DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/16/2024 and 5/4/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “The potable electronic item (100)”, which should have been “The portable electronic item” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first coupling elements” and “second coupling elements” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a tool for rotating the cover… introduction of a tool for rotating the cover and removing it from the casing…”. It’s not clear whether the two tools recited are the same or different tool. It appears to be the same tool. Thus, examiner will consider the limitation as “a tool for rotating the cover… introduction of the tool for rotating the cover and removing it from the casing…”
Claims 2-16 depends on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “notches”. However, this appear to be the same as “the second coupling elements” mentioned in claim 1. Thus, claim 2 is unclear and indefinite. Applicant should have recited that the second coupling elements are notches instead.
Claims 3-4 and 11-12 depends on claim 2.
Claim 8 recites “…a small tool to pass into the indentation…”. It’s unclear if the “small tool” is the same as “the tool” mentioned in claim 1. Further clarification is required. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume it’s the same tool as claim 1.
Claims 8 and 10 recite “the main body”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. Should claims 8 and 10 depend on claim 2 instead?
Claim 14 recites “said main body”. There is a lack of antecedent basis. Should claim 14 depends on claim 2 instead?
Claim 12 recites “a notch”. It’s unclear if this is the same as the notches mentioned in claim 2. In order to examine this application, examiner will assume the limitation is “each of the notches” instead.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/887431 (reference application) in view of Chen (CN 101097261). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application No. 18/88741 teaches everything except different term usage, such as attachment clips are basically anti-rotation lugs (see claim 7 regarding prevent the cover from being rotated) and hooking apertures are the same as notches. Copending application No. 18/887431 does not teach using adhesive bonding. However, Chen teaches secure means (pg. 8 regarding Fig. 8) can be bolts, glue, or ultrasonic wave welding. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the secure mean as an adhesive bonding instead in Copending application No. 18/887431, as taught by Chen, in order to utilize different types of secure means to prevent access to battery.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (JP 2000-228792) in view of Chen (CN 101097261).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Yamashita teaches a portable electronic item (11, Figs. 2-4) comprising:
a casing (12, Figs. 2-4) having a compartment (14, Fig. 3) configured to receive and house at least one removable electrical power source (18, Fig. 3);
a compartment cover (15, Figs. 2-4) including first coupling elements (17, Fig. 3) configured to cooperate with second coupling elements (16, Fig. 3) provided on the casing so as to rigidly connect the cover to the casing by rotating said cover about a rotational axis formed by a central axis of the cover (see central axis cross 15, 18, 14 in Fig. 3; [0007]: “…rotary removable battery cover….””); said cover having an indentation (15a, Fig. 3) provided in an outer face, said indentation being configured to receive a tool (using tool such as flathead screw driver or coin on 15a, Fig. 3) for rotating the cover; and
a security device (19, Figs. 2-3; or 32, Fig. 4) rigidly connected by a secure mean (22, Figs. 2-3; or 33, Fig. 4) to said portable electronic item, said security device being configured to at least partially cover the indentation of the cover of the compartment, so as to prevent the introduction of a tool for rotating the cover and removing it from the casing (as shown in Figs. 2-4).
Yamashita teaches the secure mean (22, Figs. 2-3; or 33, Fig. 4), but Yamashita does not explicitly teach using adhesive bonding. However, Chen teaches secure means can be adhesive element (glue mentioned in pg. 8 regarding Fig. 8: “…battery cover 62C, and is fixed by bolts (also can be glue or ultrasonic wave welding way joint fixed)…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the secure mean by an adhesive bonding instead in Yamashita, as taught by Chen, in order to utilize different types of secure means to prevent access to removable battery / electrical power source.
Regarding claim 5, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1, and Yamashita further teaches wherein said security device is configured to completely cover the indentation in the cover (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1, and the modified Yamashita further teaches wherein said security device is rigidly connected to the cover by bonding (as modified by Chen in above claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 6, and the modified Yamashita further teaches wherein said cover includes an outer face (outer surface of 15, Figs. 2-4 of Yamashita) and in that the security device is rigidly connected to the outer face of the cover by bonding (as modified by Chen in above claim 1).
Regarding claim 8 as best understood, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 7, and the modified Yamashita further teaches wherein said portable electronic item includes an adhesive element (glue as mentioned in Chen in above claim 1) formed on an inner face of the main body to rigidly connect the security device to the outer face of the cover (as modified by Chen in above claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 6, and the modified Yamashita further teaches wherein said security device is rigidly connected, at least in the indentation in the cover, by bonding (as modified by Chen in above claim 1).
Regarding claim 10 as best understood, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 9, and the modified Yamashita further teaches wherein said portable electronic item incudes an adhesive element (glue mentioned in Chen) formed on an inner face of the main body to rigidly connect the security device at least inside the indentation in the cover (as modified by Chen in above claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1, and the modified Yamashita further teaches wherein said security device is rigidly connected by adhesive bonding to said portable electronic item by an adhesive film or glue (glue as mentioned in Chen in above claim 1).
Regarding claim 14 as best understood, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1, and Yamashita further teaches wherein said main body has a cut-out (same as the opening below 19 in Figs. 2-3) allowing a small tool (using tool such as screw driver or coin on 15a, Fig. 3) to pass into the indentation to facilitate the detachment of the security device from the portable electronic item.
Regarding claim 15, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1. Yamashita does not teach wherein said security device is made of a metal or polymer material. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have said security device is made of a metal or polymer material in Yamashita in view of Chen, since selecting a known compound to meet requirements is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (citing Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). In this case, select metal or polymer material for the security device provide good rigidity or low cost for the security device.
Regarding claim 16, Yamashita in view of Chen teaches the portable electronic item according to claim 1. Yamashita does not teach wherein the portable electronic item is a timepiece. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the portable electronic item is a timepiece in Yamashita in view of Chen, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, utilizing the security device to other types of portable electronic items that uses at least one removable electrical power source, i.e. timepiece, can prevent the compartment cover from being easily removed by accident.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 11-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841