Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 20210029772 A1) in view of LUO et al. (US 20220224486 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Islam discloses “A method for wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by a terminal configured to operate in a first bandwidth part (BWP) mode or a second BWP mode, a signaling message, wherein the signaling message comprises an indication field” (See [0171] a gNB could configure two or more BWPs for a SCell for a UE. One BWP is for dormancy and other BWP(s) are for non-dormancy. No matter which BWP for non-dormancy is activated, the SCell is switched to the BWP for dormancy once receiving a L1 signaling which switches the SCell from non-dormancy to dormancy. [0170] a DCI format that indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy of one or more SCells. One or more of the existing fields that can be used to indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy include carrier indicator field, BWP indicator field. Note: The UE is configured to operate in first and second BWP modes (dormancy and non-dormancy), and receives L1/ DCI signaling including a BWP indicator field to switch between modes); “and adjusting, by the terminal based on the terminal operating in the first BWP mode or the second BWP mode, the monitoring periodicity of a control channel according to the indication field of the signaling message” (See [0170] a DCI format that indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy of one or more SCells. One or more of the existing fields that can be used to indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy include carrier indicator field, BWP indicator field. [0150] An identifier whether the indicated CC-group transition to dormancy-like behaviour to non-dormancy-like behaviour or vice versa. The identifier can be 1 bit or 2 bits. If 2 bits, more statues can be indicated such as for dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs no PDCCH monitoring or sparse PDCCH monitoring, and for non-dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs PDCCH monitoring without restrictions according to SS set configuration or performs frequent PDCCH monitoring. Note: After receiving the signaling, the UE operates in the indicated dormant or non-dormant BWP. Since the indicated BWP mode is associated with different monitoring periodicities (sparse in case of dormant and frequent in case of non-dormant), the UE adjusts the monitoring periodicity by switching the BWP mode).
Islam discloses that the indicated BWP mode corresponds to different PDCCH monitoring behavior/ periodicities, but does not explicitly disclose that the indication field indicates an index corresponding to a monitoring periodicity.
However, LUO discloses “for indicating an index corresponding to a monitoring periodicity” (See [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam by utilizing the indication field/ index mechanism of LUO for efficiently signaling PDCCH monitoring periodicities using an index value, thereby providing flexible configuration of the monitoring periodicity associated with the selected operating mode while reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 2,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring periodicity is included in a monitoring periodicity table configured for the terminal” (See LUO [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam with the teachings of LUO by using the preconfigured monitoring periodicity set/ table, thereby providing an efficient mechanism for storing and selecting among multiple PDCCH monitoring periodicities and reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 3,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring periodicity is included in a monitoring periodicity table configured in a search space” (See LUO [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set. [0152] the above change of the PDCCH monitoring is described by taking one search space as an example, and it may also be applied to a plurality of search spaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam with the teachings of LUO by using the preconfigured monitoring periodicity set/ table, thereby providing an efficient mechanism for storing and selecting among multiple PDCCH monitoring periodicities associated with a search space and reducing signaling overhead
Regarding claim 4,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first BWP mode comprises a dormant BWP mode and the second BWP mode comprises a non-dormant BWP mode” (See Islam [0171] a gNB could configure two or more BWPs for a SCell for a UE. One BWP is for dormancy and other BWP(s) are for non-dormancy), “and wherein a first monitoring periodicity upon the terminal operating in the dormant BWP mode is longer than a second monitoring periodicity upon the terminal operating in the non-dormant BWP mode” (See Islam [0150] An identifier whether the indicated CC-group transition to dormancy-like behaviour to non-dormancy-like behaviour or vice versa. The identifier can be 1 bit or 2 bits. If 2 bits, more statues can be indicated such as for dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs no PDCCH monitoring or sparse PDCCH monitoring, and for non-dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs PDCCH monitoring without restrictions according to SS set configuration or performs frequent PDCCH monitoring. Note: PDCCH monitoring is sparse for dormant BWP, and frequent for non-dormant BWP, which necessarily means that the monitoring periodicity is longer in case of dormant BWP.
