DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the limitation "a positioning manner configured for the c network element" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, for examination purposes examiner interpreted the claim to mean “a positioning manner configured for the core network element”. Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5-12-2025 and 10-11-2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Edge et al. (US-20210274458-A1, published: 2021-09-02) hereinafter Edge.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Edge discloses a method and apparatus (Edge, figs 10 and 11), comprising: receiving, by a core network element, a first message requesting to position a terminal device (Edge, fig. 5, par. 98; the SLP 130 initiates a location session with the UE 105 by sending a SUPL INIT message to UE 105 (e.g. using IP and UDP)); and sending, by the core network element, a first indication message to the terminal device based on a positioning capability of the terminal device that indicates a positioning manner supported by the terminal device, wherein the first indication message indicates to use a user plane positioning manner for positioning the terminal device (Edge, fig. 5 par. 102; At stage F, which can be optional, UE 105 and SLP 130 engage in SUPL POS message exchanges using the LPP or LPP/LPPe protocol, which may occur throughout box 504. Based on the SUPL POS INIT message including posmethod(s) supported by the UE 105, the SLP 130 determines the posmethod(s) (e.g., uplink and/or uplink-downlink position methods). The UE 105 and SLP 130 then exchange LPP or LPP/LPPe messages (transferred inside SUP POS messages) to support any UL-DL position method(s)).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Edge discloses a method and apparatus according to claims 1 and 16, wherein sending, by the core network element, the first indication message to the terminal device based on the positioning capability of the terminal device comprises device: sending, by the core network element, the first indication message to the terminal device based on the positioning capability of the terminal device and first reference information, and wherein (Edge, fig. 5, par. 98; the SLP 130 initiates a location session with the UE 105 by sending a SUPL INIT message to UE 105 (e.g. using IP and UDP)): the first reference information comprises at least one of the following: a pre-configured positioning manner, priorities of control plane positioning and user plane positioning, an identity of the terminal device, a geographical location of the terminal device, a service load of a user plane positioning network element, a load of a mobility management network element, positioning quality of service requested for a positioning service, a type of a positioning request client, a type of the positioning service, a positioning type supported by the terminal device, a positioning mode of the terminal device, or a data session status of the terminal device, the data session status of the terminal device indicating data session context information on the terminal device (Edge, fig. 7, par. 136; the UE 105 and SLP 130 engage in SUPL POS message exchanges during which the SLP 130 may request the positioning capabilities of UE 105 using an LPP or LPP/LPPe Capability Transfer procedure) see also figs 5-6, step F.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Edge discloses a method and apparatus according to claims 2 and 17, wherein sending, by the core network element, the first indication message to the terminal device based on the positioning capability of the terminal device and first reference information comprises (Edge, fig. 5, par. 98; the SLP 130 initiates a location session with the UE 105 by sending a SUPL INIT message to UE 105 (e.g. using IP and UDP)) see also fig. 6: determining, by the core network element based on the first reference information, to use the user plane positioning manner for positioning the terminal device (Edge, fig. 6, par. 121; consistent with the SUPL START message including posmethod(s) supported by the UE 105, the SLP 130 determines a position method (posmethod). If required for the posmethod, the SLP 130 uses the supported positioning protocol (e.g., RRLP, RRC, TIA-801, LPP or LPP/LPPe) from the SUPL START message for positioning of UE 105 at stage F); and sending, by the core network element, the first indication message to the terminal device (Edge, fig. 6, par. 121; The SLP 130 responds by sending a SUPL RESPONSE message to the UE 105. The SUPL RESPONSE contains the determined posmethod (e.g., an uplink and/or uplink-downlink position method, such as UL-AOA, UL-TDOA, or multi-RTT)).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Edge discloses a method and apparatus according to claims 2 and 17, wherein the core network element is a location management network element (Edge, par. 56; The gNBs 110 and ng-eNB 114 can communicate with an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 154, which, for positioning functionality, communicates with a Location Management Function (LMF) 152), and the method further comprises: determining, by the location management network element, a target user plane positioning network element, wherein the target user plane positioning network element is a user plane positioning network element that performs user plane positioning communication with the terminal device (Edge, fig.1, par. 65; The UPF 157 may be connected to a location server (LS), such as the SLP 130. The SLP 130 may support the SUPL user plane (UP) location solution defined by the Open Mobile Alliance (OMA) and may support location services for UE 105 based on subscription information for UE 105 stored in SLP 130).
