DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art taken singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of independent claims 19 and 20, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
With respect to claim 19, the closest prior art Chapiro (PGPUB 20180217401), Ishak et al. (PGPUB 20080186448) and/or Casper et al. (USPAT 7748845), fails to disclose in combination with all of the other elements of the claim wherein if the activity is to be performed during nighttime hours under ambient lighting conditions between 100 lux to 1000 lux then the lenses of the selected eyewear device are configured such that the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers to 490 nanometers is between 25 percent to 40 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses, and if the activity is to be performed during nighttime hours under ambient lighting conditions between
1000 lux to 10000 lux or greater than the lenses of the selected eyewear device are configured such that the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers to 490 nanometers is less than 15 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses.
With respect to claim 20, the closest prior art Chapiro, Ishak and/or Casper, fails to disclose in combination with all of the other elements of the claim the eyewear device are configured with a gradient profile wherein the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers to 490 nanometers is between 25 percent to 40 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses at a location in the lower portion of the lenses, and the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers to 490 nanometers is less than 15 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses at a location in the upper portion of the lenses.
Claims 2-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chapiro (PGPUB 20180217401) in view of Ishak et al. (PGPUB 20080186448) and further in view of Casper et al. (USPAT 7748845).
Regarding claim 1, Chapiro discloses a method of improving human circadian health and protecting the eyes from high-energy visible blue light comprising:
providing one or more daytime eyewear devices and one or more nighttime eyewear devices (Abst. ), each eyewear device of the one or more daytime eyewear devices and the one or more nighttime eyewear devices having lenses (Fig. 3), selecting and then positioning one of the daytime eyewear devices or one of the nighttime eyewear devices proximally to the eyes of a person in such a way that the lenses of the selected daytime eyewear device or the selected nighttime eyewear device substantially filters light received by the eyes of the person (Fig. 1), and the person performing one or more activities using their sense of vision, wherein, one of the daytime eyewear devices is selected when the activities are performed substantially during normal daytime hours ([0005]), and one of the nighttime eyewear devices is selected when the activities are performed substantially during normal nighttime hours ([0005]).
Chapiro does not disclose wherein the lenses of the daytime eyewear devices are configured such that the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers and 490 nanometers is between 100 percent to 150 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses, and the mean spectral transmittance of the lenses between 400 nanometers to 430 nanometers is less than 40 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses.
However, Ishak teaches a lens for use during the day ([0002]) wherein the lenses of the daytime eyewear devices are configured such that the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers and 490 nanometers is between 100 percent to 150 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses (See Figures 12-13, 16, 24, 26 and 28), and the mean spectral transmittance of the lenses between 400 nanometers to 430 nanometers is less than 40 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses (See Figures 12-13, 16, 24, 26 and 28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine Chapiro and Ishak such that the daytime mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers and 490 nanometers is between 100 percent to 150 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses, and the mean spectral transmittance of the lenses between 400 nanometers to 430 nanometers is less than 40 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses motivated by improving wearer health.
Modified Chapiro does not disclose wherein the lenses of the nighttime eyewear devices are configured such that the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers and 490 nanometers is less than 40 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses.
However, Casper teaches a nighttime lens for maintaining a normal circadian rhythm (Col. 1 lines 16-22) wherein the lenses of the nighttime eyewear devices are configured such that the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers and 490 nanometers is less than 40 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Chapiro and Casper such that the nighttime blue light transmission lenses satisfied the mean spectral transmittance between 430 nanometers and 490 nanometers is less than 40 percent relative to the luminous transmittance of the lenses motivated by improving wearer health.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S FISSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872