Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024, 5/12/2025 and 10/6/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150092753 A1 (hereinafter Gupta), in view of US 20220140971 A1 (hereinafter Hammerschmidt).
Regarding claim 7, Gupta teaches A communication apparatus, comprising (Gupta Fig. 5 AP 105-
o; [0060] Referring next to FIG. 5, a system 500 is illustrated with a signal flow diagram. The system 500 is configured for synchronizing APs within a network of APs in a location tracking system in accordance with various embodiments. FIG. 5 shows synchronization between two APs 105. In the system 500, two APs 105-n and 105-o are shown synchronizing. The APs 105-n and 105-o may be examples of the AP 105 of FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 3, and/or 4.):
at least one processor (Gupta [0049] Turning now to FIG. 3, which depicts a block diagram of a
system 300 configured for synchronizing APs within a network of APs in a location tracking system in accordance with various embodiments. The system 300 may include APs 105-c and 105-d through 105-h, which may be examples of the APs 105... The AP 105-c may include a processor.); and
one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming
instructions for execution by the at least one processor to (Gupta [0049] The AP 105-c may include a memory module 310.
[0050] The memory module 310 may include random access memory (RAM) and read-only memory (ROM). In some embodiments, the memory module 310 also stores computer-readable, computer executable software (SW) code 315 containing instructions configured to, when executed, cause the processor and scheduler module 320 to perform various functions described herein related to synchronizing APs within a network of APs in a location tracking system.):
process a narrowband signal to obtain time-frequency synchronization information of the narrowband signal (Gupta Fig. 5; Narrowband signal w/Control information from AP 105-n to AP 105-o;
[0061] In some cases, a first, or master AP 105-n is used to synchronize secondary APs, such as the second AP 105-o. A first communication 510 between the APs 105 may be a narrowband signal. The narrowband signal may include control information. The second AP 105-o may use this first communication 510 to estimate a frequency offset 520. Estimating the frequency offset 520 may include identifying a system frequency offset from the control information and/or correcting a frequency of an oscillator based at least partially on the identified system frequency offset. Further, the second AP 105-o may use the first communication 510 to estimate a time offset 530. Estimating the time offset 530 may include identifying a system time stamp from the control information, comparing the system time stamp to a local time stamp generated by a timer at AP 105-n, and/or computing a time offset based at least partially on comparing the system time stamp and the local time stamp.);
process a synchronization signal of an ultra-wideband (UWB) signal based on the time-frequency synchronization information of the narrowband signal to obtain time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal, wherein the UWB signal comprises the synchronization signal (Gupta Fig. 5; UWB signal from AP 105-n to AP 105-o; [0062] The system 500 may include a second communication 540 between the APs, which may be an UWB signal. In some cases, the second AP 105-o may adjust a frequency offset 550 based at least in part on the second communication 540. Further, in some embodiments, the second AP 105-o adjusts a time offset 560 based at least in part on the second communication 540. Adjusting a frequency offset 550 and/or adjusting a time offset 560 may include identifying a start time, determining a processing time associated with processing and receiving a signal, and/or determining a propagation time associated with a distance between at least the first and second APs 105-n, 105-o.
[0005] the AP transmits a narrowband signal, which may be referred to as a course frequency and timing acquisition signal, that a second AP utilizes to estimate a frequency offset and/or time offset. The AP may transmit a subsequent UWB signal, which may be referred to as a fine frequency and timing acquisition signal, and which may be used to accurately adjust the estimated frequency offset and/or time offset of the second AP. The second AP may thus incrementally synchronize its oscillator(s) and/or timer(s)--e.g., first roughly estimating the frequency and time using the coarse signal, then adjusting the accuracy of its oscillator(s) and timer(s) using the fine signal.).
Gupta does not explicitly teach wherein the UWB signal comprises a ranging signal; and receive the ranging signal based on the time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal.