Regarding claim 5, Edge discloses a method according to claim 4, wherein determining, by the location management network element, the target user plane positioning network element comprises (Edge, fig.1, par. 65; The UPF 157 may be connected to a location server (LS), such as the SLP 130. The SLP 130 may support the SUPL user plane (UP) location solution defined by the Open Mobile Alliance (OMA) and may support location services for UE 105 based on subscription information for UE 105 stored in SLP 130): determining, by the location management network element, the target user plane positioning network element from a plurality of user plane positioning network elements based on second reference information (Edge, fig. 1, par.66; To support a SUPL location session between UE 105 and SLP 130 in communication system 100, the UE 105 and SLP 130 may exchange SUPL messages at a user plane level using IP and TCP (or possibly UDP for an initial SUPL INIT message) as transport protocols. FIG. 1 shows a typical path 170 for a SUPL message, which comprises routing the SUPL message through gNB 110-1 and UPF 157, in this order for a SUPL message sent from UE 105 to SLP 130, or in the reverse order for a SUPL message sent from SLP 130 to UE 105. For example, in the signaling flows described later for FIGS. 5-7, each of the SUPL messages shown as being transferred between the UE 105 and SLP 130 may be transferred via routing along the path 170, when the signaling flows are supported by communication system 100), wherein the second reference information comprises at least one of the following: a pre-configured user plane positioning network element, an identity of the terminal device, a geographical location of the terminal device, a service load of the user plane positioning network element, a positioning quality of service requested for a positioning service, a type of a positioning request client, a type of the positioning service, performance of the user plane positioning network element, a positioning type supported by the terminal device, a positioning mode of the terminal device, or target dedicated network information, wherein the target dedicated network information indicates a network to which a user plane positioning session used by the terminal device belongs (Edge, fig. 8, par 158; In one implementation, the transmission of the UL PRS or the UL SRS by the UE at block 808 is configured and activated by the serving base station in response to one or more requests from the SLP sent via the serving AMF for the UE using the identifier for the serving AMF and the identifier for the UE, e.g. as described for stages H and I of FIGS. 5 and 6 and stages L and P of FIG. 7. The one or more requests may comprise NRPPa messages).
Regarding claim 6, Edge discloses a method according to claim 4, further comprising: sending, by the location management network element, a second message to the target user plane positioning network element that indicates to perform user plane positioning on the terminal device (Edge, fig. 8, par. 153; At block 802, the UE transmits or receives one or more messages to initiate a Secure User Plane Location (SUPL) positioning session with a SUPL Location Platform (SLP)).
Regarding claim 7, Edge discloses a method according to claim 4, wherein receiving, by the core network element, the first message comprises: receiving, by the location management network element, the first message sent by a mobility management network element (Edge, fig. 9, par 169; At block 906, the SLP performs the at least one uplink or uplink-downlink position method by transmitting or receiving one or more positioning messages to or from a serving base station for the UE (e.g. a gNB 110-1) through the serving AMF using the identifier for the serving AMF and the identifier for the UE, e.g., as shown in block 506 in FIGS. 5 and 6, and stages L, O, P, Q and X in FIG. 7) see also step 904 and fig 8, wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a positioning mode of the terminal device, a positioning type supported by the terminal device, priorities of control plane positioning and user plane positioning, a data session status of the terminal device, or a user plane positioning capability of the terminal device, wherein the user plane positioning capability of the terminal device indicates that the terminal device supports the user plane positioning (Edge, fig. 6, par. 119; The SUPL START message may include the following parameters: (i) a SET session ID which includes at least one of a SUPI, PEI, or 5G-TMSI for UE 105; (ii) UE 105 capabilities; and (iii) a Location ID (lid) parameter which includes a serving cell ID for UE 105, where the serving cell ID includes the ID of a serving gNB 110-1 for UE 105. The UE capabilities include the positioning methods supported by UE 105 (e.g., uplink and/or uplink-downlink position methods, such as UL-AOA, UL-TDOA, and/or multi-RTT) and associated positioning protocols (e.g., RRLP, RRC, TIA-801, LPP or LPP/LPPe))see also figs. 5 and 7-8.
