DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant amended the claims to require the connecting portion to not be in direct contact with the first circuit board. The examiner asserts that Lee teaches the connecting portion (element 11) is not in direct contact (11 is in contact with 40 via grounding pad 41) with the first circuit board (element 40). Therefore, the rejection over the prior art is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1: Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 104284061 B Lee (for examination purposes the examiner has relied upon the provided English translation).
2: As for Claim 1, Lee depicts in Figures 1, 4 and 5B and teaches on Page 5, Lines 9-11 and Page 6, Lines 6-9 A camera module comprising: a housing (element 30 depicted in Figure 1) that accommodates a lens barrel (element 20 depicted in Figure 1); and a cover (element 10 depicted in Figure 1) that covers the housing (30), wherein the cover (10) comprises a connection portion (11) connected to a first circuit board (40) by a first solder (conductive adhesive 43) to provide a ground to the first circuit board (40) (Page 5, Lines 9-11), wherein the connecting portion (element 11) is not in direct contact (11 is in contact with 40 via grounding pad 41) with the first circuit board (element 40), and wherein the connection portion (11) comprises a first concave portion having a concave shape in a first direction (see depiction in Figure 5A) from the first circuit board (40) toward the housing (30).
3: As for Claim 2, Lee depicts in Figures 4 and 5B and teaches on Page 5, Lines 9-11 and Page 6, Lines 6-9 wherein the connection portion (11) is connected to a ground pad (41) of the first circuit board (40) by the first solder (43) to provide the ground to the first circuit board (40).
4: As for Claim 3, Lee depicts in Figure 5B and teaches on Page 6, Lines 12-22) wherein the first concave portion (multiple concave portions are depicted as the connection portion 11) of the connection portion (11) is entirely covered by the first solder (conductive adhesive 43).
5: As for Claim 4, Lee depicts in Figure 5B and teaches on Page 2, Lines 25-29 wherein: the connection portion (11) further comprises a first convex portion and a second convex portion each having a convex shape in a direction from the housing (30) toward the first circuit board (40), and the first concave portion is disposed between the first convex portion and the second convex portion. Lee depicts in Figures 5B and 6 multiple alternation convex and concave elements forming the connection portion 11.
6: As for Claim 5, Lee depicts in Figure 5B and teaches on Page 2, Lines 25-29 wherein: the connection portion (11) further comprises a second concave portion and a third concave portion each having a concave shape in the first direction, the first convex portion is disposed between the first concave portion and the second concave portion, and the second convex portion is disposed between the first concave portion and the third concave portion. Lee depicts in Figures 5B and 6 multiple alternation convex and concave elements forming the connection portion 11.
7: As for Claim 6, Lee depicts in Figure 1 and teaches on Page 4, Lines 11-13 wherein an image sensor (50) is mounted on the first circuit board (40).
8: As for Claim 10, Lee depicts in Figures 1, 4 and 5B and teaches on Page 5, Lines 9-11 and Page 6, Lines 6-9 A camera module comprising: a lens barrel (element 20 depicted in Figure 1) that accommodates a lens; a housing (element 30 depicted in Figure 1) that accommodates the lens barrel (20); a first circuit board (element 40) on which the housing (30) is seated; and a cover (element 10) that covers the housing (30), wherein the cover (10) comprises a connection portion (element 11) connected to a ground pad (41) of the first circuit board (40) by first solder (conductive adhesive 43), wherein the connecting portion (element 11) is not in direct contact (11 is in contact with 40 via grounding pad 41) with the first circuit board (element 40), and wherein the connection portion (11) comprises a first concave portion having a concave shape in a first direction from the first circuit board toward the housing (30), and a convex portion having a convex shape in a direction from the housing (30) toward the first circuit board (40) (depicted in Figure 5B and discussed on Page 2, Lines 25-29).
9: As for Claim 11, Lee depicts in Figure 5B and teaches on Page 6, Lines 12-22) wherein the first concave portion (multiple concave portions are depicted as the connection portion 11) of the connection portion (11) is entirely covered by the first solder (conductive adhesive 43).
10: As for Claim 12, Lee depicts in Figure 5B and teaches on Page 2, Lines 25-29 wherein: the connection portion (element 11) further comprises a second concave portion (multiple concave portions are depicted in Figure 5B) having a concave shape in the first direction, and the convex portion is disposed between the first concave portion and the second concave portion. Lee depicts in Figures 5B and 6 multiple alternation convex and concave elements forming the connection portion 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES M HANNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639
JMH
June 1, 2026