Hammerschmidt in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the UWB signal comprises a ranging signal; and receive the ranging signal based on the time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal (Hammerschmidt [0061] Due to its large bandwidth (BW) of 500 MHz or more, one beneficial use case of UWB is that of “ranging.” In some embodiments, ranging may correspond to the precise measurement of the time-of-flight (TOF) of the radio waves between two UWB-equipped devices A and B and the estimation of the distance (e.g., the “range”) between these devices.
[0103] At block 1818, the first device may receive the second plurality of fragments from the second device (depicted in FIG. 17 as UWB-Rx B-to-A-1 . . . UWB-Rx B-to-A-N 1708a-n).
[0104] At block 1820, the first device may obtain aggregated UWB-Rx-Info from the second plurality of fragments. In some embodiments, this may include synchronization data and/or other data which may be used to determine a CIR (e.g., a CIR estimate). As described herein (e.g., with respect to FIG. 3), the CIR estimate may be associated with a LOS path between the first device and the second device. As described herein, the CIR may be used to determine a TOF interval, which in turn may enable ranging and/or positioning may be determined by the first device (e.g., relative to the second device).).
By modifying Gupta’s teachings of wherein the UWB signal comprises the synchronization signal
with Hammerschmidt’s teachings of wherein the UWB signal comprises a ranging signal; and receive the ranging signal based on the time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal,
the modification results in
wherein the UWB signal comprises the synchronization signal and a ranging signal; and receive the ranging signal based on the time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gupta with Hammerschmidt’s above teachings. The motivation is improving operating range and/or operating efficiency when performing wireless communication between devices (Hammerschmidt [0043]).
Claim 1 recites similar limitations of claim 7, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 5, Gupta teaches An ultra-wideband (UWB) signal synchronization method,
comprising (Gupta Fig. 5 AP 105-n; [0060] Referring next to FIG. 5, a system 500 is illustrated with a signal flow diagram. The system 500 is configured for synchronizing APs within a network of APs in a location tracking system in accordance with various embodiments. FIG. 5 shows synchronization between two APs 105. In the system 500, two APs 105-n and 105-o are shown synchronizing. The APs 105-n and 105-o may be examples of the AP 105 of FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 3, and/or 4.):
transmitting a narrowband signal, wherein the narrowband signal is used by a receive device to obtain time-frequency synchronization information of the narrowband signal (Gupta Fig. 5; Narrowband signal w/Control information from AP 105-n to AP 105-o; [0061] In some cases, a first, or master AP 105-n is used to synchronize secondary APs, such as the second AP 105-o. A first communication 510 between the APs 105 may be a narrowband signal. The narrowband signal may include control information. The second AP 105-o may use this first communication 510 to estimate a frequency offset 520. Estimating the frequency offset 520 may include identifying a system frequency offset from the control information and/or correcting a frequency of an oscillator based at least partially on the identified system frequency offset. Further, the second AP 105-o may use the first communication 510 to estimate a time offset 530. Estimating the time offset 530 may include identifying a system time stamp from the control information, comparing the system time stamp to a local time stamp generated by a timer at AP 105-n, and/or computing a time offset based at least partially on comparing the system time stamp and the local time stamp.); and
transmitting a UWB signal, wherein the UWB signal comprises a synchronization signal, and the synchronization signal and the time-frequency synchronization information of the narrowband signal are used by the receive device to obtain time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal (Gupta Fig. 5; UWB signal from AP 105-n to AP 105-o; [0062] The system 500 may include a second communication 540 between the APs, which may be an UWB signal. In some cases, the second AP 105-o may adjust a frequency offset 550 based at least in part on the second communication 540. Further, in some embodiments, the second AP 105-o adjusts a time offset 560 based at least in part on the second communication 540. Adjusting a frequency offset 550 and/or adjusting a time offset 560 may include identifying a start time, determining a processing time associated with processing and receiving a signal, and/or determining a propagation time associated with a distance between at least the first and second APs 105-n, 105-o.
[0005] the AP transmits a narrowband signal, which may be referred to as a course frequency and timing acquisition signal, that a second AP utilizes to estimate a frequency offset and/or time offset. The AP may transmit a subsequent UWB signal, which may be referred to as a fine frequency and timing acquisition signal, and which may be used to accurately adjust the estimated frequency offset and/or time offset of the second AP. The second AP may thus incrementally synchronize its oscillator(s) and/or timer(s)--e.g., first roughly estimating the frequency and time using the coarse signal, then adjusting the accuracy of its oscillator(s) and timer(s) using the fine signal.).