Regarding claim 8, Edge discloses a method according to claim 7, wherein the user plane positioning capability of the terminal device is determined based on at least one of the following: a positioning manner configured for the c network element, the positioning capability of the terminal device, or a positioning manner that the terminal device subscribes to and is authorized positioning (Edge, fig. 6, par. 119; The SUPL START message may include the following parameters: (i) a SET session ID which includes at least one of a SUPI, PEI, or 5G-TMSI for UE 105; (ii) UE 105 capabilities; and (iii) a Location ID (lid) parameter which includes a serving cell ID for UE 105, where the serving cell ID includes the ID of a serving gNB 110-1 for UE 105. The UE capabilities include the positioning methods supported by UE 105 (e.g., uplink and/or uplink-downlink position methods, such as UL-AOA, UL-TDOA, and/or multi-RTT) and associated positioning protocols (e.g., RRLP, RRC, TIA-801, LPP or LPP/LPPe))see also figs. 5 and 7-8.
Regarding claim 10, Edge discloses a method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication message further indicates at least one of the following: an identifier of a target user plane positioning network element, a digital certificate used by the target user plane positioning network element, a target dedicated network information, a type of an identity ID comprised by the terminal device in a user plane positioning session, an internet protocol (IP) address that is reported by the terminal device and that is used by the terminal device in the user plane positioning session (Edge, par. 40; LPP and LPP/LPPe may also be used to help support the OMA SUPL solution for many types of wireless access that support IP messaging (such as LTE, NR and WLAN), where LPP or LPP/LPPe messages are exchanged between a SUPL Enabled Terminal (SET), which is the term used for a UE with SUPL, and an SLP, and may be transported within SUPL messages, such as a SUPL POS or SUPL POS INIT message, which may be conveyed using TCP and IP protocols), a port ID that is configured by the target user plane positioning network element for the terminal device and allows user plane positioning on the terminal device (Edge, par. 86; For a UE based positioning procedure, the network geometry may be provided to the UE 105 in any manner, such as, for example, providing the information in beacon signals, providing the information using a server, e.g., in positioning assistance data, providing the information using uniform resource identifiers, etc.), or a port ID that is reported by the terminal device and allows user plane positioning on the terminal device (Edge, fig. 6, par. 119; The SUPL START message may include the following parameters: (i) a SET session ID which includes at least one of a SUPI, PEI, or 5G-TMSI for UE 105; (ii) UE 105 capabilities; and (iii) a Location ID (lid) parameter which includes a serving cell ID for UE 105, where the serving cell ID includes the ID of a serving gNB 110-1 for UE 105. The UE capabilities include the positioning methods supported by UE 105 (e.g., uplink and/or uplink-downlink position methods, such as UL-AOA, UL-TDOA, and/or multi-RTT) and associated positioning protocols (e.g., RRLP, RRC, TIA-801, LPP or LPP/LPPe)).
Regarding claim 11, Edge discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device, a first indication message sent by a mobility management network element that indicates to use a user plane positioning manner for positioning the terminal device (Edge, fig. 5, par. 99; the SLP receives from the UE an identifier for a serving Access and Mobility Management Function (e.g. AMF 154) for the UE and an identifier for the UE) see also fig. 5 and 6 step E; and establishing, by the terminal device, a data connection to a target user plane positioning network element (Edge, fig. 9, par. 169; the SLP performs the at least one uplink or uplink-downlink position method by transmitting or receiving one or more positioning messages to or from a serving base station for the UE (e.g. a gNB 110-1) through the serving AMF using the identifier for the serving AMF and the identifier for the UE).
