DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 2, it is unclear what Applicant means by the limitation “but normally without the AVP reference system sending control commands to the AVP motor vehicle for at least highly automated control of a lateral and longitudinal guidance of the AVP motor vehicle”. As this renders the claim indefinite, the limitation will be removed from consideration for the purposes of examination.
As per claim 2, it is unclear whether or not the wherein clauses not involving the checking are intended by the Applicant to be positively recited method steps. For the purposes of examination they will not be considered to be positively recited method steps and will be given little to no patentable weight. The same will be applied to the wherein clauses not involving the checking in dependent claims 3-7.
Dependent claims 3-7 are rejected under the same rationale by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are directed to processes.
Claim 12 is directed towards software
Claim 13 is directed towards manufactures.
Therefore, claims 1-6, 8-11, and 13 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claims 1/12/13 A method for checking an infrastructure automated valet parking (AVP) system of a parking lot, comprising: checking the infrastructure AVP system using an AVP reference system installed at least partially within the parking lot.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “checking” in the context of this claim encompasses a person comparing data from two systems. Accordingly, the claims recite at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claims 1/12/13 A method for checking an infrastructure automated valet parking (AVP) system of a parking lot, comprising: checking the infrastructure AVP system using an AVP reference system installed at least partially within the parking lot.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “the system installed at least partially within the parking lot”, the examiner submits that these limitations merely define the environment in which the method is executed in.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claims 1, 12, 13 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “the system installed at least partially within the parking lot merely defines the environment in which the method takes place.
Dependent claims 2-6 further define the data being compared. Therefore, the claim does not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible.
Dependent claim 8 further defines how the data is stored. Therefore, the claim does not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible.
Dependent claim 9 is a mental process in that a person could perform a mental judgement or mental evaluation of approving the AVP process since the claim does not further define what is involved with approving. Therefore, the claim does not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible.
Dependent claims 10 and 11 further define from where the data originates from. Examiner notes that there are no positive steps of receiving detecting using the sensors and thus the data could be data that was previously stored. Therefore, the claim does not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (US 2021/0162988).
As per claims 1, 12, and 13, Kang discloses an automated valet parking reference system configured to check an infrastructure automated valet parking AVP system of a parking lot, the AVP reference system being installed at least partially within the parking lot (see at least para. 38 for automated valet parking system; see at least para. 70 for error control operation is performed wherein infrastructure 100 checks communication between infrastructure and the vehicle for error; see at least para. 144 for the disclosed functions may be implemented as modules; therefore the infrastructure automated valet parking system is interpreted as infrastructure 100 and the automated valet parking reference system is interpreted to be a module within the infrastructure which performs the error control function).
As per claim 2, Kang further discloses wherein the AVP reference system performs an AVP reference process with an AVP motor vehicle within the parking lot
As per claim 5, Kang further discloses wherein the AVP reference system specifies one or more tests to be performed as part of the AVP process, wherein the infrastructure AVP system is checked by the AVP reference system based on a particular test result (see para. 70 for communication between infrastructure and vehicle is checked for error by the error control operation; wherein the test is interpreted to be checking the communication for error).
As per claim 6, Kang further discloses wherein the one or more tests to be performed respectively include an element selected from the following group of tests:
As per claim 9, Kang further discloses wherein, based on the check, the infrastructure AVP system is approved for performing AVP processes within the parking lot (see at least Fig. 4B for vehicle performs emergency stop when communication fault is detected and only resumes when instruction from infrastructure is received; therefore approval of the infrastructure to control autonomous parking of the vehicle is denied until communication is restored).
As per claim 11, Kang further discloses wherein an AVP reference motor vehicle is used for the check (see at least para. 70 for vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US 2021/0162988) in view of Nordbruch (US 2022/0299992).
As per claim 8, Kang is silent regarding but Nordbruch teaches wherein one or more or all method steps and/or data ascertained for the check are documented in a block chain (see at least para. 63-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kang with Nordbruch because it allows the method steps to be subsequently analyzed even after being executed and also be tamper-proof and forgery-proof.
Conclusion
/ROBERT T NGUYEN/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 3619