Regarding claim 6,
Islam discloses “A method for wireless communication, comprising: transmitting, by a base station, configuration information to configure a terminal to operate in a first bandwidth part (BWP) mode or a second BWP mode” (See [0171] a gNB could configure two or more BWPs for a SCell for a UE. One BWP is for dormancy and other BWP(s) are for non-dormancy); “transmitting, by the base station, a signaling message that comprises an indication field” (See [0171] No matter which BWP for non-dormancy is activated, the SCell is switched to the BWP for dormancy once receiving a L1 signaling which switches the SCell from non-dormancy to dormancy. [0170] a DCI format that indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy of one or more SCells. One or more of the existing fields that can be used to indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy include carrier indicator field, BWP indicator field. Note: The BS configures the UE to operate in first and second BWP modes (dormancy and non-dormancy), and sends L1/ DCI signaling including a BWP indicator field for the UE to switch between modes) “to enable the terminal to adjust, based on the terminal operating in the first BWP mode or the second BWP mode, the monitoring periodicity of a control channel according to the indication field of the signaling message” (See [0170] a DCI format that indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy of one or more SCells. One or more of the existing fields that can be used to indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy include carrier indicator field, BWP indicator field. [0150] An identifier whether the indicated CC-group transition to dormancy-like behaviour to non-dormancy-like behaviour or vice versa. The identifier can be 1 bit or 2 bits. If 2 bits, more statues can be indicated such as for dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs no PDCCH monitoring or sparse PDCCH monitoring, and for non-dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs PDCCH monitoring without restrictions according to SS set configuration or performs frequent PDCCH monitoring. Note: After sending the signaling, the UE operates in the indicated dormant or non-dormant BWP. Since the indicated BWP mode is associated with different monitoring periodicities (sparse in case of dormant and frequent in case of non-dormant), the UE adjusts the monitoring periodicity by switching the BWP mode).
Islam discloses that the indicated BWP mode corresponds to different PDCCH monitoring behavior/ periodicities, but does not explicitly disclose that the indication field indicates an index corresponding to a monitoring periodicity.
However, LUO discloses “for indicating an index corresponding to a monitoring periodicity” (See [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam by utilizing the indication field/ index mechanism of LUO for efficiently signaling PDCCH monitoring periodicities using an index value, thereby providing flexible configuration of the monitoring periodicity associated with the selected operating mode while reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 7,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The method of claim 6, wherein the monitoring periodicity is included in a monitoring periodicity table configured for the terminal” (See LUO [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam with the teachings of LUO by using the preconfigured monitoring periodicity set/ table, thereby providing an efficient mechanism for storing and selecting among multiple PDCCH monitoring periodicities and reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 8,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The method of claim 6, wherein the monitoring periodicity is included in a monitoring periodicity table configured in a search space” (See LUO [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set. [0152] the above change of the PDCCH monitoring is described by taking one search space as an example, and it may also be applied to a plurality of search spaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam with the teachings of LUO by using the preconfigured monitoring periodicity set/ table, thereby providing an efficient mechanism for storing and selecting among multiple PDCCH monitoring periodicities associated with a search space and reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 9,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The method of claim 6, wherein the first BWP mode comprises a dormant BWP mode and the second BWP mode comprises a non-dormant BWP mode” (See Islam [0171] a gNB could configure two or more BWPs for a SCell for a UE. One BWP is for dormancy and other BWP(s) are for non-dormancy), “and wherein a first monitoring periodicity upon the terminal operating in the dormant BWP mode is longer than a second monitoring periodicity upon the terminal operating in the non-dormant BWP mode” (See Islam [0150] An identifier whether the indicated CC-group transition to dormancy-like behaviour to non-dormancy-like behaviour or vice versa. The identifier can be 1 bit or 2 bits. If 2 bits, more statues can be indicated such as for dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs no PDCCH monitoring or sparse PDCCH monitoring, and for non-dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs PDCCH monitoring without restrictions according to SS set configuration or performs frequent PDCCH monitoring. Note: PDCCH monitoring is sparse for dormant BWP, and frequent for non-dormant BWP, which necessarily means that the monitoring periodicity is longer in case of dormant BWP.