Regarding claim 12, Edge discloses a method according to claim 11, wherein the first indication message further indicates at least one of the following: an identifier of the target user plane positioning network element (Edge, fig. 5, par. 99; the SLP receives from the UE an identifier for a serving Access and Mobility Management Function (e.g. AMF 154) for the UE and an identifier for the UE) see also fig. 5 and 6 step E, a digital certificate used by the target user plane positioning network element, a type of an identity ID comprised by the terminal device in a user plane positioning session, an internet protocol (IP) address that is reported by the terminal device and that is used by the terminal device in the user plane positioning session (Edge, fig. 5, par. 96; The MLP LIR message may include a UE 105 identifier (e.g. a UE 105 IP address, a SUPI, PEI or Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI)) and location data), a port ID that is configured by the target user plane positioning network element for the terminal device and that is used for user plane positioning on the terminal device, a port ID that is reported by the terminal device and that is used for the user plane positioning on the terminal device, or target dedicated network information, wherein the target user plane positioning network element is a user plane positioning network element that performs user plane positioning communication with the terminal device, and the target dedicated network information indicates a network to which the user plane positioning session used by the terminal device belongs (Edge, par. 107; a serving gNB 110-1 needs to send a UE associated NRPPa message to the SLP 130 for the target UE 105 as part of an NRPPa positioning activity (e.g. as a response to an NRPPa message received at stage I). At stage J, the serving gNB 110-1 sends an NRPPa PDU to the AMF 154 in an NGAP Uplink UE Associated NRPPa Transport message and includes the Routing ID received in stage I) see also steps M, .
Regarding claim 13, Edge discloses a method according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device to the mobility management network element, the IP address used by the terminal device in the user plane positioning session (Edge, fig. 5, par. 96; The MLP LIR message may include a UE 105 identifier (e.g. a UE 105 IP address, a SUPI, PEI or Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI)) and location data), or the port ID used for the user plane positioning on the terminal device (Edge, par. 100; The SUPL POS INIT message may contain the following parameters: (i) a SET session ID which includes at least one of a SUPI, PEI, or 5G-TMSI for UE 105; (ii) UE 105 capabilities, (iii) a registered AMF identifier for a serving AMF 154 of UE 105; (iv) a hash of the received SUPL INIT message (ver); and (v) a Location ID (lid) parameter which includes a serving cell ID for UE 105, where the serving cell ID may include the ID of a serving gNB 110-1 for UE 105. The UE capabilities include the positioning methods supported by UE 105 (e.g., uplink and/or uplink-downlink position methods, such as UL-AOA, UL-TDOA, and/or multi-RTT) and associated positioning protocols supported by UE 105 (e.g., RRLP, RRC, TIA-801, LPP or LPP/LPPe)).
Regarding claim 14, Edge discloses a method according to claim 13, wherein the establishing, by the terminal device, a data connection to a target user plane positioning network element comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, a user plane positioning initialization message sent by the target user plane positioning network element to enable the user plane positioning session (Edge, fig.5, par. 96; The SLP 130 may authenticate the SUPL Agent 502 and check if the SUPL Agent 502 is authorized for the service it requests, based on a client-id received. Further, based on the received UE 105 identifier the SLP 130 may apply subscriber privacy against the client-id) see also figs. 6-7; and establishing, by the terminal device, the data connection to the target user plane positioning network element (Edge, fig. 5, par. 100; At stage E, the UE 105 sends a SUPL POS INIT message to SLP 130 to start a positioning session with the SLP 130 using LPP or LPP/LPPe messages).
