DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 23, the recitation “the at least one liquid channel comprises a plurality of liquid channels” is unclear. Claim 12 already requires this limitation, and thus it is unclear if this is the same or different from said previous recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 5-7, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Naruse (JP2004296748A).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a dual mode heat energy collector (see 5; Fig. 4) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom of 5) arranged to provide heat energy to a heat energy consuming object and a second surface (top of 5); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls forming channels 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface, the dual mode heat energy collector is arranged to be operable in a first, gas mode in which heat energy is collected by the dual mode heat energy collector from gas (outside air – Page 6) flowing past the heat energy absorbing fins or in a second, liquid mode in which heat energy is collected by the dual mode heat energy collector from liquid (water – Page 6) flowing through the at least one liquid channel; and a rate of heat transfer from the gas in the first mode is substantially the same as a rate of heat transfer from the liquid in the second mode (Wu is capable of operating in such a manner).
Wu does not teach wherein the at least one liquid channel comprises a plurality of liquid flow channels arranged in groups of multiple parallel liquid flow channels, the groups of parallel liquid flow channels connected together at their ends by manifold sections to form a serpentine path covering an area of the base corresponding to the heat energy absorbing fins, although Fig. 3-4 does suggest this is the arrangement used.
Naruse teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the at least one liquid channel (flow passage PA1) comprises a plurality of liquid flow channels (see channels formed by fins 4b) arranged in groups of multiple parallel liquid flow channels, the groups of parallel liquid flow channels connected together at their ends by manifold sections (3c) to form a serpentine path covering an area of the base corresponding to the heat energy absorbing fins (fins 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the multi-channel configuration as taught by Naruse, in order to increase heat transfer surface area and reduce pressure losses (¶[0014, 0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Wu further teaches the heat energy absorbing fins (19) define gas flow channels between them (air – Page 6).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 2, and Wu further teaches the heat energy absorbing fins (19) are located across an area of the second surface; and the liquid channels (walls of 16 & 18) and walls are arranged within the base at locations corresponding to the area of the second surface.
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further teaches the heat energy absorbing fins (19) comprise a plurality of parallel fins; and the walls (walls of 16 & 18) extend parallel to the fins.
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Wu further teaches
the at least one liquid channel comprises a plurality of parallel liquid channels (16).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches a method (see Fig. 1 & 4) of providing heat energy to a heat energy consuming object (7), the method comprising: providing a dual mode heat energy collector (5) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom thereof) arranged to provide heat energy to a heat energy consuming object (cold side of heat pump 6) and a second surface (top thereof); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls defining 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface; arranging the first surface of the dual mode heat energy collector in contact with a heat energy consuming object (7); and providing at least one of: a gas (air – Page 6) flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid (water – Page 6) flow through the at least one liquid channel.
Claim(s) 5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Naruse (JP2004296748A) and Royal (US4401155).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 4, and Wu does not teach wherein: the heat energy absorbing fins have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls; and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Wu is silent to the heat energy absorbing fins have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls; and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Royal teaches (see Fig. 1) the heat energy absorbing fins (14) have a pitch equal to, or an integer multiple of, a pitch of the walls (18); and each heat energy absorbing fin is aligned with a respective wall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the fin and wall configuration of Royal, in order to provide a configuration which provides high reliability and pressure resistance (Col. 1, lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Wu does not teach the base and heat energy absorbing fins comprise aluminum.
Royal teaches the base and heat energy absorbing fins comprise aluminum (aluminum – Col. 8, lines 15-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the aluminum of Royal, in order to provide a material of superior heat transfer properties (Col. 8, lines 15-16).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Naruse (JP2004296748A) and Liu (CN108161002A).
Regarding claims 8-10, Wu does not teach the base and the heat energy absorbing fins are integrally formed; the walls and the first and second surfaces of the base are integrally formed; and the dual mode heat energy collector is produced by additive manufacturing.
Liu teaches (see Fig. 1-3) the base (11) and the heat energy absorbing fins (12) are integrally formed; the walls and the first and second surfaces of the base are integrally formed; and the dual mode heat energy collector is produced by additive manufacturing (Page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the integrally manufacturing of Liu, in order to provide a precisely manufactured heat exchanger (Page 3).
Claim(s) 12, 14-18, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Naruse (JP2004296748A) and KR19990024929A, hereinafter FOR1.
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches a heat energy collecting system (see 5; Fig. 4) comprising: a dual mode heat energy collector (5) comprising: a base (14 & 17) comprising a first surface (bottom thereof) arranged to provide heat energy to a heat energy consuming object and a second surface (top thereof); and heat energy absorbing fins (19) attached to and extending from the second surface; wherein the base further comprises at least one liquid channel (16) arranged between the first surface and the second surface, the at least one liquid channel defined by one or more walls (see walls forming 16 & fins 18) forming a heat conducting connection between the second surface and the first surface; a heat energy consuming object in thermal contact with the first surface;
Wu does not teach wherein the at least one liquid channel comprises a plurality of liquid flow channels arranged in groups of multiple parallel liquid flow channels, the groups of parallel liquid flow channels connected together at their ends by manifold sections to form a serpentine path covering an area of the base corresponding to the heat energy absorbing fins, although Fig. 3-4 does suggest this is the arrangement used.
Naruse teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein the at least one liquid channel (flow passage PA1) comprises a plurality of liquid flow channels (see channels formed by fins 4b) arranged in groups of multiple parallel liquid flow channels, the groups of parallel liquid flow channels connected together at their ends by manifold sections (3c) to form a serpentine path covering an area of the base corresponding to the heat energy absorbing fins (fins 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the multi-channel configuration as taught by Naruse, in order to increase heat transfer surface area and reduce pressure losses (¶[0014, 0024]).
Wu does not teach at least one of: a gas flow generator arranged to produce a gas flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid flow generator arranged to produce a liquid flow through the at least one liquid channel.
FOR1 teaches a gas flow generator (fan 30; Fig. 6) arranged to produce a gas flow past the heat energy absorbing fins; and a liquid flow generator (pump 14; Fig. 1) arranged to produce a liquid flow through the at least one liquid channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the fan and pump of FOR1, in order to improve heat transfer (Page 6).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the dual mode heat energy collector is arranged so that a rate of heat transfer from the gas flow is substantially the same as a rate of heat transfer from the liquid flow (14 & 30, as modified above).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the gas flow generator comprises a fan (30, as modified above).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the gas flow comprises air (as modified above).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the liquid flow generator comprises a pump (14) and a heat exchanger (13) (as modified above).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu further teaches the liquid flow comprises water (water – Page 6).
Regarding claim 23, Wu as modified teaches the limitations of claim 12, and Wu as modified further teaches the at least one liquid channel comprises a plurality of liquid channels (see above).
Claim(s) 19, 22, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN107364311A) in view of Naruse (JP2004296748A) and Korin (US20020078696A1).
Regarding claim 19/22/24, Wu teaches the limitations of claim 1/12/20, wherein the heat energy consuming object is an evaporator.
Korein teaches wherein the heat energy consuming object is an evaporator or the cold end of a thermoelectric device (¶[0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to include the evaporator of Korin, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143), namely replacing a cold side heat pump (thermoelectric) with a cold side heat pump (vapor compression).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763