Regarding claim 11,
Islam discloses “An apparatus for wireless communication configured to operate in a first bandwidth part (BWP) mode or a second BWP mode, comprising at least one processor that is configured to cause the apparatus to: receive a signaling message that comprises an indication field” (See Fig. 2, (See [0171] a gNB could configure two or more BWPs for a SCell for a UE. One BWP is for dormancy and other BWP(s) are for non-dormancy. No matter which BWP for non-dormancy is activated, the SCell is switched to the BWP for dormancy once receiving a L1 signaling which switches the SCell from non-dormancy to dormancy. [0170] a DCI format that indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy of one or more SCells. One or more of the existing fields that can be used to indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy include carrier indicator field, BWP indicator field. Note: The UE is configured to operate in first and second BWP modes (dormancy and non-dormancy), and receives L1/ DCI signaling including a BWP indicator field to switch between modes); “and adjust, based on the apparatus operating in the first BWP mode or the second BWP mode, the monitoring periodicity of a control channel according to the indication field of the signaling message” (See [0170] a DCI format that indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy of one or more SCells. One or more of the existing fields that can be used to indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy include carrier indicator field, BWP indicator field. [0150] An identifier whether the indicated CC-group transition to dormancy-like behaviour to non-dormancy-like behaviour or vice versa. The identifier can be 1 bit or 2 bits. If 2 bits, more statues can be indicated such as for dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs no PDCCH monitoring or sparse PDCCH monitoring, and for non-dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs PDCCH monitoring without restrictions according to SS set configuration or performs frequent PDCCH monitoring. Note: After receiving the signaling, the UE operates in the indicated dormant or non-dormant BWP. Since the indicated BWP mode is associated with different monitoring periodicities (sparse in case of dormant and frequent in case of non-dormant), the UE adjusts the monitoring periodicity by switching the BWP mode).
Islam discloses that the indicated BWP mode corresponds to different PDCCH monitoring behavior/ periodicities, but does not explicitly disclose that the indication field indicates an index corresponding to a monitoring periodicity.
However, LUO discloses “for indicating an index corresponding to a monitoring periodicity” (See [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam by utilizing the indication field/ index mechanism of LUO for efficiently signaling PDCCH monitoring periodicities using an index value, thereby providing flexible configuration of the monitoring periodicity associated with the selected operating mode while reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 12,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the monitoring periodicity is included in a monitoring periodicity table configured for the terminal” (See LUO [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam with the teachings of LUO by using the preconfigured monitoring periodicity set/ table, thereby providing an efficient mechanism for storing and selecting among multiple PDCCH monitoring periodicities and reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 13,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the monitoring periodicity is included in a monitoring periodicity table configured in a search space” (See LUO [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set. [0152] the above change of the PDCCH monitoring is described by taking one search space as an example, and it may also be applied to a plurality of search spaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam with the teachings of LUO by using the preconfigured monitoring periodicity set/ table, thereby providing an efficient mechanism for storing and selecting among multiple PDCCH monitoring periodicities associated with a search space and reducing signaling overhead
Regarding claim 14,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first BWP mode comprises a dormant BWP mode and the second BWP mode comprises a non-dormant BWP mode” (See Islam [0171] a gNB could configure two or more BWPs for a SCell for a UE. One BWP is for dormancy and other BWP(s) are for non-dormancy), “and wherein a first monitoring periodicity upon the terminal operating in the dormant BWP mode is longer than a second monitoring periodicity upon the terminal operating in the non-dormant BWP mode” (See Islam [0150] An identifier whether the indicated CC-group transition to dormancy-like behaviour to non-dormancy-like behaviour or vice versa. The identifier can be 1 bit or 2 bits. If 2 bits, more statues can be indicated such as for dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs no PDCCH monitoring or sparse PDCCH monitoring, and for non-dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs PDCCH monitoring without restrictions according to SS set configuration or performs frequent PDCCH monitoring. Note: PDCCH monitoring is sparse for dormant BWP, and frequent for non-dormant BWP, which necessarily means that the monitoring periodicity is longer in case of dormant BWP.
Regarding claim 16,
Islam discloses “An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising at least one processor configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit configuration information to configure a terminal to operate in a first bandwidth part (BWP) mode or a second BWP mode” (See Fig. 2, [0171] a gNB could configure two or more BWPs for a SCell for a UE. One BWP is for dormancy and other BWP(s) are for non-dormancy); “transmit a signaling message that comprises an indication field” (See [0171] No matter which BWP for non-dormancy is activated, the SCell is switched to the BWP for dormancy once receiving a L1 signaling which switches the SCell from non-dormancy to dormancy. [0170] a DCI format that indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy of one or more SCells. One or more of the existing fields that can be used to indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy include carrier indicator field, BWP indicator field. Note: The BS configures the UE to operate in first and second BWP modes (dormancy and non-dormancy), and sends L1/ DCI signaling including a BWP indicator field for the UE to switch between modes) “to enable the terminal to adjust, based on the terminal operating in the first BWP mode or the second BWP mode, the monitoring periodicity of a control channel according to the indication field of the signaling message” (See [0170] a DCI format that indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy of one or more SCells. One or more of the existing fields that can be used to indicate transition between dormancy and non-dormancy include carrier indicator field, BWP indicator field. [0150] An identifier whether the indicated CC-group transition to dormancy-like behaviour to non-dormancy-like behaviour or vice versa. The identifier can be 1 bit or 2 bits. If 2 bits, more statues can be indicated such as for dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs no PDCCH monitoring or sparse PDCCH monitoring, and for non-dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs PDCCH monitoring without restrictions according to SS set configuration or performs frequent PDCCH monitoring. Note: After sending the signaling, the UE operates in the indicated dormant or non-dormant BWP. Since the indicated BWP mode is associated with different monitoring periodicities (sparse in case of dormant and frequent in case of non-dormant), the UE adjusts the monitoring periodicity by switching the BWP mode).
