DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/886,336 filed 9/16/2024 which claims priority from PCT/KR2023/003043, KR10-2022-0090503, and KR10-2022-0048346 filed 3/6/2023, 7/21/2022, and 4/19/2022, respectively. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 15, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Detailed reasons for allowability will be included is an Allowability Notice.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 13, 14, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2019/0278336 A1, hereinafter “Choi”), and further in view of Cho et al. (US 2015/0317006 A1, hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a method for operating an electronic device, the method comprising:
changing a size of a first display area in response to identifying a user input instructing the electronic device to perform a sliding operation. More specifically, the process includes detecting a pull-out of a display (sliding operation) (Choi, abstract, Figure 7A).
…, displaying the first UI object in a first display area and a second UI object corresponding to the first UI object in a second display area …. More specifically, a display is modified to depict a first UI object in a first area 711 (also 903) and a second UI object corresponding to the first UI object in a second display area 715 (also 902) (Choi, Figures 7B and 9B, [0138]).
However, Choi may not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the displaying] based on a size of a first user interface (UI) object included in the first display area [and] while the size of the first display area is changed, wherein the first display area includes a size-variable area, and the second display area includes a size-fixed area.
Cho discloses a method of controlling a digital device having a single shape and an expand shape (Cho, abstract). The processes depicted in at least Figure 9 depict the display while sliding out / expanding, where a first UI object 940 and a second UI object 910 corresponding to the first UI object are displayed. The second UI object is displayed on the size-fixed area 920 and the first UI object displayed on the size-variable area 930. The first UI object corresponds to visual information enlarged from the second UI object by a reference ratio (Cho, [0083]-[0086], i.e., displaying based on size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Choi and Cho that a method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display, where a result of the sliding displays a first UI object and a second UI object corresponding to the first UI object would include that the displaying occurs while the sliding operation is occurring and that the display is based on the size of the first UI object. With Choi and Cho disclosing electronic devices that have slide-out displays, where a result of the sliding displays a first UI object and a second UI object corresponding to the first UI object, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display, where a result of the sliding displays a first UI object and a second UI object corresponding to the first UI object would include that the displaying occurs while the sliding operation is occurring and that the display is based on the size of the first UI object in order to allow a user to maintain context or a GUI association with a UI element while the physical display is increased. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display.
Regarding claim 2, Choi and Cho teach the method of claim 1, wherein the changing of the size of the first display area includes extending the first display area in a first direction. More specifically, extending a slide-out display (Choi, at least Figure 7B; Cho, at least Figure 9).
Regarding claim 11, Choi and Cho teach the method of claim 1, wherein the second UI object includes an object having the same shape as the first UI object and capable of performing the same function. More specifically, the first and second UI objects include the same playback controls (Choi, at least Figure 7B).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, these claims substantially recite the electronic device that performs the method of claims 1 and 2, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable (Additionally see at least Choi at [0122]; Cho, [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Choi and Cho teach the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to move and display the second UI object in the first direction from an opposite end, in the first direction, of the electronic device. More specifically, Figure 7B depicts the direction of the sliding/expanding of the screen and the second UI object(s) 715 is described as exposed by the pull-out direction (Choi, [0104]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, these claims substantially recite one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions for performing the method of claims 1 and 2, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Cho, and further in view of Ishihara et al. (US 2011/0007009 A1, hereinafter “Ishihara”).
Regarding claim 10, Choi and Cho teach the method of claim 1, including that the first UI object includes… an icon for performing a specific function (Choi, at least Figure 7B, playback control icons).
However, Choi and Cho may not explicitly teach every aspect of
wherein the first UI object includes an address bar.
