Claim Objections
2. Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In limitation 1 of claim 1, the words ‘control to transmit control information via the first resource’ need to be changed into the words ‘control to transmit control information via a first resource’ and in limitation 2 of claim 1, the words ‘control to transmit control information via the second resource’ need to be changed into the words ‘control to transmit control information via a second resource’ as the words ‘first resource & second resource’ are not recited before in the claim.
For claim 10, the words in limitation 1 of claim 10, i.e. ‘a transmitter configured to information …’ need to be changed into the words ‘a transmitter configured to transmit information …’ as the word ‘transmit’ is missing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAIWAI et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0070264 A1) in view of KWAK et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0261383 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SAIWAI et al. teach a wireless communication system (see Abstract and Fig.1) comprising: a terminal (see Figure 1, UE and also see Fig.5) configured to: control to transmit control information via (see para [0175] wherein the radio terminal comprises a controller configured to transmit control information through the direct communication by using a control resource of a control resource pool that is arranged at an interval in a time direction, is mentioned and also first data having priority that is transmitted by using a data resource notified/assigned through the control information is generated, is mentioned), and transmit the control information via the first resource or a second resource (see para [0175] wherein the radio terminal comprises a controller configured to transmit control information through the direct communication by using a control resource of a control resource pool that is arranged at an interval in a time direction, is mentioned); and a base station configured to receive the control information (see para [0175] wherein the radio terminal comprises a controller configured to transmit control information through the direct communication by using a control resource of a control resource pool that is arranged at an interval in a time direction, is mentioned and also see para [0176] wherein the controller transmits, to the base station, control information indicating the generation of the second data, is mentioned and also see para [0177]).
SAIWAI et al. is silent in teaching the above wireless communication system comprising the terminal configured to control to transmit the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority.
However, KWAK et al. teach a wireless communication system (see Abstract and Fig.15) comprising the terminal (see Fig.15, UE) configured to control to transmit the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority (see para [0021] wherein the processor of UE configured to control to identify a resource region allocated to a first uplink control channel for transmitting first uplink control information and a resource region allocated to a second uplink control channel for transmitting second uplink control information, is mentioned and also wherein the specific modulation symbol/data corresponding to the second uplink control information, is mentioned and also see para [0022] wherein the first uplink control channel having a higher priority than the second uplink control channel, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to having “the terminal configured to control to transmit the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above wireless communication system of SAIWAI et al. to have the terminal being configured to control to transmit the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority, disclosed by KWAK et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of UE for efficiently transmitting an uplink control information by applying a bundling scheme to information to be transmitted through overlapping uplink channels in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 2, SAIWAI et al. teach a terminal (see Abstract and Fig.1/Fig.5 for UE/terminal) comprising: a transmitter (see Fig.5, transmitter 120 inside UE) configured to transmit control information via a first resource or a second resource, the first resource being assigned to transmission of data (see para [0175] wherein the radio terminal comprises a controller configured to transmit control information through the direct communication by using a control resource of a control resource pool that is arranged at an interval in a time direction, is mentioned and also first data having priority that is transmitted by using a data resource notified/assigned through the control information is generated, is mentioned); and processor circuitry configured to: control the transmitter to transmit the control information via the first resource when the data have a first priority (see para [0175] wherein the radio terminal comprises a controller configured to transmit control information through the direct communication by using a control resource of a control resource pool that is arranged at an interval in a time direction, is mentioned and also first data having priority that is transmitted by using a data resource notified/assigned through the control information is generated, is mentioned and also see para [0178]).
SAIWAI et al. is silent in teaching the above terminal comprising controlling the transmitter to transmit the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority.
However, KWAK et al. teach a terminal (see Abstract and Fig.15/UE) comprising controlling the transmitter to transmit the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority (see para [0021] wherein the processor of UE configured to control to identify a resource region allocated to a first uplink control channel for transmitting first uplink control information and a resource region allocated to a second uplink control channel for transmitting second uplink control information, is mentioned and also wherein the specific modulation symbol/data corresponding to the second uplink control information, is mentioned and also see para [0022] wherein the first uplink control channel having a higher priority than the second uplink control channel, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to having “the terminal configured to control the transmitter to transmit the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above terminal of SAIWAI et al. to have the processor circuitry being configured to control the transmitter to transmit the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority, disclosed by KWAK et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of UE for efficiently transmitting an uplink control information by applying a bundling scheme to information to be transmitted through overlapping uplink channels in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 10, SAIWAI et al. teach a base station (see Abstract and Fig.1/Fig.6 for eNB/base station) comprising: a transmitter (see Fig.6, transmitter 210 inside eNB) configured to transmit information assigning a first resource to transmission of data (see para [0175] wherein first data having priority that is transmitted by BS using a data resource notified/assigned through the control information is generated, is mentioned); and a receiver (see Fig.6, receiver 220 inside eNB) configured to receive control information via the first resource or a second resource (); wherein the receiver is further configured to: receive the control information via the first resource when the data have a first priority (see para [0175] wherein the radio terminal comprises a controller configured to transmit control information through the direct communication by using a control resource of a control resource pool that is arranged at an interval in a time direction, is mentioned and also first data having priority that is transmitted by using a data resource notified/assigned through the control information is generated, is mentioned and also see para [0178]).
