DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in France on 09/22/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2310036 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 09/16/2024 has been considered and placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath or Declaration is being considered by examiner and complies with PTO requirements.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, -- receive -- should be added before “a reception signal” in line 2.
Regarding claim 8, “a magnetic field” should be changed to – the magnetic field – in line 4; “the modulation signal” should be changed to – a modulation signal – in lines 6-7; “the transmit circuit” should be changed to – a transmit circuit – in line 7; “the amplitude” should be changed to – an amplitude – in line 7; and “the input” should be changed to – an input – in line 8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a phase-locked loop configured to receive in claim 2; and a control input configured to receive in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “the compensated delay depending on the amplitude of the reception signal and on a target amplitude of the modulation signal delivered at the output of the transmit circuit” is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. In ¶ [0022] of the Specification, the exact word by word of the rejected limitation is recited. However, there is no other disclosure in the Specification that further explain the rejected limitation. Nevertheless, in ¶ [0048-0049], the RFO signal i.e. modulation signal, is intended to be in phase with the RFI signal i.e. reception signal by compensating the delay
δ
T
X
of the RFO signal and the amplitude of the RFI signal. There is no further recitation in the Specification that explains how the compensated delay is depending in part on a target amplitude of the modulation signal delivered at the output of the transmit circuit. The Specification is insufficient for one of ordinary skilled in the art to understand the claimed limitation as which the compensated delay being depending on a target amplitude of the modulation signal delivered at the output of the transmit circuit. Therefore claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 9-12 are rejected under the same scope as being dependent on the rejected independent claim 8. For examining purpose, the limitation is interpreted as according to ¶ [0049] of the Specification as “the compensated delay depending on the amplitude of the reception signal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the application of the phase-shift value" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hueber et al. US 2019/0074914 in view of Cordier US 2017/0163357.
Consider claim 1, Hueber discloses A device of contactless communication by active load modulation (see FIG. 3 and 6 and ¶ [0047]), comprising:
a receive circuit having an input configured to a reception signal originating from a magnetic field intended to be received by an antenna (see FIG. 3 and ¶ [0049-0050], wherein the analog receive “RX” 314 configured to receive a reception signal originating from a magnetic field intended to be received by an antenna 312);
a transmit circuit having an output coupled to the antenna and configured to generate a modulation signal in phase with the reception signal intended to be delivered to the output (see FIG. 1 and 3 and ¶ [0042] and [0046], wherein the TX driver 318 coupled to the antenna 312, and configured to modulate a carrier signal with the adjusted phase configuration, wherein the phase configuration may be a relative phase setting between the received signal and the transmitted carrier phase); and
a compensation circuit configured to determine a phase-shift value to be applied to an input signal of the transmit circuit (see FIG. 3 and ¶ [0042] and [0054], wherein the phase configuration adjustment module 302 determines a phase tune to be applied to an input signal of the TX driver 318).
However Hueber does not explicitly disclose the compensation circuit configured to compensate for a delay of the modulation signal due to the transmit circuit and an amplitude of the reception signal. Cordier teaches the compensation circuit configured to compensate for a delay of the modulation signal due to the transmit circuit and an amplitude of the reception signal (see ¶ [0056], wherein the phase difference compensates for internal delays experienced by the reader signal i.e. reception signal, and the generated load modulation signal). Cordier further discloses a phase calibration in a frontend circuit of an NFC tag device (see ¶ [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hueber, and to include the compensation circuit configured to compensate for a delay of the modulation signal due to the transmit circuit and an amplitude of the reception signal, as taught by Cordier for the purpose of a phase calibration in a frontend circuit of an NFC tag device.
Consider claim 8, Hueber discloses A method of contactless communication between a reader and a device, comprising the following steps:
detecting a magnetic field by the device (see ¶ [0047], wherein the communication device and a corresponding reader both generate a magnetic field);
when a magnetic field is detected by the device, transmitting a first clock signal by a receive circuit of the device receiving as an input a reception signal originating from the magnetic field (see FIG. 3, ¶ [0047] and [0049], wherein clock generation circuit 316 output a clock to synchronize to the received clock of the analog RX 314 for receiving a reception signal originating from the magnetic field);
measuring, by a compensation circuit of the device, and compensating the modulation signal due to the transmit circuit and to the amplitude of the reception signal in a signal applied at the input of the transmit circuit of the device, the compensated delay depending on the amplitude of the reception signal (see FIG. 3 and 6, and ¶ [0042], [0054], and [0059], wherein the phase configuration adjustment module 302 determines phase configuration in response to the RSSI/field strength of the reception signal, and apply the phase configuration to the TX driver as input for compensation of the modulation signal); and
applying, by the transmit circuit of the device, the modulation signal to an antenna (see FIG. 3 and 6, wherein the output of TX driver 618 is applied to antenna 612 via matching network 610).
However Hueber does not explicitly disclose compensate for a delay of the modulation signal due to the transmit circuit and an amplitude of the reception signal. Cordier teaches compensate for a delay of the modulation signal due to the transmit circuit and an amplitude of the reception signal (see ¶ [0056], wherein the phase difference compensates for internal delays experienced by the reader signal i.e. reception signal, and the generated load modulation signal). Cordier further discloses a phase calibration in a frontend circuit of an NFC tag device (see ¶ [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hueber, and to include compensate for a delay of the modulation signal due to the transmit circuit and an amplitude of the reception signal, as taught by Cordier for the purpose of a phase calibration in a frontend circuit of an NFC tag device.
Consider claim 5, Cordier discloses wherein the compensation circuit comprises a phase difference circuit configured to measure a phase difference between the input signal of the transmit circuit and a delayed signal corresponding to the input signal of the transmit circuit delayed by said delay (see ¶ [0056], wherein the phase differences compensates for internal delays experienced by the reader signal i.e. reception signal, and the generated load modulation signal).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JANICE N TIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633