Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on July 22 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 22, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockett et al. (US 20030139309), hereinafter “Brockett.”
Regarding claims 1-7 and 11, Brockett teaches a fabric care composition which comprises a solid carrier and an anti-wrinkle agent (see abstract), wherein the solid carrier may be any solid carrier like sugar or sugar derivative like maltodextrin (see [0025] and [0036]), and the composition typically comprises the solid carrier in an amount from 0.001% to 10% by weight of the composition (see [0027]), wherein the average molecular weight of the maltodextrin should be within those recited. The above composition can be used in the form of a fabric conditioner composition which preferably include a fabric softening and/or conditioning compound which may be a cationic compound (see [0087]), like a quaternary ammonium ester compound (see [0095-[0098]]), and perfume which is preferably from 0.1 to 5% by weight (see [0121]), wherein the product form of the fabric conditioner composition is suitable for delivery from a substrate e.g., a flexible sheet, for use during a tumble dryer cycle (see [0089]). Brockett, however, fails to specifically disclose a dryer sheet comprising a highly branched cyclic dextrin like maltodextrin, fabric softening agent and fragrance or perfume as recited in claim 1, and the amount of the maltodextrin as recited in claims 2-4.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have prepared a dryer sheet comprising maltodextrin, fabric softening agent and perfume or fragrance because the teachings of Brockett encompasses these suitable ingredients.
With respect to the specific proportions of the maltodextrin, considering that Brockett teaches maltodextrin in an amount an amount from 0.001% to 10% by weight of the composition (see [0027]), the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockett as applied to claims 1-7 and 11 above, and further in view of Kvita et al. (US 2005/0020477), hereinafter “Kvita.”
Regarding claim 13, Brockett teaches the features as discussed above. Brockett, however, fails to disclose the sheet comprising a woven material.
Kvita, an analogous art, teaches a tumble dryer sheet article comprising a flexible substrate (see [0280]), wherein the flexible substrate is a woven or non-woven cloth substrate (see [0283]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect the flexible substrate of the dryer sheet of Brockett as a woven cloth substrate because this is a typical flexible substrate for dryer sheet as taught by Kvita.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Brockett, the closest prior art, teaches the features as discussed above. In addition, Brockett teaches fabric softening compounds at levels from 8% to about 50% by weight, when the compositions are considered concentrates (see [0088]). Hence, the proportions of the fabric softening compounds of Brockett are outside the scope of the present claims 8-10 and 12.
/LORNA M DOUYON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761