DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claims 1, 4-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Bhattacharya et al. (Economic Botany, 2003) in view of Glandorf et al., (US 2008/0138298).
Bhattacharya et al. teaches the inhibition of Streptococcus mutans and other oral Streptococci by Humulus Lupulus L (Hop) (Ti) (second subtherapeutic anticaries agent).
“We report the inhibition of the causative agents of dental caries, Streptococcus mutans and other oral streptococci, by the antimicrobial active ingredients of the hop plant (Humulus lupulus L). The hop constituents studied were purified beta acid, canthohumol, iso alpha acid and tetra iso-alpha acid” (Abstract).
Since Bhattacharya et al. teaches, “The beta acids (lupulones) have been reported to have greater antimicrobial activity than the iso-alpha acid (humulone) against Staphylococcus aureus” (p. 118, last paragraph through 119), it would have been obvious to use purified hop beta acids to the exclusion of alpha acids. Note: lupulone is a non-hydrogenated hops beta acid.
Table 2 below shows hop beta acid to be more efficient at killing S. mutans compared to alpha acids and thymol, insofar as hop beta acid had the lowest MIC:
(p. 121).
The reference further teaches, “Hop beta acid has more antimicrobial activity than commonly used antiseptics in mouthwashes in our assays. There was no rapid development of resistance to beta acid” (p. 123, Conclusion 2nd paragraph).
The reference concluded, “Since oral pathogens are vertically transmissible (Hanada 2000), increase in the use and increase in variety of alternative, natural antimicrobial oral treatments might not only reduce the incidence of caries in individuals but may have wider effect on dental pathogen prevalence among human populations” (p. 123, last paragraph).
Bhattacharya et al. does not teach fluoride. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for oral care formulations to be free of fluoride.
Bhattacharya et al. does not teach stannous chloride, i.e. first subtherapeutic anticaries agent.
Glandorf et al. teaches oral care formulations that “are effective in preventing and controlling conditions including plaque, calculus, caries, periodontal disease, mouth malodor and dental erosion” (Abstract).
The compositions comprise stannous insofar as Glandorf et al. teaches, “Other antimicrobials such as copper salts, zinc salts and stannous salts may also be included” (p. 6, para. [0062]). “These agents, which provide anti-plaque benefits, may be present at levels of from about 0.01% to about 5.0% by weight of the dentifrice composition” (Id.). The prior art provides an embodiment having “1.5% Stannous Chloride” (metal ion source) (Example I, p. 8, para. [0092]).
Concerning the antimicrobial effect of stannous, Glandorf et al. teaches an in vitro Plaque Glycolysis Model; the prior art teaches, “Antimicrobial efficacy of the present compositions is measured using the in vitro Plaque Glycolysis and Regrowth Model (i-PGRM)” (p. 9, para. [0093]), wherein an “ideal i-PGRM score should approach 100%” (p. 10, para. [0098]). Results of i-PGRM assay are provided below:
(p. 10, para. [0098]). Stannous was shown to provide an i-PGRM score of 100 and more.
In view of this, the artisan would have expected an anti-caries benefit from the combination of Stannous and hops beta acid in view of their antimicrobial efficacy. Accordingly, the prior art combination is capable of performing the intended use of the claims. The notion of providing an anticavity benefit better than a control of at least 650 ppm free fluoride in a rat caries model, as per claims 4-7, would not have been surprising.
In regard to claim 10, Glandorf teaches adding “buffering agents”, which are “typically included at a level of from about 0.5% to about 10%, by weight of the present compositions” (p. 7, para. [0082]).
In regard to claim 9-10, abrasives such as “calcium carbonate” (p. 4, para. [0044], may be present “from about 6% to about 70%; toothpastes preferably contain from about 10% to about 50% abrasives, by weight of the composition” (p. 4, para. [0047]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose; the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Thus, combining the hops beta acid of Bhattacharya et al. with the stannous chloride of Glandorf et al. as claimed in the instant invention would have been prima facie obvious since they are both taught to be useful for treating plaque and caries.
It would have also been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add buffering agents and calcium, to the compositions of Bhattacharya et al. for the advantage of preventing and controlling conditions including plaque, calculus, caries, periodontal disease, mouth malodor and dental erosion, as taught by Glandorf et al.
2) Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhattacharya et al. (Economic Botany, 2003) in view of Glandorf et al., (US 2008/0138298) as applied to claims 1, 4-10, 13 above, and further in view of Mello et al., (US 2013/0078197).
The combination of Bhattacharya et al. and Glandorf et al., which is taught above, differs from claim 2-3, 11-12, insofar as it does not teach an amino acid.
Mello et al. teaches oral care compositions comprising “arginine in free or salt form”, which is “useful in the treatment of a variety of oral disorders, in which the composition can provide blockage of dentinal tubules, while at the same time provide antibacterial and anti-caries efficacy” (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to add an amino acid, i.e., arginine, to the compositions of Bhattacharya et al. for the advantage of blocking dentinal tubules, and at the same time provide antibacterial and anti-caries efficacy, as taught by Mello et al.
Technological Background
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure van der Kerk et al. US 4,039,655 (cited in IDS). van der Kerk et al. is pertinent for teaching, “Streptococcus mutans (by its action on saccharose) has been identified as the only bacteria in the oral cavity which excretes the plaque forming, insoluble, high-molecular weight carbohydrate. Therefore, the suppression of the growth of Streptococcus mutans would significantly reduce caries formation by eliminating the formation of plaque” (col. 1, lines 45-51)).
Nonstatutory Obvious-type Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
1) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-12, 17-21 of copending Application No. 17/704,023 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid and metals such as stannous and calcium, including amino acid (arginine).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
2) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/755,888 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as tin (stannous).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
3) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/755,788 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
4) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-28, 30-31 of copending Application No. 18/322,652 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
5) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-15, 23-24 of copending Application No. 17/485,552 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
6) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8, 10-12, 28, 42, 44-47 of copending Application No. 17/485,550 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
7) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-8, 10, 11, 13-29 of copending Application No. 17/704,027 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
8) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-7, 9-11, 13-21 of copending Application No. 18/655,468 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such stannous chloride.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
9) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-25 of copending Application No. 17/485,553 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
10) Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/788,266 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
11) Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,918,681. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
12) Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,653,773. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
13) Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,690,792. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim compositions for application to the oral cavity comprising a fluoride free oral care composition comprising a hops beta acid including metals such as stannous chloride.
Conclusion
Walter E. Webb
/WALTER E WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612