Gupta does not explicitly teach wherein the UWB signal comprises a ranging signal.
Hammerschmidt in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the UWB signal comprises a ranging signal (Hammerschmidt [0061] Due to its large bandwidth (BW) of 500 MHz or more, one beneficial use case of UWB is that of “ranging.” In some embodiments, ranging may correspond to the precise measurement of the time-of-flight (TOF) of the radio waves between two UWB-equipped devices A and B and the estimation of the distance (e.g., the “range”) between these devices.
[0103] At block 1818, the first device may receive the second plurality of fragments from the second device (depicted in FIG. 17 as UWB-Rx B-to-A-1 . . . UWB-Rx B-to-A-N 1708a-n).
[0104] At block 1820, the first device may obtain aggregated UWB-Rx-Info from the second plurality of fragments. In some embodiments, this may include synchronization data and/or other data which may be used to determine a CIR (e.g., a CIR estimate). As described herein (e.g., with respect to FIG. 3), the CIR estimate may be associated with a LOS path between the first device and the second device. As described herein, the CIR may be used to determine a TOF interval, which in turn may enable ranging and/or positioning may be determined by the first device (e.g., relative to the second device).).
By modifying Gupta’s teachings of wherein the UWB signal comprises a synchronization signal
with Hammerschmidt’s teachings of wherein the UWB signal comprises a ranging signal,
the modification results in wherein the UWB signal comprises a synchronization signal and a ranging signal.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gupta with Hammerschmidt’s above teachings. The motivation is improving operating range and/or operating efficiency when performing wireless communication between devices (Hammerschmidt [0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Gupta in view of Hammerschmidt teaches The method according to claim 1.
Gupta teaches wherein the processing a synchronization signal of a UWB signal based on the time-frequency synchronization information of the narrowband signal to obtain time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal comprises (See Gupta Fig. 5, [0062] and [0005] cited above in rejection of claim 7.):
Gupta teaches receiving the synchronization signal of the UWB signal based on the time-frequency synchronization information of the narrowband signal, wherein there is a set time interval between the narrowband signal and the synchronization signal of the UWB signal in time domain (Gupta [0064] At block 605, an AP 105, that has an oscillator and at least one timer, may receive a narrowband signal comprising control information including a start time. At block 610, an AP 105 may estimate a frequency offset and a time offset based at least in part on the control information. At block 615, an AP 105 may receive an ultra-wideband signal after the start time.); and
detecting the synchronization signal of the UWB signal to obtain the time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal (Gupta [0064] At block 620, an AP 105 may adjust the estimated frequency offset and the estimated time offset based at least in part on the received ultra-wideband signal.
[0062] The system 500 may include a second communication 540 between the APs, which may be an UWB signal. In some cases, the second AP 105-o may adjust a frequency offset 550 based at least in part on the second communication 540. Further, in some embodiments, the second AP 105-o adjusts a time offset 560 based at least in part on the second communication 540.).
Claim 8 recites similar limitations of claim 2, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 3, Gupta in view of Hammerschmidt teaches The method according to claim 2.