Regarding claim 15, Edge discloses a method according to claim 14, wherein establishing, by the terminal device, the data connection to the target user plane positioning network element (Edge, fig. 5, par. 100; At stage E, the UE 105 sends a SUPL POS INIT message to SLP 130 to start a positioning session with the SLP 130 using LPP or LPP/LPPe messages). further comprises: establishing, by the terminal device, the data connection to the target user plane positioning network element based on the identifier of the target user plane positioning network element; and sending, by the terminal device, a user plane positioning start message to the target user plane positioning network element indicating that the user plane positioning session is enabled (Edge, par. 100; The UE 105 sends the SUPL POS INIT message even if the UE 105 supported positioning technologies do not include the intended positioning method indicated in the SUPL INIT message received at stage C. The SUPL POS INIT message may contain the following parameters: (i) a SET session ID which includes at least one of a SUPI, PEI, or 5G-TMSI for UE 105; (ii) UE 105 capabilities, (iii) a registered AMF identifier for a serving AMF 154 of UE 105; (iv) a hash of the received SUPL INIT message (ver); and (v) a Location ID (lid) parameter which includes a serving cell ID for UE 105, where the serving cell ID may include the ID of a serving gNB 110-1 for UE 105. The UE capabilities include the positioning methods supported by UE 105) see also figs. 6-7.
Regarding claim 20, Edge discloses an apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first indication message further indicates at least one of the following:
an identifier of a target user plane positioning network element (Edge, par. 92; the UE 105 may provide a registered AMF 154 identifier (ID) to an extended SLP 130 using SUPL, e.g., in a SUPL POS INIT message), a digital certificate used by the target user plane positioning network element, a target dedicated network information, a type of an identity ID comprised by the terminal device in a user plane positioning session (Edge, par. 92; the registered AMF ID may comprise an AMF Region ID, an AMF Set ID and an AMF Pointer. To overcome problem (a) above, the UE 105 may provide to the extended SLP 130 either a UE 105 Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI), which may be equivalent to an International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI), or a UE 105 Permanent Equipment Identity (PEI), which may be equivalent to an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI), via inclusion in a SUPL SET Session ID (SetSessionId) parameter (e.g. which may be included in any SUPL message sent to SLP 130 by UE 130 such as a SUPL POS INIT). Alternatively, the UE 105 may provide a 5G-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-TMSI) to an extended SLP 130 to identify the UE 105), an internet protocol IP address that is reported by the terminal device and that is used by the terminal device in the user plane positioning session (Edge, par. 40; LPP and LPP/LPPe may also be used to help support the OMA SUPL solution for many types of wireless access that support IP messaging (such as LTE, NR and WLAN), where LPP or LPP/LPPe messages are exchanged between a SUPL Enabled Terminal (SET), which is the term used for a UE with SUPL, and an SLP, and may be transported within SUPL messages, such as a SUPL POS or SUPL POS INIT message, which may be conveyed using TCP and IP protocols), a port ID that is configured by the target user plane positioning network element for the terminal device and allows user plane positioning on the terminal device (Edge, par. 86; For a UE based positioning procedure, the network geometry may be provided to the UE 105 in any manner, such as, for example, providing the information in beacon signals, providing the information using a server, e.g., in positioning assistance data, providing the information using uniform resource identifiers, etc.), or a port ID that is reported by the terminal device and allows user plane positioning on the terminal device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (US-20210274458-A1, published: 2021-09-02) hereinafter Edge in view of Edge (US-11019487-B2, published: 2021-05-25) hereinafter Qualcomm.