SAIWAI et al. is silent in teaching the above base station comprising the receiver configured to receive the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority.
However, KWAK et al. teach a base station (see Abstract and Fig.15/eNB) comprising the receiver configured to receive the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority (see para [0021] wherein the processor of UE configured to control to identify a resource region allocated to a first uplink control channel for transmitting first uplink control information to BS and a resource region allocated to a second uplink control channel for transmitting second uplink control information to BS, is mentioned and also wherein the specific modulation symbol/data corresponding to the second uplink control information being transmitted to be received by base station, is mentioned and also see para [0022] wherein the first uplink control channel having a higher priority than the second uplink control channel, is mentioned and also see para [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above base station of SAIWAI et al. to have the receiver being configured to receive the control information via the second resource when the data have a second priority that is different from the first priority, disclosed by KWAK et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of UE for efficiently transmitting an uplink control information by applying a bundling scheme to information to be transmitted through overlapping uplink channels in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 3, SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together teach the terminal according to claim 2.
SAIWAI et al. further teach the terminal according to claim 2, further comprising: a receiver (see Fig.5, receiver 110 inside UE) configured to receive information assigning the first resource (see para [0175] wherein the first data that is transmitted by using a data resource notified/received by the terminal/UE through the control information, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, , SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, respectively.
KWAK et al. further teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, wherein the second resource is a resource of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), which is configured by a radio resource control (RRC) signal (see para [0004] wherein transmitting an uplink channel (e.g., PUCCH, PUSCH) by a UE, is mentioned, also see para [0225] wherein configuring the plurality of reserved resource regions for the UE through higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling), is mentioned and also see para [0013] wherein the second uplink control channel being a long PUCCH, is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 2/10).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, , SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, respectively.
SAIWAI et al. further teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, wherein the first resource is resource of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) which is assigned to transmission of the data (see para [0175] wherein first data having priority that is transmitted by using a data resource notified/assigned through the control information is generated, is mentioned and also see para [0209] wherein a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) being mentioned for sending uplink data, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, respectively.
SAIWAI et al. further teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10,
wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to control the transmitter to transmit the control information via the first resource when the data have a first priority and the timing of transmitting the data and the timing of transmitting the control information overlap with each other/wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the control information via the first resource when the data have a first priority and the timing of transmitting the data and the timing of transmitting the control information overlap with each other (see para [0175] wherein the radio terminal comprises a controller configured to transmit control information to base station through the direct communication by using a control resource of a control resource pool that is arranged at an interval in a time direction, is mentioned and also first data having priority that is transmitted by using a data resource notified/assigned through the control information is generated, is mentioned and also see para [0245] wherein a radio resource pool used in direct communication being configured by a control region in which control information for the sidelink is arranged, and a data region in which data is arranged, is mentioned and also the data region may overlap the control region in the time direction, is mentioned).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, respectively.
KWAK et al. further teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, wherein the control information includes at least one of ACK/NACK information, scheduling request, and channel state information (see para [0144] wherein the UE selecting one PUCCH resource among a plurality of PUCCH resources to transmit the ACK/NACK, is mentioned and also see para [0148]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 2/10).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, respectively.
KWAK et al. further teach the terminal/base station according to claims 2/10, wherein the control information is HARQ-ACK information (see para [0153] wherein the UE transmitting information (for example, HARQ ACK/NACK bits, etc.) through a channel (for example, a long PUCCH, a short PUCCH, etc.), is mentioned and also see para [0158]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claims 2/10).
6. Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAIWAI et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0070264 A1) in view of KWAK et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0261383 A1) and further in view of LEE et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0223201 A1).
Regarding claim 4, SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together teach the terminal according to claim 2.
SAIWAI et al. further teach the terminal according to claim 2, further comprising: a receiver (see Fig.5, receiver 110 inside UE and see para [0230]).
SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together yet are silent in teaching the terminal according to claim 2, further comprising: the receiver configured to receive information indicating whether or not the control information is able to be transmitted using the first resource and the information indicates, when the data have the first priority, that the control information is not able to be transmitted via the first resource and the information indicates, when the data have the second priority, that the control information is able to be transmitted via the second resource.