Islam discloses that the indicated BWP mode corresponds to different PDCCH monitoring behavior/ periodicities, but does not explicitly disclose that the indication field indicates an index corresponding to a monitoring periodicity.
However, LUO discloses “for indicating an index corresponding to a monitoring periodicity” (See [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam by utilizing the indication field/ index mechanism of LUO for efficiently signaling PDCCH monitoring periodicities using an index value, thereby providing flexible configuration of the monitoring periodicity associated with the selected operating mode while reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 17,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the monitoring periodicity is included in a monitoring periodicity table configured for the terminal” (See LUO [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam with the teachings of LUO by using the preconfigured monitoring periodicity set/ table, thereby providing an efficient mechanism for storing and selecting among multiple PDCCH monitoring periodicities and reducing signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 18,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the monitoring periodicity is included in a monitoring periodicity table configured in a search space” (See LUO [0098] In the case of two-bit PDCCH monitoring indication information, it is used to indicate the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity, or an index value of the changed PDCCH monitoring periodicity in a preconfigured PDCCH monitoring periodicity set. [0152] the above change of the PDCCH monitoring is described by taking one search space as an example, and it may also be applied to a plurality of search spaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam with the teachings of LUO by using the preconfigured monitoring periodicity set/ table, thereby providing an efficient mechanism for storing and selecting among multiple PDCCH monitoring periodicities associated with a search space and reducing signaling overhead
Regarding claim 19,
Islam in view of LUO discloses “The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first BWP mode comprises a dormant BWP mode and the second BWP mode comprises a non-dormant BWP mode” (See Islam [0171] a gNB could configure two or more BWPs for a SCell for a UE. One BWP is for dormancy and other BWP(s) are for non-dormancy), “and wherein a first monitoring periodicity upon the terminal operating in the dormant BWP mode is longer than a second monitoring periodicity upon the terminal operating in the non-dormant BWP mode” (See Islam [0150] An identifier whether the indicated CC-group transition to dormancy-like behaviour to non-dormancy-like behaviour or vice versa. The identifier can be 1 bit or 2 bits. If 2 bits, more statues can be indicated such as for dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs no PDCCH monitoring or sparse PDCCH monitoring, and for non-dormancy-like behaviour, UE performs PDCCH monitoring without restrictions according to SS set configuration or performs frequent PDCCH monitoring. Note: PDCCH monitoring is sparse for dormant BWP, and frequent for non-dormant BWP, which necessarily means that the monitoring periodicity is longer in case of dormant BWP.
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 20210029772 A1) in view of LUO et al. (US 20220224486 A1), and further in view of XIA et al. (US 20210235426 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15 and 20,
Islam in view of LUO discloses claim 5 of “The method of claim 4”, claim 10 of “The method of claim 9”, claim 15 of “The apparatus of claim 14”, and claim 20 of “The apparatus of claim 19”, but does not explicitly disclose that the first monitoring periodicity comprises 1280 slots.
However, XIA discloses “wherein the first monitoring periodicity comprises 1280 slots” (See [0048] the PDCCH monitoring periodicity includes at least one quantity of slots among following quantities of slots: 40, 80, 160, 320, 640, and 1280).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Islam and LUO with the teachings of XIA, by configuring the sparse PDCCH monitoring of the dormant BWP using one of the known PDCCH monitoring periodicities taught by XIA, and selecting the 1280 slot periodicity, which is the longest disclosed periodicity, would have predictably implemented the sparse monitoring operation taught by Islam.
Conclusion
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462