Regarding claim 9, Edge discloses a method according to claim 4, wherein receiving, by the core network element, the first message comprises:
receiving, by the location management network element, a first message sent by a mobility management network element (Edge, par. 57; The LMF 152 may be connected to AMF 154 and/or to GMLC 155. The LMF 152 may also process location services requests for the UE 105, e.g., received from the AMF 154 or from the GMLC 155), wherein the first message comprises priorities of control plane positioning and user plane positioning, or data session status of the terminal device (Edge, par. 56; Other functions of AMF 154 may include: termination of a control plane (CP) interface from NG-RAN 135; termination of Non-Access Stratum (NAS) signaling connections from UEs such as UE 105; NAS ciphering and integrity protection; registration management; connection management; reachability management; mobility management; transport of Short Message Service (SMS) messages between UE 105 and an SMS Function (SMSF) (not shown in FIG. 1); access authentication and authorization); and the method further comprises: sending, by the location management network element, a request message to the terminal device requesting the terminal device to report a capability of the terminal device; and receiving, by the location management network element, a response message sent by the terminal device, wherein the response message indicates a user plane positioning capability of the terminal device, and the user plane positioning capability of the terminal device indicates that the terminal device supports the user plane positioning(Edge, par. 136; At stage K, the UE 105 and SLP 130 engage in SUPL POS message exchanges during which the SLP 130 may request the positioning capabilities of UE 105 using an LPP or LPP/LPPe Capability Transfer procedure. The SUPL POS message exchange of stage K, for example, may be a message exchange performed at stage F in FIGS. 5 and 6).
Edge does not explicitly disclose the first message comprises of priorities by control plane positioning and user plane positioning, however, in analogous art, Qualcomm discloses a high efficiency wireless location method wherein the information in the message comprises an indication of a priority and quality of service (Qualcomm, fig. 4, par. 55; . In addition to a preamble 402 (e.g. containing a fixed known sequence of bits), the UPS data 400 may include: (i) a unique UE ID 404 to identify the UE 105; (ii) a Network Entity (NE) ID 406 to identify a server (e.g. LMF 152) or other recipient entity in 5GC 150 or NG-RAN 112 (e.g. AMF 154, ULTF 158 or a gNB 110); (iii) an authentication code 408 to authenticate the UE ID 404; (iv) an indication of a Priority and/or a Quality of Service (QoS) 410; (v) optional DL location measurements 412 which may be optionally ciphered; (vi) a more data indication 414 indicating whether UE 105 has more DL measurements to send that did not fit into the UPS data 400); and (vii) an optional Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) or Forward Error Correction (FEC) bits 416 to enable error detection or correction for UPS data 400).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to combine Edge’s methods control plane positioning of user equipment with Qualcomm’s methods high efficiency location in a wireless network to enhance user equipment positioning in a wireless network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hawkes et al (US-20140093081-A1), Authentication in secure user plane location (supl) systems, 2014. A particular method includes receiving, at a secure user plane location (SUPL) server, an indication from a mobile device of one or more transport layer security (TLS) cipher suites supported by the mobile device; determining whether the one or more TLS cipher suites include a TLS pre-shared key (TLS-PSK) cipher suite that is supported by the SUPL server; in response to determining whether the one or more TLS cipher suites include the TLS-PSK cipher suite that is supported by the SUPL server, performing a generic bootstrapping architecture (GBA)-based authentication process to authenticate the mobile device, or determining whether the SUPL server supports a certificate-based authentication method; and in response to determining that the SUPL server supports the certificate-based authentication method, performing the certificate-based authentication method that includes sending a server certificate to the mobile device and receiving a device certificate from the mobile device.
Shreevastav et al. (US-20220394655-A1), Messages Relating To Location Services, 2022. An example method includes a method performed by a wireless device for sending a message relating to location services. The method includes establishing a user plane connection with a location management function, and sending a message relating to location services to the location management function using the user plane connection.
