DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 and 23 and Species group II (claim 9) in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 50-51 and 58-59 and Species group II (claims 12-14) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s) and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/07/2026.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yin et al. (CN 111331968).
Regarding claim 1, Yin et al. teaches an aluminium-wood multi-layer composite board comprising a first board, a first metal plate, a second wood board, the second metal plate and the third board (See Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Yin et al. teaches further comprising glue in between each layer (page 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (CN 111331968).
Yin et al. is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Yin et al. teaches wherein the first wood board (1) and the third board (5) are the same, the thickness is 1 mm-30 mm (See Abstract, page 3) and adjacent the metal layer. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Yin et al. teaches wherein the board is oak or ash (page 3) which is identical to that presently claimed and therefore, would be capable of being adhered to metal with an adhesive. Further, Yin et al. teaches glue in between each layer (page 6).
Regarding claim 6, Yin et al. teaches wherein the first metal plate (2) and the second metal plate (4) have thickness or 0.5 mm-5 mm (page 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Yin et al. teaches wherein the metal plate is aluminium plate, copper plate, iron plate, or steel plate (page 3) which is identical to that presently claimed and therefore, would be capable of being a machinable metal.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Yin et al. teaches wherein the board is oak or ash (page 3) which is identical to that presently claimed and therefore, would be capable of being adhered to metal with an adhesive. Further, Yin et al. teaches glue in between each layer (page 6).
Regarding claim 23, Yin et al. teaches glue in between each layer (page 6).
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787