Gupta teaches wherein the detecting the synchronization signal of the UWB signal to obtain the
time-frequency synchronization information of the UWB signal comprises (Gupta [0062], [0064] cited above in rejection of claim 2.):
detecting the synchronization signal of the UWB signal (Gupta [0062] The system 500 may include a second communication 540 between the APs, which may be an UWB signal. In some cases, the second AP 105-o may adjust a frequency offset 550 based at least in part on the second communication 540. Further, in some embodiments, the second AP 105-o adjusts a time offset 560 based at least in part on the second communication 540.);
determining a main propagation path of the synchronization signal between a transmit device and a receive device to obtain time domain synchronization information of the UWB signal (Gupta [0062] Adjusting a frequency offset 550 and/or adjusting a time offset 560 may include identifying a start time, determining a processing time associated with processing and receiving a signal, and/or determining a propagation time associated with a distance between at least the first and second APs 105-n, 105-o. In some cases, adjusting a frequency offset 550 and/or adjusting a time offset 560 further includes determining a sample time based at least partially on a timer, estimating a time of arrival (TOA) of a direct path of a signal, determining a fine time offset based at least partially on the start time, the processing time, the propagation time, the sample time, and the TOA, and/or shifting at least one timer and/or oscillator based upon the fine time offset.); and
performing frequency offset estimation based on the main propagation path to obtain frequency domain synchronization information of the UWB signal (Gupta [0062] Adjusting a frequency offset 550 and/or adjusting a time offset 560 may include identifying a start time, determining a processing time associated with processing and receiving a signal, and/or determining a propagation time associated with a distance between at least the first and second APs 105-n, 105-o. In some cases, adjusting a frequency offset 550 and/or adjusting a time offset 560 further includes determining a sample time based at least partially on a timer, estimating a time of arrival (TOA) of a direct path of a signal, determining a fine time offset based at least partially on the start time, the processing time, the propagation time, the sample time, and the TOA, and/or shifting at least one timer and/or oscillator based upon the fine time offset.).
Claim 9 recites similar limitations of claim 3, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 4, Gupta in view of Hammerschmidt teaches The method according to claim 3.
Gupta does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: performing channel
impulse response (CIR) estimation based on the ranging signal to obtain an estimation result; determining a first propagation path of the UWB signal between the transmit device and the receive device based on the estimation result; and performing ranging calculation based on the first propagation path.
Hammerschmidt teaches wherein the method further comprises:
performing channel impulse response (CIR) estimation based on the ranging signal to obtain an estimation result (Hammerschmidt [0104] At block 1820, the first device may obtain aggregated UWB-Rx-Info from the second plurality of fragments. In some embodiments, this may include synchronization data and/or other data which may be used to determine a CIR (e.g., a CIR estimate).);
determining a first propagation path of the UWB signal between the transmit device and the receive device based on the estimation result (Hammerschmidt [0064] FIG. 3 is another simplified block diagram 300 illustrating at least some example techniques for computing a Channel Impulse Response (CIR), according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, to enable a determination of a mutual range or position of devices, a technique used by wireless systems such as UWB is to compute a Channel Impulse Response (CIR) 306. A CIR 306 may represent a profile of direct and indirect (reflected) wireless propagation paths between two devices such as station A 302 and station B 304, each path being characterized by its propagation delay, magnitude, and radio frequency (RF) phase. Due to the large BW of UWB, CIRs can be computed with a high level of resolution in UWB, which in turn enables a more precise extraction of the Line-of-Sight (LOS) path and hence TOF/range that corresponds to the first path in the CIR.); and
performing ranging calculation based on the first propagation path (Hammerschmidt [0104] As described herein (e.g., with respect to FIG. 3), the CIR estimate may be associated with a LOS path between the first device and the second device. As described herein, the CIR may be used to determine a TOF interval, which in turn may enable ranging and/or positioning may be determined by the first device (e.g., relative to the second device).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gupta as modified by Hammerschmidt with Hammerschmidt’s above teachings. The motivation is improving operating range and/or operating efficiency when performing wireless communication between devices (Hammerschmidt [0043]).
Claim 10 recites similar limitations of claim 4, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 6, Gupta in view of Hammerschmidt teaches The method according to claim 5.
Gupta teaches wherein there is a set time interval between the narrowband signal and the
synchronization signal of the UWB signal in time domain (Gupta [0064] At block 605, an AP 105, that has an oscillator and at least one timer, may receive a narrowband signal comprising control information including a start time. At block 610, an AP 105 may estimate a frequency offset and a time offset based at least in part on the control information. At block 615, an AP 105 may receive an ultra-wideband signal after the start time. At block 620, an AP 105 may adjust the estimated frequency offset and the estimated time offset based at least in part on the received ultra-wideband signal.).
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418