Lee et al. (US-12335901-B2), Apparatus And Method For Providing Low-latency Location Information Service In Wireless Communication System, 2025. The present disclosure relates to a 5.sup.th generation (5G) or pre-5G communication system for supporting a data transmission rate higher than that of a post-4.sup.th generation (4G) communication system such as long term evolution (LTE). According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, provided is a method for operating an access and mobility function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, comprising the steps of: receiving, from user equipment (UE), a mobile originated location request message including first location quality of service (QoS) information; receiving, from a gateway mobile location center (GMLC) or a network exposure function (NEF), a mobile terminated location request message including second location QoS information; determining UE configuration update on the basis of the first location QoS information and the second location QoS information; transmitting a UE configuration update command message to the UE; and transmitting a radio access network (RAN) update message to a RAN related to the UE in response to the reception of a UE configuration update complete message
Edge et al. (US-20200196298-A1), Systems And Methods For Super Low Latency Location Service For Wireless Networks, 2020. An external client requests the location of a UE using control plane signaling. The UE sends downlink location measurements, such as Reference Signal Time Differences, for a plurality of base stations (BSs) to a serving BS at a layer 1 or layer 2 protocol level and at first periodic intervals. The UE and the plurality of BSs send additional location measurements, such as receive time-transmission time differences, to the serving BS at second periodic intervals, which are longer than the first periodic intervals. The serving BS uses the additional location measurements and downlink location measurements to determine timing information, such as Real Time Differences, for the plurality of BSs. The serving BS determines the location of the UE using the downlink location measurements and the timing information at the first periodic intervals and sends the location to the external client using user plane signaling to reduce delay.
Qiao et al. (US-20210385625-A1), Wireless Device Location Determination, 2021. An entity in a wireless communication network may request information regarding a wireless device location. Positioning measurement(s) by a base station may be used for determining the wireless device location. Wireless device location information, based on the positioning measurement(s), may be communicated to a network device, via a user plane transmission, to indicate the location of the wireless device with improved accuracy.
Manolakos (US-20210410102-A1), Dynamic Update Of Quality Of Service (QoS) Parameters During An Ongoing New Radio (Nr) Positioning Session, 2021. In at least one embodiment, a user equipment (e.g., a mobile device) may receive a location request message from a server (e.g., a Location Management Function), wherein the location request message identifies a plurality of Quality of Service parameters for the LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP) positioning session. In at least one embodiment, the user equipment may receive a selection of one or more Quality of Service parameters for the LPP positioning session. In at least one embodiment, the user equipment may configure the user equipment according to the one or more selected Quality of Service parameters. In at least one embodiment, the user equipment may generate a location response message according to the selected QoS parameters. The user equipment may send the location response message to the server. A UE can select the QoS parameters during communication with a server and/or with a second UE via sidelink communications.
Guo et al. (US-12245139-B2), Apparatus And Method For Support Of Location Management Functionality In A Radio Access Network, 2025. The present disclosure relates to selecting a Local Management Function (LMF) in a wireless communication network, a next generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) acquires a capability from a user equipment (UE), the capability indicating whether the UE is capable of supporting LMF in Radio Access Network (RAN). An access and mobility management function (AMF) is then notified whether the UE is capable of supporting LMF in RAN. An LMF selection is then received from the AMF. Then a response is transmitted to the UE based on the received LMF selection, the response indicating whether a positioning procedure to be carried out by the UE is based on LMF in RAN. In this manner, the capabilities of the UE are taken into consideration when selecting an LMF for a positioning procedure.
Dawson et al. (US-20070293239-A1), Optimizing Location Services Performance By Combining User Plane And Control Plane Architectures, 2007. A system and method is disclosed that determines the position of a mobile device using information obtained by employing a first location determination protocol (or modality) to control the efficient or advantageous invocation of a second location determination protocol (or modality). The system utilizes information readily available from the Control plane along with request parameters and device capabilities to determine whether to invoke a CoPL or SUPL session
Edge et al. (US-20190357011-A1), Location Of A Mobile Device With Wireless Access Using A User Plane Location Solution, 2019. Techniques are discussed herein for supporting location of a user equipment (UE) with wireless access using a user plane (UP) location solution like SUPL. To locate the UE, an initial UP location session is established between the UE and a location server (LS) during which the LS requests location measurements from the UE. The UE obtains the location measurements by ending the location session and entering an idle state, after indicating this intent to the LS. The UE sends the location measurements to the LS by reentering a connected state and starting a new UP location session with the LS, which may be associated with the initial location session using common identification information. The techniques may be used for a UE with only a single RF chain (e.g. a UE that supports NB-IoT or other narrowband wireless access).
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649