain for RO 2 and RO3 (First Prach).
wherein the first-type frequency point of the frequency domain resource of the first PRACH comprises one or more of: a lowest frequency point of the frequency domain resource of the first PRACH;
Fei, Fig. 6; Fig. 6 RO 3 shows the lowest frequency domain of the first PRACH (RO2 and RO3).
a highest frequency point of the frequency domain resource of the first PRACH; and a central frequency point of the frequency domain resource of the first PRACH.
Claim 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fei in view of Shrestha in further view of Shi (US 2022/0182940 A1).
Regarding claim 6, The method according to claim 2, wherein the configuration information of the target initial BWP comprises:
wherein the configuration information is used to configure the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier.
Fei [0122]; After the terminal device receives the first WUS, if the first WUS is the WUS 1, the terminal device may monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and receive the paging message based on scheduling of the paging DCI. If the terminal device finds that a paging list included in the paging message includes an identifier of the terminal device, the terminal device determines that the terminal device is paged, and initiates the random access procedure, that is, performs processes in the following S502 and S503.
Fei does not teach an ID of the target initial BWP, the target initial BWP being one or more initial BWPs in a plurality of initial BWPs, the plurality of initial BWPs comprising one or more initial uplink BWPs and/or one or more initial downlink BWPs, and the target initial BWP being an uplink BWP and/or a downlink BWP;
Shi teaches an ID of the target initial BWP, the target initial BWP being one or more initial BWPs in a plurality of initial BWPs, the plurality of initial BWPs comprising one or more initial uplink BWPs and/or one or more initial downlink BWPs, and the target initial BWP being an uplink BWP and/or a downlink BWP;
Shi [0094] More specifically, the terminal device may determine to switch from the currently activated first DL BWP to the initial DL BWP or the default DL BWP according to the BWP configuration parameter and WUS configuration parameter of the foregoing step 31; based on the identification of the initial DL BWP or the default DL BWP and the WUS configuration parameter, the terminal device determines the initial DL BWP or the default DL BWP as the BWP not configured with WUS monitoring occasion;
In view of Shi, Fei is modified such that the WUS has ID of the target initial BWP.
Fei and Shi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, the configuration of WUS sent to the terminal.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fei in a manner described above to send the ID of initial bandwidth
in the WUS to the UE for the monitoring occasion of bandwidth part to control the DRX ON duration (Shi
[0003]).
Regarding claim 13, The terminal device according to claim 10, wherein the configuration information of the target initial BWP comprises:
wherein the configuration information is used to configure the terminal device that conforms to the UE identifier.
Fei [0122]; After the terminal device receives the first WUS, if the first WUS is the WUS 1, the terminal device may monitor the paging DCI on the PO, and receive the paging message based on scheduling of the paging DCI. If the terminal device finds that a paging list included in the paging message includes an identifier of the terminal device, the terminal device determines that the terminal device is paged, and initiates the random access procedure, that is, performs processes in the following S502 and S503.
Fei does not teach an ID of the target initial BWP, the target initial BWP being one or more initial BWPs in a plurality of initial BWPs, the plurality of initial BWPs comprising one or more initial uplink BWPs and/or one or more initial downlink BWPs, and the target initial BWP being an uplink BWP and/or a downlink BWP;
Shi teaches an ID of the target initial BWP, the target initial BWP being one or more initial BWPs in a plurality of initial BWPs, the plurality of initial BWPs comprising one or more initial uplink BWPs and/or one or more initial downlink BWPs, and the target initial BWP being an uplink BWP and/or a downlink BWP;
Shi [0094] More specifically, the terminal device may determine to switch from the currently activated first DL BWP to the initial DL BWP or the default DL BWP according to the BWP configuration parameter and WUS configuration parameter of the foregoing step 31; based on the identification of the initial DL BWP or the default DL BWP and the WUS configuration parameter, the terminal device determines the initial DL BWP or the default DL BWP as the BWP not configured with WUS monitoring occasion;
In view of Shi, Fei is modified such that the WUS has ID of the target initial BWP.
Fei and Shi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same
field of endeavor, the configuration of WUS sent to the terminal.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fei in a manner described above to send the ID of initial bandwidth
in the WUS to the UE for the monitoring occasion of bandwidth part to control the DRX ON duration (Shi
[0003]).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478