However, LEE et al. teach a terminal (see Abstract and Fig.38/UE 200) further comprising: a receiver configured to receive information indicating whether or not the control information is able to be transmitted using the first resource (see para [0257] wherein in the operation of piggybacking UCI onto the PUSCH, the scheme applied to the corresponding UCI mapping being differently configured according to the UCI type (/priority), is mentioned) and the information indicates, when the data have the first priority, that the control information is not able to be transmitted via the first resource and the information indicates, when the data have the second priority, that the control information is able to be transmitted via the second resource (see para [0257] wherein in the operation of piggybacking UCI onto the PUSCH, the scheme applied to the corresponding UCI mapping may be differently configured according to the UCI type (/priority), for example, the UCI type (for example, ACK/NACK) of a relatively high priority (/importance) as pre-configured (/signaled) is subjected to the puncturing (which includes the information indicates, when the data have the first priority, that the control information is not able to be transmitted using the first resource) and the UCI type (for example, PMI/CQI (/RI)) of a relatively low priority (/importance) as pre-configured (/signaled) is subjected to the rate-matching and then is mapped onto the PUSCH (which includes the information indicates, when the data have the second priority, that the control information is able to be transmitted using the second resource), is mentioned and also see para [0270]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above terminal of SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. to have the receiver being configured to receive information indicating whether or not the control information is able to be transmitted using the first resource and the information indicates, when the data have the first priority, that the control information is not able to be transmitted via the first resource and the information indicates, when the data have the second priority, that the control information is able to be transmitted via the second resource, disclosed by LEE et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a user equipment to reduce inter-cell interference & interference with other user equipments when piggybacking and transmitting the uplink control information on the PUSCH region and also to improve the decoding performance of the uplink control information in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 11, SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together teach the base station according to claim 10.
SAIWAI et al. and KWAK et al. together yet are silent in teaching the base station according to claim 10, further comprising: the transmitter configured to transmit information indicating whether or not the control information is able to be transmitted using the first resource and the information indicates, when the data have the first priority, that the control information is not able to be transmitted via the first resource, and the information indicates, when the data have the second priority, that the control information is able to be transmitted via the second resource.
However, LEE et al. teach a base station (see Abstract and Fig.38, BS 100) comprising: the transmitter configured to transmit information indicating whether or not the control information is able to be transmitted using the first resource (see para [0257] wherein in the operation of piggybacking UCI onto the PUSCH, the scheme applied to the corresponding UCI mapping being differently configured according to the UCI type (/priority), is mentioned) and the information indicates, when the data have the first priority, that the control information is not able to be transmitted via the first resource, and the information indicates, when the data have the second priority, that the control information is able to be transmitted via the second resource (see para [0257] wherein in the operation of piggybacking UCI onto the PUSCH, the scheme applied to the corresponding UCI mapping may be differently configured according to the UCI type (/priority), for example, the UCI type (for example, ACK/NACK) of a relatively high priority (/importance) as pre-configured (/signaled) is subjected to the puncturing (which includes the information indicates, when the data have the first priority, that the control information is not able to be transmitted using the first resource) and the UCI type (for example, PMI/CQI (/RI)) of a relatively low priority (/importance) as pre-configured (/signaled) is subjected to the rate-matching and then is mapped onto the PUSCH (which includes the information indicates, when the data have the second priority, that the control information is able to be transmitted using the second resource), is mentioned and also see para [0270]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above base station of LEE et al. to have the transmitter being configured to transmit information indicating whether or not the control information is able to be transmitted using the first resource and the information indicates, when the data have the first priority, that the control information is not able to be transmitted via the first resource, and the information indicates, when the data have the second priority, that the control information is able to be transmitted via the second resource, disclosed by LEE et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a user equipment to reduce inter-cell interference & interference with other user equipments when piggybacking and transmitting the uplink control information on the PUSCH region and also to improve the decoding performance of the uplink control information in wireless communication system.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PARK et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0006790 A1) disclose mechanisms to a method for transmitting uplink control information in the wireless communication system.
Takeda et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0236669 A1) disclose mechanisms to appropriately performing communication even when transmission timings and/or transmission durations of a data channel and/or uplink control information are flexibly (variably) controlled in the wireless communication system.
Takeda et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0092756 A1) disclose mechanisms for multiplexing the uplink data and the uplink control information into an uplink shared channel to transmit in the wireless communication system.
Lin et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0307047 A1) disclose a method for transmitting information including multiple types of downlink control information, a network device and a terminal device in the wireless communication system.
PARK et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0037586 A1) disclose a method for transmitting and receiving uplink control information between a terminal and a base station in a wireless communication system to which various numerologies are applicable in the system.
WANG et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0135791 A1) disclose a method and a device for enhancing a performance of data transmission while supporting services with requirements of multiple TTI lengths at the same time.
LEE et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0116611 A1) disclose a method of transmitting or receiving uplink control information in a wireless communication system and an apparatus therefor.
7. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 7/7/2026