Ishihara discloses a portable terminal device that enables a user to operate all buttons to be operated by moving only one finger of one hand carrying the terminal when operating the terminal equipped with both a touch panel and a stationary operation section and that exhibits superior operability (Ishihara, abstract). UI objects are relocated upon the device changing to an extended configuration. Address bars are suggested as objects that need to be relocated in an extended mode for a device (Ishihara, Figures 6-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Choi and Cho with Ishihara that a method for operating an electronic device with an extendable portion, where a result of the extending displays is a modification of the user interface for accommodation would include that the first UI object can include an address bar. With Choi, Cho, and Ishihara disclosing extendable electronic devices that adjust UI objects when the devices are extended, and with Choi and Ishihara disclosing that web browser applications are incorporated (Choi, item 259), and with Ishihara additionally suggesting that the address bar in a web browser is a UI object that would need adjusting, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for operating an electronic device with an extendable portion, where a result of the extending displays is a modification of the user interface for accommodation would include that the first UI object can include an address bar in order to have components of the web browser application in Choi be included in the display of the first and second UI objects allowing a user better access to the address bar element while the physical display is increased. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display.
Claim(s) 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Cho, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0234951 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 12, Choi and Cho teach the method of claim 11, however, they may not explicitly teach every aspect of further comprising: changing transparency of the first UI object according to a moving distance of the first UI object.
Kim discloses a portable device includes a flexible display, a housing that contains the flexible display, a measurement sensor for measuring a distance by which the flexible display has been extended from the portable device when the flexible display is extended from the housing, and a display control unit for displaying an image including at least one icon on the extended flexible display according to the measured distance (Kim, abstract). The transparency of icons or regions is adjusted based on the extension distance of the flexible display (Kim, [0071], [0089], [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Choi and Cho with Kim that a method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display, where a result of the sliding increases the display area and modifies the UI objects would include changing transparency of the UI object according to a moving distance of the first UI object. With Choi, Cho, and Kim disclosing electronic devices that have slide-out displays, where a result of the sliding modifies the display of UI objects, and with Kim suggesting changing the transparency of the UI objects in accordance with the sliding distance, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display, where a result of the sliding increases the display area and modifies the UI objects would include changing transparency of the UI object according to a moving distance of the first UI object in order to allow a user to understand what UI objects remain available for interaction. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display.
Regarding claim 18, Choi and Cho teach the electronic device of claim 13, however, they may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the first UI object is moved only in a preset first section of an entire time required to perform the sliding operation.
Kim discloses a portable device includes a flexible display, a housing that contains the flexible display, a measurement sensor for measuring a distance by which the flexible display has been extended from the portable device when the flexible display is extended from the housing, and a display control unit for displaying an image including at least one icon on the extended flexible display according to the measured distance (Kim, abstract). The UI objects can move in the sliding direction during the sliding operation (Kim, Figure 12). The transparency of icons or regions is adjusted based on the extension distance of the flexible display (Kim, [0071], [0089], [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Choi and Cho with Kim that a method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display, where a result of the sliding increases the display area and modifies the UI objects would include wherein the first UI object is moved only in a preset first section of an entire time required to perform the sliding operation. With Choi, Cho, and Kim disclosing electronic devices that have slide-out displays, where a result of the sliding modifies the display of UI objects, and with Kim suggesting the UI objects move in accordance with the sliding operation, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display, where a result of the sliding increases the display area and modifies the UI objects would include wherein the first UI object is moved only in a preset first section of an entire time required to perform the sliding operation in order to allow a user to have direct control over the positioning of UI objects with a sliding operation. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for operating an electronic device that has a slide-out display.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Chung (US 2018/0364827 A1) – device with expandable display via unroll that effects the displayed UI objects (Figures 6A and 8C).
Chung (US 2018/0364827 A1) – device with expandable display via that effects the displayed UI objects (Figure 24).
Yamashita (US 2012/0075223 A1) – presenting a representation of UI objects of the entire screen in a particular area.
Shimada (US 2018/0210616 A1) – presenting a representation of UI objects of the entire screen in a particular area.
Toyokawa (US 2010/0171709 A1) – presenting a representation of UI objects of the entire screen in a particular area (Figure 9).
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171